Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Best Location On Lake! Fantastic Views On Quiet Lake Santeetlah In Smokey Mtns

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom Lakefront Cottage

3 bedroom lakeside cottage on Lake Santeetlah, NC. Private Dock, beautiful views, on quiet island with only 6 houses. Lake Santeetlah has 76 miles of coastline, but only about 2 miles is developed - the rest is National Forest. Very Quiet and peaceful. Perfect for families, watersports, fishing, boating. Great Hiking, kayaking, camping and outdoor sports nearby. Fishing includes smallmouth bass, largemouth bass, walleye, crappie, bream, and lake trout.

There are over 200 miles of hiking trails in the area, and one can hike about eight miles from Lake Santeetlah to the Appalachian Trail.

The nearby Cheoah River is noted for its Class IV and V whitewater rapids.

Lake Santeetlah adjoins a portion of U.S. 129 called the Tail of the Dragon, a road frequently used for recreational purposes by motorcycle and sports car enthusiasts because of its purported 318 curves in 11 miles.

Lake has boat rentals available.

More Details

Property Manager
Russell Culin
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 16, 2017

Amenities

Lake Santeetlah Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Located on one of the best spots on Lake Santeetlah. Wake up to a sunrise over the lake, watch the eagles fly, hiking, biking walking trails abound. Easy access to Hwy 129 'The Dragon', Cherohala Skyway, and Hwy 28. Marina nearby for boat rentals.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Best Location On Lake! Fantastic Views On Quiet Lake Santeetlah In Smokey Mtns
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 9 reviews
5

Perfect family vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

We (four adults and four children) just returned from our stay at this house, and it suited our needs perfectly. There is plenty of space for cooking, dining, and relaxing inside the house and on the back deck, and the beautiful lake is only steps away. We all enjoyed the close proximity of the water, and the dock is perfect for jumping and diving. The neighborhood is quiet, although it would be less so if the gigantic house next door had occupants. (Even if that were the case, the Han house is relatively secluded.) To prospective renters who want more upscale furnishings and finishes, or who want state-of-the-art TVs or stereos, this house is probably not for you. To those who want a comfortable, picturesque retreat in which to unplug and reconnect with loved ones, I highly recommend this spot and hope to return next summer. Thank you, Russ and Han family!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

View was beautiful and dock with canoe was perfect! However, the house is very outdated which isn't a big deal, except the mattress in the master bedroom is hard as a rock, and the kitchen utensils are very cheap. It's hard to flip pancakes when the spatula bends and flops! With 5 boys we like to cook most days and we had a hard time doing that because we were so grossed out by the ants. They were all over the kitchen counters and in the cabinets as well. Every time the oven was turned on they would come running out of the cracks.. I have rented numerous VRBO houses and I have to say this was the worst one that we have stayed in. With a little updating and pest control this could be a great house.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry about the pests - we are sending someone right away to address this. I only wish you had let us know right away so we could have fixed it while you were there. I hope you had a good time besides that. Thanks very much.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great laid back home right on the lake... Stunning views

  • 5 of 5

We've stayed at the Han House twice, would have stayed more if it were available. It's not luxury, but very comfortable and well worth it. Everything you need for a relaxing stay on Lake Santeetlah is at the Han House, I would recommend it to my friends. The property was clean and well maintained. Russell Culin (owner/property manager) is very attentive, responsive, and helpful. We'll be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Florida, USA
5

Perfect location and view

  • 5 of 5

Unpretentious house, but with all the comforts of home. Spectacular view. When we got there the first thing my adult son and I did was walk out to the balcony. He turned to me and exclaimed, "How much did you pay for this place? It's a million dollar view." The fixtures and furnishings are a bit tired (except for the brand-new dishwasher, which I loved). It was clean. The home was roomy, with a large great room to view the lake. The air hockey table was missing parts (we substituted and made do) and there was an occasional sewage smell which I could not ascribe to the fault of the house- it may actually have been wafting from a neighbor's poorly functioning septic system or the lake itself, unfortunately. However, I would rent again for the view, the comfort level, and serenity and the location near some awesome peaceful hiking. We enjoyed the books, the music on the old CD player, and the Foosball table. We enjoyed the canoe for two, as well. We cooked in all meals and only went to town to get groceries and have ice cream at the Hub one day. The kitchen was well supplied. My husband was disappointed in that the internet started to blink out halfway through our week and completely was non-existent the last 2 and a half days. The owner and internet company tried to fix it, but it never came back. The owner / manager is a nice guy. We had some 4 G service on our phones, so we survived with that, to be able to look up information and keep in contact with the outside world and the airline for our trip home. Overall, a beautifully peaceful week. I would come back, and I have recommended it to friends.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind review. We are glad you had a great time! We are working with the internet provider to address the issues and expect it to be fully functional. Please do visit us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect Getaway

  • 4 of 5

Han House has everything you need and it's in a great location - charming and rustic and the owner was very easy to work with and accommodating.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! We are glad you had a great time. We hope you think of us again when you are planning a lake vacation. All the best!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cumming Ga
5

Wonderful vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at the Han house for several years in a row. The house is always comfortable and very clean. Our favorite times are sitting on the deck and boat dock enjoying the amazing view. We even had a meteor shower one night!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! We love sitting down by the lake also. All the best!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lake Santeetlah Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season 2017
May 13 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,325
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.75%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties