Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Reduced Feb! Ski-In, Ski-Out Luxury, Corner. Sleeps 6. Hot Tubs, Pool, 55" TV

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 720 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Our Winter Park, Colorado condo has all the amenities:

* Largest one-bedroom layout--6 adults can sleep and socialize comfortably

* Corner unit offers additional light, air, back-door entrance for convenience.

* Full-size kitchen with granite countertops and new appliances

* 55' LED TV with Blu Ray

* Living room is comfortable and spacious with gas fireplace

* Pool and hot tub right down the hall

* Back door connects to large shared patio with mountain views (patio not shoveled in winter)

* Comfortable queen-size bed, plus a Murphy bed and pull-out couch with upgraded memory foam mattress for comfort

* Ski Depot just outside our door--rent your skis here or store them overnight for no charge

* Shuttle stop just outside--one stop to the base area (or just ski there)

Six people sleep here comfortably. Some large groups staying in multiple locations have used our condo as a main gathering area, meeting for a group breakfast before a day of skiing, or for drinks after.

We have a great location and have put a lot of care and expense into upgrading the unit but there are some things you should know about Iron Horse that fall outside of our control yet may affect your decision to rent:

* The unit is warm when all windows are closed. The source of the heat is unclear (we've researched it with the HOA board and apparently it's just a fact of Iron Horse). We installed all new windows in the summer of 2016 to ensure that every window (five total) can be opened, as can the back door. We installed a ceiling fan in the bedroom and provide a floor fan in the living room. When we stay, we keep at least one window open all night, summer or winter, even in subzero weather. A few inches is usually enough in cold weather, and we love the mountain air. Fortunately, nights are cool winter and summer at 9,200 feet. If you are uncomfortable having windows open, you may be unhappy in our unit.

* Because the unit is ground level near the driveway, you may hear buses or snow-removal equipment when they are operating. The snow-removal machines start early in the morning and beep while backing up (although only on days with new snow). We've raised it with the Iron Horse board and they insist they cannot adjust the time the machines operate, so be aware that if it snows, you will hear beeping noises early morning for ten or twenty minutes. We've provided earplugs if you are a light sleeper--please check under the bathroom sink.

Iron Horse has a lot of fans (including us), and we book fully during the high seasons, with many happy repeat guests. We want you to be aware of these quirks of Iron Horse so that you can decide for yourself whether it's the right place for you.

THE RESORT:

The Iron Horse is located at the base of the mountain between the Winter Park and Mary Jane sides of the ski area. We're a short walk or shuttle bus ride to the main base area, which features many shops and restaurants. Be sure to visit Vertical Bistro & Tap, the best full-service restaurant in the area. Say hi to the owner, Tim Hubbard, a longtime friend (he's the guy in the photo at the top of a chute on a powder day).

The Iron Horse has two hot tubs onsite, an indoor/outdoor heated pool, and a steam room, with luxury locker rooms included for your use. There's also a fully outfitted exercise room with weights and cardio machines. For meals, visit La Collina, a terrific Italian restaurant featuring a great by-the-glass wine list.

THE SKIING:

Winter Park is the third largest ski resort in Colorado and one of only 10 U.S. ski resorts highlighted in the New York Times' 2010 Ski Guide. It's known internationally as a mountain for serious skiers, with plenty of good runs for beginners and novices too. There is a massive terrain park with half pipe, rails and jumps. There are also separate beginner and intermediate terrain parks. If you're renting equipment, ask about our Ski Depot discounts!

Note that we ask a refundable $50 deposit to cover the replacement cost of the parking pass, fully refundable when you leave the pass in the unit for the next guest and the unit undamaged.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Owner
Kirsten Liston
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 17, 2017

About Kirsten Liston

Ned fell in love with skiing as an adult and moved to Colorado in 1999. Although he owns another ski condo in Breckenridge, he spends most of his time at Winter Park. Kirsten arrived in Colorado a few years ago after a lifetime in the Midwest and on the East Coast. She is an enthusiastic beginning skier.

Kirsten Liston purchased this condo in 2009

Why Kirsten Liston chose Winter Park Area

We looked at new construction at the base, and instead decided to find a great floor plan with a great location and improve it to match the new decor elements. A slight remove from the base means more of a mountain feel (no view of parking lot or commercial buildings). Short indoor walk to the ski corridor, and everything you need onsite, yet a short walk or shuttle to the base.

What makes this condo unique

The end unit provides more light and a back door for easy access when the snow isn't too deep. We remodeled the unit entirely so it has many design features not found in any other Iron Horse unit.

Amenities

Winter Park Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 720 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Remodeled bathroom with Italian tile and granite
  • Granite counter, Italian tile, lots of towel space, toilet with pump doesn't clog.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Pull-out Sofa - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Full-sized bedroom with window, fan, closet, desk, chair
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Memory foam mattress, Murphy Beds (1).
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
Notes:
Luxury locker rooms for guests using pool and hot tubs, extensive exercise facility, lots of comfortable common space. Walk to ski depot, on shuttle bus to town and base.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(52 traveler reviews)

Reduced Feb! Ski-In, Ski-Out Luxury, Corner. Sleeps 6. Hot Tubs, Pool, 55" TV
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 52 reviews
Indian Hills, CO
5

Very spacious1 bedroom!

  • 5 of 5

Very spacious1 bedroom. Great location. Nice pool and Hot tub area. The owners were very responsive and easy to work with.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

FANTASTIC! Best location in Iron Rail!

  • 4 of 5

Absolutely loved our stay! Owner was very easy to work with. Best location in Iron Rail because 1. unloading and loading the car can be done out the back door, directly into the back of our vehicle 2. LITERALLY Ski-In, from Mary Jane, ski down the hill, pop off ski's and walk less than 10 steps to the back door! 3. In the same bldg as the game room, pool and jacuzzi! Common areas of Iron Rail were nice and comfortable. The pool was warm enough for even the adults to swim in during a beautiful snow storm! Very much appreciated having some of the basics provided (shampoo, conditioner, body wash, paper towels, TP, kleenex, dish soap, and even salt and pepper). Had read a review prior to going that it was a dark unit, which it was a bit, but didn't bother us too badly in the living and dining area. However, I have decent eye sight and kitchen got VERY dark in the evening, so much so, it made it uncomfortable to prepare dinner after 5pm. Perhaps install one overhead light? The small drop lights over the counter bar do not provide adaquate lighting for the kitchen. Overall we had a wonderful stay! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Englewood, CO
5

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

Great location, nicely furnished and equipped! Would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Father/Sons Ski Weekend in March

  • 5 of 5

The owners could not have been greater. The place worked out very well for us. Accommodations were clean, well stocked with all the utensils, plenty of blankets, and ready for us to move in. We had a couple of user issues with code keys, but the owners were very gracious with our phone calls. When my son's battery was dying due to a dome light being flipped on by mistake, they were willing to extend our garage code for another day until we could get it jumped. (BTW the front desk had a self battery jumper cables). A++ for our time spend this weekend. Thanks to the owners for sharing their place with us!!

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Fort Collins, CO
5

Cozy ski-in condo

  • 5 of 5

Just the right size for a couple or a small family. Convenient location to the slopes and the shuttle. The unit was fully stocked with all the kitchen and bathroom items we needed. The shuttle does stop right outside the bedroom window, so if your not an early riser (7:30 I think is the first shuttle) this unit might not be for you - I used the shuttle as my alarm clock, so worked great for us. The kids loved the game room and the pool. A little disappointed that the restraunt/bar in Iron Horse was not open. Overall a great place to stay for a ski weekend. PS. We couldn't get the DVD player to open/turn on, not sure if it was broken or if it was operator error.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review -- we're so glad you had a good stay. We agree with you about the restaurant -- and we were all very disappointed when it didn't open this season as planned (especially because we enjoyed the restauranteur's food and wine the last few years.) The homeowner's association is working hard to bring in a replacement for the end of the season -- and we can also highly recommend Vertical, down at the base. And sorry to hear you had trouble with the DVD player. We are headed up shortly and will check on it, as we're not aware of a problem with it. Thank you for letting us know, since we will repair or replace it if needed.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Relaxing, quiet stay, close to the base

  • 4 of 5

Overall, I enjoyed my stay here. It was quiet (mid week) and relaxing. The place was clean and well fitted. Ski rental is few paces away, and the slopes are readily accessible.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Denver International Airport
Nearest Barpub
La Collina (seasonal), many more at ski base
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Pole Creek (Tabernash)
Nearest Train
6 Miles
Amtrak, sometimes ski train
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
State Highway 40
Nearest Restaurant
La Collina (seasonal), many more at ski base
Nearest Ski
0.1 Miles
Winter Park, Mary Jane
Nearest Point of Interest
Ski Depot Sports
Nearest Point of Interest
Winter Park Base
Nearest Point of Interest
Mary Jane Base
Nearest Point of Interest
Rudi's Deli
Nearest Point of Interest
Winter Park Winery
Car: not necessary

The only full-service resort in Winter Park, with exercise room, lockers, sauna, outdoor pool and hot tubs, restaurant (seasonal) on-site, ski rentals, ski storage, ski-in/out.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Winter Park Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Low Season Spring
Apr 24 2017 - May 25 2017
1 night minimum stay
$65
From
$85
Fri,Sat
$360
$875
 
 
Summer
May 26 2017 - Sep 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$95
From
$125
Fri,Sat
$665
 
 
Low Season Fall
Sep 17 2017 - Nov 22 2017
1 night minimum stay
$65
From
$85
Fri,Sat
$360
$875
 
 
Early season skiing
Nov 23 2017 - Dec 8 2017
2 night minimum stay
$105
$630
$1,475
 
 
December
Dec 9 2017 - Dec 19 2017
2 night minimum stay
$115
From
$135
Fri,Sat
$795
 
 
Holiday 2017
Dec 20 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$260
$1,560
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $95 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $50
Tax Rate 10.9%

We collect a $50 damage deposit to cover the replacement cost of the parking pass. Please leave the pass for the next guest and your deposit will be returned one week after your departure.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable