check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Charming Warm and Cozy Cabin Near Cataloochee Ski and Ranch with Game Room!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms that sleeps 10

The charming Copper Top cabin is nestled on 4 acres and is very close to the entrance of Cataloochee Ski Area. It has 2 Bedrooms with a queen bed and 1 bedroom in the basement with 2 twin beds. There is a newly added game room, which includes a pool table, air hockey, Foosball, and darts. Copper Top is the perfect vacation spot for any family. Just 35 minutes from Asheville and 1 hour from Gatlinburg, Maggie Valley is nestled in the Smokies and is a quaint little town that provides that quiet vacation getaway.

This beautiful home offers privacy and seclusion, while allowing you to feel connected to your beautiful surroundings and accessible YEAR ROUND even by motorcycle.

There are so many things to do in the Smoky Mountain/Western North Carolina area for both winter and summer months; From whitewater rafting, trout fishing and exploring all the local national parks in the Summertime, to skiing, tubing and making a snowman in the Winter months. This log home is located a short thirty minute drive from Asheville. In addition, other nearby towns such as Bryson City offer train expositions year-round; Gatlinburg, Tennessee is just a forty five minute drive away in the Summer - but do allow extra time in the Winter when the Blue Ridge Parkway and other highways are closed due to inclement weather. If gambling and good food is of interest to you, this serene log home is just twenty minutes away from Cherokee’s Harrah’s Casino.

The satellite TV in the Great Room as well as the Basement have no LOCAL Channels but have many movie channels.

More Details

Owner
Marianne Chinea
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 19, 2017

About Marianne Chinea

We are from Florida and love to vacation in our mountain home up in the Smokies. We have made incredible memories with our kids there and hope that our guests can enjoy it and have great times with their families at Copper Top!

Marianne Chinea purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Marianne Chinea chose Maggie Valley

We visited Maggie Valley with some friends since 2001. There was just something about Maggie Valley that lured us in. It's a quaint little town with some amazing views. There are so many fun things to do however also amazing to just sit and read with an incredible view of the Smokies.

What makes this cabin unique

It is accessible year-round and the road is paved and maintained year round. We are very close to Cataloochee Ski and Ranch.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We usually get a cottage on the outer banks of North Carolina, but it was getting a little "old". We had a 75 MPH trip from Eastern NC to Maggie Valley. There are 3 or 4 nice rest areas to picnic or get out and walk the dog, that are maintained by the state of NC YES.!! I did say walk the dog!!! Copper Top has the added attraction of allowing pets, and our little dog just had as much fun as we did.



This has been one of the hottest summers on record, but we were so comfortable with temps in the 70's and at night in the high 60's. This cottage is the most unique one our family has ever stayed in. If you see the picture of the cabin on the net, it looks like a tiny cabin. It has 3 floors and 2 are built into the side of the mountain.! It does seem that you are the only person on the mountain, but you are not. Nice road to the cabin . Our entire family went and we had more than enough room to park 3 cars.

It has just the right amount of kitchen you need on a vacation. You can make large dinners or small suppers and everything is there. Everything is so new. The island in the kitchen has a bar with stools.. There is a nice dining room table as well. The den has a wonderful fireplace which I was sad we did not need! Our 30 somthing children and spouses, and grandson immediately plugged in all their electronic devices. There was no problem using the computers anywhere because the cabin has wireless modems!! Tlie living room with fireplace has a huge cable tv with sattelite hookup.> On this first floor is a large bath and bedroom with Queen bed. and tv/ The beds were already made for us!! The laundry area is perfect with ironing board and iron. The first floor has lovely hardwood floors with rugs in stategic places. The decorator used a Black Bear Theme for many pictures, quilts, even a bear rug on the floor. The quilts and curtains in the home are gorgeous. I love quilts and a country feeling.



A door opens that leads downstairs to the most complete gaming room I have ever seen . There was pool, fooz ball, darts, huge tv with interactive games as well as almost any child or adult game you would want. There is a couch and chair, and it is just the right place for kids or guys who want to watch football games. A porch just outside overlooks the valley going down the mountain. There was a PSP game a
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(50 traveler reviews)

Charming Warm and Cozy Cabin Near Cataloochee Ski and Ranch with Game Room!
average rating of 4.4 based on 51 reviews
5

Mountain Paradise

  • 5 of 5

I was leary of renting something over the internet, however this was everything & more! The cabin is very clean & has all the amenities that one would require. We loved the spectacular view, in the evening or early morning the animals could be seen down below the deck. Nights in the hot tub under a star filled sky were amazing. If you want peace and true relaxation this is the place for you. The seclusion is just enough to enjoy the time away from the rat race and civilization is close enough for all of your needs otherwise. We also did some horseback riding up @ Cattaloochi Ranch just up the mountain from the cabin. The views were breath taking as well. We loved this vacation so much that we are definitely coming back again this summer & really wished it had been available in Dec. The fireplace was wonderful & there is sufficient seating/sleeping for an entire family. The layout/photos of the cabin were exactly as when you arrive. The agent made the rental process smooth & effortless. The brochures in the cabin & the guest sign in book will help you to decide on the best activities. Don't miss a pancake breakfast @ Joe's across from Ghostown in the Sky, delicious. You really must stay @ Copper Top, it is the opportunity of a lifetime!

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very excited to hear that you had such a great time in our home. Believe me we do agree about that delicious breakfast @ Joe's who was also a Floridian like ourselves. Hope that you definetely will come back to Copper Top! Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
13 1
5

Very pleased. Everything was as expected and some...

  • 5 of 5

The owner was very attentive to our calls and texts prior to our arrival. She addressed all previous poor review's concerns and everything was fine when we arrived. The cabin was clean, HUGE (we were a family of 9), and the kitchen was well equipped. The pictures are accurate, the hot tub was clean and hot!, and my husband enjoyed snowboarding literally right up the road from the cabin.

We would stay here again if we return to the Maggie Valley area!!

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful View - Cozy

  • 5 of 5

The cabin is has a great floorplan. It's spread out enough to comfortably fit maximum 7-8 people [although the they say up to 10]. The mountain views are beautiful and the cabin has a nice secluded feeling. Beds are comfortable.

We went up to the ski resort one say -it is literally a 4 minute drive up the mountain. I would definitely come again during a different part of the year to experience the other attractions that open during warmer weather. The only cons I would say is upstairs bathroom is a large tub with a detachable shower head that is very low when hanging on the wall. It is not intended for taking a shower - therefore that means there is only 1 shower in the house for all of your guests. Also when we arrived the cleaning crew overlooked some stuff - someone's shirt was frozen to the deck and greasy handprints were on door windows.

I would come again!

  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great location but amenities lacking

  • 2 of 5

Perfect location for what we wanted to do but inside was in need of repair. Upon first entering property, the pantry door fell on me, not one roll of toilet paper, dishwashing soap or detergent. We had broken lightbulbs still in the sockets downstairs and pool table with sticks laid under one of the legs to level it out since it was broken. Downstairs TV remote didn't work even after changing the batteries and most of the channels didn't work. TV upstairs had many channels that didn't work and internet was worse than dial up. We couldn't even stream movies from our phones or IPads. The close out process was in the book at the cabin and we had to wash our own towels and pay $5 per garbage bag if we wanted the housekeeper to place them in the receptacle out front. We have stayed in cabins for about 15 years and we never had a place with this many issues. Before we even arrived my husband never got the owner to respond to his questions in multiple emails or phone message.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. -The door to the pantry did not fall, it derailed due to expansion and contraction and has since been adjusted to work correctly. -We inform each tenant to bring their own paper supplies. That is something that just about every cabin up in the mountains requires and we clearly state that in the Homeaway cabin desciptions. -The remotes where damaged by a prior tenant and has since been replaced. -We are on aerial satellite internet, which is slowed by several factors, such as weather and other satellite users. It is the only service that operates at this altitude and we disclose this on our main page. Everyone at this altitude has this issue. -We NEVER told the tenant to wash the towels, but to simply throw them in the washer upon checkout. Our cleaning crew handles the washing. -The $5 per bag was in addition to the trash that was left in the outside bins. This tenant had more than the usual bags of garbage and that was the reason for the charge. -3-27 was the first email through Homeaway, we responded within 1.5 hour and cabin was booked, then Homeaway responded with lock box details automatically. On 11/7 and 11/13 the tenant requested lock box information, which we then had Homeaway resend to them. We did not hear from tenant at that time, which means that they received the information that we had Homeaway send to them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

very little to fuss about

  • 5 of 5

cabin was beautiful and very clean. mountain view is awesome quiet and secluded just as we hoped. enjoyed our stay to the fullest.

FYI couple of issues that may need attn.

sat tv had loss of signal on a lot of channels all week

never could get jucuzzi upstairs to start. checked all gfci and breaker outside. all seemed right but never started.

upstairs bedroom light switch has a short.

like I said very little to fuss over, your home is beautiful and we enjoyed it very much. Thank you

Johnny and Diane Moessner

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good place to visit.

  • 3 of 5

The experience around the Maggie Valley was wonderful. To many beautiful and natural places to visit. At the cabin our experience was normal. They should take more care off the place (we found a lot dust in the game room and some wood pieces was left on the room near the game room). But other than that was normal and very relax.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Asheville
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Dillsboro
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US 19 and Fie Top Road
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Cataloochee Ski Area
Car: necessary

Just 1/3 mile above Copper Top cabin is the Cataloochee Ranch in Summer and Ski Resort in Winter. If you drive down the mountain to the bottom is the entrance to Ghost Town in the Sky (amusement park). Across the street from Ghost Town is Tony's Tube World in Winter. Just a few minutes away are many different rivers for White Water rafting. Some are the Nantahala, Chattooga, Pigeon, French Broad, Tuckaseegee, and Ocoee (1996 Olympic Whitewater events). Just one hour through the Blue Ridge Parkway is Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg Tennessee with countless things to do from Gem Mining to a wide array of shopping. Ashville is just 35 minutes away with an outstanding Nature Center, beautiful Downtown area and Biltmore Estate and Winery which is America's largest home and Ashville's oldest home. Cherokee is just about 35 minutes away and has many different activities to offer including Harrah's Casino, Ocunaluftee Village, Unto these Hills Show, Tubing, Hiking and Fishing.

Other Activities: White water rafting, and tubing

Ski: Cataloochee Ski Area offers 14 runs and 5 lifts that are operating at this time. They currently offer Day, Twilight and Night skiing.

*****Kids Ski Free***** A child 17 and under, will receive a free lift ticket at Cataloochee Ski Area any non-holiday Monday through Friday with a parent purchasing a full price adult day, twilight, or night lift ticket.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cataloochee Ranch Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
$850
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning $120
Hot Tub $60
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.0%

8% NC Sales Tax and 4% NC Occupancy Tax
PLEASE BRING SOAP AND PAPER PRODUCTS. You will be provided 1 Paper towel and 1 toilet paper in each restroom.

Balance is due 30 days before arrival.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Cataloochee Ranch Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2450 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
  • Downstairs bathroom has a shower/tub. Upstairs bathroom has a jetted bath tub and powder area.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Downstairs Bedroom: Has a Queen bed and TV with DVD/ VCR, and DIRECTV IS OUR SERVICE LOTS OF MOVIE CHANNELS BUT WE DO NOT GET LOCAL CHANNELS WITH OUR SERVICE. Upstairs Bedroom has a Queen bed.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • forests
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Great Room has a sleeper full, and sleeper twin. The loft has a sleeper queen bed. Deck has a charcoal grill, Hot tub and patio picnic

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties