Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mayan Riviera, Beautiful Private Beach

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms3
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Villa, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Turtle Hideaway is located on the Mayan Riviera 20 minutes south of the Cancun airport and about 20 minutes north of Playa Del Carmen. It is tucked away near one of the most beautiful and remote beaches on the entire Yucatan. You will relax in the totally private seclusion this area offers.

Upon your arrival you will be greeted by the manager of Sandy's Villas who will take care of all of your needs during your stay. Bottled water is provided for the duration of your stay.

The 2 bedrooms have king-sized beds and the living room has a tumble bed large enough for 1 adult/teen or 2 small children. There are patios on both floors with chairs for relaxing; the upstairs patio has a hammock for catching a few zzz's whenever you feel like it. The fully equipped kitchen and ceiling fans will make your stay convenient and comfortable. There is a TV and DVD player for entertainment in the living room. We provide all bath and beach towels, as well as bed linens. A swimming pool graces the grounds where lush green grass, tropical flowers and palm and banana trees abound.

A spiral staircase leads up to the 2nd floor and then on to your private rooftop where a 360 degree view allows you to lie back on your lounge chair, work on your tan and view the spectacular sunrises and sunsets across the magnificent Caribbean Sea as the surf pounds and echoes up to your rooftop retreat.

The small fishing village of Puerto Morelos is a 10 minute drive north. There you will find a grocery store, dive shops, a pharmacy, wonderful restaurants, a pizza place, and fishing and snorkeling excursions. The Mayan Reef at Puerto Morelos is the second largest barrier reef in the world with some of the best snorkeling to be found. Enjoy the quaint town square where the locals sell their wares and children play in the park.

You can walk the powdery white sand at Playa Secreto for miles, gathering lovely shells and playing in the 85 degree turquoise surf and probably not run into more than a handful of other beachcombers. Beach chairs are provided for your relaxation pleasure surfside.

Turtle Hideaway will fulfill your every vacation fantasy as you relax and unwind on the magical, serene Playa Secreto. Enjoy!

Keywords: Villa

More Details

Amenities

Playa del Carmen Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • Each bathroom has a toilet, shower, sink, closet and some storage space.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (2), tumble bed (1) sleeps 1 adult/teen or 2 small children
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Roof Top Terrace: four chaise lounge chairs, Kitchen: bottled water, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster, dishes, pots and pans and cooking utensils, Bedrooms: large and airy with ceiling fans, sliding glass doors to the balconies, king-size beds, en-suite bathroom complete with shower and large closets, Living room: 2 club chairs, a tumble bed, ceiling fan, satellite TV, VCR and sliding doors onto the patio with a gorgeous view of the pool and gardens. Table and chairs on the patio. Charcoal grill, private swimming pool for Sandy's Villas guests. Access to the exclusive Playa del Secreto beach just 200 meters from the villas. Private parking inside the property. Beach towels provided.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Mayan Riviera, Beautiful Private Beach
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 10 reviews
1

Our group of 5 was not overly impressed. I did not feel the villa was a good value.

  • 1 of 5

From night 1 of arriving at the villa, I was not as pleased as I was hoping to be. Due to travel delays, we arrived after dark instead of in the afternoon. We were not prepared for the villa to be located well over a mile down a dirt road. The dark of night made finding the villa a stressful situation. When we did finally arrive, we were disappointed to find that there is not a futon in the living room. There is a sofa with a trundle pull out. It does not pull up even to the sofa. So, you have a couch and a very small, hard trundle bed. My daughter spent our vacation having to sleep on a couch. The 2 king sized beds are extremely hard. My husband prefers a firm bed and even he commented that the beds were too hard. By the end of our week, my hips, shoulders, and back were in excruciating pain. Our first morning we woke to no running water. Someone in the complex had left water running all night and had drained the reservoir. I called Miguel and he had someone come check on it. It took several hours for them to refill the reservoir. No showers, bathrooms, etc for that time. We spent the rest of the day at the beach, which is not a far walk and is perfect! There is no ocean view from the villa. Each night of our stay, it was difficult to sleep because the air conditioner units are on the roof. They are in need of significant maintenance. (My husband and I own an HVAC company.) The units would rattle so loudly above our room that I rarely slept more than a couple of hours per night. I emailed the owner about this issue and contacted Miguel again. He said he would send a technician. About 2 hours later 2 guys showed up with 2 screwdrivers and a piece of wire. They not only did not fix the problem, they honestly made it worse. The units continued to rattle and the vents in each room would freeze up and start cracking and popping in the middle of the night. The first floor bathroom never had hot water, no matter how long you waited. On our last 2 days at the villa, people arrived at unit #6. They were very loud and sat on their patio drinking and being very loud until well after 3 am for our last two nights. They also had a large, aggressive dog that they did not contain. It growled at us any time we tried to go outside. We never used the pool. There was no pump running, debris in the pool and the water was greenish/yellow. The villa chef is fantastic and we highly recommend him.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry to hear that you were not happy with our villa. I will try to address your concerns in order: - the directions that I send to all guests state that the entrance to Playa del Secreto is a dirt road about a mile long, once you pass through the security gate - I will now add that this road is not lit, should guests arrive after dark. - the futon was moved to the outside patio and replaced with a newer sofa bed. Sorry for the confusion. - we have not had complaints about the mattresses before, but based on your feedback we are planning to address the situation. - the trees in the garden have grown so high that we no longer have an ocean view from our rooftop, so I have removed this from our listing. - we contacted our property managers and they have addressed the AC and hot water issues. - We have contacted our Homeowners Association asking them to address your pool and dog complaints. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you give Sandy's Villas another try in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful villa, set in a beautiful, traqual location and lovely gardens.The beach was amazing.

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay at Sandy’s villas,

We loved the beach live and the chilled out gardens around the pool.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

The property was very clean with all the comforts of home.

  • 4 of 5

We have stayed at this property numerous times and it was very clean with everything we needed. The beach was great! Many attractions, restaurants, and services are just a short drive away. The Villa Chef is highly recommended for dinner at the unit. We definitely will be going back.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Southwest Utah, USA
5

Wonderful place

  • 5 of 5

Three of us stayed here for six days. What a wonderful place! The location is fantastic, quiet, but close to Puerto Morelos, and Playa Del Carmen. The walk to the beach is short, and we often had the beach to ourselves. The house is well equipped, very nicely decorated, bright and airy. We never wanted for anything. Hilberto was a fantastic help, he brought water and checked in nearly every day. He was friendly and taught us some spanish, and learned some english from us. The grounds were very well kept and lovely, with a nice pool, outdoor shower, and barbeque area. Every day and night we spent time on the rooftop patio overlooking the jungle. We did have a car, which was necessary and allowed us to explore at our leisure. We hope to return to this place in the future. I can't say enough good things about the place or our stay.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2015
  • Stayed: January 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Playa del Secreto

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay, the location is beautiful and the beach is quiet. The two bedroom villa was more than adequate for 4 adults and two children. Good location for family with small children who enjoy pool and beach. Keep in mind you really need a car for shopping and eating out. However, Puerto Morelos is only 9 km away and offers lots of choice in restaurants with reasonable prices.

The villa is an ideal place if you want to relax, enjoy family time and do not mind to be a bit isolated. It is called Playa del Secreto after all.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: March 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Superior, Wi
5

we stayed 12 nights

  • 5 of 5

Just came home from 12 wonderful nights at Playa del secreto, what a beautiful setting, everything you need for cooking and grilling, the two boy's loved the pool and the beach for boggy boarding, there are day's you have the beach all to your self, you do need a car, cause playa del carmen is about 25 to 30 miles away and puerto morelos is 15 miles the other way. There was four adults and the two young boys, so we did alot of exploring, we love puerto morelos. Hope to be back someday. Robeito was so helpful he made sure we had plenty of bottle water, love talking with him.

Warm wind's.... Sunny Sky's.....

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2013
  • Stayed: March 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Property Manager

Jeff Epperson
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, spanish, italian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 26, 2018

About Jeff Epperson

We are Jeff & Laura Epperson, the proud co-owners of Turtle Hideaway, along with our good friends Garry & Julie Mayoh. We're all American citizens, but Laura is from Scotland and the Mayohs are from England. We live in the greater Fort Worth, Texas area and have made this our home for many years. Among other things, we love to travel and the Mayan Riviera is our favorite destination - come stay at Turtle Hideaway and Mexico will become one of your favorite places as well!

Jeff Epperson purchased this villa in 2006

Why Jeff Epperson chose Playa del Carmen

We stumbled upon Turtle Hideaway when looking for a vacation spot, and became the proud owners within a year. We love the area - the beach is beautiful and we normally have it to ourselves, and the grounds and pool at the villa are very inviting and relaxing. Turtle Hideaway is convenient to the Cancun airport, Cancun itself and Playa del Carmen. Puerto Morelos is only 10 minutes away - it's a lovely little town with much to offer for recreation, shopping and dining.

What makes this villa unique

There are many things that we like to do when staying at Turtle Hideaway - snorkeling at the reef in Puerto Morelos, swimming at nearby cenotes, day trips to the water parks Xel-Ha and Xcaret, visiting the ruins in Tulum, golf at one of the many nearby courses, dining and shopping in Puerto Morelos and Playa del Carmen, and occasionally the nightlife in Playa del Carmen or Cancun.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Our family had a fabulous time at Casa Secreto, and we are grateful to Rhonda and Chuck (on site property managers) and all the wonderful care they put into the place, and into making our stay so relaxing and fun.



We look forward to seeing them when we come again sometime in the future!
Dec 2009
  • 1 of 1

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Cancun
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Puerto Morelos
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Puerto Morelos
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
307
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Puerto Morelos
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
Playa del Secreto
Car: recommended

Awesome water parks are within an hours drive south, and the ruins at Tulum are relatively close by as well.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $59

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties