Located in Mission Foothills, a neighbourhood in Hayward, this holiday home is near theme parks. Niles Essanay Silent Film Museum and Dublin Heritage Park & Museums are cultural highlights, and some of the area's landmarks include Niles Canyon Railway and Dunsmuir House and Gardens. Looking to enjoy an event or a game? See what's going on at Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum or Oakland Arena. Take some time off to enjoy the health/beauty spas in the area, or get some fresh air with adventures like hiking/biking trails, cycling and mountain biking nearby.
California State University East Bay - 16 min walk - 1.4 km
San Francisco Bay - 10 min drive - 10.8 km
Tesla Fremont Factory - 24 min drive - 28.0 km
Stanford University - 35 min drive - 35.8 km
Levi's Stadium - 39 min drive - 44.0 km
Getting around
South Hayward Station - 5 min drive
Fremont Station - 14 min drive
Oakland, CA (OAK-Oakland Intl.) - 24 min drive
Restaurants
In-N-Out Burger - 12 min walk
Raising Cane's Chicken Fingers - 10 min walk
McDonald's - 14 min walk
Cardenas Markets - 20 min walk
La Super Torta - 2 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Modern Bay Area Retreat Balcony + Private Patios pet-friendly?
No, only service animals are welcome at the property.
How much does it cost to stay at Modern Bay Area Retreat Balcony + Private Patios?
As of 31 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Modern Bay Area Retreat Balcony + Private Patios on 13 Nov 2026 start from £2,540, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Modern Bay Area Retreat Balcony + Private Patios?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Modern Bay Area Retreat Balcony + Private Patios?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Modern Bay Area Retreat Balcony + Private Patios?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Modern Bay Area Retreat Balcony + Private Patios located?
Located in Mission Foothills, this holiday home is within 2 miles (3 km) of Alex Giualini Plaza Park, California State University East Bay and Hayward City Hall. Cinemark Century at Hayward and Hayward Japanese Gardens are also within 3 miles (5 km).
Reviews
9.2
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Our family enjoyed staying here on a recent vacation tor sight seeing and visiting relatives. The location, about halfway between SF and San Jose is great. Hosts were quick to respond to questions.
The property is nice and clean. The host Samuel went above and beyond to accommodate our needs. He made sure that we were as comfortable as possible and ensured our stay was affordable to us. If you are looking to stay in Hayward for a summer, choose this property!
Convenient location in Hayward Hills with lovely decorative touches. It was great having three bedrooms for individual privacy while having a common area for socializing. Having a bathroom on each floor was very convenient.
This place worked out very nicely for us. The place was clean, comfortable for all of us, and we could walk to places, which was nice after traveling for so long. There is a park not even half a block away that our kids enjoyed playing at. We felt like we had everything we needed during our stay. Our host was also easy to reach when we had some general questions.We would stay here again
The property was easy to find and access. The owner was reachable and addressed all of my requests quickly and efficiently. The home far exceeded my expectations. It was clean, nicely decorated, and inviting. I will definitely be booking more stays in the future.
Thank you
Needs a lot of TLC in the bathrooms (walls and shower) the couch was gross and only 1 hand towel in the bathrooms. Cute place but it needs quality furnishings. The host was very accommodating with requests on the couch cover and shower mold situation. Great location and quite
Stayed 5 nights in May 2024
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Lawan M.
14 Apr 2024
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in
Disliked: Listing accuracy
NO HOT TUB
There is no hot tub there. False information. And the property knows and it is still on the listing. Yes they gave us a small credit for it but it was something we wanted for this stay and it was a let down.
Dishwasher never worked. We stay at VRBOs so we a cook. Had to do dishes every
Meal and the water pressure was very weak in the kitchen. There were very limited items to cook with in the house. Had to buy a few things for ourselves.
House was cute. Decorating was updated and nice. Not a bad location or neighborhood but not the best. Rooms were nice and the beds were very comfy. Main bathroom had a broken sliding door and a weird curtain set up. Didn't really work well.
Overall we had good space and it worked for just a sleeping place.
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 15 Apr 2024
Hello Lawan,
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for this feedback
We did acknowledged that there was an error when listing was done and we checked that we have a hot tub but we do not. We apologized to you and refunded you $200 for the inconvenience which was more than 20% of your booking price and you expressed satisfaction with this arrangement
We always provide our guests with cooking essentials and condiments. If something you needed was missing or out you could have let us know and we could have it delivered to you immediately
The dishwasher was jammed by food particles and we have since fixed it and it’s fully operational
The low water pressure in the kitchen sink has been restored to normal pressure levels
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Bovado
12 Aug 2023
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Disliked: Location
Would NOT rent again...
This house was as described for the most part, EXCEPT for the neighborhood it is located in. We come from Massachusetts and have never been to California before. When we first arrived at this house, my wife and I had a terrible feeling because of where it was located. We felt extremely unsafe the whole 9 days we were there. There are also sliding doors in every bedroom which are located on the ground level (3 bedrooms, 3 sliding doors). We felt extremely anxious when our 4 kids were downstairs sleeping without us.
Besides these issues, when we first arrived, the downstairs toilet lever was broken. It did flush when aligned properly so we didnt think anything of it. The last day of our stay, the toilet clogged up. There wasnt a plunger on site, so naturally we had to leave it the way it was. A day later we got a request from the owner stating that we had broken the toilet lever and left if clogged. He requested an additional charge of ***$200***. By my estimates that is the price of Brand New toilet. We are honest people, and dont complain about much and we certainly dont like to make a mountains out of molehills.
Im leaving this review for the families like mine, who may not know that Hayward is indeed a City. Of course if a city like this is where you feel comfortable with your family, by all means, but we did not. Again this is an honest review made by honest people. We hope you find what your looking for in your travels, for us this was not it. Thank you.
Stayed 8 nights in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 12 Oct 2023
Hello Bavado!
Thank you for the review. The neighborhood is safe and there’s been no safety issues for the last 2 years we have been on this property. We empathize with you if you didn’t feel safe and secure but this neighborhood is one of the safest in the Bay Area
In addition , there are cameras in the property to enhance security.
Moreover, the double glazed doors have been shown to be secure. Most of my neighbors have these type of doors and have had no safety issues. Also I’d like to mention that my previous guests including family have been 100% satisfied staying at the property as you can confirm with they reviews.
As our esteemed guests we checked on you regularly to see if you needed anything or you had any concerns. You didn’t respond to our queries. You never mentioned to us the toilet was clogged. When you checked out, our cleaners discovered the toilet was clogged and they were unable to unclog. We hired a plumber to do a snake and unclog the toilet . Here in the Bay Area the price to unclog a toilet is around 200-250$, our request for 200$ was not exorbitant based on this location. Above all in-spite of the misunderstanding, we decided to refund you with 100$ to your account to show our commitment to resolve the issue amicably and demonstrate our commitment to our clients satisfaction