Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Perfect West Beach Location! Walk/Bike Everywhere! 1-Level Apt

Bedrooms 1
Space 570 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 30 nights


About the property

House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)


Completely renovated in 2010 and newly furnished, this unique sun-lit unit is part of a historic triplex in the desirable West Beach area. Your doorway is just 1-1/2-blocks from the sands and volleyball courts on West Beach near Stearn’s Wharf, and easy walking distance to downtown State St. shops and restaurants. Also very close is the Amtrak station; no need for a car at all if arriving by train!

**A second 2-level 1-BR unit in our triplex has been serving as a vacation rental since 2008. See vrbo #255189. And a larger 1-BR unit (#512066) is spacious and our former home in the front of the triplex.

A single-level floor-plan, the entry Living Room is wonderfully lighted by a central skylite. It has a top-quality queen pull-out sofabed by AU for additional guests, and a 42' flat-screen HD-TV with HD-DirecTV and DVR-player.

A high-top dining table and stools are served from a kitchen that has a full fridge, stove/oven, dishwasher, microwave, all granite counters, and is outfitted with Cuisinart coffee-maker, toaster, & blender, including basic cookware/dishware.

A more shaded bedroom has a plush-top queen-size bed with down duvet & pillows, a top-quality large dresser, and shower in a white-tiled bathroom. Resurrected original fir flooring runs throughout. A rear door opens to a creekside patio with century-old wall, and birdlife.

The bathroom has a shower.

WiFi internet coverage is free. An extensive LaserDisc library is on site and a LD-player has been made available to guests by the owner.

Bicycle(s) are available for shared use. Laundry facilities are on-site. Non-smokers only please.

No pets.

Keywords: Historic triplex

More Details

'Sandy' Campbell
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About 'Sandy' Campbell

We are recent residents of Santa Barbara, having recently moved from the Sacramento area and Canada before that. We occupy the front main unit of this beautiful tri-plex by the beach and oversee the property ourselves. Our rooftop is a demonstration aeroponic, soil-less vertical farm. Health-conscious and fitness oriented, our family enjoys beach volleyball, bicycling and running right here in West Beach with its nearby amenities. We also are pioneering a soil-less, vertical aeroponic Tower Garden farm on our rooftop.

'Sandy' Campbell purchased this house in 2007

Why 'Sandy' Campbell chose Lower State

West Beach is THE place to stay in SB for both beach and downtown access. Very few properties become available here.

What makes this house unique

The historic building and charming unit are unique in SB. The privacy offered by the backyard patio by Mission Creek is special.


Lower State House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 570 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Walk-in shower only Lavatory sink & toilet
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
** SB Guiding Co. - land tours of neighboring wine country, mountains, etc - TOTAL catering, pampering !! Arrange through owner. ** Sea Kayak tours


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

67% Complete
29% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Perfect West Beach Location! Walk/Bike Everywhere! 1-Level Apt
average rating of 4.617647 based on 34 reviews

Perfect West Beach Location Walk/Biking

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed our stay. Property was located just as described, close to beach and downtown.

Very accommodating host met us at airport after being delayed by snowstorm in Seattle and

took us food shopping.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Tebo; We would highly recommend.

  • 4 of 5

Unique and very well located. We were in unit # 2 which is nicely furnished and comfortable with nice appliances. Three interesting features are the rooftop garden which contains numerous vertical hydroponic growing containers, the train station which is located just about one block away and the Mission Creek watershed canal which runs right below the unit's windows and small deck. Interestingly, the channel seems to experience a reverse flow at times which we could only imagine would be the high tides. If so, that phenomenon should be quite dramatic during stormy weather such as SB is presently experiencing. The rooftop deck should be a very nice attraction during sunny weather which we unfortunately did not get much of curing our stay. The train station is charming, perhaps inviting guests to explore nearby areas. A connecting bridge is under construction which should connect to the station from the end of the street. The sound of the trains two-three times daily lends to the atmosphere rather than being any problem. As to the location, it is fabulous. The beach is only a couple blocks' walk away as is the harbor and pier while State Street, which leads into town is also nearby and a nice walk. The area around the Gardens contains numerous examples of gorgeous architecture from Santa Barbara's past.

The only drawbacks we found with the unit/Chapala Gardens were: The shower is very small; lighting is not very good and a couple of bulbs were out; We were there when the hydroponic units on the roof were being moved about for some time, creating quite a bit of noise right above our heads; One day while we were out walking, the property owner let himself in to repair the Laser Disk player without notifying us and was in the unit when we returned (we would have preferred he had called us or left a note).

All in all, we would highly recommend Chapala Gardens.

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well, for the first time in over 6 years we have had some real rain to quench the land! The Creek is handling it fine. My 400+ LaserDisc collection has a new(er) player that has confounded me a bit; I was possibly needing to take it back to Orange County the next morning. So when nobody was home when I appeared to collect it, I let myself in to retrieve it. Apologies to the Tebos for the lack of notice. Thank you for staying with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Worth every cent!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in several places in SB over the years,but this little place is our favorite. Didn't feel like a room. Felt like home away from home. Neat as a pin and in a nice quiet neighborhood. A quick walk to State St,Shoreline Dr,and Stearns Wharf. We were in U2. Only complaint would be the shower is little small for bigger folk.

We will be back!

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

Lovely place close to the beach and downtown SB! Clean, cozy, and modern. My only complaint is the train noise.....nothing the owners can do. When I go back I will bring a white noise machine to drown out the sound.

But the location can't be beat! They even had bikes to borrow to cruise the beach.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, the trains are a common element of ALL of Santa Barbara's coastline community. The scheduled service is ~7am to 9:30pm however. A single freight train may sweep through late-night - no enjoyable but swiftly over.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Chapala Gardens

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at Sandy's triplex end of August 2016 for three nights in U2. The unit was very clean and tastefully decorated. Sandy was easy to deal with via texts and was prompt with the return of my damage deposit. The location is perfect , close to the Station, State Street, and Beach. We had a wonderful break and would not hesitate to return as soon as possible.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A very pleasant, very convenient place to stay in Santa Barbara

  • 4 of 5

This is a lovely apartment a few short blocks from the beach. The accommodations are perfect for two people - the rooms are open and airy, and the bed and bedding are first rate. We especially appreciated that there are reading lights on both sides of the bed so that we could read a few pages before going off to sleep. It has a lovely rooftop deck perfect for morning coffee or an afternoon glass of wine to watch the sun go down. The owner was very helpful with information before, during, and after our stay. We will stay at Chapala Gardens again in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Santa Barbara
Nearest Train
300 Metres
Nearest Motorway
500 Metres
Hwy. 101
Nearest Beach
500 Metres
West Beach

** SB Guiding Co. - land tours of neighboring wine country, mountains, etc - TOTAL catering, pampering !! Arrange through owner.

** Sea Kayak tours


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning fee $80
Tax Rate 13.0%

The $49 for a $1500 security/damage policy offered through VRBO is optional. Otherwise a $750 deposit can be covered 3-days prior to arrival.
Payments by electronic check are eligible for the listed 'Cash Discount' price savings of ~$5/nt.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties