Located by the sea, this apartment is in Mendenhall Valley, a neighbourhood in Juneau. Alaska State Museum and Wickersham House State Historic Site are cultural highlights, and some of the area's activities can be experienced at Mendenhall Golf Course and Cope Park. Alaska Powder Descents and Glacier Gardens Rainforest Adventure are also worth visiting. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing, snowboarding and skiing, or try out other outdoor activities such as ice skating.
Juneau-Douglas City Museum - 12 min drive - 18.2 km
Juneau Arts and Humanities Council - 12 min drive - 18.2 km
Eaglecrest Ski Area - 44 min drive - 40.3 km
Getting around
Juneau, AK (JNU-Juneau Intl.) - 5 min drive
Restaurants
Vintage Food Truck Park - 4 min drive
McDonald's - 4 min drive
Domino's - 4 min drive
Starbucks - 6 min drive
Sandbar & Grill - 4 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Granite Getaway - Quiet, Comfortable Place Offering 10% OFF ON TOURS! pet-friendly?
Yes, pets are allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Granite Getaway - Quiet, Comfortable Place Offering 10% OFF ON TOURS!?
As of 26 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Granite Getaway - Quiet, Comfortable Place Offering 10% OFF ON TOURS! on 30 Nov 2026 start from £237, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Granite Getaway - Quiet, Comfortable Place Offering 10% OFF ON TOURS!?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Granite Getaway - Quiet, Comfortable Place Offering 10% OFF ON TOURS!?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Granite Getaway - Quiet, Comfortable Place Offering 10% OFF ON TOURS!?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Granite Getaway - Quiet, Comfortable Place Offering 10% OFF ON TOURS! located?
Located in Mendenhall Valley, this apartment building is 1.1 mi (1.8 km) from Alaska Powder Descents and within 3 miles (5 km) of Thunder Mountain and Mendenhall Golf Course. Glacier Gardens Rainforest Adventure is 2.8 mi (4.6 km) away.
Reviews
9.6
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Very nice property! Close to everything. They even left us coffee. We were so thankful. Everything was very comfortable. Felt like I was staying at a family home.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Jul 2026
I'm so glad that you felt our place is homey! Please come back soon!
I'm glad you liked our home overall. I don't know how tall you are, but I have never had a guest indicate that this particular shower was for short people. I wonder how high you expect the shower to be. I've cleaned that unit and it seems like it's a reach to clean the shower head. I'm pretty sure it's at least a standard height. It must be a fairly significant issue since it cost us one whole review point. We don't want people to be disappointed so we will look into it.
We came for our friends graduation and stayed for four nights. It was awesome though the beds need an upgrade and the toilet is tiny. Otherwise very impressed by the overall stay.
Good unit for our visit with Juneau family nearby. Not on the main tourist or bus routes, so if you don't have family to drive you around, you will need a rental car. Juneau is BEAUTIFUL!!!
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2023
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Veronica M.
1 Aug 2023
Spacious and well stocked
A large space for 3-4 people. The kitchen is fully stocked with cookware. The loveseat pulls out and there is a rollaway cot.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Feb 2025
Thank you, Veronica! I'm glad you liked our kitchen and were able to use our accessory beds for your family!
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
tanya c.
8 Jul 2022
Great - Expectations Met
Quiet residential neighborhood yet very accessible to downtown, glacier entrance and stores. The unit was clean and well stocked from the kitchen, bathroom and bedrooms. We were pleasantly surprised by the warm weather during our visit and the upper unit stayed comfortable with the fan and breeze from the window. Kelli was a fantastic, responsive host.
We stayed at Granite Getaway fine night/ paid for six nights and chose it primarily because it was pet friendly. Overall, the unit had most of what we needed.The kitchen was adequately stocked, but it would have been nice to hav cookware not badly scratched and peeling Teflon to the point unusable. We also had to tighten a loose doorknob, and I spent time troubleshooting the smart TV, including updating the software, to get it working.During our stay, the host asked to enter the unit to measure for new windows. Traveling with a pet, I found this inconvenient, especially while trying to relax on vacation. After multiple text messages, the measuring was eventually postponed, but it disrupted our stay.One night, a light fixture unexpectedly fell and broke while we were asleep. I immediately notified the host. In the final communication, I was charged for the damage before being asked what happened. The host suggested it was caused by “aggressive movement” and also claimed we had pulled a curtain rod from the wall. I do not believe either claim is accurate.To be fair, the host did credit me for one night pet fee for the unused night of our reservation. The bedding, especially in the front bedroom, could also use an upgrade this is Alaska and it was cold and the beach themed polyester bedding was not adequate.It was not a terrible stay, but the way the maintenance issues and damage claim were handled left a negative impression, and I would not return.
Stayed 6 nights in Apr 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 17 Jul 2026
This guest stay turned out to be an unfortunate experience for us, actually. The guests caused a lot of damage. The reservation was for 2 people, but it seemed like many more than that. It was filthy including grease on the stuffed chairs, dog poop on the floor - like someone stepped in it and walked on the floor. They did pull a curtain rod out of the wall and the cover of a light fixture was broken. They said it fell from the ceiling which is odd. It wasn't newly installed and we didn't have any earthquakes. They had at least one undisclosed pet which we did charge for after it came to our attention. There were some dishes missing when they left and this is the fist guest who took all of the large Costco bottles of bath products. The guest is correct that we asked if there would be a convenient time for our contractor to go in and measure for windows. They said no so we just waited until they left. It would have been nice to get the windows ordered earlier, but it wasn't a big deal. We just asked in case it wasn't an inconvenience. I think they didn't want us to enter because they had more people and pets and had the property in disarray during their stay and they didn't want us to know about it. I would not recommend this guest to other hosts nor would I want them to stay again. I would take their comments with a grain of salt and refer to other reviews. We will take a look at the cookware to make sure it isn't scratched, though. We definitely want to provide quality!
Staying at Granite Getaway was the best choice we could have ever made for our son's high school graduation trip to Juneau. We had the entire upper floor of a duplex, the property nicely updated with granite sinks, countertops and fireplace (hence the name "Granite Getaway"), as well as nice wood flooring, new paint, and tasteful decorations. This VRBO was cheaper than any of the motels we found in Juneau, plus we saved tons MORE money because out of 20 meals, we only ate out twice! We made all sorts of gourmet meals in the kitchen, with the cheapest grocery store in Juneau (Fred Meyer) just 2.8 miles away. Kelli was also very responsive when we texted her for various needs, bringing us a can opener, extra toilet paper and an extra dining chair at a moment's notice and even allowing us to use her washer and drier. Not only did we save a lot of money by staying here, but we also had much more room than a motel to spread out and "feel at home" while exploring the beautiful city of Juneau!
I grew up in Juneau and my first instinct is to make reservations at a hotel/motel, but my sister told me about Vrbo. What an experience! It was like bring my home with me, all I need was the key to unlock the door and a little bit of groceries and we were very well taken care of. Going forward when I travel I will definitely be using Vrbo.
Thanks!
We had the pleasure of renting from Kelli while waiting for the closing process to finish on our new home. Kelli was such a kind and flexible host. The granite getaway was the perfect cozy home for our family. It had every accommodation needed for cooking, cleaning and just relaxing. We especially enjoyed being so close to trails!