Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Air Conditioned Beautiful Oceanfront Condo Ground Floor #115

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,126 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 14 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

We listened to you and added air conditioning, and there are four air handlers. They are in all three bedrooms and one in the living room. This is on top of having gone all out in creating a professionally custom designed spectacular unit! You will not find another unit like it in Menehune Shores, and especially the fact that it is three bedroom, all of Kihei. As you walk in, you know right away that the color scheme, furnishings, and decor are special. We moved walls and increased the sizes of both bathrooms, without sacrificing adjoining rooms, a big plus.

We welcome those who appreciate quality and comfort. The unit accommodates six in beds. We can also supply futons with bedding for up to two children under about the age of ten that would not mind sleeping on the floor. As guests stay here, we are finding they want to return.

The unit is located on the ground floor in the center front of the building offering convenient accessibility from parking on one side and access to beaches, the manicured lawn, and the pool on the other. It is as close as you can be to the ocean view and be able to listen to the surf. A plus is that you are away from road noise. As you sit on your own lanai, you are looking at the historic 16th Century Alii (royal) fishpond of Ko'ie'ie, and during whale season (Dec-Apr) you can watch the humpback whales in Ma'alaea Bay. You also view the islands of Lanai and Kaho'olawe and Molokini crater. From the lanai, it's a treat to step out at night and enjoy the starry skies.

The unit is outfitted with free wi-fi, a 54 inch widescreen TV, home theater/entertainment surround system with Blu-Ray player and Netflix access. The kitchen has been updated with modern high-end appliances, new cabinets and counters throughout, king size beds in two bedrooms and twins in the third.

Next door is the Kalepolepo Park and Beach, and then the Hawaiian Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary and Learning Center that offers talks on a regular basis. It is a very short drive to various restaurants, grocery shopping, plus a complete variety of shopping. Excellent golf courses are nearby. Public tennis courts are within walking distance to the south. The Pacific Ocean Center with a wonderful aquarium is a short drive. You are centrally located to the whole island. You view Haleakala one direction and the Pacific Ocean in the other. It is a true Maui paradise!

Take a look at the pictures of the condo and of things to do while on Maui. Many of them were taken recently by a guest that stayed for a month.

Please note that our cancellation policy is a fee of $250 at the time of booking up to 60 days ahead of arrival and no refund after 60 days unless we are able to re-book; then you will be refunded for those days.

More Details

Owner
Cheryl Peterson
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 24, 2017

About Cheryl Peterson

I live in Washington State, near Seattle. I first came to Hawaii on my honeymoon and loved it. Then when my parents were coming here often on business related to agriculture they discovered that Menehune Shores was being built, and they had one of the first opportunities to be able to pick a choice unit, and that is what they did in buying this three bedroom unit located on the ground floor and central in the building away from the road and on the water. Now my husband and I along with our two married children and four grandchildren visit as often as we can.

Cheryl Peterson purchased this condo in 1977

Why Cheryl Peterson chose Kihei

As you come to realize when you stay here is that Menehune Shores is uniquely located on Maui. It is central to be able to access the major sights but still relatively private and away from the hubbub of crowded spots yet near grocery and other shopping and restaurants, golf, everything you might want.

It is on the desirable west side of the island but not far from the airport; it is convenient to the major sights such as Haleakala, Hana, Lahaina, Wailea, some of the best beaches, and more. We truly love it.

.

What makes this condo unique

From your own private lanai (remember to take your binoculars!) you look out at West Maui, Kaho'olawe, Ma'alaea Bay, Lanai, and Molokini. During whale season you can see the humpbacks for a real treat.

A unique aspect of Menehune Shores is that it is located right on one of the ancient fishponds that were built for royalty (called the Ali'i) literally hundreds of years ago. It is truly a treasured cultural heritage and this one happens to be one of the best that is maintained. You can go to the website Ko'ie'ie and learn more. It is so large that today it offers the benefit of shallow wading and swimming for children and for everyone to practice their snorkeling techniques.

We spend a lot of time right at the condo taking a brisk beach walk, playing games, swimming, snorkeling, boogey boarding, enjoying the beach, playing shuffleboard, or we simply enjoy being together in the wonderful warm weather and Hawaii atmosphere. We also like to take a day and go to Lahaina. That's an easy drive. Or we may drive to the top of Haleakala; we need to have brought our jackets for that one. Or we may elect to take the infamous, beautiful, and extremely interesting 'Road to Hana.'

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our family of 2 children and 4 adults had a fabulous 10 day stay at #115 during a family wedding in Maui! This spacious 3 bedroom unit is even lovelier than the photos indicate with a particularly lovely kitchen and beautiful bathrooms. It was also sparkling clean when we took possession! Thank you Richard! The first floor location less than 40 feet from the ocean was ideal for unobstructed views of the humpback whales, breathtaking sunsets and for falling asleep to the waves at night!
Mar 2012
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1126 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • $250 cancellation fee up until 60 days ahead of arrival, then 100% nonrefundable unless can re-book and will refund for those nights only.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Larger, more counter and drawers, and now has ceiling fan.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Also larger, more counter and drawers, and ceiling fan.
  • The design touches in both bathrooms are tastefully done. Tiles of Honus (turtles) in one and koi (fish) in the other.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Can be made into a king size
  • King size beds (2) Two bedrooms with king-size beds., Twin or Single Beds (2) Twin beds that can be converted into a king in the third bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • In Ground Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This condo is a very special place. The overall design is beautifully appointed without being overdone. It's lovely and comfortable at the same time.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(105 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Air Conditioned Beautiful Oceanfront Condo Ground Floor #115
average rating of 4.895238 based on 108 reviews
5

Wonderful family vacation

  • 5 of 5

Menehune shores unit 115 was amazing. It is ground level, roomy, clean, nicely remodeled, and the ocean is just outside our door. Our grandkids loved it, the pool, the grassy area right out our door. The beach has a walled in area that was great for kids to play in and every morning there are always turtles swimming around. The kitchen had everything we needed, well stocked. We stopped at Costco and got groceries and there are also supermarkets in the town, not far from the condo. There are many BBQ's, never had to wait for one. We had a wonderful vacation with our kids and grandkids. We will be back!!!

Thanks Cheryl for the wonderful stay at your beautiful condo.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. You were truly a wonderful guest to have. We look forward to your return. Cheryl
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Family Holiday in Maui - Perfect Location - Extremely Comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed in this condo unit with our family for a holiday in Maui - we found the main floor location to be perfect for enjoying the view, quick access to the beach and pool and moving between another condo that other family members had rented. The unit was well appointed and nicely updated with all items needed for cooking, relaxing and enjoying outdoor adventures. We also found the bedrooms and bathrooms to be well sized and laid out for 6 adults to enjoy.

The location of this unit in south kihei was also perfect for traveling to other areas of the island to golf, hike, go to the beach etc. Perfect! Thank you for such a wonderful holiday - we really couldn't have asked for more!

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great swimming beach access and pool!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at this condo. The AC was nice to have and the pool and beach ammenities were all there. The beds were all very firm. Some might love that but none of us did. The kitchen was fully stocked. There were a lot of towels and linens but the beach towels were pretty used so maybe bring your own. We would for sure recommended this place to others and may stay here again in the future.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guests: I think that what you meant was that the bathroom towels were pretty worn, and you are right. We have been aware of that, and I just have had a terrible time finding suitable ones, I liked those old ones so well. Poor excuse I know. But now they have already been replaced since you were there, just in the past month. I am very sorry it took so long. Interesting about the beds being more firm than your liking; I have to say that is the first such comment, but that's okay, not everyone can like the same thing. I am very glad to hear you pretty much liked everything else and that you are recommending it and may return. We would welcome you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful family vacation property

  • 5 of 5

We rented this beautiful condo for a family vacation with our three children (ages 17, 14, and 10). The access to the beach and pool can't be beat, and we were totally blown away by the beautiful view and sound of the surf as we walked through the door upon arrival. Walking the beach is great in either direction, and there are plenty of good spots to play in the waves. The ancient fishpond in front of the complex is perfect for younger kids to play in the ocean, practice snorkeling, and also observe the beautiful green sea turtles that bask on the rocks. The condo is well appointed with dishes, cooking utensils, access to bbq grills and beach towels and toys. The location in Kihei has easy access to many parts of the island. We toured all over in our rental car, exploring many beaches and towns up and down the coasts. The kids loved boogie boarding and snorkeling in Kaanapali (also a great place to watch the sunset and have dinner along the ocean path - though the sunsets are amazing right from the condo too). Surfing lessons in Kihei at Cove Park with the Maui Beach Boys school was a huge hit. The gentle waves and clear, shallow water made it perfect for beginners (8am is best to beat the crowds and trade winds). We also had a fun outing in the upcountry and went to the Laughing Goat Dairy farm, The Lavender Farm, and had a great lunch at the Kula lodge. Thank you for the memories that we will remember always. We highly recommend this condo, and hope to come back again soon!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for sharing what you enjoyed about our condo as well as about Maui. The ages of your children are perfect to do the water sports you talk about, and it's nice to get the recommendation for where to take surfing lessons. Like you point out, Maui offers variety, and doing something like going Upcountry is great for a break from the beaches. We look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

AWESOME FAMILY TRIP !!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great trip!! Loved the place and the location was perfect!! Having our grandkids 6 and 8 with us the area was on spot!! The house was nice clean and loved the washer and dryer, that helped. As all good things must come to end, our vacation is over :( I would love to say we would return (and we may) but new adventures await us. Again Thank you and loved loved the place!!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for choosing our condo for one of your adventures. It truly is a great family spot. The Kalepolepo Fishpond and Beach and Park right next to Menehune Shores is great fun for children the ages of your grandchildren. It was wonderful having you with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Los Angeles Ca
1

Sleepless in Maui

  • 1 of 5

We were very disappointed that the owner leased her condo for the week when she had full knowledge that there was construction going on in the condo next door. The drilling and hammering from early morning that lasted all day made for a miserable trip with little sleep and no ability to stay at the condo during the day.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In a complex with 163 units it's an unfortunate dilemma that owners will be making improvements from time to time. Association rules allow work to be done only from 8 in the morning to 5 in the afternoon....and never on weekends. This allows everyone to get a good night's sleep. Most guests have activities away from the condo during the day, so people rarely notice any work being done. You didn't mention it, but I know you were also upset about not being allowed to smoke on the lanai. Smoking is not allowed in or around the units as a courtesy to all guests. This was clearly stated in our informational papers that were supplied to you before and after you arrived.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Haleakala National Park (Kula)
"Rise early to see the sunrise! Also view The Big Island of Hawaii. Then hike across the cr..."
Hana Highway
" You will need a whole day, but it's worth it. Take a guide (book or CD), camera, binocula..."
Mama's Fish House
"Spendy, but a treat. Or eat somewhere else in Pa'ia, there are lots of places. "
Pacific Whale Foundation
"This is right next to Menehune Shores so just walk over. Find out their hours. They have l..."
Ho'okipa Beach Park
"Right over there by Pa'ia. Watch the pounding surf and the surfers. Great fun!"
Maui Ocean Center
"Great for the whole family!!"
Oheo Gulch
"It's the Seven Sacred Pools after Hana. Beautiful waterfalls if you hit it right. "
Keawakapu Beach
"Fabulous beach! Short drive to get there, south of Menehune, before Wailea. Rent stand-up ..."
Alii Kula Lavender
"Upcountry has lots of surprises and this is one of them. "
Iao Valley State Park
"An interesting spot to visit. Go and then come back to the condo and find the picture of it!"
Da Kitchen Kahului
"Eat Loco Moco with the locals, best at the one in Kahului."
Banyan Tree
"A must-see."
5 Palms Restaurant
"Good food and what a view!"
Monkeypod Kitchen by Merriman
"Great place to eat!"
Hali’imaile General Store
"A favorite for good food!"
Surfing Goat Dairy
"Take the kids!"
Wailea Golf Club
"This must be the place for the golfer."
Kihei Caffe
"A local favorite for breakfast."
Maui Wine, Ulupalakua Vineyards
"Take it in on your way back from Hana."
Mana Foods
"Don't miss this spot in Pa'ia."
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kahului (OGG)
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
Kalepolepo
Car: recommended

Menehune Shores is in a wonderful location, central to sightseeing and not far from the airport. It is very convenient to be able to go up to Haleakala or to drive around to Hana. It is near Wailea for golf and to great beaches for swimming, surfing, snorkeling, and having beach time. Great restaurants and shopping are nearby, too.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.42%

Additional guests over 6 $40pp/night.
Check-in time 3pm; check-out time 11am.
Fewer than 5 nights cleaning fee of $225.
Cancellation fee: $250, no refund after 60 days prior to arrival unless can re-book.
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Year round availability. HI tax ID# W17818344.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.