check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Perfect West Beach Location! Walk/Bike Everywhere! 1-Level Apt

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Completely renovated in 2010 and newly furnished, this unique sun-lit unit is part of a historic triplex in the desirable West Beach area. Your doorway is just 1-1/2-blocks from the sands and volleyball courts on West Beach near Stearn’s Wharf, and easy walking distance to downtown State St. shops and restaurants. Also very close is the Amtrak station; no need for a car at all if arriving by train!

**A second 2-level 1-BR unit in our triplex has been serving as a vacation rental since 2008. See vrbo #255189. And a larger 1-BR unit (#512066) is spacious and our former home in the front of the triplex.

A single-level floor-plan, the entry Living Room is wonderfully lighted by a central skylite. It has a top-quality queen pull-out sofabed by AU for additional guests, and a 42' flat-screen HD-TV with HD-DirecTV and DVR-player.

A high-top dining table and stools are served from a kitchen that has a full fridge, stove/oven, dishwasher, microwave, all granite counters, and is outfitted with Cuisinart coffee-maker, toaster, & blender, including basic cookware/dishware.

French-doors off the living area lead to a spacious, private outdoor deck area beside Mission Creek with patio table/chairs. Lots of birdlife.

A more shaded bedroom has a plush-top queen-size bed with down duvet & pillows, a top-quality large dresser, and shower in a white-tiled bathroom. Resurrected original fir flooring runs throughout. A rear door opens to a creekside patio with century-old wall, and birdlife.

WiFi internet coverage is free. An extensive DVD library is often made available to guests by the owner.

Bicycle(s) are available for shared use. Laundry facilities are on-site. Non-smokers only please. No pets.

Keywords: Historic triplex

More Details

Owner
'Sandy' Campbell
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2017

About 'Sandy' Campbell

We are new residents of Santa Barbara, having recently moved from the Sacramento area and Canada before that. We occupy the front main unit of this beautiful tri-plex by the beach and oversee the property ourselves. Our rooftop is a demonstration aeroponic, soil-less vertical farm. Health-conscious and fitness oriented, our family enjoys beach volleyball, bicycling and running right here in West Beach with its nearby amenities. We also are pioneering a soil-less, vertical aeroponic Tower Garden farm on our rooftop.

'Sandy' Campbell purchased this house in 2007

Why 'Sandy' Campbell chose Santa Barbara

West Beach is THE place to stay in SB for both beach and downtown access. Very few properties become available here.

What makes this house unique

The historic building and charming unit are unique in SB. The privacy offered by the backyard patio by Mission Creek is special.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

Perfect West Beach Location! Walk/Bike Everywhere! 1-Level Apt
average rating of 4.65625 based on 32 reviews
Adelanto,Ca
5

Worth every cent!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in several places in SB over the years,but this little place is our favorite. Didn't feel like a room. Felt like home away from home. Neat as a pin and in a nice quiet neighborhood. A quick walk to State St,Shoreline Dr,and Stearns Wharf. We were in U2. Only complaint would be the shower is little small for bigger folk.

We will be back!

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

Lovely place close to the beach and downtown SB! Clean, cozy, and modern. My only complaint is the train noise.....nothing the owners can do. When I go back I will bring a white noise machine to drown out the sound.

But the location can't be beat! They even had bikes to borrow to cruise the beach.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, the trains are a common element of ALL of Santa Barbara's coastline community. The scheduled service is ~7am to 9:30pm however. A single freight train may sweep through late-night - no enjoyable but swiftly over.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Chapala Gardens

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at Sandy's triplex end of August 2016 for three nights in U2. The unit was very clean and tastefully decorated. Sandy was easy to deal with via texts and was prompt with the return of my damage deposit. The location is perfect , close to the Station, State Street, and Beach. We had a wonderful break and would not hesitate to return as soon as possible.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A very pleasant, very convenient place to stay in Santa Barbara

  • 4 of 5

This is a lovely apartment a few short blocks from the beach. The accommodations are perfect for two people - the rooms are open and airy, and the bed and bedding are first rate. We especially appreciated that there are reading lights on both sides of the bed so that we could read a few pages before going off to sleep. It has a lovely rooftop deck perfect for morning coffee or an afternoon glass of wine to watch the sun go down. The owner was very helpful with information before, during, and after our stay. We will stay at Chapala Gardens again in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Cute place if you have kids might be a tad noisy

  • 4 of 5

The place was super cute and the owners were so delightful and responsive! We did bring our kiddos all under the age of 6 and it worked for us the only problem was there are other people in the other units so you can hear others and they can hear you (Muffles and movements not details). There were also some ducks in the back waterway quacking loud at night and a loud train that went through at night. We luckily had brought our white noise machines so our kids did not wake up but if you don't have noise machines and have kids it might be a little loud.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location close to the beach!

  • 4 of 5

Everything was quite accurate as written in the listing. We were so happy to be close to the beach since I stayed there with kids while my husband was gone during the day on business. We also loved being so close to the train station and ended up taking a day trip to Ventura for fun! Everything was comfortable and clean. We appreciated having access to the laundry room. Sandy was very helpful in answering many questions beforehand and was a very fair and kind host.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

** SB Guiding Co. - land tours of neighboring wine country, mountains, etc - TOTAL catering, pampering !! Arrange through owner.

** Sea Kayak tours

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lower State House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter/Spring
Jan 2 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$160
From
$215
Fri,Sat
$1,015
$3,750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
May 26 2017 - Sep 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
From
$260
Fri,Sat
$1,295
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
Sep 18 2017 - Dec 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$160
From
$215
Fri,Sat
$1,015
$3,450
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $80
Refundable damage deposit $750
Tax Rate 13.0%

The $49 for a $1500 security/damage policy offered through VRBO is optional. Otherwise a $750 deposit can be covered 3-days prior to arrival.
Payments by electronic check are eligible for the listed 'Cash Discount' price savings of ~$5/nt.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lower State House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
** SB Guiding Co. - land tours of neighboring wine country, mountains, etc - TOTAL catering, pampering !! Arrange through owner. ** Sea Kayak tours

Partner Offers