Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

3 Minute Walk to Ski-In/Out! Two story, 3BR, on the Slopes. Low Rates!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 0 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

JVT is a group of nine, connected, two-story houses built of cedar and brick, of which ours is the largest. It is located on the mountain and it is a shorter walk to our ski-in/out point than the walk from any public parking to the gondola; check out the comparison in the photos. We employ a local concierge service to assist our guests and to deal immediately with any problems. We accept all major credit cards.

Our unit is a two-story, end-unit with three bedrooms with queen beds, including a loft bedroom with a folding wall for privacy. On three sides of the living room, two-story, floor-to-ceiling windows rise to a beamed, cathedral ceiling. There is a glass-front, wood-burning stove in the fireplace, a full kitchen with tile floor and counter tops, and upstairs and downstairs bathrooms, one with a tub and powder room, and one with a shower stall. A spiral staircase beside the 'wet room' entrance foyer leads up to the second floor. The entrance foyer has a rack for your skis.

The ambience is spacious, bright and comfortable. The furniture is upholstery and oak. There is HDTV with cable, a DVD player, a stereo Ipod docking station and free wireless internet. The three bedrooms with queen beds and a sofa bed in the living room make it ideal for one or two couples with kids or three couples. It can sleep six comfortably, or eight using the sofa bed.

The nine homes of JVT are occupied by full-time resident owners, with a few such as ours being rented when we are not in residence. We have owned it since 1975 and plan to retire there one day.

It was one of the first dwellings on this part of the mountain, and was originally ski-in, ski-out from the front door. Construction of roads and buildings on the land we used to ski now requires a walk of about three minutes down the road to a ski-in, ski-out point.

Steamboat is one of the finest all-round ski areas in the US, with terrain for all abilities and wonderful for families. Excellent tree and powder skiing and large areas for intermediates and beginners. Come and enjoy it!

Keywords: economy, value, fireplace, two-story, full kitchen, loft, three-bedroom

More Details

Amenities

Steamboat Springs Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Downstairs bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upstairs, outer vanity/sinks, inner toilet/bathing area
  • Downstairs bath has toilet, shower and sink. Upstairs bath has an outer room with vanity and two sinks. Inner bath area has toilet and bathing area with tub/shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Convertible bed(s) - 1 double , Living room sofa is a sleeper that accomodates two.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master bedroom with balcony
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Small middle bedroom - great for kids
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Large loft bedroom with retractable privacy wall
  • Queen size Beds (3) One Queen per bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
We provide hair dryer, basic toiletries, shampoo, soap, toilet paper, towels, etc.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
3 Minute Walk to Ski-In/Out! Two story, 3BR, on the Slopes. Low Rates!
average rating of 4.0833335 based on 25 reviews
4

Great location and comfy accommodation

  • 4 of 5

Very comfortable 3 bed 2 bath condo with an amazing living room to relax in. An easy walk to and from the slopes. We even brought a collapsible wagon to pull 2 or 3 kids to and from the slopes and it worked great.

The condo is a bit dated and the stairs make it a little tricky with young kids. But all in all a good experience.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Mark. We're really happy you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again next year. - Ernie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Condo needs updating, too cold.

  • 3 of 5

I wouldn't stay again. Condo was freezing cold, the heaters aren't sufficient for the space. Everything is really old including furniture & cookware. The upstairs feels like it's falling apart.

The location was good.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I wish you had notified us immediately about the heat problem. Usually if anything the upstairs tends to get too hot. The entire electrical system including the living room heaters was re-built last summer so there may be some issue. I will get the electrician in to check it out. Since no one else mentioned it, I wonder if perhaps you didn't notice that each room/area has its own, separate heat control? In any case, thanks for letting us know.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Dirty and older

  • 1 of 5

the house has a comfortable structure but it was very dirty, with many cobwebs everywhere, the kitchen utensils untidy and old.

the stairs to the rooms are absolutely uncomfortable, both to carry the bags up and to climb.

The hot water was not enough for the five of us to shower, we had to wait a while to warm up again.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you didn't find your stay satisfactory. I also regret the amount we had to deduct from your damage deposit. We do try to update the appliances and utensils as necessary. In fact, the Black and Dekker coffee maker your party broke was brand new. The cobwebs are indeed hard to get at in the two-story living room, but the repairmen who brought in ladders to fix the damage your party did to the tall drapes were able to clean them while they were up there. The water heater is two years old and large capacity, and in fact other guests have remarked positively on it, so I will have that checked for any problems, although I expect five consecutive showers is probably beyond the capacity of any home water heater.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Iowa City, IA
4

Nice Place

  • 4 of 5

Close to skiing. Pictures accurately represent the place. The owner (Ernie) was very helpful. Beds were comfortable. We had a good time, the loft bedroom was our favorite of the three.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, I'm delighted you had a good time and enjoyed our home! We'd love to see you again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Property was everything as advertised ! Walking distance to slopes . Great floor plan and great experience

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! I'm very happy you had a great time! When your plans include Steamboat again we'd love to have you back. Ernie.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Retro charm close to the slopes

  • 5 of 5

Great townhouse with a killer location in the condo district. The place has nice character; not your typical builder special condo. Walking distance to the base or the green line bus stop is at the bottom of the drive. Would stay here again without hesitation. Quiet, comfortable and great location.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm really glad you enjoyed our place, Jason! We'd love to see you again on your next trip; just let me know. Best, Ernie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Owner

Ernie Kent
Member since: 2010
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 22, 2018

About Ernie Kent

Ernie and Jamie Kent live in Maryland but plan to retire to Steamboat one day. At present they run a family website development business. Between them they have six children.

Ernie Kent purchased this condo in 1975

Why Ernie Kent chose Steamboat Springs

Ernie discovered Steamboat while attending a conference in 1974, and fell in love with the ski mountain. The next year he began looking for a place to buy at Steamboat and discovered JVT. Over the years JVT and Steamboat have become home while his 'real' location moved around the country.

What makes this condo unique

JVT is a three minute walk down a road to the second gondola tower, where we can ski down about ten seconds beside the beginner's slope to the gondola, and where we can ski back at the end of the day to walk 3 minutes back to the condo. This spot is accessible to all levels from the beginner's slope. It's actually a shorter walk to our ski-in/out point than the walk from any public parking to the gondola - check the comparison in the photos.

It's also a short walk from JVT to the end of our road where a free bus stops every 20 minutes. JVT has free off-street parking, and Longthong Road is heated concrete for safe, easy access in all weather.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hello Ernie,

Just wanted to thank you for the weekend in your wonderful condo. We really had a great time and every time we head out to Steamboat I will see if yours is available first!!
Feb 2011
  • 1 of 1

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Hayden CO
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
1
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US 40
Nearest Point of Interest
Ski-in/out point
Nearest Point of Interest
Bus stop
Car: not necessary

Although famous as a ski resort, Steamboat has a full complement of year-round activities, including golf, water sports on the Yampa River and Steamboat Lake, fishing and hunting and mountain biking.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,500
Cleaning/Laundry (waived on 7 nights) $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.65%

Cleaning fee waived on stays of 7 nights or more. 100% refund on nights subsequently rented after cancellations.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties