Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The 'Gray' Escape, Honeymoon Cabin

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cabin

Overview

About the property

- 1 BR, 1 BA, Sleeps 2.

Our newly renovated cabin is sure to please. If you are looking for seclusion, this is it! We are located on a beautiful winding country road between downtown Boone and downtown Blowing Rock. (4WD recommended in the winter months). We are close to many attractions, great restaurants and shopping, yet, away from it all. Steps to one of the best hiking trails around. ..Mountains to Sea/Boone Fork loop trail is part of the Blueridge Parks trail system and right outside our front door! Locally known as 'Hebron Falls'. Spend the day exploring these beautiful trails. Pack a picnic lunch and bring your fishing pole!

ONE NIGHT MINIMUM DOES NOT APPLY TO WEEKENDS...SORRY

More Details

Owner
Patricia Gray
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 23, 2017

Amenities

Boone Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Trash MUST be taken with you upon check out. Dumpster site is on HWY 321 between Boone and Blowing Rock. OPEN: M-W-F 6:30 am-7 pm SAT 8 am-7 pm
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 5 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Pet Friendly!!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
22% Complete
2% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
The 'Gray' Escape, Honeymoon Cabin
average rating of 4.575 based on 40 reviews
Baltimore, MD
5

cabin in the woods

  • 5 of 5

Description of the cabin was accurate, but the photos don't do it justice. It is much cozier than it looks. Very clean and warm. We had the greatest meals on the deck in the trees. Nice wrap around deck and partly covered. We hiked the trails with the happy, happy dog. Owner was great and always helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone seeking some peace and quiet, but plenty to do in the area. Must recommend the Screamin' zip line tour. The guys running it are just great and views are neat. Last line is 2,000 feet long with speeds at around 60 miles per hour. Had dinner at the Canyons. Nothing fancy, but good food, NC Speckled Trout and great views of Linville Gorge.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2009
  • Stayed: July 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
27 0
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay! This cabin is in a great location! It is secluded, but not far from the beautiful town of Blowing Rock and Boone! I was also impressed with how clean it was even though it is “pet friendly”!

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just right for us

  • 5 of 5

My only complaint with our stay is that we only booked 2 nights. I agree with previous reviewers, the pictures don't do it justice. This place was just right for my husband, our dogs, and me. It had everything we needed and none of the extraneous stuff. Highlights for us were the contained porch for our dogs, the proximity to hiking, and the feeling of isolation while remaining really close to the restaurants the Tavern at Crestwood and Gamekeeper. We had some trouble with the fireplace when we first arrived but my husband was able to get it going with the help of the rental book. The light comes streaming in and there aren't curtains so I would recommend a sleep mask if you are sensitive to light and plan on sleeping late, however the walk to the kitchen for a glass of water at night is just lovely surrounded by the trees and moonlight. Can't wait to come back. I really feel like this rental is exceptional.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Difficult to access but well worth the effort.

  • 4 of 5

Very comfortable, quiet retreat.

I'd recommend 4wd. 2wd was a challenge on the short driveway. Personally, I would have liked to see handrail all the way to the door.

(for us old folks) Despite the isolated location, my wife would have preferred some type of blinds or curtains. Must be a woman thing. Overall, a 4 star experience.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for 2 people. Very private.

  • 5 of 5

We’ve stayed here several times and just love it. The cabin is well taken of and always very clean. There’s nothing except our food that wasn’t provided. All of the TV stations are there (contrary to some earlier post), and there is just nothing to complain about. Plus we had the best weather imaginable for early October. We will definitely be back! 🐕�s approved also.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking time to write!! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay again...AND HAD GREAT WEATHER!! Hope to hear from you again for future retreats!! Patti
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Secluded, relaxing and good location for area attractions

  • 4 of 5

We could not get the fireplace to light. Clean and comfortable.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review!! Future guests/anyone reading this response... PLEASE, please let me know of you have any problems such as "can't get the fireplace lit"...Call me or my housekeeper!! It is usually an easy fix...and I like to keep things in working order. I can't fix if I don't know.... Thank you!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60
Damage Deposit $200

ONE NIGHT MINIMUM DOES NOT APPLY TO WEEKENDS...SORRY...
IF YOU WANT TO MAKE A DEPOSIT AND PAY BALANCE LATER, JUST CONTACT ME!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties