Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

3 Bedroom, 2 1/2 bath, pool, 3 minute walk from the beach

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Affordable, private home with private pool

Are you looking for a clean, affordable home to enjoy while you explore Costa Rica? Want to be able to eat in or out, go to the beach or relax in your own private backyard pool? Don't want to spend all of your money on your lodging but instead have a great place AND money left over to enjoy everything the area has to offer? If this sounds like you, then Casa Mango is your house!

Located just a 2 minute walk from the beach with a private backyard complete with a pool, hammock, lounge chairs, grill and dining area Casa Mango is an affordable and enjoyable place to stay that won't break your bank.

The master bedroom has a private bath. 2 additional bedrooms with a full bath are on the second floor. Downstairs is the kitchen, family room, dining area and access to the private backyard. The duplex sports a garage with an automatic door opener. Sit back and watch the hummingbirds flit around the garden plants. Float in the pool on the inflatables or play a game or tag with water guns or water basketball. This all allows extended families and friends to stay together in comfort. Restaurants and grocery stores are close by as well as beautiful Playa Flamingo, Conchal, Tamarindo and countless other beaches.

Surfside is a short walk from lovely Potrero Beach. There is easy access to local supermarkets, shops, restaurants and bars, many within a few minutes' walk. It is located just north of Flamingo. It's a real community, not a holiday resort. Some residents are permanent, some come for the winter, and some just for a few weeks. The people are a mix of Canadians, Americans, Europeans and Costa Ricans of all ages from infants to retirees. It's the kind of place where visitors feel immediately at home.

More Details

Property Manager
Leila Covrigaru
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 8, 2017

About Leila Covrigaru

We are a family of 5. I work as a nurse practitioner in pediatrics, my husband is in computers.

Leila Covrigaru purchased this house in 2011

Why Leila Covrigaru chose Costa Rica

We live in Denver with cold weather but have roots in the Mediterranean. Costa Rica is a beautiful and friendly area to get away to when the weather here is frightful. Close to the Liberia airport, access is easy! It is big enough to invite friends and family yet intimate enough to stay by ourselves. The area is varied.

What makes this house unique

Lots of expats from different countries. Small town feel. Very private home with a backyard and pool that is gated and locked. Easy to get to. Air conditioned in every room. Comfortable yet affordable. The beaches are intimate without the crowds of the Caribbean and Mexico.


Car: recommended

Beautiful area of Costa Rica with miles of beaches, each one with its own special attraction. Close to Playa Tamarindo, famous for surfing; Playas Penca and Flamingo, great for boogie boarding; and Brasilito and Potrero with quiet surf. White and black beaches in the vicinity. 2 hours away is the Buena Vista area, 4 hours away are the cloud forests of Monteverde and the active volcano, Arenal with hot springs. Fly into the Liberia airport and you are less than one hour from home.


Guanacaste House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - First floor
  • 2.5
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Television in this room
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Television in this room, private bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • There is also an inflatable twin air mattress with a pump and one person could sleep in the couch in the living room.
  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Hammock, lounging chairs by the pool. Towels and beach chairs stored in garage. Large cooler for the beach. Apple TV can be used to download movies if you have an account. Can be a honeymoon destination as well as a family home. New beach club open with ocean rentals, happy hour, exercise classes and more.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
3 Bedroom, 2 1/2 bath, pool, 3 minute walk from the beach
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 13 reviews

Great Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

I would highly recommend staying at this lovely home! There was plenty of room both inside and out. We loved the spacious master bedroom and bath and the two other bedrooms were perfectly adequate. It was great to have a kitchen so we didn't have to eat out all of the time. We spent a lot of time hanging out in the back yard and floating in the pool. The neighborhood/ town are charming. People are really nice, there are restaurants (with good food!) within easy walking distance and the beach is fabulous!!! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Casa Mango! Love the name, loved the vacation.

  • 5 of 5

I just have to say this was one of the best vacations I’ve ever taken. Six of us rented Casa Mango, and found a comfortable home with plenty of room for all of us. We spent mornings and evenings outside on the patio near the pool. Nothing is better than relaxing by the pool in a hammock! We were greeted by wildlife; a family of monkey’s including what looked like a newborn, and a resident iguana.


During the day we explored the surrounding towns and beaches. There were so many choices, and each beach offered something different, so we never got bored.  Our favorites were Dante Beach and Playa Avellana.


We used the air conditioning some afternoons when we got home from the beach, and the house cooled down within minutes! We also loved the convenience of the nearby restaurants and clubs that were within walking distance. We ate at a couple of the nearby restaurants.  The food was local, fresh and inexpensive. A couple of nights, we decided to stay in and BBQ’d. The beach was a short 5-minute walk from the house, so almost every evening we took a walk at sunset.


We were promised fast Internet, which is a necessity for us since we are self-employed and need to work a little while on vacation. On this trip, we were pleasantly surprised that we could do work whenever we needed to and the speed met our high expectations.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great time. Come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pictures don't tell the whole truth..

  • 1 of 5

We stayed at Casa Manga January 2017.

Before we left home, we had excellent service booking. The rental company and owner were very prompt with any questions that we had. The description of the house was accurate, in that they did not say anything that was not true. The house was spacious; the private backyard pool was a great spot for children and adults to cool off. There were iguanas and birds to watch daily in the backyard and howler monkeys in the neighbourhood. Every Friday a sweet cleaning lady would come and clean bathrooms and floors etc. and the pool was serviced frequently as well. (although we did clean ourselves in between) We had trouble with the phones but the problem was quickly resolved.

But, some of the beds did not have mattress protectors and some of the bedding is ratty. Curtains in one room were mismatched and not one of the upstairs bedroom doors would close properly. The fridge was old, rusty, had an odor. My husband and I spend the first half day cleaning the stove top. When we went to use it the first time, the burners were smoking from the debris left on it. We pulled it all apart and soaked the burner trays, which were literally had holes in them. In hindsight we should have called and had someone come and clean it, but it was the weekend and we needed to use the stove. There was strict instructions that the after hours number was for emergency only. The kitchen sink began leaking and it took two calls and two trips by the plumber to have it fixed. The first call was in the evening and they said they wouldn’t come until morning. Not an emergency. We emptied a bucket of water every time we did dishes. It was not fixed after the plumbers first visit and we had to wait from Friday night to Monday morning to call again because we knew they wouldn’t come anyway. This was not the first time there had been plumbing problems because the whole under sink particleboard plywood was swollen and rotting We often noticed an odor in the house particularly when we used the master shower or the washer. The kitchen was not well stocked – no pot holders, hot pads, tea pot, tea kettle, and one of the drawer fronts was falling off. This place has SUCH potential. A lovely layout, size and location but it needs some TLC. We do not need granite counter tops, fancy appliances and pictures on the walls, but we do need clean and functioning.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Karin, I was dismayed to receive such a low rating from you but honestly have to say that I agree with you on some of the points and these were already in place to be repaired when you came. We had not been down to Casa Mango in a few years and the house was in the care of our property management team. While they are great at everyday care there were many things they did not notice such as the doors, the bedding and sheets and other things that you may not have noticed but were already on our punch list to be completed asap. We left the house as you were arriving, If you recall, you were able to check in early in spite of the fact that the house had not yet been cleaned and the beds were unmade. During our time in the house the week prior to your arrival we replaced the toaster oven, got new pans, cups, bowls and made other improvements. We are in the process of obtaining estimates for the kitchen. We plan to replace it entirely and also install a dishwasher. We left the day you arrived and did not notice a leak or any odor in the kitchen. The refrigerator is ugly, that is for sure, but it works impeccably and was clean on the inside. New bedding, including a mattress pad, towels, beach towels and curtains, yes, we noticed the mismatched curtains too, have been purchased. We were working on estimates for the new kitchen before we left. Most of our guests are short term and either eat out or prefer to use the outside grill so the kitchen was not a priority until now. I am glad that you mentioned the spaciousness and the wildlife. Other things that tend to be a priority are the proximity to the beach, restaurants and markets. I hope that you will come back to enjoy or house again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming and Inviting House in Surfside!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at this house for two weeks this summer. We really enjoyed it. It is in a nice neighborhood that is close to the beach and I really love the Potrero area so for me it was perfect. It was great having the garage to put our rental car in (not many houses have this in Costa Rica) and the fence around the house also made me feel very safe. The house was very cozy and has a cute backyard with a pool that is nice for lounging or cooling off any time of the day. My parents and brother came for a few days and also enjoyed staying at the house during our stay. The owner of the house was lovely to work with and was very accommodating! It was a great vacation and I would definitely recommend this house and stay here again!

  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the house and finally made it! Good luck to you both:)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Winnipeg, Canada

Great Stay.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great experience during our three day stay here! Fabulous and prompt service, the place was clean and spacious and the pool, while shallow, was private and refreshing! It was a quick walk into town, the many restaurants and the beach.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad that you enjoyed the house. I am sure that the warm weather in the middle of the winter was a welcome change for you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Littleton, Colorado

Awesome getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This home was awesome! Rooms were perfect to accommodate my family of 6. Our Lil one pretty much lived in the swimming pool when we were at the house. The kitchen provided us with all the necessities to cook the variety of meals we enjoyed. Lelia was very quick to get back with me each and every step of our correspondences from renting the home through our entire visit when I had questions about the house. Yes, I recommend this home for your getaway!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad that you enjoyed your Stay. Thanks for taking the lock down for us. It is already streamlining the check in process.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $700


Monthly rental as listed above plus all utilities (electric / water / Cable / internet / garden maintenance / poolmaintenance)

Damage deposit: $2000 & Last month Deposit: $2000

One hour from the Liberia International Airport makes Flamingo Beach/ Potrero Beach the ideal location to spend your vacation. Within 10-minute drive from Flamingo or Potrero you can access at least 5 pristine beaches which are worth their visit. At about a 35 minute drive, you will find the popular beach towns as Playa Tamarindo or Playas del Coco.

Flamingo and Potrero has many bars and restaurants where you can enjoy sunset drinks or a nice dinner. Almost daily there are bands playing in town.

Other Activities: ATV tours, sport fishing, volcanoes, zipline canopy tours, eco tours, surfing

1. PAYMENT – An advance payment equal to 50% of the total rental rate is required to secure the reservation. The advance payment will be applied toward the house rent. Payments can be made in the form of a wire transfer, credit card or cashier’s check. The advance payment is not a damage deposit. The BALANCE OF RENT is due thirty (30) days before your arrival date.

2. CANCELLATIONS – 50% is due a

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.