Located in West Lake Ainslie, this cabin is next to a golf course and on the beach. St. Marys Parish and Mother of Sorrows Pioneer Shrine are local landmarks, and some of the area's activities can be experienced at Glenora Inn and Distillery and Cabot Links. Inverness County Centre for the Arts and Bellemeade Farm Shoppe are also worth visiting. Kayaking and scuba diving offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with mountain biking and hunting nearby.
Is Mayfly Tiny House on fresh water Lake Ainslie 12 min distant to Inverness beach pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Mayfly Tiny House on fresh water Lake Ainslie 12 min distant to Inverness beach?
As of Oct 29, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Mayfly Tiny House on fresh water Lake Ainslie 12 min distant to Inverness beach on Oct 31, 2026 start from $212, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking?
Onsite parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Mayfly Tiny House on fresh water Lake Ainslie 12 min distant to Inverness beach?
Check-in begins at 5:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Mayfly Tiny House on fresh water Lake Ainslie 12 min distant to Inverness beach?
Check-out is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Mayfly Tiny House on fresh water Lake Ainslie 12 min distant to Inverness beach located?
Situated in West Lake Ainslie, this golf cabin is steps from Lake Ainslie and 1.8 mi (2.9 km) from Black River Bog Nature Reserve. Glenora Inn and Distillery and Inverness Miners Museum are also within 9 mi (15 km).
Reviews
8.4
Very Good
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labeled.
Would be nice to know what you missed for giving 5 stars. Although you stayed with 2 person but booked for 1 only
and I did not charge extra. Your private message was: Everything was fine, very quite place and perfect to relax. thanks
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Lisa
Sep 5, 2023
Liked: Property conditions & facilities, communication
Great spot to stay in central area of Cape Breton island!
Nice tiny home by a great view of Lake Ainslie. Great host and I recommend this spot!
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2024
Verified review
8/10 Good
Laura
Aug 8, 2025
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
The Mayfly Tiny House was so cute and cozy. It is very quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed watching eagles fishing in the lake in the evening and the sounds of loons every morning. A lovely stay!
Very calm and quiet location, this cute and very clean tiny house is well equipped and welcoming for a nice relaxating stay.
The mini woodburning stove is the cutest thing!
Rob is a charming host and was very helpful.
We really enjoyed winding down for the start of our summer vacation at the Mayfly
Craftsmanship of the tiny house was done well.
It met our needs as a place to sleep after spending the day on the beaches of Mabou and Inverness.
A few expected amenities were missing….no top sheet on the bed leaving only a heavy duvet. Given the extreme heat it would have been nice to have a sheet to cover yourself with!
And no facecloths in the washroom.
The only other issue was the water; it had an extremely unpleasant odour, although the owner did tell you not to drink the water.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on Aug 1, 2023
Sorry you didn't communicate that before leaving 3 stars. We provide drinkable water due to insurance liability. We prefer European bedding, means the blanket is completely covered with the duvet cover. Anyway if you would have asked there is a flat sheet in the cabinet. Sorry for no facecloths, we thought two towels (a big and a smaller one) are sufficient.
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Darrell M.
Jul 30, 2022
Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Location, listing accuracy
Website misleading
The little house was fine. However, the property was not properly maintained; wild bushes, undergrowth, weeds. No access to the lake. Impossible to enjoy the surrounding property. Drive was narrow / difficult to turn car around for leaving. Overpriced with hidden charges. Should not be a separate cleaning charge. The property was overbooked, and through no fault of our own, we were left with 2 nights rather than 4 nights…but we’re not re-I’m used for half of the cost. Completely unacceptable. We will never return there and will let our friends and family know of our experience
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on Aug 20, 2022
I am sorry Darrel, I try to understand your concerns, but I can’t understand lies. It is just not true that you were not reimbursed. You paid what you booked, and this is the responsibility of VRBO. They charge to your credit card and they refund if there was something wrong. All your complains are beyond acceptability. It is not up to you to suggest that we should not charge for cleaning. Actually we had a lot of extra cleaning after your stay . Anyway before you hit the book button you see exactly what will be charged to your credit card. Why are you complaining after your booking that you selected wrong days and that there was a cleaning fee? You get exactly what you see on the website, even the driveway is visible on the areal video. It was never a problem for nobody to turn the car 10m distant and drive backwards to the tiny house. Even in front of the house is space enough to turn a standard truck. The access to the lake is no problem if there are no dissabilities or health issues. The only argument I take serious are the wild bushes and flowers. We like bees and butterfies in the backyard. Call it not properly maintained, I can get along with that and you see exactly on the pictures how it looks like.