Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Tropical Hideaway, Best Snorkeling, Pool, Hot Tub

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Space 345 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Studio, Studio + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Tropical Hideaway is a charming Hawaii-style downstairs studio apartment in a lush garden setting, with ocean and sunset views, plus a chemical-free swimming pool with waterfall and private hot tub. Tropical Hideaway is just a three minute drive from fabulous snorkeling, kayaking, diving and dolphin experiences at Honaunau (Two Step), and close to Kealakekua Bay & Ho'okena Bay. Recently upgraded with a new Serta Perfect Sleeper $1000 bed and breezeway mural of dolphins, whales and coastline.

The beautifully landscaped garden is filled with mango, papaya, banana, likikoi, lemons, limes and other fruit trees and flowers. Pick your own breakfast (some fruits are seasonal) and relax in the back to nature environment or explore the island by day and return to your cozy retreat by night. Private hot tub and outdoor shower. Explore the awesome beauty of Hawaii's active volcano or the upcountry pastures of Parker Ranch and the cowboy country of Waimea--each just a 1.5 hour drive.

Tropical Hideaway is located on the west side of the 'Big Island' of Hawaii about 20 miles south of the town of Kailua-Kona, 1 mile off the main island highway near the 'Painted Church,' and 2 miles from the 'Place of Refuge' National Park at Honaunau.

Rates: Studio $120 per night + tax and $100 cleaning fee for 1-2 persons, 3 night minimum with advance reservation. (Futon couch also available for a child 10+ or third person, $15/night additional for 3rd person.)

Keywords: Studio Apartment

More Details

Owner
Kathleen Carr
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 15, 2017

About Kathleen Carr

I've had a love affair with Hawaii since I first lived on Maui in the '60s. I am thrilled to be able to offer a vacation rental in the Captain Cook/Honaunau area, which is my favorite place to live.

Kathleen Carr purchased this studio in 2001

Why Kathleen Carr chose Honaunau-Napoopoo

This wonderful location is three minutes from the best snorkeling on the island, with wild dolphins and turtles as well. It is in a lush, tropical area, filled with fruit trees and gardens--private, quiet and rural, yet within easy driving distance of a variety of cultural sites and natural wonders.

What makes this studio unique

I start each morning with a swim or snorkel in the ocean, then enjoy breakfast either on the lanai or poolside. Kayaking is a favorite pastime, as well as hiking nearby trails. Volcano National Park is a 1.5 hour drive, and if I want an evening in town or to dine at a nice restaurant, I'm within 30 minutes of Kailua-Kona.

Guestbook comments from the owner

As the name implies, this truly is a Tropical Hideaway. You have thought of everything to make the place comfortable and functional. We especially appreciated the hot tub. The beach equipment came in very useful as well. Thanks for making this stretch of our Hawaiian getaway exactly what we envisioned.
Jan 2011
  • 1 of 32

Amenities

Honaunau-Napoopoo Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 345 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Not suitable for children ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Quiet time after 10pm and before 8am
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • New Serta Perfect Sleeper Queen Size Bed (1), Double Futon Couch with Temperpedic foam topper
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Chemical free salt pool with waterfall and mermaid, lush garden setting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(54 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
11% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Tropical Hideaway, Best Snorkeling, Pool, Hot Tub
average rating of 4.814815 based on 86 reviews
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Stayed for 10 nights in July. Myself and my 16 year old son arrived late at night and tired from our long journey. We stepped out of the car to be greeted by a magically lit garden driveway, a chorus of birds like I've never heard before, and a warm welcome from Kathy. I try to make the accomodation a part of my travel adventure and this hit the mark. We were never in a rush to leave, sitting in the gardens with a Kona coffee and a book, or enjoying the hot tub, outdoor shower with an ocean view, fresh fruit, and more, and after a day of activity were lulled to sleep by the fresh air and bird song. Kathy, as well as Michael and Ivy, let us be, but were most helpful when we needed. I was suprised to find there were coolers, lawn/beach chairs, boogie boards, and snorkeling gear for guests. We scuba dived around Kona but enjoyed the nearby snorkeling just as much, which is the best snorkeling on the Island. Yes, as some guests have noted, the accomodation is close to a highway, but it is single lane traffic and only "busy" in the morning when you are getting up anyway (why waste your day - this is Hawaii!). Hotels are noisier, in my opinion. Also noted - my son says the wifi is better than at home :). I hope to go back the Big Island and to stay at Tropical Hideaway again. Jacquie (Calgary)

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a delight to have you at Tropical Hideaway. I do hope you return again! Hello hi Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute, rustic, comfortable...all we needed in a sublime setting.

  • 4 of 5

First of all: we would stay here again - the real test. We weren't sure if this would be quite "right" for us: no windows, outdoor shower, etc. However, it was more than enough. In fact, the limited amenities promote a more relaxed, easy, "snorkel in the morning/nap in the afternoon lifestyle". The Tropical Hideaway provided all we needed much to our surprise. We used the outdoor grill when we wanted to make a real meal, and were able to manage the hotplate for steaming vegetables (the hot plate was the one appliance that I would upgrade - it is old and slow to heat up, a source of frustration for things like steaming veggies). This criticism is slight given all the blessings that the Hideaway offers: the absolutely delicious saltwater pool (no chlorine!), the lush tropical setting with heliconia flowers blooming everywhere, fresh mangoes and bananas grown on the property (the best I've ever tasted), and vivid green day geckos (famous from Geico commercials) that chirp you to sleep at night. And we appreciated the warm, unobtrusive management by Michael and Ivy who live on the large property. And last but not least, the proximity to Two Step Bay (next to the Place of Refuge National Park), the best snorkeling that we've ever experienced. We basically got in the car, rolled down the highway for two miles and were there. We snorkeled every morning. Try the Tropical Hideaway - you'll love it.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Tropical Hideaway and would like to come back! Just to clarify for other guests, there are no glass windows, but on three sides there are half walls and screens, so there are plenty of views of the ocean and gardens, and fresh breezes. I was on vacation during your stay, so Michael and Ivy took care of the guests while I was gone. FYI, I usually point out the vegetable steamer and rice cooker, a valuable addition for cooking. The two burner hot plate is only a year old. All of the new two burner electric hot plates I found still have a 1300w larger burner and a small 500w burner (only good for warming up food). There are also two coffeemakers, which can be used for quickly boiling water.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

We spent five nights here on our honeymoon and it was absolutely wonderful! We had everything we needed for our stay and felt right at home. We loved the fresh fruit, the hot tub, the pool, outdoor shower and the thoughtful layout of the studio and garden. Michael and Ivy were available when we needed things, which wasn't much, and they happily answered all our questions about tropical plants (we both have farming backgrounds). The location is just perfect for snorkeling at Two-step and exploring the area south of Kona. We loved falling asleep to the sound of frogs at night - the Hawaii version of crickets. The couple times we ate in we had everything we needed for simple meals and the coffee supplied for our first couple mornings was a nice touch. Fresh fruit with local coffee sitting on our garden patio was the perfect way to start our days and relaxing in the hot tub in the evening was a wonderful way to end them. I would definitely recommend this place to others and hope to make it back here again some day!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A natural paradise, with incredible snorkeling a short drive away

  • 5 of 5

If you like the idea of staying in the middle of a gorgeous tropical garden (including trees that produce apple bananas, lilikoi, papaya, and other fruits in season), then Tropical Hideaway will be heaven for you. The studio is screened in, so you can listen to the breeze and forest sounds as you drift off to sleep and wake up in the morning. Some of these sounds include the ubiquitous and often very loud Coqui frogs, but the ear plugs in the well-stocked medicine chest ensured a good night's sleep for one of us (the other just accepted the Coquis as part of the evening soundscape). The property offers plenty of amenities, including a gas grill, two hot tubs, and a salt-water dip pool, as well as snorkel gear, beach towels, straw mats, and just about anything else you might need for water fun. The studio is nicely appointed and well equipped (just a hot plate in the kitchen, but who needs an oven on vacation?). We loved the outdoor shower, complete with an ocean view and anthuriums at our feet. Although the Hideaway itself is quite private, Kathy and Michael, the owners, live upstairs and are very friendly and willing to help, and Ivy, the resident gardener, told us about Kiernan's Music in Kealakekua, where we bought a terrific ukelele. Kathy generously allows guests to use her Netflix and Pandora, which was great at night. We appreciated being in such a beautiful natural setting, drinking wine, and watching "The Crown." The main reason we booked this property, however, is that it is about a five-minute drive from Two Step Beach, perhaps the best snorkeling in the Hawaiian Islands. If you love snorkeling, you should stay at Tropical Hideway. Kathy, also an avid snorkeller, kindly lent us her fish identification books. Now, a few caveats: (1) If you expect hotel-like luxury, you will probably find the Hideaway a bit rustic. (2) If you are not a big fan of the outdoors, you won't have a good time because you are basically "glamping." It rained quite a bit while we were there (as we discovered, the Kona side does have a rainy season) and the bed linens sometimes felt a bit damp, but this wasn't really a problem for us. Also, if you are a mosquito attractor, bring Cutter's (the only repellent that worked for me). (3) If you have accessibility issues, the step-up platform bed, while very comfortable, may be difficult for you to manage. All in all, we truly enjoyed our stay at Tropical Hideaway and would definitely like to return.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Carmen, thank you for the wonderful review. I really enjoyed having you as a guest. I'd like to clarify a couple of things for those who read the reviews. The coquis chirp primarily in the summer rainy season, so most of the year it is pretty quiet. We do try to keep any frogs away from the living areas. And mosquitoes are more prevalent in the rainy season as well. In addition to the hot plate, the kitchenette has a large Oster toaster oven with convection setting, a microwave, a steamer and rice cooker, and two coffee-makers, plus the outdoor grill. Most guests don't do much cooking. I look forward to a future visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely Place to Restore and Relax

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Tropical Getaway and were completely enchanted by the location and ambiance of the place. The website pictures are a true representation. The grounds are beautiful and quiet (bring earplugs though for the coqui frogs!). The bed was super comfortable. The whole place is screened in so you feel like you are outside all of the time, which we loved. Since it was so lovely outside this was welcome and wonderful. We loved the hot tub which is kept very clean. It is a very private spot and we felt like we had it all to ourselves. Kathy, the owner, was friendly and helpful. It was nice to meet her. The kitchen had everything we needed and was easy to use. The bathroom was super clean and the outdoor shower was easy to use and very private. We used the Getaway as a base for many adventures but our favorite was the Place of Refuge and Two Step snorkeling spot which were mere minutes from the Getaway. We enjoyed delicious avocados from the surrounding gardens. We couldn't have chosen a better place. It was so hard to leave!

  • Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Calgary Alberta
5

Wonderfully rustic!

  • 5 of 5

Loved my 12 days at this rental. Amazing gardens, fabulous pool and everything I needed to enjoy every moment. There is everything you need in the kitchen, the outdoor shower was amazing and the bed is very comfortable. Having no windows and just screens allowed a wonderful breeze to fill the unit and because of the rustic location this allowed the sounds of nature to also fill the unit. Ear plugs helped the first few nights but then was used to the noises and thoroughly enjoyed falling asleep and waking up them.

The location is away from town and you must have a car to access stores. The snorkeling 3 mins away at two step beach was amazing and I was blessed to have seen dolphins, turtles and hundreds of fish.

Thank you so much Ivy for welcoming me in Kathy's absence and thank you Kathy for your hospitality upon your return. Would return again in a heartbeat!

Big Mahalo!!!

Tasha

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
27 Miles
Kona, Hawaii
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Corner Pocket, Kealakekua
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 11 & Highway 160
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Kona Coffehouse at Honaunau
Nearest Beach
2.5 Miles
Two Step, Honaunau Bay
Car: necessary

Swimming with wild dolphins

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $75
Cleaning $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Monthly rate is not available from December 15-April 15 during peak winter season. There is a $50 cancellation fee for cancelling 60+ days before the reservation dates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties