Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury 5 BR 4 BATH Hot Tub 15 minutes to downtown 80' TV/DVR/HBO

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 4,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

The home is equipped with elegant furnishings of the highest quality for those searching for a wonderful family or corporate retreat while visiting Washington, DC.

I offer amenities that exceed the comforts of the finest hotels including king size top of the line Tempurpedic mattresses, soft organic bedding, a private outdoor hot tub, 65' and 80' TV's with DVR and HBO, Sirius radio throughout, comfy robes and much more.

You will enjoy returning home after an eventful day visiting D.C.’s inspiring monuments and historic sites. In addition to the tranquil atmosphere the neighborhood is rich with restaurants, shops and a Whole Foods grocery store.

Uniquely situated along a creek, you are steps away from a gorgeous hiking trail and 15 minutes from downtown Washington DC and the Capitol. The home is ideal for a relaxing getaway or an exciting educational vacation.

Luxurious amenities include:

* Wood plank floors

* Four poster mahogany king bed with silk canopy

* Mix of fine European and Balinese furniture

* Cloud supreme Tempur-Pedic mattresses and the softest bedding available.

* Private hot tub in a peaceful setting with a large fenced yard

* Toto Heated toilet seat with remote control bidet

* Westin Heavenly double shower head

* Complimentary coffee, basic cooking supplies and spices

* Sirius Satellite Radio

* (2) - 65'' TV's and (1) 80' plasma TV's all with DVR and HBO

* Complimentary Wi-Fi

* Thick oversized robes

* Carved 300 year old teak bed imported from Bali in the backyard to relax after a day of sightseeing

* Outdoor picnic table and benches that seat 12

* Wraparound porch with a 2 person swing, dining table and rocking chair.

* The kitchen is open and has granite counters and stainless appliances.

* Walk to the local park with a children's playground 1/2 block away.

* Pack and Play and high chair provided

* A Slumber Party Room with 4 double beds and an 80" TV

* Cleaned and maintained to the highest standard

Every season offers something special. Whether you're visiting during the Cherry Blossom Festival when spring flowers are in bloom, during fall foliage season or in the summer when our many festivals take place. You will be surprised to return to Sligo Creek Manor to enjoy the backyard deer, fox and birds that visit regularly.

GETTING AROUND TO VISIT THE CAPITAL

The home is 1 mile from the metro station. Park your car at the metro and take the train to The Smithsonian Museum and White House which are 7 miles away.

This area is known for its numerous mature trees creating a serene feeling of living in the woods. It's quiet, family friendly and offers a wide variety of restaurants.

There are a wealth of dining and entertainment options within 1 mile.

LAYOUT OF THE HOME:

* 1st floor: Slumber party room with 4 double beds, 80' TV laundry room and full Bathroom

* 2nd floor: The kitchen, dining/living area, wrap around porch, master suite, 2nd Bedroom and Half Bath.

* 3rd floor: 2 bedrooms and a shared full bathroom

SUGGESTED THINGS TO DO WHILE IN DC

Explore vibrant Georgetown. This area is also home to a rich variety of cultural attractions, stores and eateries. Listen to evocative jazz in Blues Alley, shop in the design district known as Cady’s Alley and explore the C&O Canal, Georgetown Waterfront Park and Washington Harbor. Dupont Circle with it's vibrant shops and cafes, The Phillips Collection Museum for modern art, Woodrow Wilson's home and Embassy Row.

Worth a visit are Mount Vernon, George Washington's estate and museum and the many Smithsonian Museums.

** I enjoy taking good care of my guests, if I can do anything special to make your stay memorable please let me know!

More Details

Owner
Linda
Member since: 2006
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 23, 2017

Why Linda chose Silver Spring

I enjoy hiking and nature which is why I chose this location. The close proximity to Washington DC and hiking from the front door and being in a woodsy setting offer the best of both worlds.

What makes this house unique

I have spared no expense in trying to offer as many special touches and amenities as possible. Many guests comment on the hot tub, the soft beds and bedding. You will enjoy the neighborhood in all seasons. The fall foliage is striking, the spring flowers especially our azaleas are abundant and it is lush and green during summer.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This rental home is in a beautiful, peaceful, wooded area where we awoke to deer every morning. There was a Keurig and a regular coffeepot with a week-long supply of delicious coffee beans and a grinder. We hit the hot tub each evening when we returned from touring Washington, DC, Virginia and Maryland. The kitchen is large and there's plenty of dishes and pots and pans. We didn't have a lot of time to cook, but our family of 12 always had breakfast together before we set off for the day. We had two rental vans and they parked well at the house. The driveway is steep, but it didn't bother our drivers after the first time getting up and down it. There is plenty of parking at the Silver Spring Metro station on weekends and it is free, but during the week, unless you get there at 5 am, you aren't going to get a parking spot until evening. It costs 70 cents an hour to park there and it is open 24/7. Uber was so inexpensive, we used that quite a bit. They got us to places on time--always. Metro is so easy to use within the DC/Arlington area. It can be expensive if you have a family because the charge is per person. A day pass runs about $14/person. Linda, the owner, is absolutely wonderful. We needed help with the bus situation one day. I called her cell phone and she gave us step-by-step directions. Several times while we were there, she texted to see if she could help in anyway. On the first day, when we arrived at the rental home, she had provided a huge bowl of various fresh fruits and bakery goods. What a treat! This place felt like home. Silver Spring has everything you can possibly need. It has a large population, but appears to be a small town, so it isn't overwhelming to drive in. We recommend this rental. We have rented numerous houses for family vacations, but never one that exceeded our wants and needs like this one. We have recommended this rental home to many of our friends already. BTW. If you have never taken the Moonlight Trolley Tour, that's a must. I have been to DC numerous times, but never saw it at night like that. It's about 3 hours..
Oct 2017
  • 1 of 12

Amenities

Silver Spring House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 4 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
  • King size beds (4) all Tempur-pedic mattresses, (4) full size beds in the slumber party room on the first floor.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
3 Plasma TV's with DVR. Wrap around porch with swing. Situated on a creek and 1/2 block from a beautiful hiking area.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(86 traveler reviews)

98% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury 5 BR 4 BATH Hot Tub 15 minutes to downtown 80' TV/DVR/HBO
average rating of 4.976744 based on 98 reviews
5

Words Can Not Describe Our Wonderful Stay!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

I can not begin to describe what a wonderful stay we had. Before we even arrived Linda was a gracious hostess, when I emailed her for recommendations of a bakery and upscale restaurant for a birthday dinner, she personally called me and then later emailed the suggestions we had discussed. She was so pleasant and helpfully that I just could not wait to get there. The morning we were to arrive she sent me a cheerful greeting with necessary information about the residence and wished us a safe journey.

My sisters and their daughters arrived before I got there with my girls. They called to tell me how fantastic the house was and to warn me the driveway was a bit steep. I was in heaven when we arrived, the pictures don't do it justice. The girls loved being downstairs with the big screen TV. I was on the main floor in the phenomenal master bedroom and bathroom. My sisters each had a bedroom upstairs. Linda had prepared a outstanding binder that has attractions, area restaurants, and menus. There was also a binder that had detail information about the house. The girls loved the hot tub, unfortunately it rained the next day, so I did not get the hot tub experience.

The restaurant she recommended was awesome and we had a wonderful birthday diner for my youngest sister and one of my nieces. This girls weekend truly "Rocked"!!! I can only hope to get to return one weekend with my friends.

So I can only Thank Linda again for providing a magnificent location and being such a nice person.

Stephanie S. and Family

New York and North Carolina

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You made may day Stephanie! Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay at Sligo Creek Manor. You are such a kind person and thoughtful guest. You are always welcome in my home. I hope to hear from you again to enjoy another stay in DC or perhaps at my home in Lake Tahoe. Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

It couldn't be better. Everthing was perfect. We really enjoyed staying in the Sligo Manor.

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent place!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 8 stayed in this rental and it was perfect. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was accommodating and the front porch was a favorite spot throughout our stay. Linda was very helpful offering suggestions for using the Metro and helping us resolve some parking issues. Overall it was one of the best vacation rentals I have stayed at!

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review about your stay! You all are very thoughtful and I enjoyed hosting your stay. I would enjoy welcoming you and your family back the next time you visit DC. Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love the Kitchen!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at Sligo Creek Manor! Linda was so sweet and helpful. The house is immaculate and the kitchen is great. It's got all the most modern conveniences and the open concept allowed me to cook to my heart's content while still being able to watch the huge TV. My family loved the hot tub and being able to walk daily in the woods at the end of the block. We had no idea that there were beautiful woods so close to downtown DC! We will definitely return. Thanks again Linda!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Sligo Creek Manor John. I am happy to hear you made good use of the kitchen! It is surprising to have deer visiting regularly in the yard and to be in a nice wooded area for hiking. So happy you and your family enjoyed the neighborhood. You are welcome back anytime! Thank you for your business!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely home. Comfortable accommodations.

  • 5 of 5

Lots of little perks and amenities to make your stay enjoyable and stress free. Would include for future rentals that there are several sets of long staircases that need to be navigated daily. I believe this to be a consideration for those older renters, who are not very agile.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Sligo Creek Manor and especially for offering tips for those that are less agile. I am pleased that you had a stress free experience! The home has 3 stories and while there are no stairs to enter on the first level, from level one a person will need to walk up a set of stairs to reach the main level with the kitchen and living room area. One can also choose to walk through the backyard and up 5 stairs to the porch to reach the main level. On the main level there are 2 bedrooms including the master suite. I hope that helps, I encourage anyone with challenges to please feel free to call so that I can explain any confusing details. I will provide a walk through video that will offer the opportunity to see in detail the layout of the home. Thanks again for your review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Not Luxury, more rustic cabin chic

  • 3 of 5

Location is outstanding. Neighborhood is very scenic and abundant with lush greenery. The home space is very functional and spaciousness, however it needs refreshing. Carpeting is dirty and in general the furniture is tired. The dining chairs sag and the living room seating is not very comfortable. The front porch is a wonderful space and the hot tub a nice bonus. Very steep driveway and the steps from the street are difficult for someone with mobility issues. Photos are enhancing to the actual product.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Sligo Creek Manor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of the location, pretty neighborhood, spaciousness of the house and the hot tub. I have always received positive feedback and that the home is better than expected so I take your experience to heart and I am very sorry that it fell short of your expectations. To address your concerns new dining room chairs have been purchased and will arrive next week and slipcovers and the carpets have been cleaned. I want to reassure you that I have the carpets cleaned regularly as cleanliness and comfort are my top priorities. I feel it is important to mention that the photos are accurate and there is a video available to anyone who would like to view a walk through of the home to see exactly what to expect. Just search you tube "Sligo Creek Manor RosebudMarie" and look for the most recent version as I take new videos often to post. I appreciate you sharing your suggestions so that I am able to your concerns. Thanks again for your business and taking the time to write a review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
DCA-Washington Reagan Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
a number of bars and restaurants nearby
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
495
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Many restaurants nearby
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning fee $250 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties