Located in Truckee, this holiday home is in the mountains. Palisades Tahoe and Northstar California Resort are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Donner Lake. KidZone Museum and Olympic Valley Park are also worth visiting.
Northstar California Resort - 21 min drive - 24.3 km
Getting around
Truckee Station - 11 min drive
Truckee, CA (TKF-Truckee Tahoe) - 16 min drive
Restaurants
McDonald's - 7 min drive
Starbucks - 7 min drive
Tahoe Donner - 15 min drive
Coffeebar Bakery - 6 min drive
Taco's Jalisco - 7 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Truckee Cabin Steps to Donner Lake w/ Kayaks, Fireplace & Forest Views pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Truckee Cabin Steps to Donner Lake w/ Kayaks, Fireplace & Forest Views?
As of 26 Oct, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Truckee Cabin Steps to Donner Lake w/ Kayaks, Fireplace & Forest Views on 19 Apr, 2027 start from S$1,424, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Truckee Cabin Steps to Donner Lake w/ Kayaks, Fireplace & Forest Views?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Truckee Cabin Steps to Donner Lake w/ Kayaks, Fireplace & Forest Views?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Truckee Cabin Steps to Donner Lake w/ Kayaks, Fireplace & Forest Views?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Truckee Cabin Steps to Donner Lake w/ Kayaks, Fireplace & Forest Views located?
Situated in the mountains, this holiday home is within a 15-minute walk of Tahoe National Forest and Donner Lake. Sierra Nevada Conservancy and West End Beach are also within 1 mile (2 km).
Reviews
8.8
Excellent
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Great location on Donner. House was clean and perfect for 6 adults.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 3 Sept, 2026
Thank you for sharing your kind review. We’re so glad you enjoyed the great Donner location and found the home clean and perfect for your group of 6 adults.
We’d love to host you again soon.
- The AvantStay Team
We really enjoyed the unbelievable views of Lake Donner from this home. The home itself was very comfortable and relaxing. The beds were very comfortable and provided us with great sleep. The Host was very attentive to our needs, texting multiple times to ensure that our stay was going well. The number one asset of this home is the most beautiful views from just about any part of this home and property. If there was anything that could have been better, I would list the following for future customers. First, the security lights on the upper stairways to the driveway were not working. making it difficult to see the stairs. Secondly, updated carpeting would be suggested. And finally, it was a little strange when showering or bathing as there were no window coverings on the bathroom windows. Overall, we really loved the home and the property and enjoyed our stay. Thanks!
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2026
Response from Truckee Cabin Steps to Donner Lake w/ Kayaks, Fireplace & Forest Views on 20 Oct, 2026
Donner Lake views from every corner of the house really are the headline act! We're glad the comfy beds and our team's check ins rounded out the stay. Thank you for the thoughtful list too. The stairway lights, carpet, and bathroom window coverings are all with our team to address. We'd love to have you back lakeside!
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Shylia S.
9 Sept, 2026
Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication
This house is very outdated and the carpet is horribly stained and dirty. It should be replaced. The beds are uncomfortable and the main floor bed was broke in the middle so you slid to the center of it. The bear box was so full we couldn’t fit our trash in it so we had to bring it home. The living room tv was so confusing you couldn’t turn it on and the bedroom remote has no power button or volume control. The view is beautiful it’s a good location. The communication with Avant Stay was not great when we were planning to leave the few days before but we got that straightened out.
Very charming cabin in the best possible location. Amazing views of the lake. Kitchen is well equipped with all the necessities to cook a great meal. We enjoyed our stay here very much and will come back as soon as we can!
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Jan, 2026
Thank you! We’re so glad you enjoyed the charming cabin, lake views, and well-equipped kitchen. It’s wonderful to hear you had such a great stay—we’d love to welcome you back again soon!
Easy to reach the AvantStay call center. The views from the cabin were excellent.
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Jan, 2026
Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad to hear our team was easy to reach and that you enjoyed the views from the cabin. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
We had an excellent stay on Donner Lake in this unique home. The views were incredible and it was a very cozy home. Kitchen was well stocked and we had plenty of space. The host was very responsive and it was very easy to check in and out. It was a very hot week when we stayed and even though we turned the heat off, it kept kicking back on at night through an auto setting. There is no AC and that’s ok due to nice temps at night and plenty of windows to open. Unfortunately we were very uncomfortable sleeping because of the heat kicking on. The host was responsive but we still were not able to remove the auto settings that the Nest thermostat had on it. The host was responsive and gave us an extra hour to check out. There are a lot of stairs to navigate so be sure your party is able to climb 3 flights of steps , I would recommend the host putting a few dim lights on the steps for nighttime , as it gets very dark and those steps are hard to see. Overall we loved our stay and I would stay here again if we could work out the heat situation.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 6 Aug, 2026
Donner Lake with incredible views and a cozy home is a great combination, and we're glad the kitchen and the space itself worked well for your group. Thank you as well for noting how responsive our team was and for the flexibility on checkout. We're sorry the temperature issue affected your sleep, and we understand how much that can take away from a stay. Your notes about the thermostat settings and the lighting on the stairs have both been passed to our team so they can be looked into properly. We hope to host you again in the future.
The directions to the actual location aren’t clear. It’s James Avenue (not street), clearly more that’s it’s a sharp left if coming from the street opposite Donner lake. The signs for Avanti are hard to see especially at nightPlease allow renters to control the heat. It was too hot for us at night, and we prefer a cooler night. The house is lovely and we enjoyed our stay
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 27 Jan, 2026
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the notes regarding clearer directions, signage visibility at night, and temperature control, and will review these items for improvement. We’re glad you enjoyed the home and your stay overall.
The house is in an ideal location, quiet and private but easy to access the lake, hiking, parks and town. The kitchen is very nice and well equipped. The washer and dryer worked well. The electronic keyboard was a nice amenity, but the record player is not functional. The bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and decently furnished, with one exception. The bed frame in the downstairs bedroom is broken, leaving the bed to sag markedly in the middle. This created a very uncomfortable night's rest.We had a power outage for several hours one night, and discovered there were no flashlights and only one candle in the house. When the power was restored, it took quite of bit of frustrating trial and error to restart the internet service and wifi. We never did figure out how to operate the TVs, which have multiple remotes and peripherals. (Why have Firestick, AppleTV and cable box all on the same TV?) But no worries for us, as the view and sky were far more entertaining than TV ever is :)Suggestions:Replace the broken bed frame ASAPProvide flashlights (candles can be a hazard)Provide written instructions for restarting the modem and router (preferably taped to the device). Wifi is a must for guests who have to work while visiting.Provide instructions for the TVs or get rid of them.Get rid of the broken record player.Cotton sheets instead of polyester would be a nice-to-have, but not a need-to-have for us.We will be happy to stay here again, now we know what to expect/adjust.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 27 Aug, 2026
This is the kind of review that genuinely helps us improve, so thank you for taking the time. We're glad the location struck the right balance of quiet and convenient, and that the kitchen and clean, comfortable rooms served you well. Your notes about the bed frame, the missing flashlights, and the need for clearer instructions on the wifi and electronics are all valid, and we've passed every one of them along to our team to act on. It means a lot that you'd stay with us again, and we would love to welcome you back.
Decent home with a killer view of Donner Lake! Great location as we were attending events both in Truckee and at Donner Lake beach. The home really only has one shower which was a little tough for 5 adults. Carpet in home was old and had some stains but still “clean”. We did use the washer/dryer once….something blue must have been washed before we got there b/c it dyed my white blouse a dingy blue when I ran it through the washer. We probably would not stay there again.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Sept, 2026
So glad the view and the location worked perfectly for your Truckee and Donner Lake plans. Since your stay, the carpets have been fully replaced, and the laundry machines have been serviced and run clear. Our guest experience team has also reached out to you about the laundry mishap directly. How the home's single-shower setup is described is being reviewed as well, so groups can plan around it before booking. We appreciate you bringing these to our attention, and should you consider staying with us again, we'd welcome the chance to change the ending.