Mountain Cabin with 180 degree panoramic views just 15 minutes from Hanging Rock

Photo gallery for Mountain Cabin with 180 degree panoramic views just 15 minutes from Hanging Rock

A spacious room with large windows, wooden ceiling beams, and a central island with a built-in microwave.
A spacious loft with high ceilings, large windows offering panoramic views, a cozy seating area, and a kitchen with a bar.
A spacious room with large windows, a dining area with chairs, a sofa, and a telescope.
A modern kitchen with wooden cabinetry, a stainless steel refrigerator, a built-in oven, and a large island with bar stools.
A dining area with a glass table and chairs, large windows, and wooden walls.

Reviews

9.2 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Family fun awaits
    Top-rated for families.
  • Arcade/game room
    A rare find - fun for all ages with on-site arcade/game room.

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Hot tub on site
  • Arcade/game room
  • Barbecue grill
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator

Explore the area

View in a map
King, NC
  • Place, Hanging Rock State Park
    ‪8 min drive‬
  • Place, Camp Hanes Upper Lake
    ‪17 min drive‬
  • Place, The Dan River Company
    ‪17 min drive‬
  • Airport, Greensboro, NC (GSO-Piedmont Triad Intl.)
    ‪59 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 10)

Lower bedroom

2 Single Beds and 2 Double Beds

Main floor

1 Queen Bed

Upstairs loft

1 Queen Bed

3 bathrooms

Lower floor bathroom

Toilet · Shower only

Main bathroom

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Upper Bathroom

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Balcony
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

King

Located in King, this cabin is in a rural area and in the mountains. Danbury Historic District and Horne Creek Living Historical Farm are local landmarks, and some of the area's attractions include The Dan River Company and Rural Hall Train Depot. Break out the clubs and hit the links on a nearby golf course, or seek out an adventure with mountain climbing, rock climbing and hiking.
Map
King, NC

What's nearby

  • Hanging Rock State Park - 8 min drive - 5.5 km
  • Camp Hanes Upper Lake - 17 min drive - 14.4 km
  • The Dan River Company - 17 min drive - 21.2 km
  • King Recreation Area - 23 min drive - 22.6 km
  • Pilot Mountain - 27 min drive - 35.0 km

Getting around

  • Winston-Salem, NC (INT-Smith Reynolds) - 37 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪John Browns Country Store - ‬12 min drive
  • ‪Tlaquepaque - ‬25 min drive
  • ‪Tlaquepaque Mexican Grill - ‬18 min drive
  • ‪Goodtimes Bar-b-cue - ‬25 min drive
  • ‪US Hibachi - ‬17 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Mountain Cabin with 180 degree panoramic views just 15 minutes from Hanging Rock pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Mountain Cabin with 180 degree panoramic views just 15 minutes from Hanging Rock?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Mountain Cabin with 180 degree panoramic views just 15 minutes from Hanging Rock?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Mountain Cabin with 180 degree panoramic views just 15 minutes from Hanging Rock?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Mountain Cabin with 180 degree panoramic views just 15 minutes from Hanging Rock located?

Situated in the mountains, this cabin is 0.7 mi (1.1 km) from Hanging Rock State Park and within 12 miles (20 km) of Camp Hanes Upper Lake and LifeBrite Community Hospital of Stokes. Danbury Public Library and The Dan River Company are also within 12 miles (20 km).

Reviews

9.2

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 27 out of 36 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 6 out of 36 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 36 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 36 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 36 reviews

8.8/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

9.6/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

9.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Cabin was perfect!
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Views were amazing and the house has plenty of room. Pool table and hot tub were nice to have available. Cleanliness of the house could use work. Dishes were left in dishwasher, wet laundry was left in washer, laundry left in dryer and dead insects all over the house.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great views

Enjoyed immensly
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Breath taking views.

Loved it unforgettable.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great weekend

Had a great weekend celebrating our daughter’s 13th birthday. This place is great. Had a few small issues and the host got right on it. I would definitely recommend staying here.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Honeymoon

My husband and I truly enjoyed our time at the edge of paradise!! The views are amazing, this was the cherry on the top for us. Jonathan is extremely helpful and responsive.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

New year 2023

the perfect place to share with the family away from the bustle of the city, beautiful views and a cozy place, thanks Jonathan.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Mountain Getaway

Jonathan’s house is a beautiful getaway. It is poised on the edge of a mountain overlooking beautiful North Carolina out to Winston-Salem in the distance. The house was very comfortable for our family of four and the open kitchen-living room with gorgeous cathedral ceilings and windows made it a wonderful place to wake up in. Hiking nearby was excellent.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2022
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Nice view!

Great view! Property is a bit outdated and some of the fixtures are not functional such as fans and screens. The AC was marginal. Host responded within a day or two to communications.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2025
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful view!

This is a beautiful home with an amazing view. The only concerns we had were lack of attention to detail such as light bulbs burnt out, no lamps in primary den area (dim overhead lighting), couldn’t get ceiling fan to come on in bedroom, patio near hot tub wasn’t very clean, grill had not been cleaned. We loved the home itself otherwise.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2023
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication, listing accuracy

Renter Beware

The location and view were amazing; however, the condition of the house was less than described. The basics as described in the rental listing were not adequately provided, such as but not limited to only ONE washcloth available for a house that sleeps 10; lights and fans that did not work despite all switches being in the full ON position and remotes tried; lights that did work were extremely dim due to too low bulb wattage; dirty utensils and cookware; very limited cookware (ONE pot and 2 small-med frying pans; low water pressure neccessitating long wait periods between individuals taking showers, dirty bed linens as evidenced by a dirty sock not belonging to our guests being found in the bunk bed linen, extremely steep driveway making it difficult for cars without four wheel drive to easily access the main road from the house, etc....The owner was contacted about the basic concerns to which the response was we don't provide that level of service, we are don't have staff and we will address the concerns AFTER your rental is complete. This could be an amazing rental if the basics as described are provided, care given to the renter when concerns are raised and issues addressed immediately.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Dec 2024
Toni asked us to come out the same day she arrived (Friday evening) to deliver washcloths. This was a surprise to me as we have sheets, towels, and washcloths laid out for each guest on the bed when you arrive. I checked with our cleaning team to verify procedures were followed, and then spoke with Toni. She insisted that we come out immediately, when we could not accommodate that request, she became very disgruntled. I checked the property personally after she left to make sure I got to the root of any issues and sure enough, there were washcloths as well as lights and everything in order. Our home is kept in tip top shape and you can be assured that your experience will be spectacular as the rest of our guests, and I wish Toni the best.
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in, communication
Disliked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy

Over 30 item list of filth,, broken, dangerous, or not maintained filthy health hazard property.

I want a full refund on this. It was the most misleading stay I have ever had. I took over 30 photos of the disgust, filth, flat out broken, dangerous, missing, or ill maintenence. This is NOT a premium property and I will be filing report on this property with photo proof. White bath towels had yellow & brown stains, hot tub broken, dead German roaches in downstairs bar, only had 4 spoons, only had 3 butter knives we had to share spoons for cereal, the comforters smelled of body oder not laundered, the sheets pillow cases smelled of a person, pillows had yellow stains, broken handle on dryer, window screens ripped and swinging in the wind 10 window screen completely missing, new wood decking popping nails cut my son's toe bleeding, kitchen faucet leaking terribly, the most disgusting part was the master tub with the jets that they advertise pure black mold inside all 8 jets, tub jets don't work at all, wall jets trickle out, tub does not drain at all you stand in your filth, the sink in that bath doesn't drain and fills up disgusting toothpaste water. There was trash around the perimeter of the property, the sectional in the kids room downstairs was broken, not even a full set of dishes and silverware for 6 people we were sharing. The master Queen bed had a detached metal headboard that knocked against the wall when you moved on the bed, the lampshade in the master had a blood stain on it. I was mortified at the condition and as I stated I am seeking a full refund and will be sending 30 pictures as back up proof of these horrendous items of disgust. All it had was a view everything else was not a 5 star accommodation and certainly should not be advertised as that. I save up all year for a clean, safe maintained luxury cabin and I was taken advantage of on this rental, from filthy yellow stained bath towels, to dead german cockroaches, to black mold tub I had to bath in.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 27 Jul 2021
Before Melissa's arrival the previous guest damaged the hot tub. We attempted to have it repaired before her arrival but regrettably had to inform her that it would not be in service during her stay. She received a discount for this. However she was still very upset and threatened a retaliatory review unless we had it repaired that same day. Sadly, this was not possible. She could not understand that service technicians are booked out a few days and left this review as a form of retaliation. I can confirm that this is mostly fabricated, although we have taken a look around the property to make sure everything was in order and if something needed attention it was given attention. I can verify that this is fabricated because guests before and after Melissa reported no such issues, and in fact she herself documented her stay online on her public profile. Here are a few descriptions of her stay with her own words. "After that we headed back to the cabin it's called "Edge Of The World with a 360 degree view." Now as I sit and edit for this post all I hear is pure laughter and happiness from the basement. Oh to have a basement like this back home. Games, Shooting Pool, Cool Views, and A Hot Tub, no TV, no phones just best friends entertaining each other. Its more hiking tomorrow and Lake Swimming. Dinner was Butterball Turkey, Fried Ham Steaks, Mashed Potatoes, Gravy, Stuffing, Chefs Salad and Triple Fudge Brownies." "****** is finally relaxing. What a sunset view the boys are headed out to make a bon fire now." "As the sun set on the horizon the boys gathered their kindling for a bon fire, with a family of 4 deer right at the tree line grazing and watching at a safe distance." I am sorry the hot tub was not in service during your stay, but I regret to inform you neither I or anyone will be honoring a full refund for this stay. You may have photos, but so do I, and I don't back down to bullies. Best regards, Jonathan
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location

Fabulous View

Overall we had a great time and views were beautiful ... Improvements needed - Lower level needs separate heating unit - one unit for entire home and it stayed in upper 50/low 60 degrees in LL inside for entire weekend - this is the main living room area w huge couch/tv and a bedroom there too (main level heated great), Only 8 (or less) count setting of silverware, 2 washcloths .... Some info needs updating on site - there was only 5 or 6 pieces of firewood, wifi information, provided on reservation, was inaccurate (no book w details), there is a hot tub (as you see in photos) and a gas grill too! Suggest you have all wheel or 4 wheel drive for driveway - one section of rough area (one guest almost got stuck). Overall we had a great time and host was quick to respond to questions.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Good for team building

Nice property, beautiful view, need more dishes to support big meal (only 7 plates and less forks), everything else was perfect.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Vacation

Excellent getaway. Beautiful and peaceful
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Excellent house

Absolutely stunning
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Place was awesome view was fantastic

5 star property We will be back
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Amazing Secluded View on the Mountaintop

A showstopper of a cabin with a breathtaking view. Pictures don't do it justice. Great for sunsets and relaxing. Host was extremely communicative and solved all issues we had immediately with no fuss. Clean and well furnished. Good internet, plenty of games, pool table, and perfectly secluded.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Best view in NC

The view was the showstopper and we enjoyed every sunset and sunrise. The house was nice, but you could tell there were a few areas that needed some love and fixing. Beds and linens were clean. The property manager was very responsive and accommodating. We had a great time!
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2021
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wedding Weekend

Beautiful property! Gorgeous view. Great stay!
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2021
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful!

Exactly as pictured in the listing. Most peaceful place I’ve ever stayed! A few cleanliness issues (especially the windows - couldn’t fully appreciate the outstanding views through dirty windows), but overall it was fantastic! I would suggest getting the landscaping lights fully operational, which would compliment the property even more. Would definitely recommend it to friends and family.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2021
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

The Good: Fabulous overlook, quiet, and relaxing. Just makes you want to pour a glass of wine, sit on the upstairs deck and go "ahhhh" and feel all your stress and worries release. The hot tub is phenomenal. It has some of the strongest jets of any we have experienced previously. There is lots to do in the area for those not seeking riotous party life...hiking in the beautiful Hanging Rock State Park, wineries, and "Mayberry" in downtown Mt. Airy. For any questions or problems, our host Jonathon was remarkably quick in returning any queries we had. We were here for an annual Cousins'/Girls' visit, and this property was a great choice! The Bad: We had planned to grill for one of our meals in, but there was no propane tank attached to the nice, fairly new grill. That was unexpected. Jonathon told us we could purchase one close by, but we didn't want to lug a propane tank to cook just one meal. Although we investigated the smaller, camping style tanks, the mechanical attachments were not compatible. Unless this was an oversight on the part of the owner, you will need to bring your own propane if you want to grill. The lighting in the house is beautiful, soft ambient light. Hard to see, though! We were playing a game at the kitchen table and had to quit when the sun went down as the light wasn't adequate for us to see the game! This is not necessarily bad. For a nice, calming space the lights create a nice soft mood, but we would have liked a little more illumination in places, especially in the kitchen! The Ugly: The house is surface clean, but really could use a deeper cleaning, especially considering the CoVid influence in our lives now. The beautiful kitchen cabinets and knobs were somewhat greasy to the touch, and the hardwood floors need a brisk cleaning in places. We had a thoroughly wonderful visit here, and would consider returning, but our group unamimously voted for more than surface cleaning to be undertaken.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2021
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Breathtaking view

The property is beautiful!
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location

Amazing views and relaxation

Property definitely needs a deep clean and better lighting but overall I had an amazing stay.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Amazing Mountain Home

This property is fabulous! It was the perfect gathering place for our sons graduation from Wake Forest University. The Mountain View was spectacular for family photos. Plenty of space for meals and the cousins enjoyed hanging out on the lower level playing pool.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback