Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Small, quiet, romantic, reasonably priced cabin, next to a great trout stream

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Helton Creek Guest Cabin is a 1 bedroom, 1 bath, 300 sq ft cabin, perfect for a quiet week or weekend on a state maintained trout stream, Helton Creek. Just imagine fishing on the creek, then grilling out or relaxing in the wonderful hot tub while listening to the creek music. The back porch is a stone's throw from the creek. In the winter you can sit in the hot tub and watch the creek go by and in the summer, there is enough shade to relax on the porch and feel the cool breeze, build a fire in the fire pit, or try your luck at catching a nice trout for dinner.

This guest cabin is great for the extended family or a couple/family who may want to rent it by itself at more reasonable rates, with or without renting the main cabin. It features 1 bedroom (double bed), 1 bath, a fold-out sleeper sofa (sleeps two) in the living room and kitchenette with all utensils, hot plate, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, and large convection oven. DISH TV, Wifi Internet, and phone are included. The hot tub on the private deck is available year round.

There is a fire pit between the cabin and creek with firewood provided. Additional firewood is available under the back deck of the big cabin 30 yds. away.

More Details

Owner
Lauren L. Wood
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2017

Amenities

Lansing Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
Entertainment:
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
There is a fire pit between the cabin and creek with firewood provided. Additional firewood is available under the back deck of the big cabin.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
18% Complete
7% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Small, quiet, romantic, reasonably priced cabin, next to a great trout stream
average rating of 4.5789475 based on 38 reviews
3

Cozy but dirty cabin

  • 3 of 5

It's a cozy cabin. The water/river was delightful, but only heard on the deck because the bedroom is on the road side, so don't plan to go to sleep listening to the babbling brook. The biggest disappointment was a $100. cleaning fee for a dirty cabin. Months of neglect show is filthy lights, windows, drapes... I read other reviews that referenced the exorbitant cleaning fee but no one mentioned the place was not clean. That's a shame. I emailed Lauren Wood the day we returned to share this concern; no response. We'll look at many other places before we return.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Michael, I apologize for the late response to your review. We are sorry the cleanliness of the cabin wasn't to your standard. We have always charged $50.00 to clean the cabin and have high expectations of our cleaning crew. It looks like you requested a pet to come with you which may be where you are getting the additional $50.00 fee. I will be paying a visit next week and do a thorough cleaning myself. Glad you were able to enjoy the creek and hot tub anyway. Lauren Wood
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Too rustic for us!

  • 2 of 5

There are three points we want to make about the Helton Creek Cabin. First the bed and pillows provided were uncomfortable making a good night's sleep challenging. Next, the furniture was also uncomfortable. Third, the location is remote (no cell service). On a more positive note, the creek behind the house is lovely and the hot tub was enjoyable. Might be a nice place to get away from it all once bed and furniture is updated.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

We had a great time! If you're looking for a remote hideaway this is your place!

  • 5 of 5

Great little cabin up in the mountains. 30 minutes to the nearest store. Very clean and everything you could possibly need.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Cute little cabin.

  • 4 of 5

Cute little cabin but needed a new cleaning crew. Cabin was hot (ceiling fan didn't work in living room). Hot tube was great!!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Weekend cabin

  • 3 of 5

The good and the bad. Cabin has everything you need for a short stay. Owners are very accommodating. The hot tub was enjoyable and the view from the back deck was lovely.

The cabin sits only a few hundred feet from the main road, and in between two other cabins, which was a disappointment. If you are looking for seclusion this is not the place to go.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Perfect for a romantic, quiet getaway for 2!

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

Virginia Creeper Bike Trail, 7 miles from cabin. This bike trial follows an old railroad bed which crosses a beautiful trout stream about 25 times in 17 miles, all of which is downhill.

Grayson Highlands State Park in Virginia is about 9 miles away and has beautiful views, wild horses, hiking, Appalachian Trail, horseback trails, music festivals, and more.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lansing Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$115
$690
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 21 2017 - Nov 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$115
$690
 
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$125
$750
 
 
New Years
Dec 29 2017 - Jan 4 2018
3 night minimum stay
$125
$750
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$105
$630
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Pet Fee $50

A pet fee of $50 will be charged if you choose to bring your pet and you must adhere to the Pet Addendum attached to the Cabin Rules.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties