Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Small, quiet, romantic, reasonably priced cabin, next to a great trout stream

Bedrooms 2
Space 300 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Helton Creek Guest Cabin is a 1 bedroom, 1 bath, 300 sq ft cabin, perfect for a quiet week or weekend on a state maintained trout stream, Helton Creek. Just imagine fishing on the creek, then grilling out or relaxing in the wonderful hot tub while listening to the creek music. The back porch is a stone's throw from the creek. In the winter you can sit in the hot tub and watch the creek go by and in the summer, there is enough shade to relax on the porch and feel the cool breeze, build a fire in the fire pit, or try your luck at catching a nice trout for dinner.

This guest cabin is great for the extended family or a couple/family who may want to rent it by itself at more reasonable rates, with or without renting the main cabin. It features 1 bedroom (queen bed), 1 bath, a queen-size sleeper sofa in the living room, and kitchenette with all utensils, hot plate, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave/ large convection oven. DISH TV, Wifi Internet, and phone are included. The hot tub on the private deck is available year round.

There is a fire pit between the cabin and creek with firewood provided. Additional firewood is available under the back deck of the big cabin 30 yds. away.

More Details

Lauren L. Wood
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2018


Lansing Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 300 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Pull out couch
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • festivals
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
There is a fire pit between the cabin and creek with firewood provided. Additional firewood is available under the back deck of the big cabin next door.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
19% Complete
7% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Small, quiet, romantic, reasonably priced cabin, next to a great trout stream
average rating of 4.595238 based on 42 reviews
Indian Trail, North Carolina

Charming spot

  • 5 of 5

We came for our 5th wedding anniversary. Was exactly what we needed- time away and in the quiet of the mountains. It’s so perfect, has everything we needed. Grill works great, the hot tub is SO nice, and you gotta start a campfire under the stars 💕 we hope to come back next year!!

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Alyssa. We appreciate you working with us when you had hot tub heating issues and in helping troubleshoot the problem. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back anytime. Regards. Jim and Lauren
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

This little cabin was the perfect place to celebrate my 40th birthday. The creek is so tranquil, the fire pit by the creek was a delight. The little chipmunks were fun to watch. I enjoyed watching the horses, cows and goats across the street. The hot tub was great after a hike!!! Highly recommend this cozy little cabin. 😀

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Carolina

Very Cozy and Relaxing

  • 4 of 5

When we got there the cabin was clean. It was very small but it was perfect for just the two of us. We loved sitting on the cover deck and watching the creek. My little dog loved going in the creek and chasing the squirrels. It was really nice to see my fiancé get some R&R cause he works really hard. We tried to catch some trout but the creek was just too shallow and the line kept getting tangled on the rock. The hot tub was very relaxing and helped us to relieve some tension.

The two bad things about our stay was: The bed is very hard, but after reading the reviews I did bring my pillow topper and it was perfect. Highly recommend bringing a memory foam or pillow topper. The worst thing for me was the very narrow roads that leads to the cabin. We brought our big truck and I thought I was going to get sick because it scared me so much. There was one place that had no guard rails and it was just a big drop and you had to stop just to make the turn. I really loved the place, but do not think I could ever go back because of the roads.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Small, quiet , romantic get-away!

  • 5 of 5

This is a great cabin for a couple that wants to get away, do some grilling, sit in the hot tub, listen to the stream or sit by the fire pit. Inside is cozy and has everything you need. We will stay again sometime in the future.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy but dirty cabin

  • 3 of 5

It's a cozy cabin. The water/river was delightful, but only heard on the deck because the bedroom is on the road side, so don't plan to go to sleep listening to the babbling brook. The biggest disappointment was a $100. cleaning fee for a dirty cabin. Months of neglect show is filthy lights, windows, drapes... I read other reviews that referenced the exorbitant cleaning fee but no one mentioned the place was not clean. That's a shame. I emailed Lauren Wood the day we returned to share this concern; no response. We'll look at many other places before we return.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Michael, I apologize for the late response to your review. We are sorry the cleanliness of the cabin wasn't to your standard. We have always charged $50.00 to clean the cabin and have high expectations of our cleaning crew. It looks like you requested a pet to come with you which may be where you are getting the additional $50.00 fee. I will be paying a visit next week and do a thorough cleaning myself. Glad you were able to enjoy the creek and hot tub anyway. Lauren Wood
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Too rustic for us!

  • 2 of 5

There are three points we want to make about the Helton Creek Cabin. First the bed and pillows provided were uncomfortable making a good night's sleep challenging. Next, the furniture was also uncomfortable. Third, the location is remote (no cell service). On a more positive note, the creek behind the house is lovely and the hot tub was enjoyable. Might be a nice place to get away from it all once bed and furniture is updated.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Car: necessary

Virginia Creeper Bike Trail, 7 miles from cabin. This bike trial follows an old railroad bed which crosses a beautiful trout stream about 25 times in 17 miles, all of which is downhill.

Grayson Highlands State Park in Virginia is about 9 miles away and has beautiful views, wild horses, hiking, Appalachian Trail, horseback trails, music festivals, and more.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60
Pet Fee $50

A pet fee of $50 will be charged if you choose to bring your pet and you must adhere to the Pet Addendum attached to the Cabin Rules.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties