Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Round House, Central location with Mountain View in Montreat

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Sleeps 8. 3 Bedrooms. 2 Baths.

***Newly renovated kitchen and bathrooms***

Experience the mountains in a Round house. Ideal Montreat location. Directly across the street from the tennis courts, the park, the Bill Wilde Youth Center and Flat Creek. Only steps away from Conference Center. The two decks offer perfect outdoor living. Relax and enjoy the mountain view or listen to the water rushing down Flat Creek. Or spend the day on the scenic nearby Blue Ridge Parkway, exploring the endless hiking trails of Montreat or the charming shops and cafes of Black Mountain. It’s a 5-minute drive to the wonderful shops and cafes in Black Mountain and a 15-minute drive to downtown Asheville, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Biltmore House.

Upper level boasts a large master bedroom with a king size iron bed, a twin bed and attached full bath. Plus, a great room with large TV, wood beamed ceiling, a fireplace, dining area, NEWLY RENOVATED kitchen and game area. Downstairs has two bedrooms, one with a queen bed and one with a triple bunk bed and a shared NEWLY RENOVATED full bath. Parking for two vehicles. This home has a smart TV, cable, Wii game console, WiFi, washer, dryer, air-conditioner and heat.

About Montreat...

Montreat, NC is a secluded mountain cove community nestled at the foot of Greybeard Mountain and surrounded by the Blue Ridge Mountains. We are located in the far eastern portion of Buncombe County near the Eastern Continental Divide.

More Details

Owner
Amy Barclay
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 25, 2017

About Amy Barclay

I have been coming to Montreat my entire life and my husband and I got married here. It's our favorite place on earth. We recently purchased this home and it has been newly decorated and furnished and has a brand new kitchen, bathroom and flooring!

Amy Barclay purchased this house in 2014

Why Amy Barclay chose Blue Ridge Mountains

We love this property first because of its proximity to everything in Montreat. It is directly across the street from the park, the tennis courts, the playground and the creek. We also love being able to sit on the decks and look at the view of the mountains.

Map

Veranda Cafe & Gifts
"Best lunch around. Everything they make is homemade."
Robert Lake Park
"Wonderful park for children. Swingsets, slides, etc with a creek running through it to play..."
Dowd Tennis Courts
"Right in front of the house. Can't get closer than that."
Lookout Mountain
"Great hike. Doesn't take long and beautiful view of Montreat and surrounding mountains at t..."
My Father's Pizza
"Delicious pizza and great outdoor seating."
Ingles Markets Inc
"Huge grocery store. Try their homemade guacamole!"
Louise's Kitchen
"Delicious breakfast"
Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Asheville, NC
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Interstate 40
Car: not necessary

20 minutes to downtown Asheville, the Biltmore House and Blue Ridge Parkway.

Amenities

Montreat House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , Triple bunk bed / sleeps 3
  • Blankets and Comforters/Quilts are provided. Sheets and Towels can be provided FOR AN ADDITIONAL COST. Please inquire if interested.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
3% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Round House, Central location with Mountain View in Montreat
average rating of 4.766667 based on 30 reviews
5

Terrific house in a Wonderful location.

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a wonderful time staying in the Barclay Treehouse. The amenities were wonderful and the location was perfect. Right next to the tennis courts and playground. The house was clean, beds comfortable and the kitchen was stocked with everything you needed for a week trip. We really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy y'all enjoyed the house and Montreat. Come again !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sweet location and adorable treehouse! Kids loved it too!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time and only wished we had more time to hang out in this awesome cottage! Fun, octagonal house feels like a treehouse right in the heart of wonderful Montreat. Next time we are staying longer, bringing our blankets, and planning on more hangout time on the decks!

Thank you!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm thrilled y'all enjoyed the house. When you visit again, each bedroom has blankets in the bedroom closets and there are more in the blanket chest in the Master bedroom. There are also throw blankets in the coffee table/trunk in the den. Thank you so much!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Very cute but lacking in a few necessities

  • 3 of 5

This was a cute little vacation home and it easily accommodated our needs for the few days that we were visiting my daughter at Montreat College. It was in very close proximity to the school which is exactly what I was looking for. The climate remained comfortable throughout our stay and the home had updated digital thermostats. The kitchen only had 4 coffee cups which was odd for a home that accommodates 8 people. At one time we had guests and came up a little short but we managed. I didn't really like the lack of amenities such as toilet paper and paper towels. Immediately upon our arrival I had to rush out and buy those necessities as there was very little of those things in the home at the time of our arrival. I also failed to observe the note on the email that let me know that sheets and towels are not provided at this residence in our rental fees and forgot to bring those but we borrowed what we needed from my daughter's dorm room less the King bed. If I had packed those things from home then this would have been the perfect spot to visit our daughter. If you are looking for strictly a vacation spot in the mountains, you should be forewarned that your view is of the tennis courts instead of nature. Overall this residence met our needs and we enjoyed it.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have to admit I am confused by your review after you sounded so grateful on the phone. We stated on VRBO and in our welcome letter you were sent a week prior to your rental that we do not provide linens but you can rent them for your stay. This is pretty standard in Montreat. When you called me upon your arrival, you admitted you never read any of the information I had sent you nor the details on our VRBO site. Regardless, we did not want this to hinder your vacation so we offered to get you a full set of linens for all of the beds but you said you only needed King sheets. So we made sure we were able to get you King sheets and we did not charge you. We paid the maid service ourselves to clean the sheets and towels you used. Detailed house information is on VRBO including pictures. The view from the deck is of trees, the tennis courts and the mountain behind it. One of the things our renters love is the close proximity to everything in Montreat including the park, creek and lake. For a larger view, there are a couple Montreat homes that are available to rent that are further away from the center of Montreat and higher on a mountain. I wish you had called me about the coffee mugs. There are 7 in the kitchen cabinet and 3 on the cabinet shelf. Unfortunately we can not provide renters with everything they need but we do provide more than most rentals including starter toilet paper, paper towels, plenty of trash bags, recycling bags, dish soap, dish detergent, ziplocks, wraps and condiments. I'm not sure how we could have made your stay better but hope you enjoyed your time in Montreat.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5

This Montreat house was perfect for a summer vacation in the mountains. When we arrived, the house was clean and inviting. The house is in close proximity to the tennis courts, playground, Lake Susan, and hiking trails. One of my favorite parts was being able to enjoy a cup of coffee on the deck each morning in the perfect temperature.

The cabin had all the necessities and communication with the owner was easy. It was so helpful that the owner left a binder filled with restaurant recommendations, a map with hiking trails, and several pamphlets for outdoor activities in the area as well as tidbits about the Montreat community.

I would definitely recommend a stay at this mountain house to anyone. I hope we will be able to do the same thing next summer. It was a great place to stay! We enjoyed everything about it!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. Come again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect spot to enjoy Montreat

  • 5 of 5

We spent two weeks here and had a fabulous time. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. Hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice place to stay at Montreat

  • 5 of 5

Quiet, clean and comfortable place to relax. Owner has recently completed nice renovations on the bathrooms. Would stay again.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $200

Check in time: 4pm
Check out time: 10am
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.