check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Woodland Brook Autumnsong-Fireside- Fishing Cabin #16

Bedrooms 2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

2 Bedroom 1 Bath Sleeps 4 adults.

Escape back in time at this 100 year old log cabin with Antique furnishings. This two bedroom cabin with a front porch, gas grill,& picnic table is located on a beautiful 5 acre shared parcel in the old heart of Buena Vista with a creek running close by. Also, enjoy the wildlife. Deer, Hummingbirds, Chipmunks & other little critters.This quiet cabin is surrounded by tall trees and has a seasonal brook running nearby. Within easy walking and biking distance from most of the highlights of Buena Vista - from Arkansas River to parks and downtown dining. And yet this is an extremely quiet and secluded area - It's like living in your own private forest in the middle of a small town that grew up around it. If you haven't experienced the unique community that is Buena Vista in the Heart of the Rocky Mountains - you need to go soon. This quaint 'one-stop-light' town has deer walking through it constantly. There are several creeks flowing through town and ponds and lakes nearby for fishing. The trails for mountain biking and hiking along the Arkansas River are wonderful and Kayaking and raft trips are world class. Make a short drive up Cottonwood canyon to the top of the pass for spectacular sunset views or go just 8 miles south up Chalk Creek Canyon to scenic Alpine and St. Elmo - Historic old Gold Rush Towns to get a flavor of the real Colorado of yesteryear. Enjoy the Hot Springs at Mt Princeton or Cottonwood - one up both of those most scenic byways and open year round.

More Details

Property Manager
Charles Lugenbeel
Member since: 1998
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 15, 2016

Guestbook comments from the manager

We want to say that this area of Woodland Brook & these cabins are over 100 years old and that is part of their charm. There will always be a little bit of dust or wing of a fly or cobweb in a corner - even after cleaning 24 hours earlier. This is COUNTRY LIVING for goodness sakes! We read other reviews in the guestbook & most really enjoyed themselves. It's not for everyone but the photos show it the way it is - Old Fireplace & Fishing gear and such on the walls - just like my Uncle Jimmy's place when I was a kid. So just know that this place is fine & beyond fine when you come in Fall as leaves are changing - Beautiful!
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 1


3.6/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Woodland Brook Autumnsong-Fireside- Fishing Cabin #16
average rating of 3.5714285 based on 8 reviews

Rustic property which needs maintenance

  • 2 of 5

We thought this cabin held some charm, as it is very nicely decorated with a fishing them. We just wish that the owner would put the same effort into basic issues, like fixing broken fixtures. The faucet in the kitchen sink is sliding around, but at least usable. The piece that holds the shower head is broken off and you cannot shower because you have to hold the shower head, and therefore next to impossible to apply soap or shampoo. Really shouldn't be rented in this condition.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 2 of 5

The cabin was clean and and bed comfortable and location excellent. The location is why we rented. The cabin in the same area wasn't available this year. The problem with the hot water is one we would not endure again, not to mention the broken holder for the handheld shower. There were no instructions for operating the heater and none for the TV remotes. Owners should be ashamed. The above problems do not justify the cost of the rental. Would not recommend.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We felt bad once we were told about the issues. The guests waited until they got home to address them. Yes in our directions it stays not to call unless its important as we are not a 24 hour company. What this means is calling at 1 am for something could wait until morning. So once we knew about the issues our staff when out and fixed this problems within 15 mins. We felt bad that we offered a discount for another time at another home. So do read some of the other reviews and appreciate the feed back from our guests. Joyous Vacations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy Comfy and Close to town!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed the cabin. It was so clean and comfy. The bike ride to town was perfect for our young boys. We highly recommend it!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfectly cozy cabin with a great location!

  • 5 of 5

My two girlfriends and I stayed at Cabin #16 for a long weekend to celebrate my birthday, and it was perfect for what we had in mind: a peaceful, quiet setting conveniently located close to shops and restaurants but still surrouned by serene nature. The cabin was very clean and well-stocked with extra linens and everything you could really need in the kitchen. We especially enjoyed sitting at the picnic table for meals and sipping coffee in the comfy camp chairs on the front porch. One morning we saw a mother deer and two fawns right across the street. The hot water was a little unpredictable, but who cares! We were there to relax and rejuvenate, not take hour-long showers! It was such a nice bonus to be able to walk the four or five blocks to Main Street where there is a terrific selection of restaurants and shops. Yes, the cabin is very rustic, but it was clean and had everything we needed. For the price and location, you can't beat it in Buena Vista.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great cozy log cabin

  • 5 of 5

This was a great and cozy log cabin for my friends and I to have a relaxing weekend in. It was the best of both worlds, being in town and close to groceries, beer, and gas; and inside it feels like a cabin in the middle of the woods. Beds, kitchen, and wood burning fireplace worked well. It was nice and clean. Full of fly fishing books and DVDs which my friend loved. We were able to go snowmobiling over Cottonwood Pass to Taylor Park Lake.

I would stay again and recommend it to friends.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rustic yet great

  • 4 of 5

We rented two cabins in this area. This one was for myself and four kids ranging from 13 - 21. It was tight sleeping quarters and certainly cramped but I would have much rather stayed here than the Super 8 in town with doors slamming all night. Getting up in the morning and sipping coffee while watching the deer graze ten feet away was a pretty cool bonus. Cabin was clean and functional. Anyone renting this needs to actually read the information as it clearly says it is 'rustic'. If you are looking for the MGM type stay, go to Vegas!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Buena Vista Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
July 4th
May 15 2017 - Sep 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $20
Cleaning and Lodging fee $75
Tax Rate 15.0%

We understand times are hard but we can allows cut a deal if the stay is long enough.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Buena Vista Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Linens Provided
  • Wood Fireplace
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1) Double bed below and single bed above.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties