The Grape Escape - Contemporary Style Living on Seneca Lake!

Photo gallery for The Grape Escape - Contemporary Style Living on Seneca Lake!

A wooden deck with two Adirondack chairs and a small table, overlooking a body of water.
A multi-story house with a covered deck, a stone retaining wall, and a lush garden.
A modern kitchen with wooden cabinetry, a central island, and a wine rack.
A bedroom with a wooden dresser, a blue sofa, and a view of the water through large windows.
A bedroom with a large bed, a dresser, a mirror, and multiple windows offering views of the outdoors.

Reviews

8.0 out of 10
Very good

Highlights

  • Arcade/game room
    A rare find - fun for all ages with on-site arcade/game room.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near Seneca Lake

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Arcade/game room
  • Barbecue grill
  • Air-conditioning
  • Electric vehicle charging point
  • Refrigerator

Explore the area

View in a map
Penn Yan, NY
  • Place, Seneca Lake
    ‪1 min walk‬
  • Place, Watkins Glen State Park
    ‪41 min drive‬
  • Place, Cayuga Lake
    ‪54 min drive‬
  • Airport, Ithaca, NY (ITH-Tompkins Regional)
    ‪92 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

4 bedrooms (sleeps 12)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 3

1 King Bed

3 bathrooms, 1 half bathroom

Bathroom 1

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Bathroom 2

Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 3

Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 4

Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Balcony

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Penn Yan

Located in Penn Yan, this holiday home is on the waterfront. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Seneca Lake and Keuka Lake. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's going on at Dick Van Dyke Addiction Treatment Center, or consider a night out at Scale House Brewery.
Map
Penn Yan, NY

What's nearby

  • Seneca Lake - 1 min walk - 0.1 km
  • Keuka Lake - 15 min drive - 16.9 km
  • Canandaigua Lake - 38 min drive - 52.2 km
  • Watkins Glen State Park - 41 min drive - 47.4 km
  • Cayuga Lake - 54 min drive - 54.6 km

Getting around

  • Ithaca, NY (ITH-Tompkins Regional) - 78 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪McDonald's - ‬50 min drive
  • ‪Rylee’s Place - ‬48 min drive
  • ‪Pat’s Pizzeria - ‬50 min drive
  • ‪Fox Run Vineyards - ‬12 min drive
  • ‪Sapalta At Plum Point Lodge - ‬15 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is The Grape Escape - Contemporary Style Living on Seneca Lake! pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much is parking at The Grape Escape - Contemporary Style Living on Seneca Lake!?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at The Grape Escape - Contemporary Style Living on Seneca Lake!?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at The Grape Escape - Contemporary Style Living on Seneca Lake!?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is The Grape Escape - Contemporary Style Living on Seneca Lake! located?

Situated on the waterfront, this holiday home is 0.4 mi (0.7 km) from Seneca Lake and within 6 miles (10 km) of Prejean Winery and Torrey Ridge Winery. Keuka Lake Outlet Trail and Fox Run Vineyards are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

8.0

Very good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 9 out of 15 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 2 out of 15 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 15 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 15 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 2 out of 15 reviews

9.0/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

9.0/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

9.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

beautiful property

the house was beautiful, clean, and exactly as pictured! the downstairs shower backed up our first day and the response was very prompt. everything was taken care of within a couple hours and cleaned. our stay was excellent and we can't wait to return!
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 17 May, 2022
Thank you for your recent stay and for the kind words about our staff. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and we hope to host you again.
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication
Unfortunately we did not have a good experience at the Grape Escape whatsoever. For context, I have never left a bad review about anything in my life, but felt compelled to do so after this experience. First we were told a week before the check in date that the dock was broken and unable to be utilized. We had already rented a boat and this was a primary reason we rented the property. Communication was less than ideal and eventually we were told we could use it for brief pick up/ drop offs, but couldn’t keep the boat there as expected. A request was made for reimbursement at that time, which has still, 3 weeks later yet to be answered. Upon arrival we were met with a house infested with bugs. While I certainly understand the location and time of year makes it more likely there will be bugs, we did not expect spiders on the ceilings inside bedrooms, bugs in the sheets and all over the couches. Next we discovered rodent droppings approximately 6 feet away from our children’s beds which we feel is unacceptable. Lastly we were unable to bathe at the residence due to the water being a deep yellow / brown color, this forced us to travel to family in the area to bathe our children. The exterior was clearly not cleaned, everything was filthy and unusable unless we spent time cleaning it thoroughly. I have reached out to management requesting reimbursement and answers and have still, yet to receive an answer. Please see attached photos.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Sept, 2026
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Grape Escape. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We understand how important lake and dock access can be when planning a Finger Lakes vacation. Unfortunately, the dock was impacted by winter ice, spring weather, and flooding experienced throughout the region. While the dock remained available for brief pick-ups and drop-offs, guests were advised that boats could not be tied to it for extended periods. We are also disappointed to learn about the cleanliness and water concerns mentioned in your review. These issues were not reported to our team during your stay, which prevented us from having the opportunity to investigate and address them while you were at the property. We encourage guests to contact us during their stay whenever something is not as expected so our team has the opportunity to assist. Thank you again for staying with Finger Lakes Premier Properties and for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is important to us as we continue working to provide clean, comfortable, and enjoyable stays for our guests.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Gorgeous, but a few issues

This is a remarkably beautiful home and property. The multiple desks and accompanying lounge chairs and tables made for excellent coffee chats in the morning, and evenings with wine and appetizers. The overall views from the home are beautiful. We loved it. We enjoyed kayaking and fishing from the docks. It does have a few electrical issues, most outlets, including the ground faults in the master bath do not work. There was a problem with the septic system which backwashed urine and feces into the basement shower and never drained. We had no use of that particular bathroom or shower Sunday evening and most of Monday. The septic system needed to be pumped during our stay. Once it drained, we went out and bought cleaning supplies and scrubbed the shower. It was rough going for quite a few house, with five children, and the unavailability of bathrooms or showers. We were told do not shower, use the toilets, use washer or dish washer. I truly enjoyed our time spent at the Grape Escape, but Premier properties needs to rectify these problems and consider some sort of retribution to me for the inconvenience of the septic system problems, and the fact we needed to clean up this very messy job.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 14 Jul, 2021
Hi Carol, we hope you talked to one of our team members during your stay to express these concerns. We will make sure to share your review with them so they can resolve the issues in this home. Thank you!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Quiet, cozy and comfortable! Fun in the winter too!

The house was clean and roomy for us. The views were beautiful and there was plenty to do close by, even in late January!
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 26 May, 2023
Thank you for the 5 star rating. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to host you again soon.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Lovely and well equipped with a minor downside

We stayed in the winter, so could not enjoy getting on the lake- but the kitchen was well equipped and there was plenty of extra blankets. One of the fireplaces did not work (master bedroom) which was disappointing as it was a major factor in booking this particular house in January. There was also a sewage smell outside on the morning we left that was very unpleasant.
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 27 May, 2022
Thank you for your candid feedback. You'll be happy to know we have looked into the fireplace issue to make sure it didn't continue and there have also been no noted septic issues. We hope you will consider renting from us again so we can meet your satisfaction.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

The Grape Escape is fabulous

The property was well maintained. Everything was exactly as expected and more. It was truly home away from home. Will definitely use the rental company again.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 21 Jun, 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your experience at our rental. We are extremely gratified to see that you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us! Please come and see us again soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Lively home, beautiful views!

Very easy check in. Lovely, spacious home. Great area on Seneca lake near wineries and restaurants. Beautiful views from every room! Thank you!
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 21 Jun, 2021
Thank you for the 5 star rating. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Friends Field Trip

Beautiful home on the beautiful waterfront. Listing does not do it justice! Great place to stay and plenty to do on property!
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Oct, 2020
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. We hope to welcome you back to the Finger Lakes soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great stay

We enjoyed our trip! The house had everything we needed for a great trip.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 9 Oct, 2020
Louis, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back to the Finger Lakes soon!
From a partner site

6/10 Okay

August 2017 Stay

The house is beautiful, & view fantastic, but there were a number of small problems that would stop me from returning. The upstairs tv didn't work at all, ice maker didn't work at all, & basement toilet & shower worked very poorly all week. Plus, the only channel on the basement tv that worked was the Disney channel. A partial refund would be nice.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2017
Response from VrboOwner on 31 Aug, 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your experience at our rental. We will use your feedback to improve the experience for future guests at this rental. Please come and stay with us again soon!
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

February 2018 Stay

A beautiful home in a great location. Spent a long weekend there visiting wineries and breweries.
Response from VrboOwner on 15 Sept, 2023
Thank you for the 5 star rating. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to host you again soon!
From a partner site

2/10 Terrible

September 2018 Stay

Lovely decks; nice location. However, so many issues: On arrival, kitchen teeming with flies; deadbolt on lower level door did not wok; significant dust throughout the house; blankets did not appear to have been freshly laundered; ooze from the portable air conditioners was excessive; several windows were stuck and could not be opened; kitchen sink stopper was broken; several lightbulbs burned out in bathrooms on main & lower level; sliding screen door do not close properly and allow flys & bugs to enter; drain in lower level bathroom sink appeared to be partially clogged; closet doors could be opened but would not close; discolored water in main floor full bath. I called Property Management about several issues. Three days later, I received a voice mail from “Josh.” I returned call and spoke to someone in office and requested Josh to call. No response. For the cost of the rental, I would expect NO issues. In the future, we will not be renting any property “managed” by Finger Lakes Premier Properties
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Sept, 2021
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're glad you could enjoy The Grape Escape, but as for the issues, we're communicating those with our team.
Archival

10/10 Excellent

College Reunion Getaway

This is a modern, spacious, well-equipped home with a beautiful waterfront on Seneca Lake. There were so many places inside and outside for our three families to relax and unwind. The kids took over the third level which included a huge game room and bunk room. The outside fire pit was enjoyed by all. The house and furnishings were very clean and beautiful! We have already planned to rent the house again next year.
Response from VrboOwner on 15 Sept, 2023
Thank you very much for taking the time to rate us 5/5 stars! We are so happy to hear you had such a wonderful time. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Archival

4/10 Poor

I guess the roaches were sent from heaven....

Beware of roaches if you're renting this property. While the house is in a nice location, with a beautiful view overlooking the lake, the 2 inch roaches crawling around the basement and kitchen made it an undesirable rental. Also the rusty water out of the faucets on the last morning of our rental make me not recommend the property. We've rented through VRBO plenty of times but have never had a problem like this. Finger Lake Premier Property management also gets two-stars for poor customer service.
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Mar, 2020
Thank you so much for your review. The home is on a regularly scheduled maintenance program and we’re pleased to report the concerns you raised have been immediately and successfully addressed. The home is in a nice location with a beautiful view, as you note. We appreciate your comments and are grateful you took the time to write a review.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 31 Aug, 2026
Thank you for the 10/10 rating and for choosing to stay with us! We’re thrilled to know you had a wonderful experience. We truly appreciate your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Finger Lakes again soon!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback