Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Tropical Hideaway, Best Snorkeling, Pool, Hot Tub"""

Bedrooms Studio
Space 345 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Studio, Studio + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Tropical Hideaway is a charming Hawaii-style downstairs studio apartment in a lush garden setting, with ocean and sunset views, plus a chemical-free swimming pool with waterfall and private hot tub. Tropical Hideaway is just a three minute drive from fabulous snorkeling, kayaking, diving and dolphin experiences at Honaunau (Two Step), and close to Kealakekua Bay & Ho'okena Bay. Recently upgraded with a new Serta Perfect Sleeper $1000 bed and breezeway mural of dolphins, whales and coastline.

The beautifully landscaped garden is filled with mango, papaya, banana, likikoi, lemons, limes and other fruit trees and flowers. Pick your own breakfast (some fruits are seasonal) and relax in the back to nature environment or explore the island by day and return to your cozy retreat by night. Private hot tub and outdoor shower. Explore the awesome beauty of Hawaii's active volcano or the upcountry pastures of Parker Ranch and the cowboy country of Waimea--each just a 1.5 hour drive.

Tropical Hideaway is located on the west side of the 'Big Island' of Hawaii about 20 miles south of the town of Kailua-Kona, 1 mile off the main island highway near the 'Painted Church,' and 2 miles from the 'Place of Refuge' National Park at Honaunau.

Rates: Studio $120 per night + tax and $100 cleaning fee for 1-2 persons, 3 night minimum with advance reservation. (Futon couch also available for a child 10+ or third person, $15/night additional for 3rd person.)

Keywords: Studio Apartment

More Details

Kathleen Carr
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 15, 2018

About Kathleen Carr

I've had a love affair with Hawaii since I first lived on Maui in the '60s. I am thrilled to be able to offer a vacation rental in the Captain Cook/Honaunau area, which is my favorite place to live.

Kathleen Carr purchased this studio in 2001

Why Kathleen Carr chose Captain Cook

This wonderful location is three minutes from the best snorkeling on the island, with wild dolphins and turtles as well. It is in a lush, tropical area, filled with fruit trees and gardens--private, quiet and rural, yet within easy driving distance of a variety of cultural sites and natural wonders.

What makes this studio unique

I start each morning with a swim or snorkel in the ocean, then enjoy breakfast either on the lanai or poolside. Kayaking is a favorite pastime, as well as hiking nearby trails. Volcano National Park is a 1.5 hour drive, and if I want an evening in town or to dine at a nice restaurant, I'm within 30 minutes of Kailua-Kona.

Guestbook comments from the owner

As the name implies, this truly is a Tropical Hideaway. You have thought of everything to make the place comfortable and functional. We especially appreciated the hot tub. The beach equipment came in very useful as well. Thanks for making this stretch of our Hawaiian getaway exactly what we envisioned.
Jan 2011
  • 1 of 32


Captain Cook Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 345 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Not suitable for children ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Quiet time after 10pm and before 8am
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • New Serta Perfect Sleeper Queen Size Bed (1), Double Futon Couch with Temperpedic foam topper
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Chemical free salt pool with waterfall and mermaid, lush garden setting


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(57 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
10% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Tropical Hideaway, Best Snorkeling, Pool, Hot Tub
average rating of 4.8245616 based on 89 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Stayed for 10 nights in July. Myself and my 16 year old son arrived late at night and tired from our long journey. We stepped out of the car to be greeted by a magically lit garden driveway, a chorus of birds like I've never heard before, and a warm welcome from Kathy. I try to make the accomodation a part of my travel adventure and this hit the mark. We were never in a rush to leave, sitting in the gardens with a Kona coffee and a book, or enjoying the hot tub, outdoor shower with an ocean view, fresh fruit, and more, and after a day of activity were lulled to sleep by the fresh air and bird song. Kathy, as well as Michael and Ivy, let us be, but were most helpful when we needed. I was suprised to find there were coolers, lawn/beach chairs, boogie boards, and snorkeling gear for guests. We scuba dived around Kona but enjoyed the nearby snorkeling just as much, which is the best snorkeling on the Island. Yes, as some guests have noted, the accomodation is close to a highway, but it is single lane traffic and only "busy" in the morning when you are getting up anyway (why waste your day - this is Hawaii!). Hotels are noisier, in my opinion. Also noted - my son says the wifi is better than at home :). I hope to go back the Big Island and to stay at Tropical Hideaway again. Jacquie (Calgary)

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a delight to have you at Tropical Hideaway. I do hope you return again! Hello hi Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Such a lovely way to spend time in Hawaii

  • 5 of 5

My husband and myself just spent a week at Kathleen Carr's wonderful Tropical Hideway! The way you have such a quaint lovely place to stay and yet always feel connected to the warm air breezes of south Kona is exquisite. And then there is the hot tub, which we used morning and evening. The place is just up the road from Two Step, one of the richest places to snorkel. It has it all! The outside shower took me a little time to get used to, but soon became very enjoyable.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

I loved every minute of my 5 day stay here. Now wishing I would have booked the whole month with Kathy, instead of moving around like I am. South Kona- just minutes up the hill from two-step (best snorkeling on the island) and only a few more to the best beach on the island.

A truly charming little place surrounded by vegetation and everything I needed for a comfortable stay. At first I was a tad apprehensive about taking my shower outdoors but it's so private, with it's own private yard...shower and enjoy the magnificent sunsets!

The description is perfectly accurate- including the rooster crowing in the middle of the night sometimes. Earplugs/cotton balls came in handy. Honestly, that, the frogs, the birds and geckos...all the sights and sounds of the outdoors made my stay an unforgettable adventure in Hawaii!

I Will definitely be back next year!

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had an amazing time staying at Kathy's Tropical Hideaway surrounded by tropical fruit trees and listening to calming bird and frog chirping. It felt like an ultimate paradise for people who work in the busy city. We never used earplugs, frogs sound more like exotic birds and it felt like a lullaby before we fell asleep. The only thing we didn't like was mosquitos, I guess they like it there as well. Not a big deal you just have to protect yourself if you are sitting outside.

Very close by snorkeling Two Step, it is the best, we were lucky to swim with spinner dolphins at this bay, very magical!

Kathy was very helpful, we will miss her fresh papayas and lemons she left for us every morning in the basket from her own trees.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cute, rustic, comfortable...all we needed in a sublime setting.

  • 4 of 5

First of all: we would stay here again - the real test. We weren't sure if this would be quite "right" for us: no windows, outdoor shower, etc. However, it was more than enough. In fact, the limited amenities promote a more relaxed, easy, "snorkel in the morning/nap in the afternoon lifestyle". The Tropical Hideaway provided all we needed much to our surprise. We used the outdoor grill when we wanted to make a real meal, and were able to manage the hotplate for steaming vegetables (the hot plate was the one appliance that I would upgrade - it is old and slow to heat up, a source of frustration for things like steaming veggies). This criticism is slight given all the blessings that the Hideaway offers: the absolutely delicious saltwater pool (no chlorine!), the lush tropical setting with heliconia flowers blooming everywhere, fresh mangoes and bananas grown on the property (the best I've ever tasted), and vivid green day geckos (famous from Geico commercials) that chirp you to sleep at night. And we appreciated the warm, unobtrusive management by Michael and Ivy who live on the large property. And last but not least, the proximity to Two Step Bay (next to the Place of Refuge National Park), the best snorkeling that we've ever experienced. We basically got in the car, rolled down the highway for two miles and were there. We snorkeled every morning. Try the Tropical Hideaway - you'll love it.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Tropical Hideaway and would like to come back! Just to clarify for other guests, there are no glass windows, but on three sides there are half walls and screens, so there are plenty of views of the ocean and gardens, and fresh breezes. I was on vacation during your stay, so Michael and Ivy took care of the guests while I was gone. FYI, I usually point out the vegetable steamer and rice cooker, a valuable addition for cooking. The two burner hot plate is only a year old. All of the new two burner electric hot plates I found still have a 1300w larger burner and a small 500w burner (only good for warming up food). There are also two coffeemakers, which can be used for quickly boiling water.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

We spent five nights here on our honeymoon and it was absolutely wonderful! We had everything we needed for our stay and felt right at home. We loved the fresh fruit, the hot tub, the pool, outdoor shower and the thoughtful layout of the studio and garden. Michael and Ivy were available when we needed things, which wasn't much, and they happily answered all our questions about tropical plants (we both have farming backgrounds). The location is just perfect for snorkeling at Two-step and exploring the area south of Kona. We loved falling asleep to the sound of frogs at night - the Hawaii version of crickets. The couple times we ate in we had everything we needed for simple meals and the coffee supplied for our first couple mornings was a nice touch. Fresh fruit with local coffee sitting on our garden patio was the perfect way to start our days and relaxing in the hot tub in the evening was a wonderful way to end them. I would definitely recommend this place to others and hope to make it back here again some day!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Kreolé Kitchen
Tin Shack Bakery
Pahoa Fresh Fish
Seafood Restaurant
Kaleo's Bar & Grill
Bar & Grill
No. 1 Chinese Barbecue
Chinese Restaurant
Paolo's Bistro
Ning's Thai Cuisine
Thai Restaurant
Mighty Sushi
Sushi Restaurant
Strato's New York Pizzeria
Pizza Restaurant
International Grindz Cafe
Boogie Woogie Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Pele's Kitchen
Breakfast Restaurant
New Moon Foods
Organic Restaurant
Luquins Mexican Food Truck
Mexican Restaurant
Sirius Coffee Connection
Coffee Shop
Black Rock Cafe
American Restaurant
L & L Drive-Inn
Barbecue Restaurant
Ginas Lunch Wagon
Blane's Drive Inn
Liquid Life Hawaii
Spoonfull Cafe
Thai Restaurant
Canton Garden Cafe
Chinese Restaurant
Lemongrass Restaurant
Thai Restaurant
L & L Hawaiian BBQ
Hawaiian Restaurant
Kurtistown Cafe
Ma'ona Lunch Counter
Hamburger Restaurant
Honi Wai Cafe
Hawaiian Restaurant
Hilo Coffee Mill
Coffee Shop
Hilo Municipal Golf Course
Bar & Grill
Kandi's Drive Inn
Kow's Restaurant
Chinese Restaurant
Genki Ramen House
Pizza Hawaii & Deli
Pizza Restaurant
Ling's Chop Suey House
Cantonese Restaurant
Kuhio Grille - Home Of The Famous 1lb Laulau
Hawaiian Restaurant
Jamba Juice Prince Kuhio Mall
Juice Shop
Hiro's Place
Sunlight Express
Hot Dog on a Stick
Hot Dog Restaurant
Zippy's Hilo
American Restaurant
Maui Tacos
Mexican Restaurant
Pizza Ala Slice
Pizza Restaurant
Sum Leung Chinese Kitchen
Chinese Restaurant
Hilo Rice Noodle Soup
Asian Restaurant
L&L Chinese Express Chopsticks
Hawaiian Restaurant
Kalbi Express
Korean Restaurant
1 Plus 1 Cafe LLC
Vietnamese Restaurant
Blane's Drive Inn - Industrial
Hawaiian Restaurant
Leung's Chop Suey House
Chinese Restaurant
Nearest Airport
27 Miles
Kona, Hawaii
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Corner Pocket, Kealakekua
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 11 & Highway 160
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Kona Coffehouse at Honaunau
Nearest Beach
2.5 Miles
Two Step, Honaunau Bay
Car: necessary

Swimming with wild dolphins


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $75
Cleaning $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Monthly rate is not available from December 15-April 15 during peak winter season. There is a $50 cancellation fee for cancelling 60+ days before the reservation dates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties