Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Wonderful, Downtown Treasure

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 650 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Historic Downtown Apartment 2-4 guests

This apartment is right downtown and convenient to everything Taos has to offer including restaurants, shops, galleries and museums.

For five years this was my popular shop Red Cat Melissiana. One day I realized my passion was Vacation Rentals (I have 10) and not retail so it was time to re invent myself once again... Red Cat Melissiana Apartment is located in an 1880's building with all the charm of old Taos and so much history. Originally this was a street with small homes and shops across the street from the Plaza and the original Our Lady of Guadalupe Church. This street was once the Red Light District of Taos with a network of underground tunnels leading to interesting destinations and all kinds of varied stories. There are many spirit activity reports for juicy stories to share. Just ask me...

This apartment is now a newly re furbished space decorated with my antiques, original art and sense of whimsy throughout. It's everything you could want on your vacation for 1-4 guests and so very 'Taos'.

Built in the 1880's, the building has many wooden vigas (ceiling beams), creaky old wood floors, 14' walls and many windows -all operable and screened for summer breezes.

The living room has a queen sofa sleeper and sleeps an additional two guests with bedding stored in antique trunk/coffee table. There is a big flat screen TV if TV is something you want on your vacation. It's located in a one of a kind cupboard in the living room behind closed doors. I also have a record player and albums for that retro feel.

The bedroom features a queen bed with high end bedding and a decorative quilt. There is a trastero/armoire for your clothing and please leave your robes at home since there are two just waiting for your cozy moments here.

The kitchen features an eclectic tiled counter, vintage cooktop, sink and refrigerator combo. It is well equipped and offers all amenities for any cooking at home. Table for two-four and extra chairs if you need them.

The bathroom features a fully tiled corner shower and a sink set in an antique Mexican cabinet. There are lots of towels and any supplies you might need.

Winter heat is provided by two stove. One gas and one electric. For summer there are ceiling fans and a swamp cooler, but the 14" thick walls keep this space comfortable year round.

If you visit in spring, summer or fall you can enjoy 'Melissa's Secret Garden' a private little private oasis under a box elder tree surrounded by container plants, a wall fountain, outdoor lighting and lots of assemblage garden art. I am getting a BBQ grill and string lights so my guests can enjoy this outdoor space.

My style of decor is Melissiana Eclectic. What is this? it's a mix and match style with antiques,yard sale and consignment treasures, original art and more--always fun things for my guests to discover, appreciate and enjoy.

This downtown historic building actually has three private apartments and is perfect for single travelers and couples or combine the three and bring a bigger group of friends and families. The three apartments will sleep up to ten guests in total. All kinds of possibilities (Check out my other two apartments on this street Vrbo 422849 (the Red Cat House) and Vrbo 513557 (Casa Flora)

Great prices, nicely furnished with a quirky sense of style, well equipped, comfortable beds,old adobe with thick walls for peaceful nights and privacy, right downtown and parking across the street. WOW!

More Details

Property Manager
Melissa /Taos mgr.
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2018

About Melissa /Taos mgr.

This downtown apartment was originally my first and in all likelihood my last retail experience. I spent five years re inventing myself. I was an antique store, but liked my treasures too much to sell them... a lingerie store with great pieces, but...I was a flower shop with amazing floral designs, but... Then a popular gift store with truly unique pieces, but nothing ever quite worked... Once more it time to re invent. I realized I did so well with my six Vacation Rentals. I loved furnishing all my places (all those antiques...) and a reason to go to yard sales and my favorite consignment stores. I filled my homes with eclectic bits and pieces. My style was Melissiana eclectic. As my plumber said, 'Nothing you do makes any sense, but when it's all done, it just works!' I had a reason to buy all the original art that spoke to me. I have stayed in so many vacation rentals myself that I have a good idea of just what amenities and extras I wanted to offer vacationers. I enjoy interacting with all my guests and sharing what I love about this little mountain town I have called home for eleven years.. I received so many positive reviews that I decided to close the shop and pursue my passions so Vacation Rental #7! So much fun!!!

Melissa /Taos mgr. purchased this apartment in 2008

Why Melissa /Taos mgr. chose Taos

I fell in love this this historic little street and love the charm of old adobes. It has a great location right downtown, ample parking across the street. The street has so much charm and is beautifully landscaped! That would be me. I was a professional landscaper in Northern California before I moved to Taos and am proud that this street is now considered, 'The Garden Street of Taos'! I even won a Taos Beautification Award. All in my spare time. Ha Ha! It gives locals and visitors so much pleasure every summer and I love the color and vibrancy of my plants.

What makes this apartment unique

Charming old adobe with 14' thick walls, lots of windows, hand hewn vigas (ceiling beams), creaky wood floors. Great privacy and a downtown location that is the best! Comfortable, whimsical and the Secret Garden too...

Amenities

Taos Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , well supplied
  • wonderful sink area- from antique S.W. cabinet tiled corner shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Large and private
    other - 1 queen , 2 sleep sofa /futon , Second bedroom/studio apartment adjoining for two + couples
  • Queen bed with quality bedding. Good bedside reading lights queen sofa sleeper in adjacent living room with bedding for 1-2 additional guests
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
A wonderful private space in an 1880's old adobe. Across the street from the Plaza. Walk to a dozen restaurants. The 'Secret Garden' This apartment can be rented with adjacent apartments for additional guests

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
35% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Wonderful, Downtown Treasure
average rating of 4.5 based on 34 reviews
5

Close to all the activities

  • 5 of 5

Funky apartment close to plaza and easy to get to many sights and activities.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We loved the location, the adobe construction and decorations.

  • 4 of 5

The apartment is quaint and fun. We loved being so close to the Plaza and enjoyed a great concert there on Thursday evening. We enjoyed the entire Taos area including the Enchanted Circle.

The bathroom sink is too small to use much and there is no light by a mirror to put on

make up on or fix hair.

Please work on the front door and lock.

Thank you for such a clean place to stay and a comfortable bed.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for review and suggestions. Yes sink is small, but needed to fit into the southwestern cabinet. Front door has been planed down and now seems to shut without having to slam it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Superb location,quirky decor, well equipped BUT unworkable bathroom sink, dirty

  • 2 of 5

When I told friends I was going to Taos for a week without a car, some were concerned: what will you do all that time there? As it turned out, I had lots to do within walking distance of this superbly located studio apartment. The place itself is very pretty, though dark, and decorated to the absolute hilt with authentic Taos stuff. (Mostly “real” things, few cheap copies.) The sofa is comfy, the TV works easily, and the kitchen is perfectly adequate, though there is no oven. Everything else is there, though v few towels. Other guests have said the shower is too small, but I think that’s really not a problem – it’s plenty big enough for one person, and the tiles in the shower are the place’s best feature after the authentic architecture. Water pressure is wonderful. Less great things: 1. the textiles throughout were dirty. There were two bathrobes hanging in the closet (6 hangers total) and I gratefully put one on the first evening, only to find it filled with dust and covered with other people‘s hair. The hair came off all over the sofa and all over me. Likewise the bedding: there was plenty of it, but everything except the sheets and pillowcases was tremendously dusty. You could smell and see and taste the dust. 2. In sunlight there was a coating of dust on everything. There is v little sunlight, however, except in front, and the window in front does not open. 3. There’s a pretty back patio, but it’s so dirty you’ll have to do some major work to be able to sit there. 4. bathroom sink is nearly covered by a built-in wooden overhang that blocks access. You can wash your hands in it, but that’s about it. I have no idea how anyone would shave, and had to brush my teeth at the kitchen sink. 5. One night the people in the next apartment walked right in on me when I was undressed. No lock on door. 6. There are bars on kitchen window, but only a single doorknob lock in front, on the street side. Out the front is a parking lot; backdoor opens onto marrow alley next to a restaurant. 6. The electricity is scary. Ditto the bulb housings in several of the 15 (!) lights. 7. The WiFi did not work; I had to use unsecured WiFi from the restaurant next door all the time. 8. The cleaning ladies entered w key before 10 am the final morning. Thank goodness I was ready to leave!

I liked the place well enough, but will look elsewhere in Taos in future.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My only two Star review ever! What can I say? PLENTY!!! This guest was angry from the moment she arrived. She was here without a car and angry to discover Taos has no Uber or Lyft services nor a taxi company. She was angry because her phone did not work although everyone elses did . My previous guests here worked while on vacation and no issues.I called my computer guy and he went over the next morning to check this out and found no issues. In this review she made many claims that just were not true. She said "few towels" There were two sets towels and wash cloths on towel bars and four complete sets in sink cabinet. She claimed "textiles dirty" All bedding had been freshly washed as well as robes. I do a special hotel tie on my robes and neither had been untied or used. My housekeepers take pride in their cleaning and are meticulous in dusting. The sink is small, but certainly large enough to brush teeth. I had my lunch in my garden courtyard that very day since it is always cool and shady there. I am a professional landscaper and would certainly have aware if courtyard was in need of attention. I have never had noise complaints about the restaurant next door. It is open for breakfast and lunch 9-3. "Scary electricity" What does that even mean? This is an adobe building and walls are 12-14" thick. Electric boxes and conduit installed as code for adobes and were installed by a licensed contractor. "Bulb housings" Nothing that I could find in my seven lamps. (not the 15 lamps she claimed.) Yes I prefer lamps to ceiling fixtures. The two ceiling fixtures are ceiling fans. This woman was rude and abrasive to my co worker Joy who was there to greet her upon arrival and my housekeeper Lucy who arrived a few minutes before check out to pick up soiled towels and bedding. One of her complaints was that guests in next apartment walked in on her when she was undressed. Not only is that door locked on each side with information that these are separate apartments, but according to my records I had no guests in that apartment during her stay... If any of my guests at my ten vacation rentals contact me during their visit with questions or complaints I always respond immediately (As I did with her internet issue on a Saturday morning) This is one of the reasons I have such a good reputation and welcome many return guests. I guess future guests will have to check my many reviews and photos and decide for yourselves. Two stars is an offense!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Corpus Christi, TX
5

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

The 1880’s apartment had all of the modern conveniences. Loved the funky decor! Located right downtown in walking distance of all of the galleries, restaurants, and shops.

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, this is a fun apartment. You can see how much fun I had decorating it and yes the location is great.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very quaint and cozy apartment in the central downtown Taos! Able to walk every place from here !

  • 4 of 5

My dogs loved the space with the safe & enclosed patio garden. The apartment had everything I needed to start my day , bed was comfy, atmosphere was quiet & peaceful, decor was unique & characteristic of Taos charm . The only thing that I missed was good TV service as the only available service was difficult to operate & quite limited . Also the front entrance was a little difficult to unlock as there were several decorative locks on the front door. Other than these couple of bumps in the road, I found my visit to be quite enjoyable !

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed the apartment and your dog liked my private courtyard. I am in the process of getting a different TV service I have had it with Direct TV. Always something !! Soon will have Netflix and access to a dozen or more TV channels and no more &^%$##$%&* Direct TV. I had to laugh on your comment about my front door! Yes it is decorated and folks take photos every day, but have never before had a guest who had trouble figuring out what is what. All the rest are decorative antique bits and pieces.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent location!

  • 5 of 5

The Red Cat Melissiana is fun and perfectly located! Melissa was easy to reach and willing to help with anything we needed. The kitchen is small; not meant for cooking large meals but perfect for breakfast before heading out for the day, or for other small meals. The location can't be beat. We look forward to returning!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed this apartment. I have recently added a crockpot and a BBQ grill in the private side courtyard for more cooking options, but don't know if you took advantage of the additional possibilities. Yes you can walk everywhere downtown. I hope you found your mom's glasses! I looked everywhere in the apartment and they were nowhere to be found. My housekeepers looked too to no avail...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
150 Miles
Sunport Albuquerque
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Alley Cantina
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Bellas Mexican Restaurant
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Taos Ski Valley
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
John Dunn Bridge
Car: necessary

Wonderful downtown location. Across the street from downtown Plaza. Walk to shops, galleries, museums and restaurants

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
after two guests $25
cleaning fee added $105
per dog $25

Cleaning for 1-2 guests $75. More than 2 guests or with pet $95

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties