check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Lake James Red Sands Beach Family friendly Getaway.

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
9
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
7 nights

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9

This cozy cottage is located on red sands beach, lower basin, Lake James boasting awesome sunsets and peaceful surroundings. Features: 75 feet of west facing lakefront, dock to tie up own boat, gradual sandy beach with natural rock sea wall, outdoor furniture, fully furnished interior, equipped kitchen, microwave, gas bbq, full size washer and dryer, large screen HDTV, bluray, wifi and internet access. Master bedroom with queen bed, 2nd bedroom (open landing) with 3 single beds and 1 double and 3rd bedroom with double bed and en-suite bathroom. Electric heating, wood fireplace and a/c unit. Off street parking. Quiet secluded setting with no through traffic on a dead end street, yet with easy access to many local amenities.

There's something for everyone within 15 minutes drive: big name grocery stores and DIY stores, reputable local restaurants, downtown historic Angola, The Outlet Shoppes at Fremont, and Pokagon State Park.

Short term weekly rentals available. Bed linens and towels not included.

A perfect place to have a family vacation.

More Details

Owner
Dan & Liz Auger
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 4, 2017

About Dan & Liz Auger

We moved to Indiana from England in 2001. We enjoy taking family vacations especially by a lake or the beach.

Dan & Liz Auger purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Dan & Liz Auger chose Indiana

We picked this property because of the history in the area, the beautiful setting and the great location on the lake. This is the original home built on the property and has been lovingly maintained and updated throughout the years, so you get the sense of time standing still with the convenience of modern utilities.

What makes this cottage unique

The big trees and beautiful lake views make it a very peaceful spot. The awesome sunsets can be enjoyed both outdoors on the patio and indoors from the picture windows.

Although secluded and peaceful, there are also many amenities available for those days when you want to venture out to civilization...Angola and Pokagon State Park are 15 minutes away, downtown Fort Wayne is 45 minutes, and downtown Chicago is 2.5 hrs drive.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

Lake James Red Sands Beach Family friendly Getaway.
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 17 reviews
5

Loved the property.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much and look forward to staying again soon. Thanks ks for making your home available to everyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

July 8-15, 2016

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time! The cottage is as advertised. Very clean, nicely appointed with all you'd want for a week (or more) at the Lake. Well equipped kitchen with all you'd likely need. The bedrooms were nice and slept the advertised 9 people. Two full bathrooms were a plus. There is a very nice patio area with plenty of chairs and tables. The cottage is on a very flat lot and only steps from the water. The dock handled my 17' fish/ski boat along with the pontoon we rented for the week. The lake in front of the cottage is pretty shallow with a sandy/muck bottom that made swimming....especially for little one, very nice. Don't be put off by the single AC wall unit. It did a good job of cooling the entire cottage. Plenty of fans to move the air around as well. The cottage was very clean when we arrived and the owners were very attentive and responsive with single issue that came up during our week. A very nice cottage allowing for a wonderful week at the Lake. I can't believe how anyone would not enjoy it as much as my family did.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet beautiful location. House just right for our 8. Already reserved for next year!

  • 5 of 5

Clean, nice amenities with wood and grill provided. Sandy swim beach. Coming back!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet and Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was just as advertised. A clean, well kept cottage that offered the perfect relaxing vacation. I would recommend this place to anyone. This property had all the amenities that are needed. The views, especially sunsets, were beautiful.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Vacay Location

  • 5 of 5

We have vacationed in cottages on Lake James for many years. I coaxed my family to spend a little more and upgrade. We shopped around and were beyond happy with our investment in this location!

We are coming back this year, but unfortunately not the week we preferred. Perhaps next year we'll get back to our preferred week!

I can't wait for our week at this property. Well maintained and cared for. The space has a lovely vibe and the local properties are mainly home owners, so it is quiet and quaint, the way we like it!

Glad to see (in another comment) the mattresses will be upgraded. Ah! Blissful vacay on the horizon!

Thanks!

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad to see you returning this year. Each year we are endeavoring to listen to our renters and make upgrades and improvements where we can to make your stay as enjoyable as we can. We have replaced the 3 oldest mattresses for this year and we have also installed a new water heater, new track lighting and a new stove for the benefit of our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice clean secluded vacation rental

  • 5 of 5

Cottage was as advertised and clean when we arrived. Dan was very good to work with. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property to others.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Angola Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring 2017
May 26 2017 - Jun 15 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$1,197
 
 
Early Summer 2017
Jun 16 2017 - Jun 29 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$1,715
 
 
Fourth July week 2017
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 6 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$1,918
 
 
Summer Peak 2017
Jul 7 2017 - Jul 13 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$1,820
 
 
Summer 2017
Jul 14 2017 - Sep 7 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$1,750
 
 
Autumn 2017
Sep 8 2017 - Oct 5 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$1,155
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$1,918
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Taxes include 7% sales tax + 5% Steuben County Inn Keepers tax
Check in on Friday after 6 pm and check out on Friday before 1 pm.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Angola Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1620 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , en suite to upstairs bedroom
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Downstairs
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 3 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , en suite bathroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • marina
  • restaurants
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties