Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Take A Week Off Your Busy Life, Come Relax On The Dock With A Glass Of Wine

Sleeps17
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 3,800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Bright, large and cozy lake house, great for a large or multiple familie

Come and take a week off your busy life, relax on the dock with a glass of wine or a cold beer.

Beautiful Lake House ONLY 45 MINS FROM BARRIE.

Long Lake is in beautiful Bala. Our Lake House blesses us with amazing sun set views....and a Lake that is perfect for canoeing, boating, tubing or just bird watching.....we have it all.

The house is 3800sqft, has 7 bedrooms, 3.5 baths, fully equipped kitchen with Dishwasher, espresso machine...and so much more....its PARADISE with just good times.

In addition, after a long day on the water, why not light up some candles, put on some soft music and hit the HOT TUB...and enjoy the view of a STARRY NIGHT.....

If you weren't convinced yet, we also have:

PADDLE BOAT

2 KAYAKS

Large dock with Muskoka and lounge chairs, 16’x16’ dock

Shallow sandy water entry, very safe for small children but gets deeper at the end of the dock (20ft from shoreline)

Wifi (please note internet service is sometimes unreliable in cottage country)

Media player with dozens of the latest movies

All linens and towels will be provided.

Sound system, easy to connect via Bluetooth from a smart phone

Hammock

This Lake House combines the relaxing world of cottage life on the lake with the convenience of having the town within reasonable walking distance with Beer store, LCBO and a Freshmart grocery store .

The Kee to Bala is also a very well know concert hall and it opens on May 24 weekend. They hosted some very well-known artists last year such as Snoop Dog (not a misprint, I couldn’t believe it either), Kim Mitchell, Blue Rodeo, Sam Roberts, etc.

More Details

Owner
Philip Goncalves
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, portuguese
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

Amenities

Port Carling Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 17
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 17 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Foyer bathroom - toilet
    1st floor bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Recently renovated
    Basement bathroom - toilet , shower , Recently renovated, glass shower, washer and dryer
    2nd floor bathroom - toilet , shower , bidet , Recently renovated, large glass shower, dual sink vanity
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 17
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Bedroom on 1st floor, queen bed with a pull-out trundle
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Bedroom with queen bed and single bed
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single , 2 single beds that can be pushed together to create a king
    Bedroom 7 - 1 queen , 2nd floor bedroom with barn doors
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Large master bedroom on 2nd floor with ensuite, lake view
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Master bedroom on 1st floor, patio door, lake view
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Bedroom with patio door to garden, lake view
    Day bed - 2 twin/ single , Day bed with pull out trundle on the 2nd floor loft
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Take A Week Off Your Busy Life, Come Relax On The Dock With A Glass Of Wine
average rating of 4.714286 based on 21 reviews
5

Simply perfect!

  • 5 of 5

We rented the cottage for the weekend after our small, elopement wedding and invited our friends to join us to continue the celebration. It was the perfect setting, space, and set up. Everyone was comfortable and constantly commented on how amazing the cottage was! Everything we needed was included (cooking appliances and dishes, bed linens, towels, etc.). The games room, hot tub, and the surrounding cottage grounds added the perfect touch for when we were looking for something to do! We couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate our marriage! Thank you for sharing your beautiful, lake front cottage with us!

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Andrea for the wonderfully review and congrats on your wedding. Best of luck.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
toronto
5

Amazing property!

  • 5 of 5

Our group loved the cottage and the waterfront.

The kitchen have everything we needed, the bathrooms were well appointed with great towels, bed linens were of the best quality.

The pool table and fooseball table were great entertainment during the short rain periods and during the evening. The hot tub was very well maintained and the water quality was superb, nice and clear.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, the pictures and information on this listing doesn't do it justice. We'll come back again for sure.

Thank you Philip for being so responsive and a great host. You have a slice of heaven...

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Pics don't do it justice!

  • 4 of 5

Would love to go back again someday!

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect winter cottage

  • 5 of 5

This cottage is beautiful, the pictures don't do it justice. We had a large group and everyone was very comfortable. Philip is a very attentive and helpful landlord, answering all my questions and emails quickly. Our only issues were very minor, and he helped to resolve them immediately. We would love to go back and stay there again.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Meg for your great review. We're glad you and your guests enjoyed themselves. Would love to have you back...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

warm and welcoming, picture-perfect views

  • 5 of 5

Quick summary: stop searching and worrying and rent this well-appointed lakehouse with something for everyone.

I've learned to lower my expectation when I see rental photos - cottage country is full of serviceable places that are always a little rougher around the edges than what they appear to be in the photos. This place is the opposite. All accommodations I can recall were above-average to high quality: the beds, kitchen appliances, media system (bluetooth connectable), heating (nest - we were there when it was cold), clean 'designer' bathrooms with those massive showerheads, a very well-maintained hot tub with lake views, paddleboat or kayak, indoor things to do (pool or fussball, chess, reading nooks). Clearly, they put a lot of thought into making this place feel comfortable for a range of renter's needs.

Too pragmatic for you? How about this - wake up to a hot cup of joe however you like it (drip, french press, espresso) and then choose where to drink it alongside your spectacular (really) lake views: from your bedroom, or the open-concept living and dining areas...walk a few steps farther onto the upper deck, or head down to the fire pit or onto the floating deck, relaxing in the muskoka chairs. That's just the start of the day. Head to Bala (walking distance) for lunch or ice cream, or get in a boat and enjoy the lake, stay indoors curling up in the cushy sofas reading a book, or make a short drive of maybe 10 minutes to some hiking trails with more amazing views (we recommend Hardy Lake, but so many to choose from). Other reviewers mentioned the houses on both sides. For us, this house's windows, hot tub, fire pit, etc. seem designed to maximize privacy, and we didn't hear anything, we just saw the cars next door.

What was missing? More time to spend there!

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. When we decided to start renting our "slice of heaven", our goal was to provide comfortable accomodations and long lasting memories for our guests. Your review is proof we achieved our goal. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

"Sharing Issues".

  • 3 of 5

We stayed for 1wk in late July. The house is very well appointed and there are many special touches (foosball, hot tub, hammock etc) that enhanced our stay.

There were a couple of issues that need to be made clearer to potential renters. We were looking for a quiet setting, however the property is in the middle of a half-dozen closely spaced docks- so there is often noise from the lakefront.

The property is actually shared with a second smaller house about 10 metres away. Each house has its own narrow strip of land down to the lake. The boats are shared as well.

There is no air-conditioning and the ceiling fans were insufficient during our hot mid-summer week. This was made worse by not being able to open windows/ screens in the evening as smoke from the neighbor’s campfire would drift into our cottage.

The above sharing issues were only made clear many months after booking when the welcome package email was sent out- far too late to reconsider things. We were reassured by the owner that there never was a problem with the sharing issue, however this ended up materializing. We discussed possibly shortening our stay with Philip but he never got back to us with his response.

This is “cottage country” but it was nevertheless disappointing to have malfunctioning screen doors, a leaking fridge and plumbing that required that no paper at all be flushed down the toilet.

We had a similar experience with excessive cleaning charges as Martine did earlier this summer. We too, did our best to leave the cottage as clean as possible, paying attention to the detailed cleanup instructions. Despite this our cleaning charge was more than one and a half times the quoted amount.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear guest, I’m sorry you feel the cottage didn’t meet your high expectations. I understand and expect that I can never fully please all my guests, however your expectations are somewhat unreasonable. I have had many great reviews on this website, yours being the only negative one. Having said that, I reviewed all our communication/emails and I feel I must comment on your complaints: Cleaning fee- The listing simply states to “please assume a $300 fee, however it can be higher depending on how dirty/messy the cottage is left”. Your fee was $388, not “one and a half times the quoted amount”. Privacy – I never misrepresented the property in this listing, by stating that it was secluded and without neighbors. You had many specific questions prior to booking, none about privacy. If privacy was such an important factor to you, you should’ve simply asked me. If total privacy and seclusion is a “must have”, you will not find such a property in Muskoka. Your comment in regards to a “small strip of land down to the lake” is unfounded, the property you rented has over 80ft of water frontage. Sharing issues – the kayaks and peddle boats are shared and I may not have stated that fact, however we are purchasing 2 additional kayaks at the end of this season so this will not be an issue next year. Malfunctions – unfortunately things like a defective screen will happen at times, due to wear and tear. I would’ve send someone to fix the issue immediately if you had called and let me know about it. The fridge had a clogged drain pipe, it has been fixed since your stay. I’m also trying to understand how placing toilet paper in the provide basked next to the toilet is such an inconvenience to you. We request that paper not be discarded in the toilet bowl for 2 reasons – possible clogging of the pipes and efforts to recycle as much as possible. Air conditioning – you are the first guest to complain about this. If you keep the windows open (front and back/side), the constant slow breeze from the lake is enough to cool the cottage. I can’t understand how smoke from the neighboring fire pit was so intense that forced you to close all the doors and windows! The closest fire pit to the cottage is at least 120ft away!!! As well, I too received a complaint, from the neighboring property. According to them, you made their presence very uncomfortable and on multiple occasions you told their children to be quiet. I’m sorry but THAT is unreasonable and unacceptable in my books…
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Moon river lookout

Photos

Rates & Availability

Port Carling Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season 2016/17
Sep 16 2016 - Jun 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$439
From
$476
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Victoria Day weekend
May 19 2017 - May 22 2017
4 night minimum stay
$2,415
Flat fee
 
 
High Season 2017
Jun 16 2017 - Sep 8 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
$5,123
 
 
Low Season 2017/18
Sep 9 2017 - Jun 14 2018
3 night minimum stay
$439
From
$476
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,097.7

A $1500 security deposit will be required. A cleaning and laundry fee will be deducted from the security deposit. The service is provided by a local cleaning business and a copy of the invoice will be provided approximately 1 week after your departure date. From previous rental history, this fee is usually in the $300-400 range, depending on how dirty/messy the cottage is left. For example, the cost will be higher if dishes are left in the sink, garbage is not placed in the metal bins by the street, bbq not clean, indoor/outdoor furniture relocated from their original location, debris (pine needles, leaves, sand) in the hot tub from leaving the cover open while not being used, etc.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties