Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

OCEANFRONT Condo at Kona Reef, Top Rated Reviews - 1 bdrm condo

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 1 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 10 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Kona Reef, beautifully REMODELED, one-bedroom, direct oceanfront condominium, on world-famous Alii Drive. Our condo is 23 feet from the ocean and offers spectacular sunsets. Watch the surfers and the dolphins from the lanai.

This immaculate, recently upgraded condo has every thing you will need for a great vacation. It has all the comforts of home. Queen-size bed (and premium mattress), granite counter-tops, plenty of room for storage, in suite laundry, free long distance calls to Canada & anywhere in the US.

Wireless DSL

Our condo, D-16, is highly rated by previous guests, we are responsible owners who take our guest's comfort and satisfaction seriously.

Everything is happening right in front of you here. This is one of the best surfing spots on the island, the break is just in front of the condo. Dolphins, turtles, ships, birds, and when you prefer to read a book and just relax, this is also the most tranquil place to be. Relax and listen to the ocean waves, and enjoy perfect weather and beautiful sunsets.

Kona has some of the world's best, golf, fishing, diving, snorkeling and beaches. You can run, bike or hike for miles, or just sit back, watch the Pacific Ocean and ........

April 2017 remodel:

12 x 24 tile - living room, kitchen, hall

lanai furniture

lanai rug

rattan chair cushions & fabric

large area rug LR

floor lamp LR

sconce LR

drapes LR

air conditioner LR

stove/oven

dishes

utensils, pans, hot pads, etc.

shower caddy BR

shower liner & back stock BR

fabric shower curtain BR

wall to wall mirror BR

end table lamps bedroom

pillows – sleeping

ironing board

painted kitchen and other areas

LED bulbs throughout

Last 6 months:

flat screen bedroom

quilt, shams

sheets

mattress pads

front load washer (only lasted 2 years)

faucet – kitchen

kitchen towels

coffee maker

toaster

Keywords: Oceanfront Condominium

More Details

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Hair dryer Towels Amenities Wall to wall mirror Iron and ironing board
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1) Flat screen TV Ceiling fan
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
2 Ceiling Fans, with tropical decor.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(55 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
OCEANFRONT Condo at Kona Reef, Top Rated Reviews - 1 bdrm condo
average rating of 4.8545456 based on 55 reviews
5

Paradise Delivered as Promised!

  • 5 of 5

Spent January 14 to 24, 2018 at the Condo. Everything promised in the VRBO write up was delivered!

This was our first experience with a VRBO rental and we were a little apprehensive of what we were getting ourselves in to. When we arrived condo was clean and ready to accept 2 tired travellers. Morning revealed a lanai with a truly great ocean view and a table and chairs waiting for us to have coffee overlooking everything. The lanai was also a great place for watching sunsets which never disappointed.

We were minutes from downtown Kona and wouldn't have needed to rent a car had we planned to remain only in Kona as all restaurants etc. were within easy walking distance of the condo.

Stephanie was accessible for any questions on the condo which were few and easily answered.

Would definitely be our first choice should we be back on the island.

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Steve & Diane, Thank you for writing your lovely review. So glad your first VRBO experience was a good one. Everything you mentioned in your review are the reasons we purchased our condo at the Kona Reef. You can't beat the location for ocean front relaxing or dining plus the convenience of being able to walk to restaurants and shopping. It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to doing so again. Mahalo, Stephanie & Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lothbridge, AB
5

Great location, amazing views!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 7 days at this wonderful condo. Easy check in check and out with Stephanie. Rooms were clean and well stocked. We very much enjoyed the lanai in the mornings the pool and small beach areas. What amazing sunsets and beautiful views. Often we saw turtles at waters edge and whales in the distance. There is nothing more relaxing than the sound of the water hitting the rocks just a stones throw from the deck!

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Darrell & Lynette, We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our home in Kona. It is a great location and we also love relaxing on the deck. You are welcome back any time and thank you for your feed back. Congratulations on the wedding of your daughter! Mahalo, Stephanie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lawrence KS
5

Beautiful condo in a perfect location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 7 days in January 2018. The condo was clean and nicely decorated. Everything we needed was there. We were both sick on this trip so stayed in the condo more than we had anticipated and it was extremely comfortable. It is within walking distance to everything on Ali'i drive. The ocean crashing outside the doors is wonderful for sleeping. We plan to stay again as soon as we can.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Bev & Ron, Thank you for returning to our condo in Kona again. We love that you like it as much a we do. I agree, the location, setting, etc are perfect. Just sorry to hear that you both got ill on Oahu. Not a bad place to recuperate but I am sure you would have loved to go out and about more. It's great that you have your reservation for next year. Something nice to look forward to. Take care. Mahalo, Stephanie & Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful setting. Very well appointed condo

  • 4 of 5

We had an awesome time. Enjoyed the condo . Very quiet . Enjoyed the sound of the surf .

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Paul, Thank you for selecting our condo for your trip to Kona. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your trip and surroundings. We love relaxing on the lanai at sunset watching the surfers and enjoying our favorite Mai Tai. The surf is very relaxing. Please come again and thank you for taking such good care of our home during your stay. Mahalo, Stephanie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We spend two weeks here and had a great time. The location is fantastic as it is about 1,000 feet to town. The view is great (just like the picture) and the property is nice and quiet. The condo is well equipped and the bed was comfortable. The owner is very responsive (and nice). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Dave, Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of our property. We appreciate it and also for selecting our home for your trip to Kona. We also love being able to walk to town and enjoy sunsets on the ocean on the lanai. Peace and serenity! Hope you will be returning again sometime. Merry Christmas! Stephanie & Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Hawaiian Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Paradise. The best vacation ever. Can’t wait to come back. The property was beautiful and the condo had everything we needed. Thank you Jack and Stephanie

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Kathleen, Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at our home in Kona. We agree, paradise for sure. We look forward to hosting you again sometime. And thank you for taking such good care of our condo while you were there. Have a lovely Thanksgiving! Mahalo, Stephanie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Owner

Stephanie
Member since: 2006
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 17, 2018

About Stephanie

We have been visiting Hawaii for over 43 years. Stephanie lived on the Big Island for several years during the 60s. We have owned and operated hospitality properties for 22 of those. We are responsive and responsible to our guests. We are very knowledgeable about what to do, where to eat, and out of the way places to hike, beach and explore.

Stephanie purchased this condo in 2003

Why Stephanie chose Kailua-Kona

Kona Reef Resort is THE oceanfront complex. It is just a short stroll to the downtown area. The oceanfront and adjacent beach offer many opportunities for sunbathing, swimming, snorkeling , surfing, visiting tide pools, spotting turtles and watching sunsets. From the lanai, you can spot dolphins, whales in season, cruise ships, paddlers and surfers. If that doesn't keep you busy, nearby Kona Village has many restaurants, shops a popular farmers' market, and art galleries.

Map

Hāpuna Beach State Recreation Area
Hulihee Palace
Lava Tube Cave
Akaka Falls State Park
Nearest Airport
9 Miles
KOA - Keahole airport.
Nearest Golf
4.6 Miles
Keauhou
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
cc fee $40
Cleaning fee $120 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

We accept 1, 2, or 3 night bookings if they are openings between other reservations.

**IRONMAN: Select a minimum of ten nights during the race in October at a rate of $195 per night plus cleaning fee, and tax. Additional nights are $150 per night.

OWNER'S CANCELLATION POLICY:
100% refund if canceled at least 90 days prior arrival date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties