Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great Unit with a Private Lanai

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 700 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

CHECK OUR LOW 'SUMMER SPECIAL' RATES

AND

MANY IMPROVEMENTS SINCE WE PURCHASED IN 2009....

LOCATION IN KIHEI!

LOCATION IN THE COMPLEX!

LOCATION FOR PRIVACY!

Unique qualities of this unit are its central location within the complex and the fact that it is a ground floor unit. This provides for easy access to the pool, the barbeque and the

road to the beach (which is 1 block away) and is helpful for unloading groceries, loading and unloading luggage and items for day trips around the island.

COMFORT

A screen door, an upgraded window in the bedroom and a patio door, all of which are lockable, provide a cool breeze which keeps the unit comfortable most of the time. There is an air conditioner in the living room and ceiling fans in the kitchen, living room and bedroom to supplement the breezes.

GARDEN VIEW

The very private lanai has a garden view comprised of plumeria trees, a flowering hedge and an adjacent field filled with an abundance of green folliage.

LARGE ONE BEDROOM UNIT

We have rented units in Kihei Alii Kai many times and love the size of the units (700 sq feet in the one-bedrooms plus a 150 sq ft lanai). We have viewed units in many of the surrounding properties and none can compare.

WELL FURNISHED - NICELY APPOINTED

The fully equipped kitchen is a pleasure to work in. It has been upgraded with maple cupboards, granite counters, and new flooring. A newly renovated bathroom with tub and shower is a beauty. The smooth-top stove has a self-clean oven and the microwave is over the stove. 2015 and 2016 saw us re-texture the walls , re-paint the living room, kitchen and halls, install new carpet in the living room and bedroom, replace the drapes, dishwasher, and air conditioner .

Sleep in the luxury of a queen size Simmons Beautyrest pillowtop mattress in the bedroom and a new sofa bed in the living room which has a queen size deluxe spring-filled mattress with a pillowtop.

Furniture has been upgraded with new queen size sofa bed, occasional chairs, dining suite and bedroom suite. A full sized washer and dryer allows for fresh clothes changes in a sweaty tropical climate

The beautifully tiled lanai (porch) has a chaise lounge and a table and chairs and opens onto a lawn with a plumeria tree.

Beach towels, beach chairs, a beach umbrella, and a cooler are provided.

Long distance calls to Canada and the USA are free as is the wi-fi internet access.

GETTING AROUND MAUI

While car rental gives visitors the luxury of touring the island at your liesure, it can be expensive. If you would prefer an alternaitve mode of transportation, we can recommend the Maui Bus ( http://www.co.maui.hi.us/609/Maui-Bus-Public-Transit-System) . Details for using the Maui Bus are available on-line and in the the Visitors Binder in our condo. Shuttle Services are avilable for getting to the condo from the airport in Kahului ( http://www.speedishuttle.com/ ).

Keywords: Condominium, 1 bedroom plus queen sofa bed

More Details

Owner
Rod, Lois and Brad Tomlinson
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
August 9, 2017

About Rod, Lois and Brad Tomlinson

Rod and Lois have rented units in Kihei Alii Kai on many visits to Maui and always loved the spaciousness of the units and the closeness of the beach. Our family (children and grandchildren) spent Xmas 2010 at the complex and our son Brad got excited about having a winter retirement home in Maui in the future. So we casually started looking at property and the more we viewed, the more Kihei Alii Kai came out on top! When we found this ground floor, upgraded and private unit, with its perfect location in the complex, it sold itself!

This is now our comfortable tropical home away from home. We hope that you will love it as we do, and that you will treat it as carefully as you would your own home. Enjoy!

Rod, Lois and Brad Tomlinson purchased this condo in 2011

Why Rod, Lois and Brad Tomlinson chose South Maui

LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION!

South Kihei has the best weather, most sun and three of the most popular beach parks in Hawaii. Unlike self-contained hotel resort settings, it has a folksy “village-like” atmosphere. You can walk to restaurants, shopping, beaches, a health-food store and internet café. There are six championship golf courses within 15 minutes and easy access to the Pi’ilani Highway for fast trips to other places on the island. Early morning on South Kihei Road is a jogger/walker's paradise. It is few minutes drive to central Kihei with three supermarkets (including Safeway), Longs Drug Store, hardware store, local theater productions and other shopping amenities.

What makes this condo unique

Kihei Ali’i Kai is a popular condominium complex with its own access road to ample parking for guests and visitors. Some of the parking is covered.

It is clean and well managed. The concrete and building block construction makes for quietness between units. The layout, designed with lanais located so they do not look at each other, creates a sense of privacy.

The pool is one of the largest and the pool deck one of the most spacious in the area. A large Jacuzzi complements both pool and deck. Showers for removing beach sand are located at the entrance to the complex. Two tennis courts complete the recreation facilities.

Two BBQ areas provide a place for guests to meet and visit after the sun goes down

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • New tub with shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (1) Beautyrest pillow top.1 Sofa bed with deluxe queen size spring filled mattress with pillow top which sleeps 2.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
beach chairs, beach umbrella, cooler, binoculars, hair dryer, iron, ironing board

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
16% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Great Unit with a Private Lanai
average rating of 4.675676 based on 37 reviews
calgary, ab
5

Absolutely perfect

  • 5 of 5

Unit was immaculate and in a great location. Very well stocked. It was exactly what we were hoping for and will definitely be back again.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that you found our 'home-away-from-home' to your liking. It is especially nice for us that you, our fellow Calgarians, found it so. Thanks for posting your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A nice unit

  • 4 of 5

The amenities are nice, I like the open feel of the living area, the condo is well equipped and comfortable. Having breakfast out on the lanai facing vegetation instead of staring at people was very enjoyable. Having all the sheets, towels, cooking appliances and utensils you could need is nice. The owners clearly want you to have a pleasant stay. I would recommend the condo.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Review of 2 week stay

  • 3 of 5

The owners are very nice people . For younger people this may be an ideal setting. But we were 2 older women both with some physical limitations. This condo is located on the side of a hill. There are 2 parking lots of which both require a walk uphill . It is a distance of 1 block from the lower parking lot and 2 blocks to the upper lot which was especially problematic the 2 days it poured down rain.

The other problem is that in the description it states that the unit is air conditioned. Imagine our surprise when we discovered 1 room air conditioner in the living room which runs for 1 hour and then shuts off. The back bedroom is sweltering even with use of the fans. You can open the window, but who wants to sleep in a bedroom with an open window when a sidewalk is right outside.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so very sorry to hear about your disappointment. Nobody has expressed concern about the hill before and we can understand that it could be problematic for some older folks or handicapped people to walk up the hill to the upper parking lot. What many folks do is to have one person go for the car and then pick the others up. An alternative is to take the walkway through the property so that you can go up a few steps at a time and avoid the hill. Our experience is that the air conditioner in the living room is adequate to cool the unit down and many folks have told us that they don’t even use it during the day because of the breeze that goes through the unit when the entrance door and the patio doors are open. When we go, we never use the air conditioner, we just check it to see that it is working well. Unfortunately, like many other owners we have had to put the air conditioner on a one hour timer which can be activated again immediately because electricity costs are SO high and some renters turn it on and go out for the day or turn it on and leave the patio doors open at the same time. The excessive costs are more than we can accept and still stay competitive with our rates. As for the bedroom, occasionally on an extremely hot night it can get warm, but generally if the unit is closed up and the air conditioner is put on prior to bed, the unit will be fine at night with the fan over the bed and 2 other fans in the room. The windows are very secure and can be opened for the evening breeze with the security poles in place. We are rather frustrated regarding the advertising in respect to the air conditioning. In the information model about amenities that VRBO uses, it states air conditioning and you have to click on that writing to find out more information (such as where it is located). We have just tried to remedy that by adding more detailed information to the paragraph where we describe the unit and hopefully folks will read that for clarification. We can understand that you might have been surprised on your arrival because of the process that VRBO uses and sincerely offer our apologies. There are some things that we just cannot control.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Terrible moved out after 1 nite

  • 1 of 5

Condo is ground floor hot old and stuffy. Fans don't all work. Ac on timer 1 hr does not cool bedroom. Cannot open bedroom windows people walk by your window. Not enough hot water for bath. Not clean

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have never before had a bad review. This guest called us before she moved in while she was staying at a friend's place in Maui. She complained that she had not been unable to get any sleep because her friend's bedroom was too hot and she was wondering if we had a/c in the bedroom of our unit. I told her that we did not have a/c in our bedroom, explaining that a cool breeze with the window open and the ceiling fan on low had been fine for us and others. She went on to explain that she was moving to Maui from a mainland location adjacent to a ski resort and that she was acustomed to sleeping with the window open at night for comfortable sleeping. Naturally, our bedroom was too hot for her. Beach-side Maui is just not that cool at night. The window opens and closes very easily. It is a replacement high quality vinyl window which can be blocked partially open for night sleeping. People must walk by the bedroom windows of all one bedroom apartments in the complex. Due to the location, ours gets much less pedestrian traffic than most others. The complex is old but well maintained. Our unit has been completely renovated and refurbished during the 6 years we have owned it. Nothing is original except the kitchen cupboards and granite counters which had been replaced by the previous owner. The water heater is 5 years old and works well. It is an apartment sized water heater but 2 people are able to take back to back showers with sufficient hot water for both. It recovers quite quickly. We have never had complaints about the amount of hot water available for a bath. The a/c is one year old, works well to cool the unit after it has been closed up on a hot day. It is on a one hour timer to prevent people going out and leaving it on all day. Electricity is much too expensive in Maui. We never use the a/c ourselves, finding that the cool Maui breezes keep the unit comfortable enough even on a hot day. The guest had trouble settling in to the unit and did not stay. Prior to moving out she called to say: there was no toaster, I helped her to find the toaster there were no wi-fi directions, I helped her to find them; she could not turn on the lights, I told her how; the fan did not work, I told her how.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We have been in this complex many times - it is an excellent location.

  • 5 of 5

We had a very relaxing time in your Hawaii home. We know the complex and enjoy the location to the beach, shops and restaurants. Everything you need is in this unit - not the view of the ocean, however, it was very protected when we had the tradewinds, blow on the weekend. Look forward to coming back to enjoy your comfortable home. Judi & Gord Hart

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks folks, for this review and for your positive comments by e-mail directly to us. So glad that you felt 'at home' during your stay in our 'home away from home'.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A taste of paradise !

  • 5 of 5

I would highly recommend this place to any couple who is looking for the perfect vacation rental in Maui! Everything you find in the description of the unit is perfectly right. Perfect location, lots of privacy, high comfort, very clean, well stocked... We particulary enjoyed that the unit is near the pool and the jacuzzi : that was perfect for the late afternoon cocktail, after a long day at the beach! However the pool is near, everything is very quiet, you never hear a noise from it! Don't hesitate, make you reservation!

There are many beaches nearby : Kamaole I juste at the corner of the street, of course, but we also drove a couple of times to Ulua Beach (5 min), Makena Beach (10 min), Big Beach (12 min), Kaanapali Beach (40 min)... There are a lot of shops and restaurant nearby too. We liked also to take a 15 min walk to Kalama Park and watch the locals surfing or playing beach volleyball, basketball or inline skating.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
OGG Kahului, Maui
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Many nearby closest about 100 meters
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Kamaole I

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $10 per person per night
Damage Deposit $250

CANCELLATIONS: There will be no refund for cancellations at less than 60 days before the check-in date unless we can re-rent the unit.
Not suitable for children

TAX ID# W44045822-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties