Truckee is home to this holiday home. Palisades Tahoe and Northstar California Resort are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Donner Lake. Travelling with kids? Consider Olympic Valley Park and Village Ice Skating Rink. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing and skiing, or try out other outdoor activities such as ice skating and sledging.
Northstar California Resort - 21 min drive - 20.7 km
Getting around
Truckee Station - 7 min drive
Truckee, CA (TKF-Truckee Tahoe) - 11 min drive
Restaurants
McDonald's - 6 min drive
Coffeebar Bakery - 4 min drive
Taco's Jalisco - 5 min drive
Golden Rotisserie - 5 min drive
Wild Cherries Coffee House - 5 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is StayatShala: The ultimate work, play & relax home. pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total) with a maximum weight of up to 23 kg per pet.
How much does it cost to stay at StayatShala: The ultimate work, play & relax home.?
As of 1 Nov, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at StayatShala: The ultimate work, play & relax home. on 2 Nov, 2026 start from S$2,443, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at StayatShala: The ultimate work, play & relax home.?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at StayatShala: The ultimate work, play & relax home.?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at StayatShala: The ultimate work, play & relax home.?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is StayatShala: The ultimate work, play & relax home. located?
This family-friendly Truckee holiday home is steps away from Tahoe National Forest and Sierra Nevada Conservancy. Coyote Moon Golf Course and Tahoe Donner Tennis Center are also within 1 mile (2 km).
Reviews
8.6
Excellent
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
This place was spot-on for our big family during our latest family getaway. So much room for all of us - my little one was all over the kids' room, and we all had a blast in the media room. Oh, and shoutout to the mini gym and the awesome hot tub/sauna combo. Everything was neat, the kitchen had everything we needed, and chatting with the host was a breeze. We'll for sure be back!
This house is everything and more. I couldn’t have asked for a better location or the house. I was there to scope out this property for a big family reunion this fall. The house looks just like the photos, actually, it’s better. It’s clean, very well-maintained with the best bathrooms I’ve seen in a cation home and had many options to relax and enjoy. The spa room and sauna was my absolute favorite!
This property was absolutely a gem of a find! I can’t wait to come back with my family for a longer stay.
I wish more hosts were as responsive and helpful as VK & Div.
Thank you for letting me stay at this beautiful house!
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2023
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Marina K.
30 May, 2023
Liked: Communication
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Would not stay again even at 1/2 price
Pros: responsive owner, easy check in and check out, relatively close to Truckee (~7-10 min drive)
Cons:
The place looks nothing like the pictures. While it's priced at a price point of a high end rental, I would compare the quality to a motel type of stay.
- The space is small and crammed (pictures make it look much more airy and spacious than it actually is): living room is small and not cozy, not set up to comfortably accommodate more than 4 people
- Very dirty: furnishings, kitchen and bathrooms are run down. There was human and pet hair everywhere, floors were sticky, plates and pots had traces of food from previous stays, hot tub water had a bunch of stuff floating in it
- Many items featured in the pictures were not there - e.g., the outside dining table was not there, just an empty balcony
... and many other things: a broken window taped together with some scotch tape, lack of direct access to the back yard featured so heavily in pictures (you will need to exit from the front door and go around the house), no backyard games shown in pictures set up for guests' use (cornhole seemed to have migrated to the neighbors' property, could not locate table tennis set), etc..
Overall, our group was quite bummed out at the property, especially given how it's priced. Would not recommend
Stayed 3 nights in May 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Jul, 2023
Hi Marina, this review does not hold water and completely confused us when we first read it. Not just because we have 5+ years of hosting with almost all 5-star reviews on the other booking platform. But also because we NEVER heard a WORD from you during your entire stay, despite us 1) establishing contact with you before your stay and 2) us sending you a follow-up check-in message the morning after your stay. You never mentioned anything to us. Neither did you give us a chance to know about or fix any of the issues.
We take feedback seriously from all our guests. We do this because we continually strive to improve our guests' experiences. Given that, we did send our property manager in. We have photo evidence that supports that NONE of your claims are true.
Once again, we are not sure why you left this review. You may or may not use this as an angle to get a refund, but unfortunately, given the photo evidence that we have, we will not be doing so if you pursue this path. We wish you the best in your future stays and will not be recommending you to any future hosts.
First issue we had with this property was related to check in. We requested an early check in, in writing and got confirmation of an early check in, in writing. When we arrived at the designated time, the codes did not work and it took the owner over 45 minutes to adjust accordingly while we waited outside. Second, this home was generally untidy upon arrival. Dust/cobwebs/floors unclean. This home also has several broken double pane windows where the outside pane is shattered. This presents a safety concern with glass laying on the ground outside the property. Perhaps the largest concern is that while we were at the property, the water to the home kept being shut off by a remote water shut off valve used to detect leaks. We emailed in each time and asked to have the water turned back on because there was no leaks or overflows in the home. The final time it happened, we were left with no water from 9 pm on Saturday night until 10 am on Sunday morning, with 10 adults staying in the home. No toilets that worked, no showers, no sink water to wash dishes. My guests were forced to leave the home to either use the restroom at nearby construction sites or go into town to do so. The owner of the property was notified in writing each time and was unable to get someone to the home to rectify the situation and also offered no compensation of any kind for the severe inconvenience. Would not recommend this property.
Overall enjoyed our stay. Hosts seem to be great at what they are doing.
Pros:
Property well decorated and in overall great condition. All bedrooms are spacious and the whole place accommodate our party of 12 comfortably.
Sauna room is a huge bonus. We even used it during the hottest days of the year.
Hosts are extremely responsive in communication.
Plenty of entertainment. Movie room is awesome. TV in all rooms upstairs.
Cons:
The water heater was broken during our visit. It was an unfortunate event and hosts were actively trying to help out with alternative. But during the biggest heat wave with small children that caused quite a bit of inconvenience.
There was also some supply issue overall that hosts might want to talk to their cleaning team about. We couldn’t find extra trash bag or any dish detergent pods at the places hosts said they would normally be found. (Again hosts were helpful and had cleaning team sent trash bags when we asked.) All hand washes were water down to a point they were running liquid and cannot be used. I don’t think it’s the hosts’ intention to do this. It’s such a small thing but everyone in our party complaint at some point about this.
I was here over the winter for a ski trip with some friends - and was truly blown away by the cleanliness and quality of this place! It was as beautiful as the photos in the listing and then some. The indoor spa was soooo nice. Thank you for hosting us!
My family enjoyed our stay at the Golden Moose! The house was beautiful and had everything we needed. Super clean and comfortable.
The only downside - the driveway is difficult to maneuver even with 4x4 so be warned!
Thank you Viren for being so responsive and helpful.
Our group of 3 families stayed here and enjoyed it. Plenty of space to run around and the theater room was good for keeping the kids entertained. Check in and check out process was very easy, the house was clean and the amenities were nice.
The house has it all and it literally has everything you need. All the little details were thought out completely.
The check in /check out process we're incredibly easy and all questions were answered in a very timely manner. My friends and I were already discussing our next trip back to the property.