Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

5 Star Rated Cozy Mtn. Log Cabin, Easy Access, Close Evrythng

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Apple-achia is a genuine log cabin decorated in an apple theme and pronounced like the mountains where it is located just outside Pigeon Forge, Tennessee overlooking the Smoky Mountains. Designed as a quiet, peaceful getaway where you can relax and refresh your spirit.

You'll enjoy the wrap-around porch with its Amish rockers, swing and relaxing hot tub. The cozy gas fireplace in winter or the charcoal grill and picnic table in summer will draw you into its charm. The pool table, air hockey, book and movie library, over 200 satellite TV channels plus XM satellite radio and movie channels will help you unwind. The huge log king bed in the loft area or the queen bed in the lower bedroom welcome you at the end of the day.

All the excitement you may want is close by in Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg and Dollywood. Most furnishings are Amish built for us, and the cabin is decorated in country decor, cozy and comfortable. Apple-achia is a fully furnished home; all you bring is your food to prepare in the well equipped kitchen. Water quality is a big concern these days and Apple-achia has mountain well water with a state-of-the-art filtration system for pure, sparking clear water.

Think of having your morning coffee on the large porch while listening to the birds in the wooded surroundings and looking out over the Smoky Mountains stretched out before you. Spend a special holiday, vacation, anniversary, honeymoon or just a getaway. You'll want to come back again and again.

Keywords: Real Log Cabin

More Details

Owner
Betty and Gordon Griffin
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 14, 2017

About Betty and Gordon Griffin

We are Betty and Gordon Griffin, originally from Ohio, retired to Tennessee. We have been providing log cabin rental for over 16 years and have the skills to provide a quality vacation experience. No skimping on quality. Living nearby we can maintain the log cabin so that guests feel they are the first to enter. Also, we are available to address and issue that may arise.

We are retired insurance executives, have many years experience in property management. Our goal: to provide the best cabin at the right price to maintain quality. We love pets and maintain a pet guest book in the cabin. We are available to help in vacation planning.

Betty and Gordon Griffin purchased this cabin in 1999

Why Betty and Gordon Griffin chose East

We chose this location for it's accessibility year round, high enough for a nice mountain view, great roads and the private, wooded, acreage level enough to enjoy.

What makes this cabin unique

Relaxation and renewal are key offerings. All the attractions are nearby and after enjoying them you can return to a quiet, peaceful log cabin to unwind, relax and take in the atmosphere.

Amenities

Sevierville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • King size beds (1) Huge king log bed in loft made of sassafras and cherry woods by Amish craftsmen. New comfy mattress., Queen size Beds (1) In lower bedroom with decorative net canopy at the head.
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Apple-achia is a genuine log cabin pronounced like the mountains where it's located. Decorated in apple theme, furnished with Amish built furniture in a cozy, comfortable country decor. Amish rockers and swing, bar table with chairs, and hot tub on porch. Huge log king bed in loft area. Mountain well water with state-of-the-art filtration system for crystal clear, pure water. Wooded, private cabin designed as a quiet, relaxing retreat for a couple, 2 couples, or a couple with up to 3 children. Pet friendly. Non-smoking. Privacy on 4 acres. Paved roads.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

5 Star Rated Cozy Mtn. Log Cabin, Easy Access, Close Evrythng
average rating of 4.3809524 based on 21 reviews
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

Oh wow what a wonderful stay my family had in this beautifully decorated cabin! It was an easy 15 minute (if that) drive to the Parkway via Wears Valley, yet in a secluded location with just one other cabin. It had all the activities my family could ask for ... hot tub and books for me; pool table, air hockey, corn hole for my son; rocking chairs and porch swing for daughter; comfy couch and satellite tv for hubby! There were some very minor housekeeping issues... a few burnt out light bulbs, some dust and cobwebs up high and excess condensation and a missing door brace on the fridge , but all in all it was very clean and we saw no bugs or critters whatsoever! We will definitely book it for our next long stay in the area!!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Laura for taking the time to share your experience at the cabin with us. It is more than heart warming to us to know you had such a wonderful visit. We are correcting the few issues you mention. Your comment will help others to learn of this wonderful cabin. We really look forward to a time when you can come back for a visit. Gordon
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Although the drive was steep, we absolutely had a great stay. When we build our house, we'll probably use some of the same building design. The owners were very nice and made our stay feel like we were at home.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Betty who is from the ultra-flat state of Deleaware chose this lot because it was not steep. Compared with many drives this one is very easy. We get great reviews from nearly every guest which makes our efforts very rewarding. We continue to provide a quiet getaway for couples or small family yet very close to all activities
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
1

Mouse Problem

  • 1 of 5

I booked three nights stay in the cabin. The first two nights we spent the entire days in Gatlinburg and arrived back at the cabin fairly late where we went straight to bed. The next morning we decided to cook breakfast ourselves so we went into town and grabbed a few groceries. We returned to the cabin and began cooking. It was then that we spotted a baby mouse that ran out onto the counter. We immediately packed our belongings and I notified Gordon of the incident asking if he would be willing to refund our money for the third night only so that we could stay in a hotel for the evening. As I'm sure anyone would agree, we did not feel comfortable staying in the cabin that had mice. I received no response through the HomeAway app so I decided to use another form of communication and email him . I let another several hours pass with no response before I decided to call him directly. When I finally got a hold of Gordon over the phone he expressed that the exterminator had just been in the cabin 4 weeks prior and should have fixed the problem. He said he would contact VRBO which is who the purchase was through and have the money refunded. I told him I would wait for his response. I gave Gordon two days (being that July 4th was a holiday and understood that nothing would probably be handled that day) and had checked for any emails or messages through the app and found nothing. I decided to send another follow up email and finally received a written response. He told me that this had only happened on two occasions and that no one could prevent an issue like this. He refused to refund me any money as he promised over the phone but was willing to comp a 2 night stay for a future return. I believe that my refund request was very reasonable considering I was only asking for 1 night refunded and not a full reimbursement. I think that Gordon isn't being fully honest on the fact that this is the second time that an incident like this has happened. I was looking on the reviews and back in 2015 there was another complaint about this same incident. Being that he also mentioned the exterminator from 4 weeks prior, this would at a minimum document three instances. I believe that this has been an ongoing issue since 2015 and am very disappointed in the way in which Gordon has dealt with this. Gordon is aware of the mouse problem and is taking the risk in hopes that those staying in the cabin don't discover the problem exists.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: When first contacted on this I was in a hospital Emergency Room due to a serious accident. By the time I could respond within just a few hours, the guest had already been moved to another cabin and thus I had no chance to send my people to correct the issue. In her e-mails she clearly told me she knew of the no refund policy, however I said I would talk with VRBO and with this being 4th of July weekend, discovered that there had been twenty two (22) other families inquiring or booking the cabin at the same time this guest booked, and most had paid. Upon my call to VRBO a Customer Service Representative helped me reject the 22 families bookings and inquiries and cancel the credit card payments for the large number who had paid.. This was the busiest 4th of July we had experienced in 18 years. When this guest leased the cabin she effectively took it off the market for 3 full days. This left 22 families who had to cancel their plans for the 4th.. We corrected the problem and have received great comments from the 2 following guests and a full 5 stars.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Cabin was clean and cozy. Everything we needed was there! It was a nice peaceful stay! We actually enjoyed the lack of wifi it gave us more family interaction! Thank you for the great cabin!

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Robin. You have no idea how pleased I we are when a guest like you has such a wonderful visit in the cabin. The positive words you expressed makes us want to work harder to make this the best cabin. We all hope you can come visit us again soon. Gordon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Smithfield nc. 27577
5

We loved the cabin and everything about it. Got to see our first Scorpion also.

  • 5 of 5

Thanks for allowing us to stay in your cabin, it was perfect. We loved everything about it. The privacy was perfect. We would stay again!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Words cannot express my joy when a guest enjoys their visit to our cabin. Our very first priority is to provide a place to recharge the spirit. As for the scorpion, these little guys do appear from time to time despite our best efforts to keep them away. We will address this with our exterminator. Thank you for taking the time to share your love for this cabin. Your happy memories are our reward. Gordon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hayden, AL
5

Wonderful Spring Trip!

  • 5 of 5

Our family really enjoyed our stay at Apple-achian. It was very conveniently located to all attractions. The cabin has everything you need to have a comfortable stay. The hot tub was wonderful to relax in after a day sightseeing. We visit the mountains several times a year and will certainly keep this rental on our favorites list. Thank you Betty and Gordon for sharing Apple-achian with us.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are honored that you chose Apple-achia for your visit to the Smokies and overjoyed that you enjoyed your visit. In this unsettled world we now live in our goal is even stronger to provide a getaway, for even a little while, to refresh and renew your spirit. Nice comments such as yours prompts us to work even harder to maintain a level of excellence in this cabin. We do hope to have you return and look forward to your visit. Gordon and Betty Cabin Getaways
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Only 35 miles to Cherokee, North Carolina. Indian reservation with shopping restaurants and Harrah's Hotel and Casino. Lots of local music, bluegrass, country, gospel and popular. Many theaters and huge shopping.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sevierville Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $60 + Tax
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. A 30 day notice is required for cancellation or changes. Cancellations made more than 30 days prior to arrival date will receive a refund of the advance payment less a $25.00 service charge. Cancellations made within 30 days of arrival will not receive a refund but will be offered future re-booking. No refund for early departure. Purchase of travel insurance is highly recommended.
Cabin is pet friendly upon approval.
As lessee you agree responsibility for damage, missing items upon receipt of an itemized notice.
Extra charges occur with evidence of smoking or drug us in the cabin, required extra cleaning, damage to hot tub or cover or adding any product to or tampering with hot tub settings. failure to return keys to lock box upon departure,
towels and linens damaged or missing, damage to cabin or contents beyond normal wear and tear.
Falsified reservations or those made under false pretense will forfeit payments made and receive immediate cancellation.
No maid service is provided. Washer and dryer provided for laundry during your visit.
In the possibility an event should occur with the cabin, it will be addressed as soon as humanly possible
This is not a party cabin. Loud, unruly conduct or activity detrimental to the cabin or area will result in immediate eviction without refund.
Although we do thorough pest control and maintenance, we are in the mountains and a bug or critter being seen is a rare possibility.
By booking this cabin and making payment, you agree you have read and agree to these terms and conditions.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable