About the property
- Estate4000 sq. ft.
- Half Baths1
- Minimum Stay2 - 3 nights
4+ Bedroom Northwest Home Located on Chuckanut Drive
Your private oasis away from it all. Come enjoy this Zen-like home with natural waterfall and panoramic views of the San Juan Islands and Chuckanut Bay. Very private high-bank waterfront with large decks and Huge Master Suite. There are four bedrooms total. There is a king bed in the master and queens in the other three. There is a double futon in the solarium and a single bed in the entertainment room. The kitchen is set up to entertain and there is a large dining table that easily seats 10 guests. This home is the perfect place just to relax with family or get together with friends. This get away is sure to have something for everyone!
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one day
- English, Spanish
- Calendar last updated:
- May 21, 2018
About Maria Lindberg
We fell in love with this property when we first saw it. We find that it is a very special place, magical and we always relax well there. We live full time in Seattle. We are hoping to retire on Chuckanut, but in the mean time we thought it would be a wonderful place for people to go and relax and enjoy the beauty of the Northwest.
Maria Lindberg purchased this Estate in 2013
Why Maria Lindberg chose Bellingham
Bellingham is a wonderful small town that is just big enough to have whatever you need: endless recreational opportunities including hiking, biking, and skiing. There are several first class restaurants nearby including the famous Oyster Bar just down the road on Chuckanut Drive. There is the classic Fairhaven neighborhood with great shops, pubs and eateries. There is the beautiful Mt. Baker theatre, Western Washington University, Hospital, University, Mt. Baker Theater, and of course, Chuckanut Drive, one of the most beautiful drives the State if not the world. Come enjoy our little slice of Heaven.
What makes this Estate unique
We encourage you to read the reviews from our previous guests. You will see that we are not exaggerating.
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Nice arrangement for family gathering
Beautiful view, but house/yard not well maintained
The view is unmatched; this area is gorgeous. But there were many things that were neglected in the house that were slightly irritating (and some just plain hazardous), especially considering the cost per night.
There was a broken floor vent that easily slid off and away, exposing a significant hole in the floor right in front of the refrigerator in the kitchen - it's just waiting to break an ankle. We actually put a large box over the hole all weekend (in the middle of the kitchen) in an effort to prevent injury.
The walkways into/around the house have not been maintained and are very slick with grime (be careful when walking into the house). The yard is really more of a swamp on a slope, which is not unexpected through a PNW winter, but we paid an extra fee for our dog to come with (who I made clear had just gone through knee surgery, and would be sedated and mostly immobile) & we had to walk a flight of stairs and go through the garage to get to Chuckanut Drive (which is narrow, with almost nowhere to walk) in order for the poor guy to use the restroom. I would not recommend staying here at all if you plan to take pets with you as there's really nowhere for them to go without a big production.
The television doesn't work. There's only one bathroom on the main floor and it seemed to be struggling; it just ran the entire time we were there. I understand and like the idea of a rustic cabin but there are some things (tending to holes in the floor of the most trafficked area of the house, dangerous walkways) that should be tended to.
The view was gorgeous but overall we were somewhat disappointed considering the price and relative lack of upkeep.
I am so sorry that you didn't contact us about the tv, floor vent, toilet and walkway. We would have send someone over immediately to fix it. We have an on call manager to deal with the kind of things that you had come up. There were several phone numbers on the kitchen board to call if you had any issues. We have fixed them now that you have brought them to our attention.
As for the yard, there is not much we can do about it when we have had record rainfall. We are located on the side of the hill and there are lots of natural springs that run through the yard. I guess on the upside that is when the waterfall is most spectacular. The yard drys out later in spring and we can do a better job of maintaining it. Unfortunately you came during the wettest season in a long time.
A wonderful house with a stunning view of Chuckanut Bay and the San Juan Islands beyond.
The house is an excellent place for a family gathering in a spectacular setting. It is especially suitable for a family that likes to cook and have meals together as the kitchen is large and well set up. There is also an excellent restaurant nearby--the Oyster Bar--perhaps the best in the area. If you like oysters, a visit to the Taylor oyster farm nearby is also special. For hikers the nearby Chuckanut trails have great views out over the islands.
Parking along Chuckanut Drive is a challenge if you have more than the two cars that will fit in the garage, but that is a minor drawback as once inside the house the feeling is of arrival in a private sanctuary.
3 Day Weekend
The location of the property is awesome and the view impressive. The owner was kind enough to let us stay for a 3 day weekend on short notice. We were looking for a get away from the central Washington heat during the later part of the summer and to celebrate my daughters 18th birthday.
It was about 11 pm when we arrived and we had a bit of a challenge trying to locate the key for the garage. When you pull up, there is a gate to stairs; however, the garage and parking is down the narrow private road. The garage is the first on the right and is a short walk through a beautiful garden to the house. Parking is very limited and tight with room for only two vehicles. My two younger boys absolutely loved the grounds.
Entering the house the layout is great for large groups as there are many different areas to the house and two levels. The TV & game room is isolated with a large sun room separating it from the main living space in the house. Most of the bedrooms are down below on the lower level. We did have to vacuum up a few large spiders prior to settling in, but not a big deal. The bed in the master room was very comfortable and the view was awesome to wake up to in the morning. The lower level beds could use a mattress upgrade.
Considering how close the property is to the water, there are RR Tracks running between the property and the water down below, and the trains do rumble by in the evening. Not a issue for me, because I love trains and have lived near them in the past.
The views from the deck and from just about every room on the property are amazing. It would've been nice to have a propane fire pit to sit around in the evenings. We sat outside late into the evening 2 of the 3 nights. The only draw back was from the constant hum of the septic tank motor directly under the largest part of the deck. Unfortunately it does detract from the overall peacefulness.
Overall, the place was great and I would consider using the property again for a larger group. The cost is a bit high, but we had a great time and loved sitting out on the deck taking in the view of the sound and the evening stars.
Thank you for allowing us to enjoy your home.
The view was spectacular. We enjoyed our stay at Klipsun!
The house was great for our family of six adults and four children. Sometimes it was difficult to negotiate the parking with three cars. We saw deer daily. It was fun to see the train come around the bend. The noise was not a problem. Maria, Eric and Genevieve were
great to work with.
The views, the well-equipped kitchen, the beds, the linens, the cleanliness really perfect! Amazing home.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
This is a wonderful home and it is both luxury and rustic, a beautiful place to relax. I must warn you that the train does go by the waters edge at night. You will not see it, but you might hear it the first night. After that, I am told no one hardly notices it. There are earplugs provided if needed. This is just the reality of all luxury homes and hotels along Bellingham Bay.