Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beachfront, Affordable Upscale Caribbean Vacation!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Secluded and private, yet minutes from International Airport

This private and secluded property located minutes from Roatan International Airport (RTB) sits in an area plush with flowers and a wide variety of fruit trees, steps from the beach, ocean and our dock, as well as the Sundancer pool. Imagine secluded beaches with no vendors hawking trinkets, no elbow to elbow tourists, yet the busy beaches can be reached in minutes. On site is the Blue Parrot restaurant and bar (children welcome) Great jerk chicken . Step right out the door to our dock where you can relax, read, visit, swim and snorkle or dive out to the reef. Our area is a protected marine preserve with coral sites all within swimming distance of our dock (fishing with the exception of spear fishing is allowed/Spear fishing is now allowed for Lion Fish an invasive species but excellent for ceviche and on the grill). The Sundancer pool is a short walk through the lush jungle and is inviting year around. The neighborhood is safe, friendly, our on site manager Vanessa is a neighbor and will arrange airport pick up and drop off at no additional charge (up to 4 people). She can also suggest and help with itenaries of your choice. We have cable TV and free internet but your focus will be the magnificent views and sun/water activities. Our garage has ample snorkeling gear and water toys to enjoy right off the dock, including 2 sea kayaks suitable for snorkeling, fishing or just exploring inside the reef. This area of the reef has one of five cuts in it giving you access to the open sea. The temperature is mild all year long making the sea temperature inviting for year round swimming. Owners and visitors gather on the dock for sunset and drinks while enjoying some of the most beautiful sunsets.You may never want to leave our dock, but if you do, just steps next to us on the beach is Blue Island Divers (blueislanddivers.com) where you can dive (any level), snorkel, boat tour, etc. Also located here is the Salty Mango excellent for breakfast and lunch (mention Peter to Eric the owner and you might get special treatment. West End is about 10 minutes away and offers ample tourist shops, restaurants and bars. West Bay is about 15 minutes away and has upscale restaurants and hotels along with palapa beachfront bars and a wide variety of water activity rentals.We have made arrangements with the Mayan Princess Beach Resort (mayanprincess.com) for you to receive a guest pass to use their magnificent pool and beach area, parking, etc. West Bay is arguably one of the top 10 beaches of the world. If you run into Juan (Vanessa's husband and general manager say hi from Peter.. Anthoney's Key (anthonyskey.com) is minutes away, for diving, snorkeling and swimming with the dolphins. The local money is Lempira but American dollars are accepted everywhere. Local products as well as fish, lobster and shrimp are inexpensive on the Island. Our BarBQue Grill on the deck is perfect for a grilled seafood feast!! Unlike most rentals we don't lock up the kitchen pantry so most spices, cooking goods, etc. are available to our guests.

YOU CAN FLY TO OUR VILLA AND DOCK ON GOOGLE EARTH BY ENTERING : Sundancer's dock, Roatan. The Villa is the 5 sided home directly in front of the dock on the beach, there are 2 villas ours is the one to the East.

Keywords: Affordable, Luxury, Beachfront, Secluded Oceanfront, Villa

More Details

Property Manager
Peter Kuhlmann
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, hungarian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 23, 2017

About Peter Kuhlmann

Sundancer Villas was visualized, built and still loved by Peter, Linda Kuhlmann and Raymond, Terese Defore. We have shared our home with family, friends and visiting renters. We have never had a complaint, but we have had many that returned to visit - many times. The four of us are from the Ft.W., Tx. area - lots of hussle and bustle and we head to the island every chance we get! We hope that if you select this as your vacation spot in the Caribbean that you will enjoy it as much as we all have.

Peter Kuhlmann purchased this house in 2009

Why Peter Kuhlmann chose Sandy Bay

Peter and I have travelled extensively looking for just the right place. After our first day on the Island of Roatan we knew we had found our place. We went to Raymond and Terese and raved about this diamond in the rough we had found and they agreed 'Jump on it' and 'Jump on it we did'. Roatan is very affordable, the people are so friendly and the temperature is perfect.

What makes this house unique

Our house features four decks. One covered deck with table and chairs for enjoying that treehouse feeling, especially when it's raining and you are sitting up in the trees playing cards and having shrimp cocktail. One open deck for grilling along with seating and one small porch upstairs where you can see forever, or so it seems. Also a covered porch facing East perfect for morning coffee or afternoon drinks. Swim, snorkel, divoff the dock, same in West Bay at the Mayan Princess as well as the pool at the Princess or on Sundancer property at the Sundancer Pool.

Map

Roatán
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Roatan Airport
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Galaxy
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Pristine Bay
Car: not necessary

Private and secluded yet minutes from Roatan International Airport (RTB), swimming pool, iguana farm, monkey farm, butterfly farm, cameo factory, zip line,swim with the dolphins, duty free shopping, restaurants and playgrounds at both cruise ship ports, Anthony's Key is about 2 minutes away where you can swim with the dolphins, shop and they have a medical clinic.

Amenities

Sandy Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Large master bath, with granite counter tops, double sink. 2nd bat convenient to two upstairs bedroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Full size bed (1) Fold down Futon (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beachfront, Affordable Upscale Caribbean Vacation!
average rating of 4.8125 based on 16 reviews
Los Angeles
5

Wonderful and relaxing vacation at Casa Verde!

  • 5 of 5

We just spent a week in Roatan staying at Casa Verde in Sundancer Villas. From our first contact with Peter, the owner, he was responsive and provided a great deal of information about how best to enjoy our stay. Vanessa who manages the property locally was terrific once we arrived to make sure we had everything we needed. Now on to the vacation itself....we did rent a car at the airport so that we had more flexibility on things we wanted to do and we did a lot: snorkeling every day, ziplining, spending two days at the Mayan Princess Resort (which Vanessa's husband Juan manages and arranged for day passes free of charge to us). The beach at the Mayan Princess is gorgeous (rated as one of the top 20 beaches in the world), the snorkeling is world class, lots of other activities to try (we went paddle boarding), and the food was great. The house itself has everything you need and has such a great location on the beach, you really need to try hard not to hang out there the whole time! A well equipped kitchen, two large decks (one screened in where we ate all our meals overlooking the ocean), a short walk to the private pier where we had drinks and watched the sun go down every night. There are several restaurants and a dive/snorkeling shop less than a few minutes walk from the house. The people of Roatan are friendly and care a great deal about preserving it as a paradise it is. Do yourself a favor....go stay at Case Verde and see for yourself. You won't regret it, I promise!

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love having great guests!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

A vacation that could have been better than expected!

  • 3 of 5

To begin with I would have expected to be greeted by the property manager in this case her name is Vanessa Solorzano, her excuse was that was busy with school. From my personal opinion I would have though that she should have been there from day one and than kindly excuse herself about not being able to be available to take me to the house and she should have tried to get someone else to take her place instead, but I assumed that she didn't care much about me or her job which in this case it was to pick me up at the airport and show me around the house, but I don't really know what the reason really was, but I found that to be so unprofessional for her part. I think the owner Peter should really reconsider hiring someone else for the job. Another thing that I would have tought that the house should have provide would have been the basics like dish liquid, bathroom tissue, trash bags, and as a courtesy from the house why not offer coffee. This was the list of things that Vanessa told me 2 days before my arrival that I needed to get, I think that for the kind of money that I was paying to rent this property I think that this things could have easy been included, but I was proven wrong. I arrived to the island at 11:00 AM and another thing that I had to pay for was a trip to the grocery store which I would have tought as well that should have been one more of the amenities that the property should have offer. Vanessa didn't show up to the house until 5 or 6 in the afternoon she didn't even bother to mention that the refrigerator ice maker wasn't working, for a house in the Caribbean having a refrigerator with a broken ice making machine I think is absurd, as hot as it gets in Roatan with no stores to buy ice from within miles I think that this is something that she should have mention before my arrival so I could have bought some at the grocery store. This just showed to me how much she cared about her job, I find this really unprofessional for someone on this kind of work line. When I finally got to meet her on my first day of my arrival her visit lasted about 2 or 3 minutes, once again I think that she could have done a better job being the property manager. To Peter the property owner I strongly suggest you to find a better person to manage your property, you have an amazing house, right location. Unfortunately for me I wouldn't stay here again and I wouldn't recommend this property not while Vanessa is still in charge of the property..

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry about the bad experience with Vanessa. We usually get rave reports on her. She is principal at an Island school and week day arrivals sometimes present a problem. We'll do everything we can to improve the situation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Portland, CT
4

Rental rates were great for two couples

  • 4 of 5

We were Grateful for the air conditioning & there was a washer dryer on premises. Plenty of snorkel gear and 2- sea kayaks. The peer walk to watch sunrise and sunsets were amazing. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Submitted: May 27, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Traverse City, MI
5

Location, Location, Location

  • 5 of 5

My family and I just returned from a week at Villa Verde. The house was great for our family with enough space to spread out. We spent a lot of time kayaking out to the reef and snorkeling. We saw all kinds of sea life. Our younger kids loved jumping off the dock. The sunsets from the screened in porch were a great end to an exciting day. The neighborhood was friendly and quiet. Our host Vanessa gave us good advice and always got back to us quickly when we contacted her. We spent a lot of time at Blue Island Divers just down the beach, they were incredible. Can't wait to come back.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
United States
5

ROATAN

  • 5 of 5

THIS IS THE BEST DEAL IN ROATAN. PETER AND LIND ARE THE GREATEST.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2015
  • Stayed: January 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Baker City, OR
5

Can't wait to return!!

  • 5 of 5

We spent 2 weeks at Villa Azul with 2 other couples and had a wonderful time! The house was perfect and the location - excellent! Snorkeling the reef was awesome and the turtles were our favorites!! Well, besides Chica, the neighboring dog who is absolutely adorable (and that comes from a non-dog lover!) Peter, the owner, is great to work with and Vanessa is wonderful - helpful and fun!! We enjoyed all the neighbors and return vacationers and really look forward to seeing all of them on our return trip next year! The house had everything we needed and then some. It's easy to get into West End and West Bay and far enough away to be quiet and relaxing! But if you prefer to get a bite to eat at the Blue Parrot, which is just a short walk away, the food is great and the employees are delightful!! Perfect vacation!!

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: March 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150

Above rate schedule is based on 8 persons. There is additional charges for more than 8 persons.
Easter rates same as Peak Season. No additional fees of any kind!!! Taxes are included in above stated fees.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties