Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great House Across from Beautiful Anini Beach Extended Family 100 steps to sand

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6 in 3 queen bedrooms

At Anini Beach there are only 25 houses for rent that are actually in the beach neighborhood and this house is one. Kai Malie means calm sea. Anini is a lagoon like beach within an encircling reef. The house is located across from the short, sandy, flat beach access. Snorkeling and kayaking are excellent here. Wonderful for children also. It is very quiet--most people miss the beach accesses and continue to the public beach park. The park is a short walk if you wish to rent a windsurfer or partake of the fish truck. The homes and landscaping on the way are lovely. You can also walk the total length of the 2 mile long beach.

The house is comfortable for multiple couples or an extended family. The interior has a great room with dining for 8 and leather furniture. The kitchen is silestone counters with island and all electric appliances and fixtures. There is a surrounding deck with some views of the ocean. Each bedroom has a queen bed, ceiling fan, louvred windows and sliding door to the wraparound deck. The covered porch is outfitted as an outdoor living room with sofa, two armchairs, lounge and hammock.

The grounds are extensive and tropically landscaped. There is also fun stuff like lawn games and fruit to pick. Restaurants, shopping and night life are available in Kilauea, Princeville, and Hanalei (all within 4 miles). Golf is locally at the Princeville course and hiking is world class at the Na Pali Coast and Powerline trails.

The house address is 3591 Anini Beach Road. The County of Kauai has permitted this rental as NCU 4217P. As with all rentals outside the Vacation Destination Areas, elevated noise activities or amplified music are prohibited after 10pm. Parking is on the property and not permitted on public road right of way. The 24/7 on island contact is Ross Hamilton. His phone for problems, not rentals, is 808 346 3527.

Keywords: beach cabin, beach cottage, family home

More Details

Roy or Diane
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 19, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner


We arrived back in California late last night after our great Kauai stay. The whole family really enjoyed staying in your house. It suited us perfectly. We really appreciated the care with which the house is furnished and stocked. We hope to return in the future for two weeks. No one wanted to leave.
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 3


Kilauea House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • One bathroom has jacuzzi tub with handheld shower. The other bathroom has large tiled step in shower. Both have windows for air circulation, toilets, sinks, towel bars and storage.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (1)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Across from short flat sandy beach access, 2 man kayak, bicycles, croquet /ball court, botanical grounds, fruit growing to pick , public park down road, local stream with ducks.


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Great House Across from Beautiful Anini Beach Extended Family 100 steps to sand
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews

Hawaii hide away

  • 5 of 5

This was our third year coming to this lovely home. It is in a quiet home and a few steps away from the beach. Nothing too fancy, but very Home like. We hope to come again!

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This property is AMAZING!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a Thanksgiving family reunion for a week. While half of the family stayed with our daughter in Moloaa, 6 of us stayed at your lovely home. First off it is a great location as Anini Beach is one of my favorites so just steps out the door and you are there. The rooms were all nicely done and beds were most comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and I was able to prepare a Thanksgiving feast for 10 with no problem. With the wrap around lanai, the loft, and the living area there is plenty of space to spread out. The grounds are lovely too! The only drawback for 6 adults is there is only one stand up shower. We truly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to rebook again and have already referred it to others. The house is well represented.

Mark and Lorna


  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This property was perfect for our family of 7. House and accommodations are much nicer in person - pictures do not do it justice. House and grounds were very comfortable and well kept. Wrap around deck with several sitting areas was awesome. Stocked with everything you need. Roy and Diane were very responseive and easy to work with. Great location on the North Shore. Anini Beach was perfect as well. Calm water, plenty of shade, uncrowded beach & interesting snorkeling. We did a bit of exploring around the island but found we enjoyed hanging out here more than anything else. Thanks so much for sharing your home. :)

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Anini Beach is beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Great house just steps from the stunning Anini beach (we even saw sea turtles at the beach across from the house.) While not luxurious, the house is very comfortable and has everything you need for a pleasant stay. Our family of five (2 adults, 3 kids under 12) often ventured by car to the end of Anini beach where there was less wind and the waves were even calmer but both ends of the beach had something to offer. For food and restaurants we drove to Princeville and Hanelei Bay (kids decided JoJo's Hawaiian ice was the best) which is an easy drive. We also explored the other north shore beaches - best snorkeling at Tunnels and Hideaway - but they are a lot more crowded than this part of Anini. We had some rain everyday which is to be expected on Kauai so don't be disappointed if it's not all blue skies. Overall, a wonderful place for a family vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Phoenix, AZ


  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this wonderful home with our two sons, daughter-in-law and 2 grandsons. The house is roomy and a great place to call home base while enjoying the beauty of Kauai and also a great place to just hang out. The deck is huge, with wonderful views no matter where you decide to sit. It was safe and user-friendly for a family with small children.

Anini Beach was perfect for the family with calm waters, great snorkeling and lots of shade.

I hope we are able to return one day to Kauai and would love to enjoy this house again.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We also look forward to your return. Thank you for the nice review. We are glad you enjoyed views of the stream, hills, and gardens as well as peeks of ocean views from the deck.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful House

  • 5 of 5

I stayed in this house for a week with my husband, 2 year old son and another couple with a 2 year old son. It was a great house for kids. There is a HUGE deck that surrounds the house and a gate (with a lock) to keep the kiddos from going down the stairs to the lawn. For the kids...the house came with one pack n play, some kid books and some toys.

Unfortunately the weather was not so good during our trip, it rained every day and the beach across the street was rough, which we heard was rare. We still enjoyed ourselves. The kids LOVED the two ducks that live in the pond next to the house and chasing the chickens. We also found a great kids playground in Princeville.

The house came fully equipped in the kitchen with a nice grill on the back porch, but know that there are only very basic ingrediants (salt, pepper, ect.) to cook with.

The loft was used a bedroom while we were there so the kids could have their own room, which worked out ok. The loft is big and the sleeper sofa decently comfortable, but it is very open to the living room and gets a lot of light.

We used the bikes from the house and rode around the Anini Beach area-- Beautiful!!

Overall, this is a great house and we would come back again...

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. We just want to confirm that it is very unusual for Anini water to be rough and I'm sure you don' t mean rough compared to other North shore beaches which often have 2-6 foot waves. It sounds like the rainfall was unusually heavy for Anini in the summer months. We're sorry you had such bad weather but glad that you were able to enjoy your stay despite.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Anini Beach
Nanea Restaurant and Bar
Fusion Restaurant
Namahana Cafe
Sandwich Isle Deli
Sandwich Shop
Lotus Garden Chinese & Thai Cuisine
Thai Restaurant
Lei Petite Cafe & Bakery
Italian Restaurant
Federico's Fresh-Mex Cuisine
Mexican Restaurant
North Shore General Store
Pizza Restaurant
Lappert's Hawaii
Ice Cream Shop
Kauai's Best Shave Ice
Hanalei Valley Lookout
Trilogy Coffee & Tea Bar
Coffee Shop
Kilauea Fish Market
Seafood Restaurant
Kauai Juice Co Kilauea
Kilauea Bakery & Pau Hana Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Makai Golf Club
Paco's Tacos Kilauea
Mexican Restaurant
Kilauea Lighthouse
Hideaways Pizza Pub
Pizza Restaurant
The Dolphin Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Hideaway Beach
Postcards Cafe
Wishing Well Shave Ice
Dessert Shop
Pat's Taqueria
Mexican Restaurant
Kauai Grill at St. Regis Princeville
Eclectic Restaurant
Nalu Kai
Bar & Grill
Mailani Dinner Show at St. Regis Princeville
Dinner Theater
Makana Terrace-St Regis
Hawaiian Restaurant
Tropical Taco
Mexican Restaurant
Cafe Turmeric
Indian Restaurant
Trucking Delicious
Kauai Burger Hanalei
Hamburger Restaurant
Hanalei Pier
Hanalei Wake Up Cafe
American Restaurant
Pink's Creamery
Ice Cream Shop
Kalypso Restaurant
Hawaiian Restaurant
Chicken In A Barrel
Barbecue Restaurant
The Hanalei Gourmet
Federico's Fresh Mex Cuisine
Mexican Restaurant
Federico's Mexican Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant
Hanalei Bread Company
Bouchons Hanalei
Pacific Rim Restaurant
Hanalei Bay Pizzeria
Pizza Restaurant
Breakfast Restaurant
Village Snack Shop & Bakery
Breakfast Restaurant
Bar Acuda
Tapas Restaurant
Kealia Poke
Seafood Restaurant
Hanalei Bay

ATV, ziplining, hollywood movie tours, helicopter tours


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $300
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 14.42%

I recently had to raise rates to cover 3% credit card processing charges. If you use echeck please contact me after checkout for a possible refund of up to 3% of rent only charge.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties