Located in Hawley, this chalet is in a rural area. Sculpted Ice Works Factory and Ice Harvest Museum and Harmony Presents are cultural highlights, and some of the area's attractions include Soarin Eagle Rail Tours and Costa's Family Fun Park. Claws 'N' Paws Wild Animal Park and Lake Township Park are also worth visiting.
Sculpted Ice Works Factory and Ice Harvest Museum - 7 min drive - 6.7 km
Harmony Presents - 9 min drive - 7.8 km
Lackawaxen River - 10 min drive - 8.2 km
Getting around
Wilkes-Barre, PA (AVP-Scranton Intl.) - 50 min drive
Restaurants
Hideout Clubhouse - 21 min drive
The Dock - 12 min drive
Mike's Pizzeria - 6 min drive
Der Jaeger - 9 min drive
The Settlers Inn - 12 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is The Gray Chalet - Dog Friendly • Near Lake Wallenpaupack pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 3 total).
How much does it cost to stay at The Gray Chalet - Dog Friendly • Near Lake Wallenpaupack?
As of 28 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at The Gray Chalet - Dog Friendly • Near Lake Wallenpaupack on 29 Oct 2026 start from £534, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at The Gray Chalet - Dog Friendly • Near Lake Wallenpaupack?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at The Gray Chalet - Dog Friendly • Near Lake Wallenpaupack?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at The Gray Chalet - Dog Friendly • Near Lake Wallenpaupack?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is The Gray Chalet - Dog Friendly • Near Lake Wallenpaupack located?
Situated in a rural location, this chalet is within 3 miles (5 km) of Shuman Point Hiking Trail, Gravel Beach and Lake Wallenpaupack. Sandy Beach and Sculpted Ice Works Factory and Ice Harvest Museum are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.8
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Lovely home in a great location. The Gray Chalet was clean with nice amenities. We loved the personal touch of the basket waiting for us to make s’mores over the fire. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Thanks for sharing your beautiful cabin!!
This is our second time coming to Lake Wallenpaupack and this location was perfect - very private but close to everything we wanted to do. The house is beatifully decorated and very clean with all the amenities and thoughtful extras. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
This property sits back from the road in the trees so it is wonderfully quiet. You can open the windows for the breeze and still feel the privacy. A well-stocked kitchen and two decks make this perfect for family getaways.
I stayed at the Grey Chalet with my parents and 6 yo daughter and our dogs for 4 nights over a long fall weekend. We were just looking to getaway and relax and enjoy some low key local attractions. The house was just perfect. Very comfortable and I loved the style and all the details of decor. It was everything I was looking for!
The Gray Chalet was more than we expected….Warm & inviting……Clean & serene…..Just off the beaten path enough to enjoy the wonderful wildlife & the peace & quiet….Yet close enough to the local town that it made grocery shopping easy…Thank you to Colleen for being an honest upfront host….My wife & I would Highly recommend your place….
This home is lovely, tastefully decorated and well-appointed. We cooked some meals in the kitchen which is well-stocked with all the dishes, pots, pans and utensils you need. There was a binder on the coffee table full of suggestions about what to do in the area as well as household guidelines to follow. We had a peaceful stay and would highly recommend the Gray Chalet!
Woodsy and private property. Beautiful bathrooms and kitchen with all cooking tools needed for a comfortable stay. The quarry next door was a little noisy at times. Host was very responsive. Relaxing weekend break. Thanks, Colleen.
This home was perfect for our family’s long weekend at Lake Wallenpaupack. The owner was easy to communicate with, and she gave us thorough house instructions and excellent restaurant recommendations. The home feels very woodsy and secluded, and we enjoyed the fire pit at night. The dogs loved running around the property. The house is well supplied with linens and bath needs, the kitchen was stocked with supplies and spices so we could easily make our meals, and the living area was spacious enough for our family to watch movies together at night. The house is very convenient to the lake and to town. I would highly recommend this property rental.
House very clean. Nice location tucked in woods but within minutes of main roads & town of Hawley. Size, layout was perfect for our group of 5 adults & 2 dogs. We really appreciate being able to bring dogs along. Beds were pretty good. Does get warm-ish in liv rm bc there’s nowhere to place window ac unit, but you can use a fan to help move cold air. No issue for us. Appreciated having multiple places for folks to sit & hang out. The big table was so great for rainy day games. And the 2 large sofas were so comfy! I was really pleased. Everything accurately described. There were things there so we didn’t have to immediately go to store. House is very pretty, which I enjoyed. Nice new kitchen, beautiful bathrooms, very nice floors.We had a special treat early one morning…..my husband & son were outside on deck when a very large black bear slowly sauntered from behind the shed & across the wooded area behind house! Kept my dogs a little closer after that! Thank you for sharing your chalet!
Great location. Could not park my boat there. I rented a space at Capri Marina which was much better anyways. Driveway is too narrow. Trees and shrubs around the driveway and house need to be trimmed. Not a fan of AC window units. They had a musty smell. Should also have a unit bulit into the wall for the great area. Grass needed to be cut as well. Sink in bathroom downstairs drained way to slow. Shower doors do not seal all the way either. Had to clean up water. There were sheets or towels in dryer. Left them there. Cobwebs on the dining room light. Carpet in downstairs also needed to be replaced. For the money I was disappointed in thisproperty. I am willing to pay for ammenities, this property was very underwhelming. We left a day early.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2023
Verified review
4/10 Poor
John T.
21 Jan 2024
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Dirty
We had made a reservation for New Year's, eagerly anticipating a wonderful stay. However, upon our arrival, we were greeted with disappointment. The state of the house was far from satisfactory, as it was evident that the cleaning had not been done properly.
To our dismay, the cabinets were filled with opened leftovers from the previous guest, leaving us feeling uneasy about the cleanliness of the entire property. The carpets, too, were littered with dirt and covered in dog hair, making it difficult for us to feel comfortable in our temporary home.
Needless to say, we were extremely dissatisfied and disappointed with the condition of the property. It was disheartening to have our expectations shattered by such a lack of attention to cleanliness and maintenance.
We had hoped for a memorable New Year's experience, but instead, we were left with a sense of frustration and regret. It is our sincere hope that these issues are addressed promptly, as no guest should have to endure such subpar conditions during their stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 5 Feb 2024
Thank you for the feedback - we always strive for a 5 star experience. We wish that your issue was communicated during the stay so we could have corrected any problems immediately. We were surprised to learn afterwards that the stay was unsatisfactory as a late check-out was requested during the stay (and accommodated) but no issues were mentioned then. An early check-in was also accommodated and nothing was said at check-in.
Cleanliness is very important to us. The house is professionally cleaned. Past guests are very complimentary about how clean the house is, as shown in our reviews over the past 5 years of hosting. In addition to vacuuming, the carpets in the bedrooms are regularly deep cleaned with a carpet cleaner. We’ve asked the cleaner to do another deep clean of the carpets. We’ve also asked our cleaner to go through the kitchen cabinets. We do not stock any food items, but some guests leave behind spices/pantry items for future guests to use.
This is a very spacious and comfortable house for a family to gather and enjoy each other's company in a peaceful and private setting. The house had everything we needed to be comfortable, including two big, comfy sofas and lovely new bathrooms. We appreciated being able to bring our pups. Everything was as listed. The area is quiet, natural, and pretty.