Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Now Booking Summer 2018! OCEANFRONT, 6BR+2 Qn Alcoves, 2 Kit, 2 Lv Rm, 4FB, 2HB

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms4
Half Baths2
Space 3,350 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

OCEANFRONT 6BR+2 Queen Alcoves 2 Kitchens+4Full BA+2Half BA, Rooftop Deck

Up On The Roof' is an oceanfront full duplex offering plenty of room for vacationing with extended family and friends. The two adjoining units provide the perfect opportunity to be together, but separate when needed. Put the early birds on one side and the night owls on the other. Or your family on one side and the in-laws on the other - you decide what works best for you! You'll all enjoy the options you have in this special property.

Up On The Roof has new interior furnishings & patio furniture and well-equipped kitchens for preparing gourmet feasts from the land or sea.

The units have identical floorplans (just reversed) with the following features:

Enter either unit from the carport on the ground level. Here you will find 'The Alcove' with a queen size bed and TV with Netflix.

Up one flight of stairs is the open great room which includes the well-equipped kitchen with granite countertops and island with 3 barstools, dining room with table for 8, powder room and the living room with a 60" Smart TV and plenty of comfortable seating. The adjoining doors between the two units are just off the kitchen. The oceanfront door in the living room opens to the first of 3 oceanfront decks - this level has outdoor dining and, most importantly, the walkway to the beach!

Up the next flight of stairs are the three bedrooms. The oceanfront master bedroom has a King bed, TV and private bathroom with shower. The 2nd bedroom has a queen bed and TV and the Bunk Room has 2 sets of bunk beds and a TV for the kids. These bedrooms share the hall bathroom with tub/shower. The second oceanfront covered deck is accessed from the hallway on this level and has steps up to the rooftop deck for sunbathing and gorgeous 360 degree views of the ocean and intracoastal waterway.

In the carport of each unit, on the ground level, is an enclosed outdoor shower and a grill for grilling fresh catch. There is also a hose on the main level deck to rinse off the sand before heading in from the beach.

**Please note: We make an effort to respond to inquiries in a timely manner. If you do not receive a response from us within 24 hours, please resend or email us directly. Sometimes the system is slow at sending inquiries to owners and we have even had cases where we don't receive the inquiries at all.**

More Details

Owner
Amy Spraker
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 11, 2017

About Amy Spraker

We've been coming to Topsail for years. We got engaged and married in North Topsail Beach and are so excited to have our vacation home there. We hope you will fall in love with Topsail just like we did and return year after year!

Amy Spraker purchased this house in 2013

Why Amy Spraker chose North Topsail Beach

We are so excited to add Up On The Roof to our Topsail Island rentals! We admired it for many years before the opportunity to purchase it became available.

What makes this house unique

The rooftop deck has breathtaking views of the ocean and intracoastal waterway! We also love the fact that Up On The Roof gives you two houses in one, allowing you to vacation with a crowd, but still enjoy some privacy when needed.

Amenities

North Topsail Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3350 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • 'Sun' Powder Room - toilet , Main level of north unit, 'Sun'
    'Sun' Master Bath - toilet , shower , Private master bath in 'Sun' Master Bedroom
    'Sun' Hall Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , 'Sun' Hall bath on top level with tub/shower
    'Sun' Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower , Enclosed outdoor shower in 'Sun' carport
    'Stars' Master Bath - toilet , shower , 'Stars' Master bath with shower
    'Stars' Hall Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , 'Stars' Hall Bath on top level with tub/shower
    'Stars' Powder Room - toilet , 'Stars' Powder Room on main level
    'Stars' Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower , Enclosed outdoor shower in 'Stars' carport
  • Each unit has 2 full baths, 1 half bath and an enclosed outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • #1 - Master Bedroom - 'Sun' - 1 king , The north unit, 'Sun', has a TV and private bath with shower
    #2 - Queen Bedroom - 'Sun' - 1 queen , The 2nd bedroom in the 'Sun' unit has a queen bed and TV
    #3 - Bunk Room - 'Sun' - 2 bunk bed , The 'Sun' Bunk Room has 2 sets of bunk beds and TV
    #5 - Master Bedroom - 'Stars' - 1 king , The south unit, 'Stars', master w/TV & private bath w/shower
    #6 - Bunk Room - 'Stars' - 2 bunk bed , 'Stars' Bunk Rm w/2 sets bunk beds & TV for the kids
    #7: Queen Bedroom - 'Stars' - 1 queen , 'Stars' Queen BR with TV
    #8 - Alcove - 'Stars' - 1 queen , 'Stars' ground level Alcove w/Qbed & TV tucked under stairs
    #4 - Alcove - 'Sun' - 1 queen , 'Sun's' ground level Alcove w/Q bed & TV tucked under stairs
  • 6 bedrooms on top level (3 in 'Sun' unit & 3 in 'Stars' unit) and 2 Queen Beds in Alcoves on ground floor of each unit.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Now Booking Summer 2018! OCEANFRONT, 6BR+2 Qn Alcoves, 2 Kit, 2 Lv Rm, 4FB, 2HB
average rating of 4.882353 based on 17 reviews
Powell, Ohio
5

Wonderful Topsail Island Vacation Property

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely love "Up On The Roof"! This is the second time our family has visited this property. The two units have doors that open through the kitchens, so it makes the property perfect for a large family. The separate kitchens and living areas are ideal for different eating times and TV viewing options. The bench at the end of the walkway overlooking the ocean is perfect for enjoying your morning cup of coffee, or your evening glass of wine! Although the dunes are now starting to invade the walkway. The owner Amy, was very accommodating and easy to work with. I highly recommend visiting this property.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful location Duplex in good repair Clean and well equipped

  • 5 of 5

Perfect duplex for 12 people. Safe beach and surf for the kids. We plan to go again.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, nc
5

Perfect spot to kick off summer

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect and Amy made everything super easy for check in / departure. Loved the location and beach front access. The house had plenty of room for a group to spread out and have the space they need. We're already looking forward to next year!

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond VA
4

Great Location with Disappointments Related to House and Owners

  • 4 of 5

We had a great week at the house with 23 family members staying in both sides of the duplex, however there were many problems with the house. The location and beach could not be better. This was fantastic. However, the week was riddled with daily communication with the owners of the property, as the a/c was not working properly in one side and the temperature was borderline manageable at night. We worked with hvac people who came and we were helpful and supportive to the owners. The problem was not fixed well and temp increased during our stay. Additionally, the sleeper sofa in that same unit (Stars) was broken and not useable, which was problematic for the number of people we had. We needed this sleeping option because the Alcove bedroom was too hot for the adults who were staying there. This was not fixed or replaced and impacted our stay. Anyone staying here needs to fully understand what "Alcove" bedroom means...it is not a proper bedroom with a door. It is essentially the entryway of the unit n the ground level and the owners have put a bed in there. So, it is open, not much privacy. This is not clearly stated on the listing, so our family would recommend that you not plan on anyone staying down there, except for a teenager perhaps. It is absolutely not acceptable as a bedroom for adults. The bathroom that "Alcove" bedroom guests must use is the powder room upstairs next to the kitchen on the main floor. There were some other issues with maintenance/upkeep in the house but these were many and fairly minor in our view. The last thing that is important to add is that the owners appeared to be helpful and in contact with us - until we asked for a discount for Stars unit for the week and we wanted to resolve this. Amy told us she would discuss this with Greg, and would get back to us, but never did. From this point on, they would not respond to our communications, which was very disappointing considering how much communication (friendly we thought) during the week we had and all the time we spent w the issues. It was clear to us that they were really not committed to resolving the issues to completion. We, ourselves, are landlords and find this very hard to understand, and unacceptable. We will not stay in this property again for this reason and the only reason we give 4 stars is for location and beach. Disappointing way to end a stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As she stated, this guest and her large family had a wonderful week at Up On The Roof. She reported two issues during her visit: 1) She reported the sofa bed was broken two days after her arrival (we can only assume the damage occurred during her visit). We had two roll away beds delivered the same day - July 4th, no less. 2) She reported the AC on one floor of one side of the duplex was not reaching the set temp. HVAC repairman arrived the next morning, ordered and replaced a part. She requested a refund at the time of check out and, when denied, she posted this review. We handled her issues promptly and this is the first complaint we have had at Up On The Roof. Please see all our other positive reviews on this property and our other properties listed on VRBO.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect for a large family vacation

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for our large family-10 grandchildren ages 3-21, and 8 adults. Very well equipped, fantastic location, and worked so well for all of us to have a wonderful week celebrating my parents' 50th anniversary.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for choosing Up On The Roof for your family's vacation! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit. Please come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Love the easy and close access to the beach. The layout of the house and dual kitchens worked perfectly for our large family gathering as well. Netflix was a real hit for all kids (ranging from 6 to 19)! House was clean and had all the necessary items for a truly enjoyable week away. Location was central to many day excursions for those that wanted to explore the area.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
39 Miles
Wilmington International Airport
Nearest Ferry
70 Miles
Southport Ferry
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
North Shore Country Club
Nearest Motorway
24 Miles
I40
Nearest Beach
North Topsail Beach
Car: necessary

Just a few steps down the private walkway and you're on the beach! Enjoy beautiful views of the ocean from the 3 oceanfront decks, including the rooftop deck with views of the ocean and intracoastal waterway. There is not a public beach access within a mile of Up On The Roof, so this section of North Topsail Beach is not crowded even in peak season. You'll enjoy swimming, surfing, boogie boarding, shell-seeking, sand castle building and just basking in the sun. Start your day with a beautiful sunrise over the ocean and your evening with a gorgeous sunset over the intracoastal waterway.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $200
Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $200
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.75%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. No refunds within 90 days of arrival. Refunds prior to 90 days of arrival are subject to $150 cancellation fee. Date changes prior to 90 days of arrival are subject to $150 change fee. Check in 4pm, check out 10am. No smoking permitted inside or outside the property. Maximum occupancy 12 overnight guests. No events. Minimum age for renters is 25 yrs. old. Small to medium dogs permitted with owner's approval and applicable pet fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.