La Luna Shoal Bay Luxury Holiday Home with Pool

Photo gallery for La Luna Shoal Bay Luxury Holiday Home with Pool

A modern bathroom with two white sinks, large mirrors, and grey tiled walls.
A modern two-story house with a garage, a front yard with a pathway, and a small garden area.
A modern two-story house with a glass-enclosed patio, a swimming pool, and a landscaped garden.
An outdoor dining area with a long wooden table and chairs, a barbecue grill, and a wall with surfboards and fishing rods.
A modern living room with a sectional sofa, a coffee table, and a view of the backyard through glass doors.

Reviews

8.6 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Room to spread out
    Enjoy spacious layout that give everyone more room to relax.
  • Arcade/game room
    A rare find - fun for all ages with on-site arcade/game room.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near Shoal Bay Beach

Popular amenities

  • Balcony or patio
  • Hot tub on site
  • Private pool
  • Toys
  • Barbecue grill
  • Air-conditioning

Explore the area

View in a map
Shoal Bay, NSW
  • Place, Tomaree National Park
    ‪3 min walk‬
  • Place, Shoal Bay Beach
    ‪7 min walk‬
  • Place, West Nelson Bay
    ‪3 min drive‬
  • Airport, Newcastle, NSW (NTL-Williamtown)
    ‪37 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

6 bedrooms (sleeps 12)

Bedroom 1

1 King Bed

Bedroom 2

1 King Bed

Bedroom 3

1 King Bed

Bedroom 4

1 King Bed

Bedroom 5

2 Single Beds

Bedroom 6

2 Single Beds

3 bathrooms

Bathroom 1

Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 2

Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 3

Bathtub · Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Kitchen
Balcony
Garden

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Shoal Bay

Shoal Bay is home to this holiday home. D'Albora Marinas Nelson Bay and Dolphin and Whale Watching Cruises are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Tomaree National Park and Boondelbah Nature Reserve. Fly Point Marine Reserve and Toboggan Hill Park are also worth visiting.
Map
Shoal Bay, NSW

What's nearby

  • Tomaree National Park - 3 min walk - 0.3 km
  • Shoal Bay Beach - 7 min walk - 0.6 km
  • Zenith Beach - 19 min walk - 1.6 km
  • West Nelson Bay - 3 min drive - 2.7 km
  • Nelson Head Lighthouse - 4 min drive - 3.1 km

Getting around

  • Newcastle, NSW (NTL-Williamtown) - 34 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Magnolia. - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Cafe on the Bay - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Aussie Bob's Fish & Chips - ‬8 min walk
  • ‪Zenith Cafe, Restaurant and Bar - ‬8 min walk
  • ‪The Home Interior - ‬6 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is La Luna Shoal Bay Luxury Holiday Home with Pool pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much is parking at La Luna Shoal Bay Luxury Holiday Home with Pool?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at La Luna Shoal Bay Luxury Holiday Home with Pool?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at La Luna Shoal Bay Luxury Holiday Home with Pool?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is La Luna Shoal Bay Luxury Holiday Home with Pool located?

Situated in Shoal Bay, this holiday home is within 1 mile (2 km) of Shoal Bay Beach, Box Beach and Shark Island Nature Reserve. Zenith Beach and Wreck Beach are also within 1 mile (2 km).

Reviews

8.6

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 8 out of 15 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 5 out of 15 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 15 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 15 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 15 reviews

9.0/10

Cleanliness

8.0/10

Check-in

8.4/10

Communication

9.0/10

Location

9.0/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful retreat

Great location, gorgeous house in an idylic area. Our extended family stayed altogether here and there was space for everthing. Kids, big and small, loved the pool house, multiple tvs and lounges, pool and facilities. Highly recommend. 👌
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Sept, 2023
Hi Alison, We are so glad to know you loved your stay. That's our goal, and your recommendation means a lot. We look forward to serving you again!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family gatho

La Luna is a large very comfortable space and is exactly as described in the listing, it has all the mod cons. However, the downside was the general cleanliness of the house. Other than that, we loved the space and the short stroll to the bay. We enjoyed our stay at La Luna and would recommend it for large groups.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 27 May, 2025
Thank you for the good star rating! We will make sure to share your feedback to the management for action. We hope to see you here again soon.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Xmas holiday

We had a great week and would recommend this place for a great holiday. Maybe a large platter for fruit/ salad but we managed. Watering system in garden doesn’t seem to be doing a good job but maybe that is lack of pressure in the area!
Stayed 7 nights in Dec 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 17 Jan, 2023
Hi Heather, Thank you for the recommendation! We are so pleased to know that you had a great time and we look forward to your next visit!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Brilliant Family Getaway

We stayed as an extended family for a 70th Birthday and we were not disappointed! Ages ranging from 3 years old to 70 years old, the house was perfectly set up to cater for us all. In a great location, the home was just right for 12 of us - the bedrooms were very generous in sizing, and the kitchen and living spaces more than enough. Air Conditioning made our stay very comfortable. The outdoor area is where this house really shines - we spent majority of our time outside. Swimming in the pool, and eating meals in the entertaining area. Overall a truly beautiful home that had all that we needed for our stay, and would not hesitate to stay again!
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Mar, 2024
Hi Jodie, We love your review! Thank you for making us a part of your family's special occasion. It's a goal met for us knowing you were comfortable and satisfied. It has been an absolute pleasure hosting and serving you.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Lovely stay

Perfect for a short getaway with friends. Unwinding and spending time together
Stayed 4 nights in May 2022
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, communication, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Check-in

A mini resort.

We were a group of various ages, but the accommodation covered all our needs. The older ones had a relaxing and enjoyable stay while the younger ones found plenty to keep themselves occupied.
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2022
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy

Dirty on arrival

Our stay was disappointing to say the least. Our yearly family vacation was booked a year in advance with much excitement however we arrived to a property that was probably one of the dirtiest we ever saw. We spent the first day of our holiday sanitizing, vacuuming and mopping (yes we had to even purchase our own mop) cleaning hair out of drawers and shelves even cleaning toilets. The property is also a lot older and ‘worn’ than it appears in the images. When we told management of the state of the property when we arrived we were offered a cleaning fee (a few hundred dollars) for the time we spent cleaning, and then made to feel it was our fault as we spent a day cleaning instead of notifying management immediately. In this day in age, we would expect a ‘luxury’ accomodation to hold cleanliness and sanitation to the an upmost standard however this wasn’t the case. I would urge anyone looking at this property to keep looking for something else!
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2022
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Check-in, communication

Good location

Property is well maintained with 6 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms 2 living areas plus large BBQ area and games area outdoors. It's a 10 minute walk to shoal bay beach. The only issue I had related to the company managing who sent numerous emails about outstanding money that had been paid, when I tried to clarify no one got back to me either phone or email. Would recommend the premises itself.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Jan, 2022
Hi Kate, thank you for your wonderful feedback on our property. We are sorry to hear about the issues and we will investigate why you did not get a response to your email. Again, our apologies.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy

Extended family get away

Beautiful, big comfortable house for an extended family holiday. Lots of space inside & out to gather in large or small groups. Very clean and as described. The communication with the managing agent was difficult prior to checkin as they were converting their systems & were not receiving my emails & sending me several requests of items already provided. Also kitchen was not very well stocked for a large groups. They did not even provide olive oil, or very many tea bags and sugar.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Jan, 2022
Hi Ros, thank you for your amazing and honest feedback on our property. We will look into the issues you've described to see any improvements can be made. We really appreciate you for bringing this to our attention.
From a partner site

6/10 Okay

Amazing home with great pool, but let down by cleaning

Rating Details: The property manager was somewhat unhelpful. The vacation rental was very dirty. I was very happy with the location. I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: The property is well maintained and the furniture and fittings were of a high standard.We had booked as an Luxury Escapes package.the biggest disappointment was not being able to pick the keys up earlier when instructed that the property was still being cleaned. Unfortunately when arriving at the house the cleaning had not either being completed or carried out. when the cleaners arrived we were asked to move out of the house with our belongings, so it could be cleaned !1. The tile floors had not been washed2. The beds were not made and personal towels not placed in the bedrooms.3. There was no toilet paper in any of the toilets.4. Only one toilet in the pool house had a seal over the lid to note that it had been cleaned. And after cleaning there was still no seal placed over the lid, so assume they may not of being cleaned.5. The sink near the BBQ had wine stains and a ping pong ball in it.6. The BBQ had not been cleaned.7. The fox T.V connection was not working.8. The upstairs T.V was not working.9. There was no Tea towel left with the Luxury Escapes package.So overall the house was great, the cleaning was well below standards, and the luxury Escapes package was below expectations.In our view someone should accept responsibility and some form of compensation should be allocated as at this level of house and thru luxury Escapes this should not of happened.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

A Luxury Escape to La Luna at Shoal Bay

Rating Details: The property manager was more than helpful. The vacation rental was very clean. I was more than happy with the location. I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Upmarket villa sleeping up to 12 guests, inground pool and pool house, three bathrooms and five toilets, well equipped kitchen - ideal getaway for family and friends. A few general maintenance problems encountered that have been reported to the Property Manager at Winning Holidays, Nelson Bay.
Response from VrboOwner on 27 Jul, 2021
Thank you for your valuable feedback! You’re most welcome to visit again.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Birthday celebration

Great holiday house everything we hoped for with amazing amount of space . We all especially loved the cabana room . Would really love to return to La Luna for another stay .
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wedding weekend

Such a great property for our long wedding weekend. We had 11 people stay for 4 nights, plenty of room for everyone, great pool, great seperate space out the back for a bbq and drinks. Only issue is neighbours behind like to complain about noise - police came once in response to noise complaint, however they weren’t concerned with us, apparently the same people complain every weekend, just doing their job. Would highly recommend
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Beautiful Resort **** Agents

Rating Details: The property manager was somewhat unhelpful. The vacation rental was somewhat dirty. I was very happy with the location. I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: A beautiful property - excellant location, plenty space could not fault it one bit ...all my guests loved it too xLet down by agents - paid for early check in only to arrive roperty was not cleaned had to clean fridge to pur perishables in whilst arranged for cleaner to attend still awaiting refund of fee!! Discussed other reviews re neighbour was advised had no issues for 2 months only to have police arrive at 10.31 and although they had no issue with noise level they needed to attend which they said they do EVERY weekend and sometimes during week which were all notifiable to agents. Pool was overflowing which was also notified to agent who stated that they would inform owners. Initial interaction with staff member when checking in was quite unpleasant, rude and talked over me whilst asking questions that I had to leave and come back to see another who was fine. i would recommed property to anyone however would also recommend they change agents,I have used Winning Holidays on several occasions in the past and had no issues
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great family place

We were 6 adult couples in the house, and it is also ideal for family holidays . Ideal location 10 min walk to shops and beach. Excellent entertaining house eg. pool, games room , outdoor eating area. The amount of bathrooms facilities were great for 12 people. This ultra modern home was wonderful the only issue was that they didn’t have user friendly instructions. For example the pool ,oven and dishwasher manuals either weren’t here or not user friendly. A suggestion is to have a basic easy to use manual book on the table. Also a few extra tea-towels would have been nice. The next door neighbour needs to realise that music at a moderate level at 7.45pm is not unreasonable - we were not raging!!! Most of us were in our 60s. In saying that we did turn off the music immediately. You may need to check the positioning of the flood lights as she also complained about these as well. Overall just a great 3 days. We will come back.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Jun, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we always appreciate our guests’ feedback and have taken it on board.. We are so pleased you had a great time at La Luna. We look forward to your return.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback