Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

On River in Town! Kayak/ Raft from Back Door Great Location!!!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

This charming 100 year old home is located directly on the Arkansas River. Home completely renovated in 2008, to include all of the modern necessities, but left the charm of the past. Includes two bedrooms, fully stocked kitchen, living room, master bath with Jacuzzi tub, mud room with full washer and dryer, and much more! Nestled in historical downtown Salida, Colorado. Within walking distance to shops, dining and entertainment. No need to rent a car once you arrive, everything you need is within walking or biking distance. Sit on the back patio and listen to the Arkansas river roar! Feel like fishing? Walk out your back door and throw a line in... Kitchen includes extra sink for cleaning your big catch! This property is completely unique in every aspect, you will not find another located on the river. Family owned for 100 years, and every thought for detail has been put into this property for your complete enjoyment. A little slice of heaven awaits you...Salida style!

Keywords: House on the river excellent location!! Fishing kayaking hiking biking rafting on the Arkansas river..Salida Colorado

More Details

Owner
Holly Frisk
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
June 26, 2017

About Holly Frisk

I grew up in Salida. The house has been in my family over 100 years.

Why Holly Frisk chose South Central

Great location

What makes this house unique

walking distance to almost everything you need.

Amenities

Salida House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

On River in Town! Kayak/ Raft from Back Door Great Location!!!
average rating of 4.414634 based on 41 reviews
5

Great house, amazing location

  • 5 of 5

This house is perfectly located to enjoy the best of Salida - you can mountain bike or kayak right from the house, and are a quick drive to great hiking. When you come back, just stroll to town for food, then come back to the house to relax by the fire on your own private beach while you watch the river flow by. Then get up and do it again the next day! Also very close to some hot springs to relax your muscles after so many outdoor activities. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad that you enjoyed yourself. Sounds like it was a great time. Hope to have you back again. Thank you for choosing our home!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best Place in Salida!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at this home several times - I forget how many. It is my "go to" place to stay in Salida.

It is a cozy little house with everything you might need for your stay. It is located right on the river and is within walking distance of everything downtown and the park.

The backyard - with it's seating and fire pit - may be my favorite place in Salida. I have spent a lot of time just hanging out watching the river, rafters, kayakers, and reading.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you I am so glad you had a good time. Thank you for the review and hope to have you back anytime. Thank you for choosing our place!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

really cute place.. great location... nice vibe.

  • 5 of 5

property was clean and well maintained... really cute. place is bigger in person than pictures show..... wish we had stayed one more night :-) skied Monarch and it was an easy drive and great place to relax after skiing. only comment would be that there were big gorgeous deer? elk? not sure -- not a native here.. so lots of poop to avoid in the driveway and on the walk about 30 feet from the home out back to the river... we will definitely come back in the summer!!

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice stay but mosey neighbor

  • 3 of 5

The home was nice and clean. The next-door neighbor was a bit of an issue as he watched every move we made and watched us every time we were outside. A 6 foot privacy fence down the side of the property should take care of that problem :-) The home was in a great location that's close to shopping and restaurants and on the river. There's a nice beach area down by the water to sit and enjoy your evening's or to just watch the people floating down the rapids. Right next-door is also a tube/rental shop which makes it convenient if ypu have the need to rent water equipment. The AC in the master bedroom does not work but leaving the windows open on a cool night, is plenty of cool air.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying. Sorry about the nosey neighbor.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing stay on the Arkansas River

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying in this house, right on the Arkansas river and a very short walk to downtown Salida. The house was clean, and although older was clearly remodeled. They had all the amenities we needed (dishes, cookware, etc) to stay comfortably for a week. We were able to easily cook and eat in when we wanted to. The BBQ grill did run out of fuel after one use, so you may want to check that to be sure there is fuel before starting cooking. We stayed with our two 11 year old daughters, and they really enjoyed it too. So that they wouldn't have to both share a bed, we did bring a twin air mattress and there was plenty of room for it in the bedroom (in fact, we could have brought the full size if we wanted - the bedrooms are large). Both bedrooms are connected by a door, which might be nice for families with younger kids. There are chairs down by the water with a fire pit, which was fun for us to hang out by in the evenings. It is a very short walk from the house to the water - with 11 year olds, we felt very comfortable being at the water while they were inside at night (it really is a very short distance). Its a great location, right next to a tubing rental place and a bike rental place. We rented tubes, put them in at the property, and floated right down the play park. Its very easy to walk downtown - we brought bikes but it was so close that walking was almost easier. The Safeway grocery store is also only a couple blocks away. Also, its easy to run or bike across the bridge to get onto the Salida trails. My husband and I were able to go out on quick runs or mountain bike rides in the mornings and we saw families mountain biking together on the trails as well (all the trails have ratings - so you can stick to the green trails if you're looking to keep it fairly easy or hit the black trails if you are looking for a tough challenge). During the days, we rented double inflatable kayaks and took them down the lower part of the Arkansas into town, rented standup paddle boards and took them to Cottonwood Lake, took a drive to St Elmo, and went to Mount Princeton Hot Springs. We all had a great time, and came home relaxed. Would definitely recommend this place, and would love to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sounds like you had a great time. Glad you enjoyed it. Come back and visit again! Thank you for choosing our place
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect place

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at this property. It was very clean. The home owner provided everything you would expect at your own house. This is a perfect place to stay with friends!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for stay. Glad you had a great time. Hope to have you visit again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Walk to downtown, riverfront property

Photos

Rates & Availability

Salida House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
summer rates
May 17 2017 - Oct 3 2017
2 night minimum stay
$215
$1,400
$3,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$185
$1,250
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning fee $75
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties