Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Best Known Rental in Clear Lake That Makes People Stop & Marvel

Bedrooms 6
Space 5,600 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Largest Rental in Clear Lake - One of a kind 5,600 sq ft Pyramid Shaped House

This unique, one of a kind property is shaped like a Pyramid. It is commonly referred to as "The Pyramid House ". It is a huge 5,600 square foot house comprised of three levels of living space. The house has a total of 6 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. We have welcomed as many as 30 guests with 22 people in beds and about 30 people when you use couches and air mattresses. Three of the bedrooms have king sized beds in them. The 4th bedroom has two queen beds in it and the 5th bedroom, considered to be the family suite has one queen bed, two double beds and a single lofted bunk bed. The 6th bedroom is one of the most popular bedrooms as it is perched at the top of the Pyramid House and contains a queen, a double and a single bed. This popular room has various windows on all four walls and serves as a observation level. The most talked about feature is the $10,000 glass point/top/roof at the very pinnacle of the Pyramid House. At night people can on most nights gaze up at the stars and feel the cool breeze blow in no matter what the direction the wind is blowing since there are windows on all four walls.

The house in the past has been duplex into a 4 bedroom suite (3,600 sq. ft.) and a 2 bedroom suite (2,000 sq. ft.). There are separate listings on VRBO for these two other options at lower prices.

The house comes complete with a theater room with wet bar, a party room or banquet room that seats 30 people and a large patio that can accommodate 50 guests for that large BBQ.

More Details

Jody Eastman
Member since: 2017
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 14, 2018


Clear Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5600 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 30
  • Max. adults: 30
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Water View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 30 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Double vanity
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Hallway bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Divided bathroom for more accessible use when one showers.
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 30
  • Master Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Master Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Master Family Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Family or Kids Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 2 double , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 5 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , 1 double , 1 twin/ single , 3rd or top level Observation Loft BR w/Glass pinnacle/Roof
  • Bedrooms and house size is big enough to accommodate 30 people when you sleep on couches and air mattresses.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


2.4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

20% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
60% Complete
Best Known Rental in Clear Lake That Makes People Stop & Marvel
average rating of 2.4 based on 5 reviews

Unique property, needs repair work.

  • 1 of 5

Thirteen adults stayed at this property April 13 - 15, 2018. The first night there was a heavy rain, the roof leaked in various places around the entryway, water ran down the walls into the lower level two front bedrooms, water soaked ceilings, walls, floors and soaked two of the beds making them unusable both of the nights.Three people had to sleep on couches in other areas of the house. The lower level bedroom in the NW corner of the house had a very musty smell, so there may have been moisture or water damage in that area as well.

The second night there was a snowstorm and some kind of animal sought refuge in the ceiling of the lower level kitchen area, running around and scratching and apparently trying to get out. Obviously we did not use the lower level kitchen area the second night, just closed the door to the living area. The snow removal truck arrived the next morning to clear the driveway and front steps of snow and ice, however the front stairs were still very icy and there isn't any hand rail anywhere on the front steps to navigate safely. There are two decks off of the main living area, however neither of the decks have any railing around them.

All of these items were conveyed to the owner on April 15, 2018 who promised a partial refund of the rental fee as compensation for the problems experienced. Text messages were sent again on May 20 and again on June 28, but no refund has been received as of July 16, 2018, more than 90 days after the rental dates. The response given is that he will check with VRBO. It seems that VRBO needs to check on this property and this owner.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The house is amazing now with a $16,000 makeover and replaced roof and is completely water tight. We feel sorry that the house experienced a terrible winter with 30 inches of snow that lasted into early spring and then all the rain. We have small areas on each level that has flat roofs and those kind of roofs do not do well with heavy weight of wet snow then thaws and freezes and thaws and freezes over and over again. I was going to cancel the stay with this family but they did not want me to do that. They wanted to keep the reservation even with the forewarned leaking areas in a vey small parts of the house... less that 8% of the 5,600 square feet was not able to be used. My younger brother and best friend had just died from a heart attack. He happened to be my maintenance guy also. Timing was terrible and thus why they were told before they arrived. VRBO advised me to not to be influenced if people try to black mail me for money if they threaten with a bad review and do not understand our situation. I really wanted to work something out but I admit I did not reply like I should have because of my brothers death. Time has passed then I saw this review. I am sorry but timing of the bad winter and mother nature can not be helped. Now that we have a water tight and leak free house the damaged ceilings and walls have been cut out and replaced with new and painted and now looks great and no musty like smell. A totally different place. What also helps is a new cleaning crew that has done a wonderful job and has provided guest with a clean and comfortable HUGE house since the end of June. Future reviews should reflect a much better review and attitude.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

House needs work! Great location though!

  • 1 of 5

The property needs lots of work and was under renovation while we were there. There was no way had enough beds/rooms to sleep 30 like advertised due to the renovation. Pictures do not show proper condition of house. General house cleaning was not acceptable. Really loved the layout and especially the location of the house! Great fun town with lots to do! Swimming, boat rentals, cute shops, lots of fantastic small town feel restaurants with family friendly atmospheres! House layout great too..hope this property gets into shape! Owner was apologetic, but still a lot of many to pay for substandard conditions.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clear Lake - - was FUN!

  • 4 of 5

We had such fun in Clear Lake! There was much to do! A great worship service in the park, Thursdays on Main (complete with food trucks and bounce house), Surf Ballroom and the beautiful clear lake!

Our family enjoyed the spacious Pyramid House with 4-6 bedrooms. We had plenty of cooking space and utensils. The owner is working to keep things in good repair. The backyard and side yards are small so we kept our croquet to the front :)!

Our own personal disappointment was not being able to find a dock for our boating needs, however. And there are 3 beaches on the lake but not readily available to the house location.. Somehow - we managed to get swimming anyway!!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Needs lots of TLC

  • 1 of 5

Loved the location but house needs lots of TLC. Pretty dirty and run down inside. There's lots to be said about a little elbow grease!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry and want to clarify things. We did talk to them before they arrived ... I did explain to them the 30 inches of snow during the last month of the late winter or early spring did not really give us a Spring Cleaning period and was going to cancel reservation before their arrival....because of some issues. ( we started a construction projects outside and inside and the guests decided not to have us paint as there would be paint fumes in the house) The decision was made not to cancel the reservation as the house was very comfortable inside and still gave them the 5,600 square feet of nice living space. We honored their request for no work done during their stay and They were told if they had any complaints of things that were not up to their satisfaction that they could call out cleaning lady and she would come over and clean and help solve the problem. She actually did come over and resolved the only problem that I was aware of. We just had two other groups in the house just prior to their arrival and they were very satisfied with the Pyramid House. They thought it was great. You can find one of the guests review on the other rent options of this house with VRBO. The house is presently getting a $20,000 face lift with a completion date of June 6th scheduled. I do want to point out if this 5,600 square foot house was in brand new condition ... it would be renting out for more than $300 per night based on a weekly rental... That is less than $50 per bedroom and more than twice the size of 6 hotel rooms … hotels that would charge $600 per night for 6 rooms … and HERE you get both kitchens and theater room and all the amenities. The house is priced accordingly and a GREAT value. The Pyramid House is a huge home that accommodates large families and understands that with large families staying in the house every week and the house is so huge it takes a lot to clean. If we miss something we always say to give us a call and we will have the cleaning ladies come over right away. We strive to please every family and have had a good track record with our many return visitors and guest that rent form us... We are about 100% booked for the summer because of the value and past reputation. July Update: House is completely water tight and leak free NOW...YEAH ! Roofers completed 1st floor replacement on June 6th but found other leaking on 2nd level roof which caused 1st floor leaks. Replacement could not be done with guests in house until late June.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Close to the lake

  • 5 of 5

Had the a blast. Owners are great to work with. This place has enough space for you to be with others and to still have personal space.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You for your nice reply. Your group was wonderful. If you ever want to stay again please mention a returning guest discount. I always want to give past customers a better rate. Thanks again for your kind comments.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Car: necessary

The Surf Ballroom is located just blocks away. The Surf ballroom is noted as the location of the last performances of musical icons such as Buddy Holly, The Big Bopper and Richie Valens. The Surf pays tribute with a mini museum of sorts that pays tribute to these performers.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $300
Additional Guest Fee $5 per person per night
Refundable Damage Deposit $250

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund