Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Best Location On Lake! Fantastic Views On Quiet Lake Santeetlah In Smokey Mtns

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom Lakefront Cottage

3 bedroom lakeside cottage on Lake Santeetlah, NC. Private Dock, beautiful views, on quiet island with only 6 houses. Lake Santeetlah has 76 miles of coastline, but only about 2 miles is developed - the rest is National Forest. Very Quiet and peaceful. Perfect for families, watersports, fishing, boating. Great Hiking, kayaking, camping and outdoor sports nearby. Fishing includes smallmouth bass, largemouth bass, walleye, crappie, bream, and lake trout.

There are over 200 miles of hiking trails in the area, and one can hike about eight miles from Lake Santeetlah to the Appalachian Trail.

The nearby Cheoah River is noted for its Class IV and V whitewater rapids.

Lake Santeetlah adjoins a portion of U.S. 129 called the Tail of the Dragon, a road frequently used for recreational purposes by motorcycle and sports car enthusiasts because of its purported 318 curves in 11 miles.

Lake has boat rentals available.

More Details

Property Manager
Russell Culin
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 23, 2017

Amenities

Lake Santeetlah Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Located on one of the best spots on Lake Santeetlah. Wake up to a sunrise over the lake, watch the eagles fly, hiking, biking walking trails abound. Easy access to Hwy 129 'The Dragon', Cherohala Skyway, and Hwy 28. Marina nearby for boat rentals.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Best Location On Lake! Fantastic Views On Quiet Lake Santeetlah In Smokey Mtns
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 13 reviews
5

Paradise Found

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying at the Han house. It has the best views of the lake. We've stayed at 6 other locations on the lake in the past 30 years. The location was very quiet and private.

The house was very clean and comfortable with modest furnishings. The gas grill was top notch and having a canoe for cruising the lake was a bonus.

We will definitely return next year if available!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location on a beautiful lake

  • 5 of 5

We had never stayed on Lake Santeetlah before and it was stunning- the water was so clear and the view is breathtaking. The house was not fancy but very comfortable, with a big great room and most important for us-a deck with a view and deep water dock. It was perfect for our family. The owner was very easy to work with, and when we had an issue with wifi, he immediately made some phone calls, found out there was an outage, and checked to see that it was back on. I would definitely come back again!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, perfect house for our family.

  • 5 of 5

First let me say that if you are looking for one of those high McMansions on Lake Santeetlah, this house is not for you. If you are looking for a well equipped family home right on the lake, this place is perfection. It actually has a driveway, which many places do not have, however, if you are bringing a boat, do yourself a favor and contact Santeetlah Marina to arraign to launch your boat there and store your trailer there. Plan ahead tho, as the owner of the Marina is not good at returning phone calls, so start calling a few weeks in advance. Back to the house, the kitchen is well equipped and there is plenty of room for more than one cook. The master bedroom has a very comfy king size bed and the bath is located off the room. The other two bedrooms are seperated by a jack and Jill bathroom which worked out very well for us. I was concerned that the two window air conditioners would not cool the house well, but it wasn't a problem at all. The master bedroom lacked a ceiling fan, but they provide a stand fan which worked out well for us. There is a table and six chairs on the deck for alfresco dining and bench seating located along the deck railing, which gave me some concern due to having a very active six year old with us, but we told her the rules and there weren't any problems. The only complaint I had about the house was the slider door to the deck, it was quite difficult to open so we would tend to leave it open and we noticed that the black ants would come into the house that way. All in all I would say that we had a very positive experience and we hope to be back.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! Totally agree - the cottage is not fancy, but seems to work quite well for us as well. Thanks for staying here and we hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Outstanding

  • 5 of 5

We had the best time. Cabin was clean and bright, spacious and very well equipped. The lake was sparkling and clear. Amazing view.

Deep water at the dock to swim. We rented a boat from Dayton Camp marina - Bob was very accomodating

Loved it.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! We're glad you enjoyed it as much as we do! All the best.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect family vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

We (four adults and four children) just returned from our stay at this house, and it suited our needs perfectly. There is plenty of space for cooking, dining, and relaxing inside the house and on the back deck, and the beautiful lake is only steps away. We all enjoyed the close proximity of the water, and the dock is perfect for jumping and diving. The neighborhood is quiet, although it would be less so if the gigantic house next door had occupants. (Even if that were the case, the Han house is relatively secluded.) To prospective renters who want more upscale furnishings and finishes, or who want state-of-the-art TVs or stereos, this house is probably not for you. To those who want a comfortable, picturesque retreat in which to unplug and reconnect with loved ones, I highly recommend this spot and hope to return next summer. Thank you, Russ and Han family!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

View was beautiful and dock with canoe was perfect! However, the house is very outdated which isn't a big deal, except the mattress in the master bedroom is hard as a rock, and the kitchen utensils are very cheap. It's hard to flip pancakes when the spatula bends and flops! With 5 boys we like to cook most days and we had a hard time doing that because we were so grossed out by the ants. They were all over the kitchen counters and in the cabinets as well. Every time the oven was turned on they would come running out of the cracks.. I have rented numerous VRBO houses and I have to say this was the worst one that we have stayed in. With a little updating and pest control this could be a great house.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry about the pests - we are sending someone right away to address this. I only wish you had let us know right away so we could have fixed it while you were there. I hope you had a good time besides that. Thanks very much.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lake Santeetlah Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season 2017
May 13 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,325
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $200
Damage Deposit $300

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties