Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

FRONT Corner Unit - One of four - Real Direct Ocean Views

Bedrooms 1
Space 1,050 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Condo with 1 Bedroom - 1 Bathroom - plus sofabed

Exquisite luxury condo in recently renovated Art Deco Historic Building, The Carlyle.

1250 Ocean Drive (corner of 13th Street) – one block from the Versace Mansion and The Tides – at the center of Ocean Drive restaurants and night life.

The Ocean Front apartment has a spacious living/ dining room area with a separate bedroom and bathroom. All rooms have ocean views.

This is one of only two Carlyle units with corner views over Ocean Drive and 13th Street.

Living Room has a plasma TV, DVD and exceptional ocean views.

The Carlyle is Perfectly Located: Located in the heart of South Beach's restaurants, nightclubs and shops. Steps to the Ocean. Shopping on Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue (one block away). Trendy Lincoln Blvd is a short walk north.

The Carlyle has Beautiful Amenities: Durazzo countertops.

Nickel-finished Art Deco style plumbing fixtures.

Subway-style tiled shower with Italian tile bathroom floor.

Miele kitchen appliances with Subzero freezer/refrigerator.

In-unit washer and dryer.

24-hour lobby security guard.

Parking available in public structure across 13th Street or valet.

More Details

David Strouse
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2018

About David Strouse

Welcome to our vacation home! we love South Beach and come by in a monthly basis. That allow us to take meticulous care of our beloved property. Spotless clean is fundamental to us.

David Strouse purchased this condo in 2008

Why David Strouse chose Flamingo / Lummus

We met in South Beach, on the beach, and have always desired a second home here. The Carlyle has been our perfect vacation home, which we visit every six weeks at least.


Flamingo / Lummus Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1050 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Historic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • ISDN Access
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • One bedroom one bathroom. Queen sized sofa bed in living room.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • alternative lifestyle
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Luxury condo well maintained. Please no extra guests or parties allowed. Concierge will call owner and charges may apply. Two people ONLY.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(50 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
2% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
FRONT Corner Unit - One of four - Real Direct Ocean Views
average rating of 4.74 based on 50 reviews

Clean and simple design.

  • 5 of 5

Loved the location. The windows were surprisingly quiet and allowed us to sleep while the nightlife continued just outside.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing stay!

  • 5 of 5

I never really write reviews but here I am. I stayed here for spring break and this wonderful spot really contributed to my overall Spring Break experience. It's seconds away from the beach, spacious, and has such a comfortable atmosphere. I recommend staying here for sure. 10/10

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please visit us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Saint Paul, Minnesota

Good accommodations, perfect location, great price

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here the first week of March 2018. You really couldn't ask for a better location. The condo was lovely, and a really great value! Just two things: 1) It's not the most comfortable bed, and 2) the bathroom could use a bigger/wider mirror. But neither of those things will keep us from trying to book this again for a future visit. Oh, and Lillian is wonderful. Thanks, David and Marcelo, for sharing your place with us!

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us. The best to you both!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome location but very poor conditions inside

  • 1 of 5

My wife and I stayed the 3rd week of January 2018. Below is a brief summary. Please know that I have never written negatively about stay before.

1). We read in an earlier review of a guest that stayed in this unit in late 2017 that the toilet made a “blood curdling scream” when flushed. We didn’t pay attention to that comment but for your benefit you should if you want to sleep. Not only does the toilet make an alarm sound due to faulty and/or old plumbing but the tank leaks which causes the toilet “alarm - blood curdling scream” to go off periodically all day and night which is the most bothersome if you like to sleep.

2) The family/TV room furniture (sofa and two chairs) are very dated and as a result is heavily stained and reeks of odor. Even if you put towels on them the cushions are so spent it is like sitting on the wood frame.

3) When we arrived the “clerk” at the front desk told us they was a problem!!! Turned out the previous renter damaged the backsplash mirror behind the cooktop and it was in place but completely shattered. She said that a contractor was supposed to arrive and replace that day so we said no big deal. Turned out that was not accurate and when I checked on our third day I was told that there was an issue with the contractor. This prevented us from doing any cooking.

4). If you want to watch the little dated tv or use the dvd be prepared to manually operate them from the device as all of the remote controls don’t work.

5) The bed is also very dated and is tough to sleep on if your are used to comfortable mattress.

Bottom line is this beautiful building in a excellent location but it has a least one unit that has not been maintained and the owner is obviously not advertising these issues. He also does also not advertise the very high cleaning fee or the very high security deposit.

To make matters worse I contacted him via email to let him know how disappointed and dissatisfied based on the above and he asked me to call him to discuss. I called him and he immediately went on the attack accusing me of lying and trying to scam him for requesting a credit due to the above.

Do yourself a favor and even if you have to spend a little more find something else!

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry your visit was not perfect. As Lillian explained, we had only 24 hours earlier discovered the enormous damage caused by the prior guest. Lillian offered to find another apartment; you said the inconvenience was ok. Everything you mention has been corrected. It simply took time You told me over the phone AFTER your stay that 'you had not yet written your review' and that you expected a 100% refund.' When I refused -- since you had made no complaints during several conversations will Lillian -- you responded with an expletive. It is clear why you have never written an unfavorable review; other owners probably acquiesced to your subtle threat.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
DeForest, Wisconsin

The perfect spot on South Beach

  • 5 of 5

What a find, to be in the heart of South Beach, with access to everything. The location also provides the added perk of having a public parking garage right around the corner for anyone driving. Easy to get around the area, and fun too to explore areas off the beach. The condo was perfect size too.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please visit us again. David and Marcelo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great spot!

  • 5 of 5

The unit was in great shape and showed like the pictures. Perfect location- right where you want to be. Would definitely come back and recommend.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please visit us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Miami International Airport
Car: not necessary

Heart of South Beach - Ocean Front Property

Other Activities: Beach, Nightlife, Restaurants


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Housekeeper's Fee $99
Property Damage Protection $59
Refundable damage deposit $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.