Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront w/pool, Fall/Winter Special! 30% discount

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,850 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom Home + Convertible bed, 2 Play-n-Pack, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 13)

Home has TWO PRIVATE master bedrooms and two separate living areas, there is room for everyone to do just as they please! Sunbathe poolside or sit on either one of two covered decks and enjoy the cool sea breeze. When you are ready for a stroll, follow your private boardwalk to the beach and plunge into the Gulf's blue-green waters.

BEDS: 2 kings, 2 queens, 1 double/single bunk, 1 queen hide-a-bed

AMENITIES: 5 TVs, 2 DVD players, CD/stereo with IPod compatibility, 2 living areas, 2 master suites, kid's bunk room in the loft, well equipped kitchen, washer, dryer, microwave, dishwasher, Jacuzzi tub, electric fireplace, covered deck, 2 outdoor showers, fish cleaning sink, private boardwalk to beach, gas grill.

{In addition you will have the use of 4 beach chairs and 2 coolers. There is also a discounted rate on the use of a kayak and 2 paddleboards.}

Keywords: House, Plantation, Beach Front, private heated pool (optional), private boardwalk, no smoking, jacuzzi tub,

PET FRIENDLY (Dogs Only, Under 80 lbs)

If your pet will be visiting the island, please be familiar with the County Leash Laws.

More Details

Owner
Gordon Stark
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 18, 2017

Why Gordon Stark chose Plantation

I invite you to share the natural wonder that is St. George Island. Whether you are planning your first visit or returning for your annual family reunion, there is much to explore and enjoy on the 28-mile long and one mile wide barrier island. Uncrowded, natural beaches, free from high rises, traffic and crowds, offer many simple pleasures – excellent fishing, kayaking, outstanding bird watching and awesome star gazing – just to name a few. And the beaches are pet friendly, so no one gets left behind at vacation time!

The Gulf of Mexico, The Apalachicola Bay and the Apalachicola River converge to form one of the most productive estuaries in the world. These island waters are nationally recognized as a fisherman’s paradise. Fresh oysters and sweet, plump shrimp are harvested locally and sold at the numerous fresh seafood dealers. You may also enjoy these seafood delicacies at the excellent restaurants on St. George Island and nearby Apalachicola and Eastpoint.

There are a number of full service marinas and public launch ramps available in Apalachicola, Eastpoint, Carrabelle, and now on St. George Island. Enjoy guided excursions to nearby uninhabited islands, national wildlife preserves and the Apalachicola River. The Dr. Julian G. Bruce State Park at the eastern end of the Island also provides excellent kayaking launches.

What makes this house unique

Loggerhead sea turtles are an important part of life on St. George Island. Loggerheads return to their own hatching grounds to nest and lay eggs between May and November.

Nearby Apalachicola has much to offer with its boutiques, art galleries, antique shops, Dixie Theatre presentations, historic museums, live marine exhibit and many excellent restaurants. Visit the Apalachicola Bay website for a year round Calendar of Events and find activities you can enjoy no matter what time of year you are here.

Bring your own bicycles, or rent them from one of the shops, and enjoy the Island’s 6.3 mile bike path - from 12th Street West to the State Park. Pack your binoculars for native and migratory bird watching. And gaze at the stars in the magnificent sky, unobstructed by the glare of city lights.

The newest addition to the Island is the majestic Cape St. George Light, rebuilt from the fallen remains of the final Cape St. George Lighthouse. Visit the St. George Island Visitor Center and Lighthouse Museum and learn about its fascinating history.

So leave your “other life” behind as you cross the bridge and enter Island Time. Discover all of the reasons you will come to love St. George Island and want to return for more! I look forward to seeing your footprints in the sand soon!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Gordon,



We had a blast! Thank you so much for letting us stay in your house. St. George was great and you have a fabulous house. I cant recommend Chris Robinson enough as a fishing guide. We loaded up on Redfish on the grass flats and also caught a pile of trout and flounder. I hooked one Tarpon about 50lbs but he threw the hook after the third jump and after stripping about 25 yards of line off the reel. I had chances of hooking 3 others but couldn’t get them to bite. Thanks again for letting us stay. Ill be sure to pass on your listing to our friends.



Brad
Sep 2010
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Plantation House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1, oceanfront - 1 king
    Bedroom 2, oceanfront - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Loft / kids bunk room - 2 baby crib , 1 bunk bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1) Full lower, twin on top, (2) Pack-N-Play cribs.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • jetted tub
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
At A Reel Deal you are offered 4 beach chairs, 2 coolers, a discounted rate on a Kayak rental. You will also receive a 15% off discount for rentals at the Jolly Rogers Beach Shop on SGI.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(61 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
4% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
Oceanfront w/pool, Fall/Winter Special! 30% discount
average rating of 4.803279 based on 62 reviews
5

Awesome week.

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Gordon for sharing your fabulous home. This home worked so well for us and our two fur babies. The porches are awesome with plenty of space. Adequate seating and tables for enjoying meals or just relaxing and watching the dolphins. Gordon was great for accommodating any needs that we had. We look forward to be able to get back to St George and the Reel Deal very soon.

Novemenber 2017

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: D...thank you for your review and kind words!! Ssooo happy you enjoyed your time at my beach house on SGI and looking forward to having you return to A Reel Deal! Gordon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house with well stocked kitchen.

  • 5 of 5

Lovely spacious home. The grandkids loved the beach, kayak, paddle boards, and pool. The owner, Gordon Stark, was so gracious, informative, and accessible. If you want doughnuts on the island, go early. The line forms before it opens, and shop closes when they run out.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Georgetown IL
5

D&D

  • 5 of 5

This was our 3rd trip to this house and this Island, once again it was a wonderful time, we had most of our kids and grandkids for this trip and everyone was sad to have to leave and go home. This is a great place to relax and enjoy a beach that feels like it is your own private beach.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: D&D...thank you so much for your review and your continued return to A Reel Deal!! Always awesome to have you stay at my house and I look forward to your next visit to SGI. Gordon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

SGI is an Amaziing Place in the WORLD

  • 5 of 5

I've been spending time on St George Island for a number of years. It's an amazing place that is impossible to describe, GREAT BEACH and an awesome place to getaway. A Reel Deal is the perfect house for a friends and family retreat. All the accommodations are right in line with expectations. Large open space for everyone to get together and space to get away for some alone time. The decks are wonderful for sitting outside to take in the Gulf's breeze and watching the Dolphins, Pelicans, Osprey, and Sea Gulls. I would recommend not feeding the Sea Gulls, it becomes a nuisance. Nice pool and gas grill that we used often. Gordon (the owner) is great to work with to ensure a wonderful stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?
4

Great location and beautiful house. Beach closer then we thought.

  • 4 of 5

Gordon kept in great communication with us and he does know about many items that need repaired. We arrived at the house at 4pm and housekeeping states they haven't been there long. Did not get in to the house until almost 6. Gordon was made aware of this. I honestly don't know what the housekeeping did when everything was dirty. Mirrors were caked with dust. Pool was dirty and my husband had to clean it. Return cover beside the pool was broken and a child could of easily got their foot stuck in there if they weren't looking where they were walking. Did not receive many towels but one call to Gordon and he had them there pronto. I was in dismay at how some renters have treated this beautiful house and did not make Gordon aware of it. Gordon lives in a different state and relies on good renters to let him know when something is broken or wrong so he can address it. I don't blame Gordon for any of this. As long as he gets everything fixed and addresses the housekeeping issue. When you pay a good amount for a house for a week you expect to be able to get in the house at time of check in and to a clean house. I know one time security called Gordon saying we had 6 cars in his driveway when in fact we had two cars and the 6 cars the security were referring to were at the house next door. I would definitely stay in this house again as the location can't be beat. We saw dolphins every day throughout the day. We had a wonderful time and didn't want to leave. Thank you Gordon for offering your house and for listening to my concerns.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: LB...thank you for the kind words and the feedback on my beach house. Yes, I did address with my housekeeping service. That was the first time they were behind schedule since I've been using their service for 5 years and I apologize for the fact you had to wait for them to finish cleaning. I've also personally addressed the other areas that you mentioned. Again, I appreciate your update so I can address these issues. Gordon Stark
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for our family

  • 5 of 5

We spent another wonderful week at A Reel Deal in July and have nothing but good memories from our stay in this lovely home. Open layout, comfortable beds, easy beach access, and a well-appointed kitchen made for a pleasant getaway. Gordon is a pleasure to work with.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

PET FEE - DOGS ONLY ($150/DOG), NO CATS
TANDEM KAYAK RENTAL - $125/WEEK
PADDLE BOARD RENTAL - $175/BOARD/WEEK (2 BOARDS)
KAYAK/2 PADDLEBOARD PACKAGE - $425/WEEK
HEATED POOL - $475 FOR THE FIRST TANK OF LP

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.