1940 beach cottage newly renovated and updated with homey charm and black dogs
About JB Smith
We love beaches everywhere
JB Smith purchased this House in 2016
Why JB Smith chose Port Aransas
It is a classic and next door to our larger home, Chapel Hill House
What makes this House unique
Perfect for a wedding at the Chapel in the Dunes
Pool / Spa
Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Damage and incidentals
You will be responsible for any damage to the rental property caused by you or your party during your stay.
No smoking - Smoking outside onlySmoking outside only
Max guests: 9 (sleeps up to 9 adults)
Minimum age of primary renter: 25
We booked this cottage last moment for the location and private pool. The house is cute, the kitchen was fully stocked with anything needed to cook or BBQ. The owner was available for any question day or night and quick to respond. We enjoyed our stay, the pool was amazing to use. The pool is shared with the rental property next door, however there wasn't a usage issue. The house was tidy and neat, but we couldn't find a broom to sweep and in turn we felt like we couldn't keep it clean. The house is spread out well and has 3 bathrooms. It was a good find.
Covid 19 broke out.
We rented for a month. Really liked the house. Very comfortable master bed. Cute kitchen and nice living room area. Pool is great! Problem with no hot water initially. Landlord had a plumber there right away. Thought it was the water heater. Had to wait for a part. Then water heater replacement and finally a leaking pipe that was the problem. It was fixed immediately. In the meantime JB let us shower in their rental next door. Once we got hot water everything was great! Then the pandemic! All the restaurants and businesses closed except for take out. We could still walk on the beach. It’s a great place to have to shelter in place! We had hoped to have friends join us but no one was traveling. We did get to know the landlords JB and Bruce and they are very nice and accommodating. We will have to come back next year when things return to normal! Tom and Jeanne
A terrible experience
If you rent the black dog cottage based on the pictures don’t. House was run down unkempt and smelly. The crack under rear door was approximately half inch which could let rodents in owners did try to address our concerns but stains in carpets came back along with the smells. We could hear rodents in walls at night and smell of rotten rodents were overwhelming we packed up and left the first part of the second month without a refund.
We listened to your concern that our pictures were not accurate because "we put up a fence and moved the fire pit". This is true and we will update pictures as soon as we can. We had the carpets cleaned after your arrival, even though they had been cleaned recently and we did not identify any smell ourselves. White carpets are hard to maintain. We had removed the carpet in the master bedroom and refinished the hardwood floors before your arrival. The home has been booked pretty continuously so we tackle refinishing the floors one room at a time. We heard nothing until a month later when you called to say you were leaving the next morning. We asked our pest service to inspect immediately because a rodent issue would concern us too! Our service found no smell or issue. We stayed there a day later and did not either. This is an 1940's beach cottage and we preserve it in a beach environment. There are always projects in an old house but it is comfortable, clean and homey, with a new pool. It is not perfect but we think guests know that they can relax and do their best to address a spill or enjoy their pet sitting beside them on the furniture. We offered to pay you for any rental we get in the time you reserved, and will still do that. We are sorry you did not enjoy our home and have chosen to handle your decision to go home in this way.
Nice place with many cool things to do. Very well stocked.
My family and I had a great time.
Thank you Drew! We appreciate the review, and hope you will return to the island!
Worst vacation rental in 30 years
Run down, broken dirty shack. The owner knew of all the problems and refused to address them. Stated that "sorry your standards are higher than mine". So, electrical plugs hanging out of wall, ceiling falling in, doors hanging off the hinges, shower bars that fall on you, drains that don't drain, white carpets that are stained with dog urine, vomit and kids pink play dough.. The exterior had rotten wood, broken
windows and the place was falling apart. Owner defended the condition and stated it was me that had too high of standards. Stay away!
We are sorry you were not satisfied. You demanded a refund just after arrival and we suggested that you look for any other home with a pool, our amenities and beds for 9 within walking distance to the beach, even close to our price range. We never discussed your standards or ours, and only told you that we thought you would truly enjoy our home. Hearing nothing more, we expect that whatever standard you have was unavailable at less than twice our nightly rate. We addressed every concern you raised and are very sorry you needed to take this approach.