Entire home

Cottage + Boathouse w/ Pool, Game Room & River Views

Photo gallery for Cottage + Boathouse w/ Pool, Game Room & River Views

A spacious kitchen with a central island, wooden beams on the ceiling, and a dining area with yellow chairs and a green sofa.
Aerial view
A residential area with multiple houses surrounded by tall pine trees and a clear sky.
A swimming pool with a white fence, surrounded by trees and a house with a yellow door.
A spacious living room with a fireplace, a green sofa, yellow armchairs, and a dining area with a white table and chairs.

Reviews

9.0 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Family fun awaits
    Top-rated for families.
  • Enjoy the heated pool
    A rare find in this area - swim in comfort or have a relaxing dip.

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Private pool
  • Barbecue grill
  • Arcade/game room
  • Pet-friendly
  • Air-conditioning

Explore the area

View in a map
Bluffton, SC
  • Place, May River Golf Club at Palmetto Bluff
    ‪9 min drive‬
  • Place, Farmers Market of Bluffton
    ‪27 min drive‬
  • Place, Tanger Outlets Hilton Head
    ‪30 min drive‬
  • Airport, Savannah, GA (SAV-Savannah - Hilton Head Intl.)
    ‪49 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 8)

River Cottage Primary Bedroom

1 King Bed

The Boathouse Primary Bedroom

1 King Bed

The River Cottage Upstairs Bedroom

1 King Bed

3 bathrooms, 2 half bathrooms

Bathroom 3

Toilet · Shower only

Guest Bathroom Upstairs

Toilet · Shower only

Half Bathroom 5

Toilet

River Cottage Primary Bathroom

Toilet · Shower only

The Boathouse Powder Room

Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Balcony
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Bluffton

Palmetto Bluff, a neighbourhood in Bluffton, is home to this holiday home. Shoppers can check out Coligny Plaza, while everyone can enjoy the natural beauty of Tybee Island Beach and Coligny Beach. Travelling with kids? Consider Station 300 and Plant Demonstration. Looking to get your feet wet? Power boating, fishing and swimming adventures can be found near the property.
Map
Bluffton, SC

What's nearby

  • May River Golf Club at Palmetto Bluff - 9 min drive - 5.0 km
  • Farmers Market of Bluffton - 27 min drive - 22.9 km
  • Station 300 - 27 min drive - 23.1 km
  • May River Theater - 27 min drive - 23.2 km
  • Tanger Outlets Hilton Head - 30 min drive - 27.2 km

Getting around

  • Savannah Amtrak Station - 57 min drive
  • Hilton Head Island, SC (HHH) - 53 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Nectar Farm Kitchen Old Town - ‬36 min drive
  • ‪Cahill's Market - ‬32 min drive
  • ‪Ma Daisy's Porch - ‬34 min drive
  • ‪Flame - ‬12 min drive
  • ‪River House - ‬14 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Does Cottage + Boathouse w/ Pool, Game Room & River Views have a pool?

Yes, this property has a pool. Pool types include heated pools.

Is Cottage + Boathouse w/ Pool, Game Room & River Views pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Cottage + Boathouse w/ Pool, Game Room & River Views?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Cottage + Boathouse w/ Pool, Game Room & River Views?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Cottage + Boathouse w/ Pool, Game Room & River Views?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Cottage + Boathouse w/ Pool, Game Room & River Views located?

Located in Bluffton, this family-friendly holiday home is 3.5 mi (5.7 km) from May River Golf Club at Palmetto Bluff, and within 16 mi (25 km) of Station 300 and Farmers Market of Bluffton. Bluffton Oyster Factory Park and Heyward House Historic Center are also within 16 miles (25 km).

Reviews

9.0

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 5 out of 7 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 1 out of 7 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 0 out of 7 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 7 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 7 reviews

9.0/10

Cleanliness

9.8/10

Check-in

8.4/10

Communication

10/10

Location

9.0/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
This is our third year spending the summer at Palmatto Bluff.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Enjoyable stay at Morelands

The property is exceptionally designed and decorated. It made for a relaxing stay with friends. The two separate structures were great for two families.
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Beautiful home that had everything we needed. Requested a few baby items that were supplied which was most helpful. The house was well stocked and immaculate! Check out was a breeze- we weren’t required to do anything, which is rare! Would highly recommend.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2025
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication
A game room with an overpowering smell of mold, dead roaches on the floor, live roaches crawling on the walls, used coffee filter and grounds tucked into a "clean cup" in the cabinet, large stains on the carpet, stains on the furniture and stains on the bed sheets. No follow-up on the dinner reservation request placed through the companies "concierge" service.No partial refund offered for their failure to deliver on the product and service I paid for but did not receive. Just an assurance that strong odors are not an indication of a problem, an apology for the poor "concierge" service provided, and an offer for a discount on a future rental with the company which is useless as I will never rent a property from this company again.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Lo country charm

The process of checking in and out was seemless. Best we have ever experienced. The house was far better than the pictures could demonstrate. High end kitchen, baths and decor. Location just outside of Moreland Village and on the marsh was outstanding. Such a cozt, homey feel. A great getaway.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 14 Jan 2025
Thank you for sharing your five-star review, David! We agree, The Retreat at May River, is such a wonderful home. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Family Getaway…but

Overall experience was great. It was nice to have two small little houses so that our family had a little more space. The resort and its amenities are great. The check in process and communication with the staff was good. They were responsive, however we were disappointed that the pool was not working at the residence. The pool heater was not working from day 1. We reached out to the the staff, however it was too many “oh someone will be there the next day” and “oh sorry it will be the next day” and oh sorry “we need to order a part” etc. So all in all, we were not able to use the pool at the residence. The private pool was a major reason why we selected this property. I even confirmed before I booked the property and asked if it had a pool heater (it does, just didn’t work). When I got the email asking me how my stay was, I provided this feedback and got no response addressing the problems we had with the pool. Just a “thank you for staying with us” response. I would have expected some kind of credit for not being able to use a key amenity of the property. It almost seems like they didn’t care now that the stay was over. I waited a few more days before writing this review to see if they would respond. I even sent another note with no response.
Stayed 7 nights in Mar 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 16 Apr 2025
Good Afternoon, Paul. We appreciate your feedback, the guest experience in our homes is our top priority as addressed in this email dated April 2: "Good Afternoon, Paul, Thank you for your patience as we gathered information and discussed how we could make this situation right for you. We are going to refund you $525.00 for the issue you experienced with the broken pool heater. We understand the disappointment with not being able to utilize that feature during your stay at The Retreat at May River. Additionally, we would like to offer a 10% discount on your next visit. There is so much to explore and do in Palmetto Bluff, Bluffton, and surrounding areas. We do hope you will visit again soon!" Thank you for your email response acknowledging our efforts, we do hope you will visit again and utilize the 10% offered on your next stay.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Stayed 5 nights in Dec 2025
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback