Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Quiet Cozy Cottage 6 Miles from French Quarter

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,320 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

Nestled in the safe, family-friendly New Orleans suburb of Metairie, this cozy two bedroom, two bathroom vacation rental is central to nearly everything! Located only one mile off of Interstate 10 with easy on and off access. This home is just minutes from the airport and downtown, which includes the historic French Quarter and all major New Orleans attractions: Superdome (6 miles) Lakeside Mall (2 miles) and all Mardi Gras activities. Chant 'Throw me somethin' Mister' as you catch beads and stomp on Doubloons while walking just a block to the heart of Metairie's family friendly Mardi Gras parades on Bonnabel Blvd.! Explore the cultural cuisine and bar life at the many restaurants and taverns also found within a short walking distance. Take advantage of the one-mile proximity to Bonnabel Boat Launch and Park at Lake Pontchartrain with a fenced park, dog park and jogging/walking path along the shoreline.

This furnished house sleeps six people and is loaded with extra amenities including one queen bed, four twin beds, refrigerator, gas stove, oven, fully stocked kitchen, washer, dryer, flat-screen TV, and the Internet. You simply won't find any other place at this price with this many perks in such a prime location!!!

1320 sq ft. 2 bedroom 2 bath house that sleeps 6.

Bedroom 1: 1 queen bed

Bedroom 2: 4 twin beds

Bathroom 1: shower with grab bars, sink, toilet

Bathroom 2: tub, shower, sink, toilet

Refrigerator, gas stove, oven, microwave, coffee maker, Keurig coffee maker, fully stocked kitchen, washer & dryer, central air & heat, flat screen TV, DVD player, DVD collection, board games, and the Internet.

More Details

Anita Johnson
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2018


Bonnabel Place House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1320 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , new mattress
    Bedroom 2 - 4 twin/ single
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • tennis
  • water skiing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Quiet Cozy Cottage 6 Miles from French Quarter
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews

Very nice house in a nice neighborhood close to attractions

  • 4 of 5

Very nice neighborhood. Very nice house with a VERY LARGE fenced yard for kids to run in. The ambiance is a little dated (wood paneling) but we found that charming. Two baths, two bedrooms. Fold out couch in the TV den.

Owners left snacks and drinks for the taking. Have a Keurig coffee machine and left 30 or so Keurig coffee cartridges, complementary for the use of the guests. 10 minute drive to French Quarter or Tulane. 5 minute drive from restaurant row and major grocery chains. Well equipped kitchen (pots pans plates silverware cookware) to cook family meals. Met the owners, very nice people. No issues getting our security deposit back.

NO DISHWASHER. I forgot to check that before we rented it.

Here is the reason I didn't give 5 stars:

Owners have made a reasonable attempt to supply with electronics like WiFi and two different streaming devices. But the internet service is DSL THAT CLOCKS IN AT 2 MBIT/SEC. 2. That is not a typo. If any device is streaming (Netflix, youtube), then no other device has any bandwidth left to even load a webpage. For reference, I had 10 MBIT/SEC in 1998. I just upgraded my family home from 50 MBIT/SEC to 200 MBIT/SEC. This house has 2 MBIT/SEC. In order to successfully download movies to my kids iPads for the drive home, I had to turn on cellular HotSpot on my iPhone. Which was much faster than the house connection.

I don't know if this is a New Orleans thing or what. Perhaps actual high speed internet hasn't reached this part of the country yet. But 2 MBIT/SEC is unacceptable in any urban area in 2018.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kate, We are sorry that the internet was slow during your stay. Unfortunately, we don't have fiber optics as an option in our area at this time. Also, we found out that our Google Chromecast was affecting our internet and have since unplugged them. We realize that we don't have a dishwasher, but we try to make up for it by provide paper plates and plastic ware for people to use. Kind Regards, Anita and Richard
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect location, short drive to all parts city, pet friendly.

  • 5 of 5

The house was spacious & comfortable, with a fenced in yard , perfect for travelling with our 2 dogs. Walking distance to the local parades during Mardi Gras and a short drive to the city. Nice outdoor seating too to enjoy the good weather. Owner very pleasant to work with for reservation and other info. We all enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A very nice well maintained older home. Very well supplied.

  • 5 of 5

A very nice well maintained older home. More extensive supplies of paper towel, towels, toilet paper etc. than anywhere else I have stayed. The bedrooms are spacious and the yard is wonderful. About a mile from a very nice bike/jogging trail along Lake Pontchartrain with parking at the end of Bonnabel. A very quiet neighborhood.

A few minor negatives - the master bedroom shower would be problematic if you are over 6 feet (there is another shower) and the dining area is a bit small.

Overall, I liked the house a lot.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. Glad your stay was enjoyable and that you liked the house. We are sorry that the master bathroom was problematic and it is our intention to raise the height of the shower in the near future. We would love to host you again. Anita & Richard
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

very nice house

  • 5 of 5

Nice location, clean , issues addressed immediatlely

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your positive review and hope to see you back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The house had everything you could ask for!

  • 5 of 5

The house was very clean. You walk in and felt right at home. Great location in a very nice yard and patio. Was extremely p,eased with everything.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lincoln, AL

Family vacation

  • 5 of 5

This place was wonderful. We had snacks on the counter and drinks in the frig when we arrived. The laundry room was stocked and there were plenty of towels. The home was clean and spacious. Everything is convenient to the home. We used the Uber car service to travel around town which was really easy. The owners were wonderful. We had no issues at all. We will definitely rent again.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Stacy for the lovely review. We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to hosting your family again! Richard & Anita
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
Nearest Ferry
12 Miles
Algiers Ferry
Nearest Golf
4.3 Miles
Bayou Oaks Gold Course, City Park
Nearest Motorway
0.8 Miles
Interstate 10
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Giorlando's Restaurant
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Pet Fee $100
Refundable Damage Deposit $500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties