Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

You Found Your Own Beach!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 8 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms 2 1/2 Baths

Accommodations:

The entire house is air conditioned. It's ensuite bedrooms with California style closets and private bathrooms. The Property has a third bedroom with two queen beds in the event that you need the additional space (at an additional cost)

A ½ (guest) bath is located within the main house. The kitchen has all modern appliances and imported granite throughout!

The private beachfront pool area and tiki bar are right out of a dream! With a full bathroom including a shower located behind the Tiki Bar, as well as an outside shower protruding from a tree trunk.

A Weber Genesis grill as well as wet bar completely covered by granite is located within the Tiki Bar. No amenity is spared in this property!

This is truly paradise, one of the few areas of Costa Rica that is unspoiled and still untouched much by tourism. A place where you feel time has stood still. Just look at the actual photos of the beach or what could be “your beach” while staying at our property! As depicted in the photo, the tropical palm fringed beach of silver brown sand sits on a cove that is separated by two distinctly different rivers which are within walking distance.

The beach has a gentle rolling surf, safe for swimming without the concern of rip tides. If you walk to the river towards the north of the property in the morning, when the tide is going out, you can sit in the shallow portion of such and feel the natural Jacuzzi refresh your body!! You can laze in the hammocks, soak up some sun or shade, read a book or just plain relax! Wildlife is abundant around the immediate area, as the property is surrounded by a rain forest.

The private beachfront pool and Tiki Bar area is there for you to enjoy privately with your family and/or guests. No detail has been spared; from wet bar to a full bathroom with inside and outside showers located within the pool area.

All this paradise is enjoyed in a luxury style air conditioned house with its ensuite style bedrooms containing “California” style closets and private bathrooms each as well as any amenity you can think of!

If you are looking for a crowded and complicated venue, look elsewhere, but if you are looking for a serene, tranquil and private beach vacation……THIS IS IT!

We also offer a voluntary “Bed and Breakfast” plan, whereas our innkeepers prepare an American or Costa Rican breakfast for you and your guests each morning and provide maid service for you every other day.(prices vary based on the group size and duration of the stay).

Additionally, our Innkeepers can provide a entire array of amenities, e.g., cooking additional meals, daily maid service, procuring horses to be brought to the property, fishing trips, etc., at a cost negotiated directly with them.

There are restaurants nearby that offer catering. The cross roads of San Francisco de Coyote (just eight (8) kilometers away) offer two small, but nicely stocked stores and a local butcher. At the other end of the cove, you can sometimes visit the local fishermen and purchase freshly caught fish.

Guide services, horseback touring and local fishing charters are available.

We are also able to provide transportation from any Costa Rican Airport, our goal is to make your trip as simple or as eloquent as you wish! Just ask!!

Keywords: Private Surfing and Relaxing Beach Bungalow

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2017

About The Owner

Welcome to Rancho Ramar!!!

I was invited to visit Costa Rica by a friend in 1997. It was love at first sight and I soon purchased the property in 2000.

At the outset, the property had a simple beach home, which our family enjoyed for many years. We did not think of renting it at the time, because it lacked a lot of the creature comforts that renters would expect.

However, the property is now described by neighbors as “The prettiest and most luxurious property in all of Coyote and Coyote Beach”.

We welcome you to enjoy it; with its private beachfront pool and Tiki Bar area that resembles some of those found in the world’s finest resort, and the well appointed and equipped house! From the minute you set foot in our property, it will be quite clear that all of the appointments that you would expect are present.

A great advantage to renting our property is that because its primary purpose is for the enjoyment of our family and friends, no detail has been spared. You will enjoy amenities that you will not find elsewhere like beach colors and decorations, pillow top mattresses, and so much more.

Lastly, being that our family has been visiting Costa Rica for so long, we can arrange for just about anything during your stay. From horseback riding to fishing, surfboard rentals, weddings, and just about anything that you can possibly imagine or want.

Our family’s number one concern is to ensure a most memorable experience, one that you will remember all of your lives……….Of course, you can just enjoy the beach and do everything at your own pace!!!

We certainly hope that you enjoy the property as much as our family has and will for years to come!! Wishing you the best of vacations…….

Sincerely, Joe Monteagudo.

The Owner purchased this house in 2000

Guestbook comments from the owner

Joe and Deanna,



Merry Christmas to you and your family too. We finally closed on the land the day after we got home. It will be sometime before we have can build even a small structure on the land, but we are very excited to have the property and I love the area. I hope it stays as remote as it is for a long time.



Thank you for having us at your property. Alvaro and this family were very kind to us, and I think we even got by our language barrier a bit. Charlie and I need to learn some Spanish, for sure. Your place is beautiful.



I am not sure how soon we will be going to CR again, but I will contact you to see if your property is still for rent when we have our next planned time there.



Thanks
Dec 2011
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Playa Coyote House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom two located in Bedroom - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 1 Located in Bedroom - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Sink, Mirror
    Bathroom 4 Located behind Tiki Bar - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
You Found Your Own Beach!
average rating of 4.852941 based on 36 reviews
4

Paradise!

  • 4 of 5

Rancho Ramar is a beautiful home with a stunning view of the ocean. You can wake up in the morning, go for a dip in the private pool and then enjoy the warm waves of the ocean. This place is truly paradise. The house itself is just gorgeous. There is plenty of room for three families to stay in one house. We had a couple of surprises during our stay, but nothing that really detracted from our overall experience. The kitchen appliances were not at their best - the coffee maker and dishwasher were not the best, but they did do the job (at a minimal level). We also had to purchase a few minor items, such as extra toilet paper, dish cloths, salt & pepper and paper towels. These were simple things that should not stop you from renting this place (but you might want to bring a few of these items before you come). We would definitely consider renting this resort again - I highly recommend it! My kids LOVED the pool and the warm waters of the ocean were a major highlight. Excellent choice for families.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Coralie, Thank you very much for your kinds words about our home. As we spoke during your stay, the coffee maker had just broken prior to your arrival and all we had at the premises was our emergency coffee maker. With the remoteness of the property it was a logistical challenge to replace our "Kitchenaid" one. Also as to the toilet paper and paper towels was mostly a misunderstanding with our innkeepers and I was glad that we were able to correct it. It is always our number one goal to ensure that we do all to enhance your enjoyment while at our property and I was glad that we were able to work through the challenges to make yours an unforgettable experience. Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit and once again, from our family to yours, thank you for your business! Joe
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best house ever!

  • 5 of 5

Had the best time ever!!!! We loved the house. The best location ever. You have your own beach! There is also a river to the right of the property... someone can bring you surf boards or horses to the beach. We got massages from the place next door as well.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Linsey, Thank you for the wonderful words about your stay and our property. Our family strives in many ways to enhance your experience and it is very nice to read comments from our guests that state we met our mark!! Thank you once again for your business and looking forward to your next stay at Rancho Ramar! Have a great day! Joe
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto Canada
4

Awesome Spot

  • 4 of 5

Rancho Ramar is located about the middle point of Playa Coyote. The beach is relatively undeveloped and therefore very quiet....but stunningly beautiful. Would likely take about two hours to walk the entire beach. There were four of us renting the place for a week and we stayed on the main floor. The upstairs is available but seemed unfinished. The pool area is lovely but shade can be challenging as the day progresses. There are no umbrellas to seek shade under. There is a bar area with a bbq that we used to get out of the sun. Note: you need to come prepared with most basic pantry items as none were provided. We discovered no sugar, salt, pepper etc. but there was a spice rack. You must bring in everything yourself and there really is only one grocery store about a ten minute drive (closed Sunday). There are no beach amenities such as chairs, umbrellas, or any toys so if you want to play on the beach you must bring stuff with you. Towels are not an issue. There is an adjacent house where the managers live in case you need them for any reason. Overall we loved our stay but we got off to a rough start arriving on Sunday without the cooking materials we thought would be provided. We were missing some other essential items but the owner (Jose) addressed them right away and made every effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mary Lou, Thank you so much for your business! It is inherent in our family that we do all that is possible to enhance out guests experience. It is definitively our pleasure and privilege to have served you while at our piece of heaven. We do apologize for the fact that we had recently trimmed our palm trees and hope that the next time you come you will enjoy the shade they provide. We appreciate your feedback and having given us the opportunity to rise to the level of your expectations. We do look forward to your return visit and thank you for being a part of our family of guests! Sincerely, Joe
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Second visit even better than the first!

  • 5 of 5

Returned this week from our second visit to Rancho Ramar.

We loved our 7 day visit last year so much (see review below), this time we stayed 10 days!

Upon arrival we found the home & the grounds in immaculate condition.

Only disappointment was missing the coconut harvest. Loved that coconut milk 1st time!

Pilo & Noylin helped us in anyway they could throughout our stay.

We were able to converse, for the most part. If we were stumped, we communicated through Spanish/English translation apps on our phones & iPads. Worked great! Contrary to the previous reviewer(Elizabeth), Pilo was very respectful of our privacy. He works hard to keep the grounds kept. Most mornings, he was up at daylight doing his thing & was out of our way the rest of the day. If we needed something or needed his help, we could find him in the casita he & his wife stay in.

The internet isn't blazing fast but so what. We could still get the info we needed & send messages.

I couldn't vouch for using cell phones (sim cards etc.). Didn't use mine. We went there to get away & relax.

Jose (Joe) was every bit as awesome to work with this time as last. He genuinely wants you to have a great experience. He is great about answering any questions/concerns you might have. We had all our contact both prior to & during our visit by email.

Needless to say, if you are considering Rancho Ramar, DO IT!

For those who have signed up or plan on it, I would offer some insights we gained about the area.

1. At Joe's recommendation, we contacted Vamos 4x4 car rental online. Awesome to work with.

Upfront $ total. No b.s. & no surprises.

2. The road from Liberia to Jicaral is paved. The last 42 km to Rancho Ramar is not. No biggie. There are signs all the way to San Francisco de Coyote. Joe has instructions that help.

3. We bought groceries in Nicoya, but it's surprising how much they have at Super Rey market in S.F.

We took a chance & froze steaks, hamburgers, & bacon in "seal a meal" bags and put them in the bottom of our suitcases. No problems at the airport. They were still plenty frozen after 12+ hours!

4. Zipline in Montezuma was great. $45 each & it takes you to the waterfall there. The road there has been graded & is much improved.

5. All the local restaurants are good. Loma Cara was our favorite. Rafael (owner) ordered us fresh local produce with his order.

6. Take bug spray ("no see um" bugs). Some in our group used it, however I never used it once!

7. Have fun!

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Layne, We are certainly appreciative for your repeat business. Thank you very much for your kind words about your stay, our home and especially the service you received. As you know from your personal experience, we have been in Costa Rica since the late 90's. We offer our experience to our guests in ensuring to enhance their stay at Rancho Ramar. It makes us very happy and proud when we receive confirmation from our guests that we met our mark. While others feel their business is complete when the property is booked and money is received, we believe that our job is not done until we receive the feedback from our guests. Thank you once again for your kind words and your repeat business! Looking forward to seeing you in the near future. Joe
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very Nice House & Beach

  • 4 of 5

I have read the other reviews and find that I agree with everyone, however I'll add some information to help the next person along.... :) There isn't a land line at the house, so a cell phone is essential. In June '16 the only cell service that worked in Coyote was Kobi and you can buy the sim card at the supermarket in Coyote. The rates were .26/minute to the US and you can only add $10 per day! Since we were unaware of how things work in CR we bought a Claro sim card in Santa Elena and it did not work at all at the house. Personally I feel as though the house should have a working land line in the house so that the guests can make emergency calls since Pilo and Noylin were not always available. The internet is via MICROWAVE - seriously - and works as long as it's not raining. The best internet and cell reception was found to be from the unfinished bedrooms upstairs or outside by the tiki bar. There is neither an ATM nor bank in or around Coyote, so bring lots of cash bc many places are cash only i.e. Noylin & Treehouse Pizza place, and gas 'stations'. WARNING: You do not want to travel to this house when it gets dark (after 4p in June!). We left Jicaral after 4p and it took us 2 hrs driving the windy, pothole filled road in the rain. Sand fleas and mosquitoes (around dusk especially) are a reality, so buy repellent and sun screen in your home country bc sunscreen was $26 for 6.7 fl oz! If you plan on staying more than 4 days I would negotiate housekeeping services bc its impossible to keep the sand out of the house. Working with Pilo and Noylin was especially difficult due to the language barrier and miscommunication was frequent. Also, privacy seemed to be less of a priority... On more than one occasion Pilo simply walked through the front door without knocking or announcing himself. Noylin is kind and she makes the best Tico dishes. I would recommend asking Pilo to have "Pecho" get with you for a horseback riding tour of his private 800 hectre estate. "Pecho" is the only industrious businessman we saw in Coyote to capitalize on the local tourism, so negotiate. This house is perfect if you have already seen what makes Costa Rica unique and/or you simply want to unplug from the world. I would not recommend this area of CR to active, adventurous families bc there simply aren't any activities within 20-30 minute drive (in June anyway) or if you plan to work while at the beach since the internet and cellular are so poor.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Potential Guests, I usually do not address reviews like these, however this is a special one that even involves that I am still owed $106.51. This amount was for food and services they ordered from the innkeepers without having the money. When they checked out, they asked me ti send them a PayPal invoice for said amount. After several reminders, they finally paid the bill on or about July and then requested a charge back on their card which has yet to be cleared up. From the outset, I knew they were going to be problem guests. Upon their arrival they complained that the house had been hot (the a/c not turned on) and the trip had lasted two hours. You can see from all of the reviews no one mentions a two hour ride. The ride from the town of Jicaral is approximately forty five minutes. Also as a person who also rents through VRBO frequently, when one arrives at the rental property there is usually a code or a key and the entire house is shut off. This is normal as the owner is not expected to have an electric bill while the house is unoccupied. Still, in the our spirit of making our number one goal to ensure our guests have a most memorable time, I apologized and offered them a complementary couple's massage on the beach which they graciously accepted. Then they began writing me emails wanting to set my innkeepers for different meals oftentimes cancelling the previous request. They rightfully complained about the internet as some hardware equipment broke down. In remote areas in Costa Rica service is not a 24 hour occurrence so unfortunately the internet company did not arrive until their departure. During the time of this so called outage, we spoke several times via Whatsapp, so there was service for voice communications. I am unclear why they indicated that you need a cell phone. Our internet although through microwave is capable of streaming movies, spotify, etc. It was just an unexpected and unfortunate happen sake. I do not understand why write this review, when we tried to please them in every way, even taking care of their unpaid bill to our innkeepers and still yet to me, unless they plan to skip out on the bill. I have emails and invoices to prove all that I am stating herein and I ask our prospective guests to read all the others reviews and perhaps you may figure out why this review was written. Thank you for your time-Joe
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Hate to write this review

  • 5 of 5

So, you're probably wondering what went wrong to "hate" to write this review". Absolutely nothing. Rancho Ramar is a wonderful home that's actually better than what the pictures show or what the owners description depicts.

The home is located right on the beach in the Costa De Oro section of Coyote. Step out of the rear door and your swimming in the beautiful pool. A few more steps your under the palm trees and about 50 or so feet later, your in the sand and a few more steps into the water. The beach is clean, long and pretty much what I think a beach should look like. Ask Pilo the caretaker, who lives with his wife in the front casita to put up the hammocks under the palm trees right at the edge of the beach, and it's heaven. As for Pilo and his wife Noylin, they live in the front Casita. Anything that needed a quick fix or help with, they were very helpful in taking care of. Pilo kept the pool and grounds clean and while we speak only a little Spanish and they only a little English, it wasn't much of a barrier. Inside, the home is beautiful. Full kitchen with just about anything you could need, AC in each room, and a great layout. Bedrooms and bathrooms, first rate. And a great outdoor Rancho.

The location is remote. We knew that going in as we have previously visited the area. It's not for everyone. Anyone looking for night life or to be catered to, is missing the boat on why to come down to the Coyote area. It's a lack of those amenities that adds to the charm of Playa Coyote, Playa San Miguel and Costa de Oro. (all three beach areas that pretty much make up San Francisco De Coyote). The beaches are wonderfully uncrowded (meaning you might see 3-4 others within a mile in either direction), the local town of San Francisco De Coyote is a true Tico town with a few Expats scattered about and very few "tourists". There are limited, but enough small Tico restaurants and a couple of "higher end" restaurants, that will satisfy most people, each with their own distinctive charm and great food.

Jose, the property owner was great to "do business with" as well. Communication was excellent!

So why do I hate to write this review? Why would I want to share this info and find more people coming down to this special place in Costa Rica? I'd rather it stay just the way it is. For those looking to really get away from it all, but have it all, this place is for you and Rancho Ramar is great place to hang your hat for a week or more!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Stan, I cannot thank you enough for the beautiful words that you used to describe your stay in our home. Our family is certainly very proud of it and have made everything possible to ensure that we do not miss any detail in the aesthetics or the service that we provide to all of our valued guests. We could not agree with you more about the area and we also hope that at least in our lifetime, it will remain the oasis of peace, beauty, nature and tranquility where one can escape this world which we presently live in. Hoping that you will stay at Rancho Ramar again and certainly thank you for your business! Joe and Susan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

ALL RATES QUOTED ARE FOR THE TWO BEDROOM RENTAL!

NEED A LITTLE EXTRA ROOM?, THERE IS A THIRD BEDROOM AVAILABLE (SEE PHOTOS) FOR AN ADDITIONAL FEE, JUST CHECK WITH US!

ALL MONIES RECEIVED ARE 100% REFUNDABLE AS LONG AS YOU CANCEL YOUR RESERVATIONS AT LEAST 20 DAYS PRIOR TO YOUR ARRIVAL DATE!!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties