Located in Charleston, this vacation home is in the city center. Charleston Music Hall and Charleston City Market are notable landmarks, and some of the area's popular attractions include South Carolina Aquarium and USS Yorktown. Check out an event or a game at North Charleston Coliseum, and consider making time for Patriots Point, a top attraction not to be missed.
Medical University of South Carolina - 3 min walk - 0.3 km
College of Charleston - 12 min walk - 1.0 km
The Citadel - 12 min walk - 1.1 km
Marion Square - 16 min walk - 1.4 km
Charleston Music Hall - 16 min walk - 1.4 km
Getting around
Charleston Station - 14 min drive
Charleston Intl. Airport (CHS) - 20 min drive
Restaurants
McDonald's - 9 min walk
da Toscana Porchetta Shop - 3 min walk
Taco Bell - 8 min walk
The Co-Op - 4 min walk
Bad Bunnies Coffee - 3 min walk
Frequently asked questions
Is Historic Charleston Style House pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows cats and dogs (limit 1 total) with a maximum weight of up to 20 lbs per pet.
How much does it cost to stay at Historic Charleston Style House?
As of Oct 26, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Historic Charleston Style House on Nov 30, 2026 start from $615, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking?
Onsite parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Historic Charleston Style House?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Historic Charleston Style House?
Check-out is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Historic Charleston Style House located?
Located in Downtown Charleston, this vacation home is within a 15-minute walk of Medical University of South Carolina, The Citadel, and College of Charleston. Charleston City Market is 1.5 mi (2.4 km) away.
Reviews
9.4
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labeled.
The property was clean & had plenty of space for everyone. Great location. The kitchen has almost everything you need but no toaster & only 1 frying pan. The fridge is very large for plenty of food. The beds were all very comfortable. Being upstairs there was a concern about being too warm, but the air conditioning, fans, and blackout curtains kept everything cool. The host was responsive to questions as well. Definitely recommend staying here!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on Jun 12, 2026
Thank you for the wonderful and detailed review! We’re glad the space, location, and cooling features all worked well for your stay. Our housekeeping team takes pride in their cleanliness so that is wonderful to hear! Our comfy beds are definitely a guest favorite, and we’re happy they stood out for you. We appreciate your feedback and hope to host you again soon!
Awesome loved it very clean and easy access no parking trouble can’t complain about a thing beds super comfy and pillows thank you guys we will be back soon
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2025
Response from VrboOwner on Dec 18, 2025
Hello there, we’re thrilled you loved your stay. Our comfy beds are definitely a guest favorite, and our housekeeping team takes pride in their cleanliness, so it’s wonderful to hear you noticed. We’d be happy to welcome you back anytime!
This was a central location and a historical building. Very Charleston. The host was flexible and understanding about an emergency we had.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2024
Response from VrboOwner on Jan 9, 2025
Hi Jenna, we’re so glad the location and historic charm of the building made your stay special. We always strive to be flexible and understanding, especially when unexpected things come up, so it’s great to hear we could help during your emergency. We’d love to host you again anytime and hope your next visit to Charleston is even smoother!
We had a great stay! Comfortable beds and everything we needed for a couple days in Charleston. Only issue is that most of the doors do not stay closed without a separate latch; its an old house, so we get it. All in all, a great place.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2023
Response from VrboOwner on Jun 2, 2023
Anthony, glad to hear you had a great stay! Our comfy beds are definitely a guest favorite! It is a historic home and we always make sure to upgrade while trying to preserve the historic nature of the home. Thanks again and come back anytime.
The apartment had plenty of room for our family. We were visiting to see our son who attends the Citadel and had multiple family members in town. The location, space and parking all were great.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2024
Response from VrboOwner on Sep 30, 2024
Hi Christopher, we’re so glad the apartment provided ample space for your family during your visit to see your son. It’s wonderful to hear that the location and parking were convenient for you. Come back soon!
The house was great and equipped with everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable and the upstairs porch was very relaxing! Good size backyard for games as well.
Fantastic location with walking distance to downtown. Great trip!
Stayed 8 nights in Oct 2023
Response from VrboOwner on Nov 17, 2023
Elizabeth, glad to hear you found our place to be great and had everything you need! Our comfy beds are definitely a guest favorite! It is indeed in a perfect location being close to everything downtown. Come back soon!
Perfect spot for my Oklahoma friends and I to meet in a city they'd never experienced! This was a great location, close to King and we had plenty of room to spread out. A little difficult to get luggage up the narrow stairs and balcony was a little concerning, but we managed just fine and enjoyed our stay!
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2022
Response from VrboOwner on Aug 31, 2022
Thanks so much for your thoughtful review and feedback Dana, and for being a great guest! Appreciate your understanding as most historic homes have narrow stairs. Glad you managed and enjoyed your stay!
We one stayed at the property for one night. The beds were comfortable and there were a/c units in all of the bedrooms and the living room. It kept the place at just the right temperature.
Stayed 1 night in May 2023
Response from VrboOwner on Jun 25, 2023
Hey Jennie, our comfy beds are definitely a guest favorite! Come back soon.
Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance of this rental. It was clean and spacious for a downtown rental. It was on the second floor and all rooms were on the same level. We had a large dining room table and were able to have a couple family members over for Thanksgiving meal. Rental comes with 2 parking spots and the was a parking lot around the corner on Ashley where you could pay to park. Great stay!
Stayed 5 nights in Nov 2023
Response from VrboOwner on Dec 14, 2023
Jackie, thank you so much for your great review! We're delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay. Glad you found our place to be spacious and clean. Our professional housekeeping does a great job. Parking in Charleston is pretty rare so we're happy to hear we could accommodate. Hope to see you again soon :)
Overall the place was great. I just wish the owners of these properties would visit and take care of the little imperfections that happen as the property ages and gets worn. A little paint, wash the rug, sweep the stairs and decking would go a long way to get you 5 stars. The back yard is not as pictured if you were to want to use it. I still recommend, I’d go back again!
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2021
Response from VrboOwner on Oct 8, 2021
Maureen, so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words and also for the recommendations. Based upon your suggestion we performed a deep clean. Important to get it right. Thanks again and we are looking forward to hosting you the next time you are in town!
Our family of four stayed at this property for 3 nights. We had plans to have friends join us, but with travel they couldnt make it. The space is large enough for 2 families of 4. The livingroom couch was enough seating for just the 4 of us. We enjoyed a few meals at the very large diningroom table. When we first arrived we did have to call for some maintenance help, and the property management team was fast to respond to our messages, and a tech was at our door within 10 mins. The quickest response time. He took care of us and was pn his way shortly after.
The building has charm and is within walking distance to everything we needed. Would stay again.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on Aug 9, 2024
Hello Kristina, thanks so much for your great review! We’re delighted to hear that the property was spacious and comfortable for your family and that you enjoyed the large dining room table. It’s great that our property management team responded quickly to your maintenance needs. We’re pleased you appreciated the building’s charm and its convenient location. We’d be happy to host you again!
This is a very comfortable place, with a good location for us to visit Historic Charleston. We had a great time. The beds are comfortable. We used the large table as office space for 3 of us while we had to work a few days. The kitchen could be stock better with pans and other cooking tools. However, we managed with carry out service for Thanksgiving meal. We had cooler weather and the doors did not seal very well - but I think this comes with the age of the building. Otherwise, a good spot for our family 2021 Thanksgiving celebration. Owners were very responsive to our requests for more kitchen towels.
Stayed 6 nights in Nov 2021
Response from VrboOwner on Dec 13, 2021
Hey Mark! Thanks for the review. We've completely re-stocked the kitchen, and always happy to deliver anything needed immediately! Sometimes we have guests that rent the entire home, and they carry kitchen equipment to one unit, leaving the other a bit lacking. I'm sorry we didn't catch that and thanks so much for the head's up!
Verified review
8/10 Good
Vanessa F.
Dec 21, 2022
Liked: Check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Great management, ok house
We knew it was a historic home, which to me means charming imperfections. And there was that. But there was also just plain neglect. There was mold on the bathroom ceiling, dusty flower arrangements, the attic access had a board that was bowed so air & critters from the attic could easily pass thru. We did hear something large in the attic (maybe a squirrel) & reported it to mgmt who said they would address it as soon as we left. That was fine with us as we saw no sign of "wildlife" in our living area. The TP holder was rusty. None of the doors would close. And probably the greatest safety concern is that the downstairs residents could easily have come thru their back door & up our stairs. We have no door preventing their entry. We also had to park 2 houses away, which we were not told until the day before checkin. We r a large family with 6 teens so there were plenty of hands to carry what we needed, but if we had had young children it would have been rather inconvenient. It was also a noisy part of town, with very loud traffic.
Having said all that, the mgmt was very responsive & polite. When the heat stopped working, they brought us extra space heaters promptly. They always answered every question within hours. And basic housekeeping was good. It's just that the owners of the home need to take their investment more seriously & make a few needed improvements before we would consider staying there again.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2022
Response from VrboOwner on Feb 21, 2023
Vanessa, thanks so much for the review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Charleston as well as the management of the property. This is a budget friendly rental but I do apologize for an inconveniences. What you listed out has been fixed for future travelers. Seems the teens in the group may have messed with the breaker causing the initial heat problem. All is now fixed and working without issue. Every door locks so your understanding for that was very incorrect. Come back soon we would be happy to host your large group.
I will start by saying, I do realize that we booked an old historic home that obviously will have some quirks and oddities. I did not expect anything to be new or newly built. I will also say that the communication with the owners was very good, and the house was clean.With that being said, we were pretty disappointed in how hot the house was. Charleston at the end of June is 1000 degrees, we were very aware of that. The AC in the home was marginal on a good day, and basically non existent in June. Two of the bedrooms had portable AC units and the main living area also had one. While they did keep the rooms cool, they were very loud all the time, as in zero quiet at any time. The bunk room only had a window unit and it was so hot my kids had to sleep on the couch. The AC did not work in the kitchen at all, so it was about 85 degrees or hotter, so it was not an option to stay in there for any length of time. The AC register in the ceiling in the bathroom constantly dripped water from the condensation. Again, I know this is an old house, but I do wish the portable AC units, window units, etc were discussed on the listing. We had to sit in our bedrooms when we were at the house to stay cool. What bothered me most about the trip was the host messaged me when we checked out to tell me they would leave me a five star review and if I had any issues with the house to message them privately and not post them publicly. Reviews are how we make our decisions, y’all deserve to know.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on Jul 31, 2024
Hi Kari, thank you for your review and feedback! We’re glad you found our communication up to standard. Our housekeeping team takes pride in their cleanliness so that is wonderful to hear. We’re sorry to hear about the issues with the AC and the heat. Your comments are invaluable, and we will look into improving the cooling situation and updating the listing to better reflect these aspects. We appreciate your honesty and will address these concerns to enhance future guests' experiences. Come back sometime soon, we would love to host!