Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Historic Butlerhouse Condominium Pass-A-Grille, Gulffront.

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 725 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 - 60 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3

A HOME WHERE THE HEART STAYS!!! Charming 100 year old Butlerhouse Condominium. This historic building has only 9 residences and sits directly on the dunes in Pass-a-Grille. Unusually airy and bright corner unit with private entrance. Special features include private awning-covered porch, modern open well-fitted kitchen w/gas cooktop, high ceilings, heart of pine flooring, storm/wind resistant windows/doors, Grecian tub plus separate walk-in shower, Sautilla Tile in kitchen and bath, ample closets and ceiling fans, central a/c, beautifully appointed and attractively furnished, new on-site front loading electronic laundry, covered portico and barbque grills, hammock, yard, dunes, daisies, sand, surf and sunsets.. Parking by front of unit. Guest parking available.

(No smoking, no pets please. 5 steps up to porch/deck or main building entrance.) Residential owner occupied area very close to historic Don Cesar Hotel. Relatively private section of beachfront, walk to shopping and restaurants, trolley and 'Free Beach Ride.' 25 minutes toTampa Airport. 45 minutes/one hour to Sarasota. 10 minutes to Ft. Desoto Park. 10 minutes to lovely downtown St. Petersburg on Tampa Bay, with myriad cultural and sports venues, music, theatre, galleries, shopping, European-style cafes and parks. All outdoor recreational activities you can imagine.... golf, boating, tennis, etc. ...are in the neighborhood. BUTLERHOSUE IS THE CENTER OF PARADISE, PASS-A-GRILLE! .

Weekly/weekends available throughout year. Plus 12%Tax if less than 6 mos. Included in Rent: Utilities, cable, USA land line phone, wifi.

Owner resides in building.

More Details

Owner
Joan Walker
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, some Italian, French/Friends speak other languages
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About Joan Walker

I've been blessed to live in Pass-a-Grille, in the Butlerhouse amid a ten block residential area of lovely homes and relatively private beachfront. I moved here from NYC many years ago. I work nearby at Frank Hurley Associates, Inc., Realtors. This is a village community, a haven from which you can explore the beautiful Gulf Coast of Florida and enjoy myriad venues, visit theme parks, villages, shopping, museums, galleries, theatre, orchestra, sports, cafes along Tampa Bay and parks, recreation...and the most beautiful beach in the world. It's a mix of village and luxury, artists and attorneys, a unique community, a place that's very hard to leave. I can tell you.....I finally came to visit in 1982 and essentially, I never left..

Why Joan Walker chose St. Pete Beach

This property sits on the dunes amid a ten block section of relatively private beachfront in a historic residential beach community. It is still a secret, perched on teh beachfront just 9 blocks south of the historic Don Cesar Hotel, but a half mile from the Bayway and direct access to I-275. Besides enjoying a lively historic community with our own main street Pass-a-Grille, one can go to dinner and a concert in Clearwater, Tampa, or Sarasota and be home by midnight. Explore the beautiful communities and beaches and river cafes along the Gulf coast of Florida.

What makes this condo unique

This is a haven that's so easy to get to, and very, very hard to leave.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our pleasure Joan!! Your place made our stay that much better…it was perfect!! If this business deal gets bigger, you’ll be the first person I call for my stays.



Thanks again!!!



Kevin
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Pass-a-Grille Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 725 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Deep Grecian soaker tub plus separate walk in shower off hallway between living area and bedroom. Large linen closet along hallway.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , 2 twins in BR or 1 large king + single daybed in Living room
  • Dresser, Dressing table, bedside table, twin beds (separate or joined to make large king) Full length pedestal mirror, artwork.... Walk-in closet British Colonial Daybed in living room sleeps one.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The Butlerhouse has a long and colorful history in the community, has been the home of legends and legendary visitors like Jimmy Buffett . It was once part of the original Pass-a-Grille Hotel around 1915. There was once an owner named Butler and the name stuck, but it also likely housed hotel staff and traveler companions for the original Pass-a-Grille hotel guests. It is full of kind spirits, aging hippies, professional people, artists, whimsy, computer geek, and happy memories.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

Historic Butlerhouse Condominium Pass-A-Grille, Gulffront.
average rating of 4.83871 based on 33 reviews
5

Heaven🌸

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at Joan's place, she made us feel very welcome, upon us meeting for the first time, Joan had given a very warm welcoming like I never expierenced before, very kind handshakes, as well as hugs to my daughter, she loved you Joan, seems you had a great connection with her, you inspired her, whenever she speaks of you I can see her just light up, lol, she loved your earthly art-see ways, I think you reminded her of herself in ways, just a kind soul, so thank you💕�

You went out of your way to help me book my vacation, which I am very thankful for, you were right on top of any questions or needs and responded immediatly, considering how busy your days are it never interfered ... The place is beautiful and the location is the best, the beach right outside your door step, we had the entire beach to ourselves every day, its away from all the hussle & bussle yet you can walk or take a short drive to entertainment in the area.

Oh and the tenants that live in the other units, absolutely fabulous people, usually at sunset they would all go down to the beach, they were very very pleasant, they treated us as if we lived there all year round though we were renters...

Also, I wanna thank you for the beautiful flowers you gave us just because, we enjoyed their burst of beauty during our stay, it was very thoughtful of you...

So anyway, we definitly plan on visiting again, thanks again for sharing your little piece of heaven with us Joan, it was very meaningful, can't wait to return, until then, take care❤️

Sincerely,

Suzanne & Jozette

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Suzanne and Jozette.... It's easy to immediately embrace people like you, both women so full of grace and joy. Thank you for writing all this about me, and about our old Butlerhouse. It is a special place enriched by spirits such as yours that linger here. Every one of our residents felt touched by you, it is you who light up our place. We look forward to Jozette's next dance on our beach at sunset, meanwhile keep spreading your joy! ,...and hurry back. Love, joan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Awesome location!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay in the Butlerhouse & it was great, again! The location, right on the beach, is ideal. It's close to everything (grocery store, restaurants) and just a short drive to other fun locations like John's Pass. Everything you need is already here!

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Laura... It was wonderful to have you and your family by me for Mother's Day weekend. Thank you for coming again. Safe home, I look forward to your next visit! Warm regards, joan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location unit comfortable

  • 4 of 5

Great owner and neighbors

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Richard and Mary... Thank you for responding to me personally tonight and explaining why you gave me 4 stars instead of 5! I was concerned to make it 5 stars next year! And for sure it will be! Now I understand the missing star was not me or my guest condo, but because of all the road construction in our area, which I can't change of course, improvements along Pass-a-Grille way in our neighborhood, a huge project for many months now. Good news... it will be gorgeous along there by late summer, long before you return, with bike paths and sidewalks both sides, new infrastructure, and all utilities underground. You were both troupers to put up with the worst of it while you were here. It was a pleasure to have you both by me, felt like family left us when you were gone. I hope you're safely arrived back in Vermont ...thank you for booking your stay again in 2018! We will tend the sunsets for you until you return. Warm regards, joan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Pass-A-Grille...Beautiful, Relaxing, Friendly

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Joan for such a wonderful month at your very special Butler House. We can't say enough about our stay there, very clean, well stocked, relaxing and very welcoming neighbors. We especially enjoyed our talks with Tim, John & Deb. Joan or Tim were always available if anything was needed. We will miss our long walks, the gorgeous sunsets, the beautiful beach and all the friends we made.

Mary & JD

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mary and JD... I have a problem saying good bye to many guests, but none so much as you. I'm sure you know this already. Thank you for your warm and thoughtful review. It will be a special day when you return, and meanwhile...I will always see you at sunset! Love joan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful stay!!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I just returned from a two month stay at Butler house in PAG. It was an amazing stay! Everyone was super nice and you were welcomed into the community immediately. Joan has everything you need at the condo to make you feel at home. Property is clean and well maintained. Joan is always available for any questions or anything you may need. Such an incredible experience. Tears in my eyes as we were packing and driving away. I miss my little feline friend, Vincenzo, visiting me for coffee each morning and all the friends we made. Terrific people, great location. You will not be disappointed!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it there!! ❤️❤️❤️

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Caroline and Mike... Vinnie the cat sits on the porch waiting for you. Thank you for your kind words... I know for everyone here I wish you a happy winter, fare well, come back to us soon. I'm grateful for the time you were here and the good spirit you left with me, and I feel sure before long I will welcome you home here. joan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Upland, California
2

Location -- Perfect. Condo -- Decent. Management -- Horrible.

  • 2 of 5

My husband and I own a beach house that is listed on VRBO so tend to side with owners. We have never complained about a stay. However, I am very surprised to read all the reviews about how attentive Joan is. We found the situation to be the opposite. Though she told us she was “right across the hall” if we needed her, we knocked on several occasions at various times and never found her there. We ran out of toilet paper our first day and there was none in the unit so needed to call her for that. We borrowed a hair dryer from a neighbor since there wasn’t one in the unit, and Joan was not around. The toilet seat snapped in half while my husband was on it (no…he is not large). Being sympathetic to owners, we took time out of our vacation to go to a Home Depot in Tampa and bought a replacement. We borrowed a screw driver from a neighbor since, again, Joan wasn’t around. Those things are mildly irritating but not a big deal. However, when I made the reservation in May for our Oct. trip, I provided our arrival and departure info and requested late check out. Joan informed me that it would not be a problem as long as someone was not arriving the same day. In Aug. she requested our arrival and departure information, and I provided it again. The night before we were departing, Joan emailed asking whether we needed late check out. She did not call or text. Since I do not check my secondary email account very often – much less at 8pm on a Sunday when I am on vacation, I did not get the email. I still assumed we had been granted late check out since I had requested it months before and had never heard otherwise. Apparently, we were not on the same page. Mix-ups happen and I normally would not complain; however, Joan handled the situation very poorly. We were at the beach (still assuming we had late check out) when I got an extremely rude text message informing me that we were two hours past check out and needed to pack up and get out immediately. It really was that blunt and that rude. I was shocked. I would never talk to a renter that way even if I thought I was in the right. We were out in 10 minutes. When I explained my belief we had late check out, Joan was apologetic at first but then, explained that I had essentially made my request too far in advance. In my opinion, it is the owner’s responsibility to inform us if her calendar has changed – not the renter’s responsibility to inquire. Either way, the rudeness we were shown was simply unacceptable.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Denise... I regret you were so displeased after all..... I never want a guest to feel this way. I've never had a guest feel this way. I'm disappointed with your negative review, of course, but I appreciate you've gone to such length to express it. So I hope it doesn't seem disrespectful I want to address some of what you've said. It is a fact I must work many hard stressful hours just now, so I can well appreciate how your very long flight and extremely short holiday might magnify any situation we have. I can never guarantee late check out unless the guest pays an extra day. I have no control of my guests' travel details, I can only publish my policy. Could it be you think Butlerhouse is my rooming house I run? It is not. I'm not sure it was right of you to assume some late departure arrangement you were never given. I can only try to help everyone, and I did offer to buy you lunch. I ask guests just prior to arrival how/when they arrive, I leave the light on and the door open. I ask if they need driving directions. The unit was open, you were welcomed, encouraged to call me for anything you were missing or forgot or needed. I agree... there should be a basket full of toilet paper in the linen closet, I wasn't aware it was depleted. Sorry...a supply was on your door only minutes after I received your text That was the last I heard from you, other than you were having a great time. You met Tim our Condo President. We are surrounded by great neighbors, owners. Tim does much of our simple maintenance. I understand your husband borrowed a screwdriver from him to "fix a luggage issue." There would never be reason for you to need to fix something of my unit, and for sure no one would be driving to Tampa! The toilet seat was not broken when you arrived, the entire assembly had been replaced only last week. Whatever adjustment or repair may be needed inside my unit, I should be notified I think.. I don't hover over my guests especially when they seem to prefer privacy. I'm always available by cell, text or email, there's a land line in the unit also, I address any needs or wants that might arise within minutes.....if I'm made aware of them. This doesn't require I remain in my house. I truly regret any confusion and misunderstanding. As your host I take all blame on myself... although I might add no confusion warrants abuse or rudeness to my cleaning crew. Kind regards, joan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Car: not necessary

beautiful waterfront parks, museums, galleries, theatres, orchestra.....sports venues: baseball, hockey, football. Busch Gardens (45 min.), Disney (2 hours), zoo (45 min.), shopping, cafes, recreational sports...tennis, golf, boating, watersports.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pass-a-Grille Beach Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
winter/spring 2018
Jan 1 2018 - Mar 31 2018
60 night minimum stay
$3,400
 
 
april 2018
Apr 1 2018 - Apr 30 2018
7 night minimum stay
$145
$3,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$145
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.0%

WHEN BOOKING IS MADE, TRAVELERS ASSUME RESPONSIBILITY AND LIABILITY FOR THEMSELVES AS WELL AS FOR ANY GUESTS, FOR DAMAGE OR INJURY INSIDE UNIT 3 OR WHILE ANWHERE ON THE BUTLERHOUSE CONDOMINIUM PROPERTY AND/OR COMMON AREAS.

Rates subject to change until reservation confirmed.
WINTER SEASON JAN THRU MARCH/APRIL, THREE MONTH MINIMUM

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable