Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Camp Nelson Cozy Log Cabin

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type cabin

Overview

About the property

Two bedroom log cabin on large flat lot with amazing views

This two bedroom one bath genuine log cabin is located in the lower pier point area of Camp Nelson. Walking distance to the Pierpoint Springs Cafe and Bar.

The views of the mountains and sky are spectacular in this cabin with very large decks front and back. At night gaze at comets and meteors as the view are like an observatory at night. Bring your telescope!

The cabin also has a wood burning stove and two very cozy bedrooms.

If you love star gazing this is the cabin for you!

Set just above the lower Tule River you can hear the water flowing below.

Thank You,

Leah Walton

More Details

Owner
Leah Walton
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 16, 2017

Why Leah Walton chose Camp Nelson

The wonderful cozy feel of a genuine Log Home.

Decorated with a romantic flair.

The star gazing and large decks are fabulous

What makes this cabin unique

Walking distance to the Pierpoint Springs Cafe and Bar with free WIFI.

Spectacular Mountain views,

Forest adjacent, walking distance to town and the river stocked with Golden Trout among The Giant Sequoias. The Nelson Trail is just up the street for hiking, horse back riding and mountain biking. Famous for downhill runs.

The Pack Station provides horse back rides to the Kern River for Golden Trout Fishing. Or hike from the pack station for a day hike to the Kern river bridge in the Golden Trout Wilderness.. Visit The Stagg Tree, third largest , Dome rock for meteor shows, The Needles climb to the lookout tower is Fantastic!!! Peppermint Falls in Lower Peppermint Campground SO AMAZING ..This cabin is available in winter unlike other cabins in the area. This cabin has been winterized! Roads are snowplowed everyday before 9AM. but bring chains just in case.

There are Cross country Ski Trails just 15 min up the mountain and sledding in the meadow are popular in Camp Nelson during the winter months! Take advantage of the low rates and availability in the winter!

Amenities

Camp Nelson Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • New Bathroom with Large Shower , sink and Toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
29% Complete
5% Complete
2% Complete
11% Complete
Camp Nelson Cozy Log Cabin
average rating of 4.029412 based on 34 reviews
5

Really Nice

  • 5 of 5

Amazing place to explore nature

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Better than a tent

  • 1 of 5

Tattered, overpowering odor of smoke.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest never even stayed here???? This cabin is smoke free and upon inspection I have never smelled smoke once. It is a remodeled cabin and is not tattered. This is a hateful and untrue review. I have a strict cancelation policy and was unable to rebook.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
Redwood City, CA
4

Great!

  • 4 of 5

Nice little cabin. Perfect for a weekend of rest in the forest.

Be sure to prepare your stay (maps) before arriving if you want to go for a trail because there’s no wifi and the cafe might be closed.

We really enjoyed the outside part of the cabin (deck) which is in the sun all day. It’s really ideal to disconnect from the outside world and relax!

  • Submitted: May 4, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Remote cabin in the mountains

  • 3 of 5

The little cabin was a cute and it had all the basics. We needed to bring our own firewood and propane for the heater as the cabin is not heated otherwise. It is a beautiful area but the winding road (about 16 miles) getting up there is on the edge of steep drop offs with few guardrails is a bit scary to attempt in the winter. We ended up leaving earlier than expected for fear of weather preventing us from getting off the mountain. We enjoyed the cabin and the beautiful area but the owner turned out to be very difficult to deal with.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is the reason I was difficult to deal with.... I told Julie it would snow but nothing she could not drive on. It just so happened that Julie said the woman that works at the general store told them they had better leave a day early due to weather. The weather report said it would be a small snow flurry but no accumulation. So Julie drove down a day early. I drove down the day Julie was supposed to leave and there was no ice or snow at all on the roads just as predicted. Then Julie wanted a refund! Please listen to my reports on the weather! I follow NOAA everyday and have not had one guest get stuck yet. The next day I asked the lady at the store why she would tell Julie that. and she said OH NO I did not say that they should leave. They told me they needed to get to Catalina to catch a boat very early the day that they were supposed to leave. I have a strict cancelation policy people. If you decide to leave early its not my fault. Cabin Owner Leah
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
1

Blood on the pillows

  • 1 of 5

The owner of this cabin not only forgot I had booked the cabin on the weekend that I did, but also had her friend staying there so I was unable to stay in the cabin the first night. She instead let us stay in a different cabin down the road which she said she had cleaned prior to our arrival, it was clear, however, that was not the case. There was blood on the pillows which she said weren't supposed to be there when she decided to show up at 8am, unannounced, to drop off blankets and clean sheets while also asking my girlfriend and I to clean her cabin before relocating to the original cabin I had booked. She offered an extremely small refund for staying at a cheaper cabin, which I didn't receive.

So to recap, when staying with this owner be on the look out for:

Forgotten reservations

Blood on your pillows

A dirty cabin

Unannounced visitations

A complete hassle

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: THIS WOMAN DID NOT EVEN RENT MY CABIN! THIS CABIN WAS BLOCKED TO RENT THAT WEEK DUE TO A HEAVY SNOW STORM BUT I LET THEM STAY ANYWAY WITHOUT CANCELING. THEY AGREED THAT WAS FINE??? This woman writing never even corresponded with me. John did. They were supposed to move to the Log Cabin at 8AM The next day. I guess he forgot to tell her what we had talked about on the phone before arrival??? This was the morning she claims I came unannounced to the Treehouse! They never showed up over at the Log at 8AM as promised. I waited until 8:30 then went over to get them at the other cabin I had let them stay in due to the booking problem. When I came to the door I was treated horrible by John`s GF. She told me there was blood on the pillows. Then she took me to the closet and threw 2 pillows at me that were left buried in the closet I had no idea where there! People leave things and sometimes I do not see them. I Should have turned them away when they called the day before but I tried my best to find a cabin for them due to the severe weather alert, But instead I get this kind of review filled with misrepresentation. I did issue a refund. I guess John forgot to tell his GF!!! Then I discovered that they brought a dog without even asking me and then they complain about cleaning up after the dog. They did not even read the rules and cover the sofa or bed and there were dog hairs left all over both cabins. John seemed nice but the woman he brought with him was a very disrespectful person, They will be blocked now from my cabin rentals. Cabin Owner Leah
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

What A Great Place to Stay At

  • 5 of 5

Overall the Cabin was Fantastic! The drive up was nice, the people were friendly in the local stores, and the local roads were well kept even in the snow. The Cabin was a little cold at night but with one small heater or enough blankets we were still boiling even with it snowing outside. Definitely a great place to stay at. Visit the Trail of 100 Giants if the road is open and not covered in snow.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $50

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties