Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Placencia Beach Front House On The Caribbean Sea

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Situated On Acre Of Beach Front, Open Floor Plan, Sleeps 6, Full Kitchen

Open, airy living spaces, with the accent on comfort. Dine on the large veranda, while enjoying the cool Caribbean breeze and the spectacular ocean view. Recline on your hammock or sunbathe on the 200 feet of beach front.

This is the kind of vacation retreat you will book year after year. It feels like it belongs to you. Rustic and carefree, clean and uncluttered, while having all the modern conveniences.

One queen bed with large closet and plenty of storage. Twin beds accommodates two guests, while adult size bunk beds sleep two nicely.

Full size kitchen includes 30 inch modern gas stove, refrigerator with freezer, microwave, blender, coffeemaker, double stainless steel sink, all dishes, pots and pans, flatware, and towels.

Cooling provided by overhead fans and the Caribbean trade winds. No air conditioning.

Hot water provided by the sun. All hot water, throughout the house, is solar heated.

WiFi internet, cable, flat screen TV, DVD player.

This house is located on an acre and a half of beachfront property. The house is elevated approximately 8 feet above the ground. Three small rooms/shops/storage areas are located beneath the house to which the owner has access and uses occasionally. The owner has vehicles parked on the back (west) half acre where the guest also has parking space.

More Details

Owner
Lou Nicolait
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 17, 2018

About Lou Nicolait

We landed in Belize in 1973 while vacationing. We fell in love with Placencia and the rest is history.

Lou Nicolait purchased this house in 1973

Why Lou Nicolait chose Placencia

This location is the best in the village. Close to all the action, but as private as you want to make it.

What makes this house unique

Wrap around veranda, 200 feet of beach front, light and airy.

Amenities

Placencia House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Solar heated water.
  • Large shower, sink counter, and mirror. Two entrances, from house or veranda. Towels and beach towels provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Open floor plan with privacy screen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Converts to a King. Open floor plan with privacy screen.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 bunk bed , Private room.
  • The privacy in sleeping areas is protected by movable screens. There are ample shelves, storage space and closets. All linens are provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Placencia Beach Front House On The Caribbean Sea
average rating of 4.852941 based on 34 reviews
Virginia
5

Pure Paradise!!

  • 5 of 5

My family of 4 stayed in this fantastic cottage for our Christmas vacation. From the moment we got there we knew we found something special! The cottage itself was situated ocean front with palm trees all around, absolutely surreal. The inside is an open concept which made the place feel very roomy. All the supplies plus more that you could ever need are all there, lots of soft towels, toilet tissue, paper towels, things that are just nice to have supplied for you while on vacation. Joshlin is available to you whenever you need her. She couldn't have been a more gracious host. Epi, who helps with the grounds, was also there and very generously retrieved us some coconuts from the palm trees and gave us fresh coconut water...and then filled up a pitcher for our weeks stay refreshment! Amazing! Placencia in general is SO MUCH FUN!! You walk along the sidewalk of Placencia and you're surrounded by live music everywhere and a large assortment of eateries. Overall, my family had the best vacation! Returning is a must and we wouldn't look anywhere else to stay! Thank you Joshlin and Lou for an amazing family vacation!!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Private hideaway in great location

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a week at the Placencia Beach House. The house was exactly as described online and we really enjoyed our stay. We were there with my 20 year old twins, my mom and my husband - we all had a great experience. The house is on the smaller side for 5 adults, but it is clean and comfortable. It has a well stocked kitchen (with a blender), nice bath and beach towels, good DVD and book selection, great wifi and the deck over the private beach was wonderful to hang out on. The beach is large, clean and private, the sandy floored water is calm and great for swimming, there's an outdoor shower as well. The caretaker, Joshlin is very friendly, helpful with great recommendations for local food and activities, supplied coconut water from the property, often available for questions, yet let's you have your privacy. We often walked into town on the sidewalk or down the beach to the local restaurants, gelato and shopping. A well stocked grocery store is a few minutes walk away and it was fun to get fresh produce from the local vendors down the street (everyone accepts US dollars). Everyone is very friendly and we alway felt safe walking around - even late into the evening. We went scuba diving and snorkeling by boat through Sunnyside Tours (great guide/owner Warren) we also drove into the mainland to explore the jungle. There's a kayak at the house that my son enjoyed as well. We all loved our stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wonderful!!

  • 5 of 5

The house and setting are fantastic. A huge clean beach. Kayaking in the lagoon. River tubing in the Cockscomb Basin. Diving at the Silk Cayes. Everything was perfect.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect spot!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 stayed 5 nights at the Placencia beach house. Loved the location as it was an easy walk to restaurants using the Placencia sidewalk and 1 block from grocery store! The house had 3 hammocks for lounging and a great deck with private beach backyard. The owners were friendly and prompt in answering all questions..thank you Lou, Joshlin and Epi for making our trip to Belize even better! Visit Laughing Bird National Park w/ Sunnside Tours w/Warren and Monkey River Tour w/ BareBone Tours w/ Percy (hands down the best guides)! Gelato at Tutti Frutti is a must and we enjoyed the food @ Rick's. Weather was good as it was end of rainy season and the water was warm...perfect for our family vacation to Belize! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

My wife and I flew out to Belize for my birthday last minute as we had to cancel our trip to Puerto Rico due to the unfortunate event of hurricane Maria. The owners were nice enough to give us a little discount on the property after I explained to them our budget after losing money on non-refundable events in Puerto Rico.

When we showed up to the property it was beautiful...unfortunately that’s about as far as the pleasantries went. We quickly found out the owners were staying directly below the house. We looked for a private home for, well...privacy. This was rather annoying but we were already there so there wasn’t much we could do. After settling in for a bit we found an open/used condom on the outside deck...DISGUSTING. My wife and I were pretty frustrated at that point. Then about an hour later we came into the house after walking the beach to be greeted by a TERANTULA on our bed! We were at the house for no more than 5 hours with all of these events. Needless to say we did not feel comfortable staying, and packed our stuff to leave. After telling the owners about our experience they apologized but refused to give us any sort of refund. We had to pay over $600 for a 5 hour horrendous stay. The owners would not even give us a partial refund. VRBO has not helped with the situation and have plainly stated “its up to the owners to give a refund”.

Please rethink before staying here so you don’t end up wasting your money like we did!

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The first email I received from this guest after he and his companion vacated my property surprised me. His phrases, “had a  tarantula in the house...my girlfriend was not comfortable staying there due to their possible lethal injection” and “will be looking for a refund due to dangerous circumstances “, do not sound like reactions one would expect from a traveler prepared to go to Puerto Rico, an area as tropical as Belize, and having a similar environment. I exchanged several emails with this guest after he left the property and this is the first time he has mentioned a condom. Our cleaners were at the house during the morning before the guest and his companion arrived and would have checked the deck for leaf debris and any other litter. We have never had problems with this type of trash. The “little discount” mentioned amounted to a substantial 40% of off-season rates. I can understand the guest’s disappointment in finding the “owners” were staying below the house even though our published listing states that “three small rooms…..are located beneath the the house to which the owner has access and uses occasionally”. The owner’s representative, one person, stays in a room downstairs part-time, especially during the off-season when occupancy is low and a permanent presence on the property is desirable. On the day in question, after welcoming the guests and doing a few chores, the rep left the property and only returned to secure the house after learning the guests had vacated the property.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 3
5

Lovely, peaceful, & relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Lou & Joshlin helped make our stay more comfortable by procuring a booster seat & pack n play for my almost 2 year old. The house was pristine when we entered. I have 2 small children under 5 & this is our first beach vacation together. The open air arrangement of the house took a bit getting used to for the kids who are accustomed to walls & doors! We lived simply all week, playing in the water & building sand castles on the gorgeous beach. The weather was amazing everyday. It's August, so many restaurants were closed, but Mr. Q's (BEST fry chicken) & The kitchen were highlights for us. The locals are so kind & welcoming. This place is the quintessential paradise. I could not imagine a more perfect vacation or a better place to stay. Thank you so much for everything Lou & Joshlin!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Placencia Airstrip
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Placencia Road
Car: not necessary

The wonderful thing about Placencia Village is you can be as high tech or laid-back as you want. There are computer repair services and internet connections or tranquil freedom from all the technology devices.

Placencia Beach House is located at the north end of the sidewalk, the world's narrowest road, in Placencia Village, within walking distance of all the restaurants, bars, and gift shops. The North end is quiet and private, but near the action. You can party all you want without a designated driver, or lie quietly in your hammock in complete privacy. The friendly villagers speak English and are always ready to lend a helping hand. Fitness training and yoga classes, as well as, spa services are available. You can explore the village on a bicycle or ride up the peninsula for lunch at Seine Bight or Maya Beach.

There are several full-service dive shops that cater to both the beginner and experienced diver. Instruction is available for certification at all levels.

Some choose to simply enjoy the snorkeling. The dozens of offshore cayes (pronounced keys) each have fringed reefs and the Belize Barrier Reef, 18 miles from Placencia, is second to none. Many of the wonders in tropical waters are only one foot below the surface.

Some claim that Placencia offers the world's best fly fishing. The fishing guides were born in Placencia and learned secrets from their fathers that have been passed down for generations. Besides catching bonefish, permit and tarpon, you can troll for kingfish and barracuda, or catch your own bait and simply hang out at the cayes with a drop line.

About 30 miles from Placencia, off the southern highway, is the Cockscomb Basin Jaguar Reserve, the world's first reserve established to protect this endangered species. Don't expect to see a jaguar. but you can go river tubing, hike to the waterfalls at the top of Tiger Fern trail, or climb Victoria Peak, the highest peak in the Cockscomb!

A little further to the north on the Southern Highway, you can visit Mayflower Archaeological Reserve and hike to Antelope Falls or Bocawina Falls, or arrange with Bocawina Adventure Tours to go zip-lining through the canopy forest or repelling down the water falls.

To the south, on the Southern Highway, you can visit the archaeological ruins of Nimli Punit and Lubaantun. During the same day, you can take in the massive cave at Blue Creek Village where Maya artifacts were found by modern archaeologists.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night

Travelers may stay for fewer days than the 5 day minimum. However, guests will pay for 5 days even though they may be staying for less than 5 days.

First payment or deposit of 25% paid at the time of booking is non-refundable. Once the house is booked, the reservation can be cancelled at any time 60 days prior to check-in and there are no further charges. The second payment of 75% is due 60 days prior to check-in. Failure to make the second payment 60 days prior to check-in will result in a cancellation of the reservation with no refund of the first payment. There are no refunds for any cancellations made after the second payment is made or less than 60 days before check-in.

Rates are subject to change without notice. Terms, rates, and refunds as stated on the rental agreement prior to booking confirmation supersedes all advertised terms, rates, and refunds.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties