Entire home

Stellar Mountain Views & Location; Ample Deck Space; Beautifully Outfitted Home!

Photo gallery for Stellar Mountain Views & Location; Ample Deck Space; Beautifully Outfitted Home!

A deck with outdoor furniture, including a green sofa and chairs, overlooking a mountainous landscape.
A kitchen with wooden cabinets, stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, and a built-in microwave.
A house surrounded by trees with autumn foliage, a wooden staircase, and a metal fence.
A spacious living room with a high ceiling, large windows, and a staircase.
A living room with a stone fireplace, leather sofas, a ceiling fan, and a television mounted on the wall.

Reviews

8.6 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Cook, dine, and unwind
    Top-rated for its fully equipped kitchen, perfect for every meal.
  • Sledding nearby
    A rare find — snowy slopes for sledding are just minutes away.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near George Washington National Forest

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Waterpark access
  • Barbecue grill
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Washing machine

Explore the area

View in a map
McGaheysville, VA
  • Place, Massanutten Resort
    ‪3 min drive‬
  • Place, MPOA Go-Kart Track
    ‪3 min drive‬
  • Place, Massanutten Water Park
    ‪9 min drive‬
  • Airport, Weyers Cave, VA (SHD-Shenandoah Valley Regional)
    ‪37 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 10)

Additional Sleeping Area - Lower Level

2 Single Beds

Bunk Bedroom - Main Level

1 Single Bunk Bed

Double Bed - Main Level

1 Double Bed

Primary Queen - Upstairs

1 Queen Bed

3 bathrooms

Lower Level

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Main Level

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Upstairs with Queen Suite

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

McGaheysville

Located in McGaheysville, this holiday home is in a rural area and in the mountains. Shenandoah National Park and Swift Run Gap Entrance Shenandoah reflect the area's natural beauty and area attractions include Massanutten Water Park and SoLace Studios Fine Handcrafts. Travelling with kids? Consider A Dream Come True Playground, or check out an event or a game at Shenandoah Speedway. Enjoy the area's slopes with cross-country skiing and snowboarding, and don't miss out on the sledging and ice skating.
Map
McGaheysville, VA

What's nearby

  • Massanutten Resort - 3 min drive - 1.7 km
  • MPOA Go-Kart Track - 3 min drive - 1.7 km
  • Massanutten Water Park - 9 min drive - 8.3 km
  • Shenandoah National Park - 23 min drive - 27.5 km
  • James Madison University - 25 min drive - 17.6 km

Getting around

  • Weyers Cave, VA (SHD-Shenandoah Valley Regional) - 38 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪McDonald's - ‬22 min drive
  • ‪7-Eleven - ‬19 min drive
  • ‪Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen - ‬22 min drive
  • ‪Applebee's Grill + Bar - ‬22 min drive
  • ‪Vito's Pizza Pie - ‬17 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Stellar Mountain Views & Location; Ample Deck Space; Beautifully Outfitted Home! pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Stellar Mountain Views & Location; Ample Deck Space; Beautifully Outfitted Home!?

As of 30 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Stellar Mountain Views & Location; Ample Deck Space; Beautifully Outfitted Home! on 2 Nov 2026 start from £475, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Stellar Mountain Views & Location; Ample Deck Space; Beautifully Outfitted Home!?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Stellar Mountain Views & Location; Ample Deck Space; Beautifully Outfitted Home!?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Stellar Mountain Views & Location; Ample Deck Space; Beautifully Outfitted Home!?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Stellar Mountain Views & Location; Ample Deck Space; Beautifully Outfitted Home! located?

This family-friendly McGaheysville holiday home is located in the mountains, within 1 mi (2 km) of George Washington National Forest and Massanutten Resort. MPOA Go-Kart Track is 1.2 mi (2 km) away.

Reviews

8.6

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 26 out of 56 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 21 out of 56 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 7 out of 56 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 56 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 56 reviews

8.6/10

Cleanliness

9.0/10

Check-in

8.6/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

8.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Overall everything was great, from communication, to the stay, to the location, to check out. Everything was comfortable. Kitchen was decently stocked. Location was great for skiing. Thanks!
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great place to stay!

Everything was nice, the bed linens really need to be replaced, but everything else was great!
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Aug 2023
Hi, Donald! Thank you for this great review. We will let the homeowner know about your feedback regarding the linens! Best, The M.V. Team
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Enjoyable and relaxing

We had a great stay in your relaxing home. We would love to come back for our next visit to Massanutten.
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great experience

Great place to stay with family and kids, we loved our stay in this beautiful place and host is very helpful and as well.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Aug 2023
Thank you for this wonderful, five-star review! Glad we were able to provide you and your family a great, last minute get away! Best, The M.V. Team
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great place to stay for JMU graduation weekend

Comfortable for 5 adults. Fabulous deck for having friends/family over. Lots of steps going down to enter the property. Beautiful setting.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2025
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great weekend getaway

The house was exactly as described and a perfect location to the Shenandoah National Park. Communication with the property manager was good before, during, and after stay. No complaints.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great weekend

Everything was perfect, the view is GORGEOUS! Highly recommend!
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Aug 2023
Blair, Thank you very much for this wonderful five-star review! The views really are stunning. We are so glad you enjoyed your time in!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Great place

We had a great time. House has everything needed for a comfortable stay. There was more than enough room for 3 adults and 4 kids. Minutes away from the waterpark
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Aug 2023
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed the house and had a wonderful getaway! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Spectacular views

Great getaway house/cabin, easy owners to deal with, easy check in/check out process. Accommodations in the house are great, views of the mountainside are beautiful. Would definitely return!
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Aug 2023
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed the house and had a wonderful getaway! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Verified review

8/10 Good

Nice home on a beautiful wooded lot.

Very good.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Aug 2023
Thank you for your review! We hope you enjoyed the house and had a wonderful getaway! Sincerely, the Massanutten Vacation team
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect Celebration Week!

We had a wonderful time at Peaceful Vista. The home was clean, well kept and had incredible views. The kitchen was well stocked and the property manager was quick when I had a question. Our family could not have asked for a better place to stay to celebrate JMU graduation!
Stayed 4 nights in May 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Sept 2023
Thank you for this fantastic, five-star review Maria! We are so glad you all had a wonderful time in during JMU graduation and enjoyed the home so well. We appreciate you all being our guests! Warm Regards, The M.V. Team
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great house!

The area is very beautiful and the views were awesome! We had 4 cars and they fit perfectly on the flat driveway. All the beds were super comfy, the kitchen well stocked with plenty of tools and dishware. We will be back!
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family new year

Great views, good space. Short ride to activities. Very easy instructions provided for fireplace and wifi access! Toaster oven has seen better days. Overall just right.
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great mountain home

Perfect house on mountain side. Plenty of room. Very clean. Love the porches and fireplace. Kitchen was well stocked with all the needed items. And was in close proximity to Vineyards, caverns, and The Skyline drive.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Aug 2023
Ottis, Thank you for this wonderful 5-star review! The porches and the views they offer are definitely a favorite feature. Best, The M.V. Team
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Location
Disliked: Check-in

Mountainside Home in Massanutten

Great location, pretty view, well- stocked kitchen, not enough seating in LR, no TV in master, check cleanliness before moving in. About 20 steep steps to enter home.
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Aug 2023
Thanks for this review, Susan. It seems unfair to poorly rate a home based on clearly stated items and pictures. It is up to the guests to review a property during their booking process and make sure it has desirable amenities, such as a TV in a primary bedroom, and not undesirable amenities, such as steps leading down to the property. Best, The M.V. Team
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy
beautiful scenic view. All essential items were there. The number of beds shown in the lay out was not correct. The maximum guests can sleep were 8. Fortunately one of the guest didn't come. So we were ok. It was advertised as 10 people can sleep. I would come back as the rent was fare and house was maintained properly.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great winter long weekend getaway

We had a great time at this property over MLK weekend. Easy directions with after hours check in, great location up the mountain by the skiing and tubing with easy parking, well stocked kitchen, great views and house as expected. We got some nice fresh snow the first morning that didn’t stick further down the mountain which was great for the kids. The 2 adult beds are checked as queens although the write up does say one is a double. I believe both are doubles but I didn’t measure them or anything. Either way we had a great time and it was big enough for the 10 of us with 6 kids under 10. House was very clean and had a nice selection of games.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Aug 2023
Thank you for this incredible review, Tom! I love the views and decks in this property - such a great place to relax and enjoy good company. The bed upstairs in the suite room is indeed a queen room, and the first bedroom off the kitchen is a double bed :) they are pretty similar in size. We are so glad you all had a wonderful time in and found the home and its location clean and enjoyable! Please feel free to reach out in the future should you need another Massanutten stay - we do offer return guest discounts. Warmest regards, The M.V. Team
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Lovely place, great location

Beautiful views, great location. Worked well for 3 of us but would have been tight quarters for more than 4 or 5, particularly if you don't fit well on a double bed. Only issue at all was the sheets-- they were washed with a very strong-smelling chemical detergent. I had a terrible time sleeping with the smell; eventually I had to cover the pillowcase, bottom sheet and top sheet with towels we brought (bring towels!) to try to sleep. Would not stay there again, just because of the smell of the sheets. Would have liked to have one more blanket too - it was quite cold. Other than the chemical smell of the sheets, it was GREAT!
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2023
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy

Bring a sleeping bag if more than 8

The home is located within great proximity to skiing and snow tubing at the resort. The views from the deck are very peaceful. The kitchen is well stocked.However, the listing states it sleeps 10. When we booked our reservation, the listing showed that there was supposed to be 8 beds available. It listed a queen, a double, a day bed with a trundle, a twin bunk bed AND two twin beds in the bunk room. After checking in, we realized that there were only 6 beds. I reached out to the property management company about the incorrect listing. I was told that I must be confused and that there was only a bunk bed in the bunkroom. I explained that I had screenshots of the listing to prove what we actually booked. They immediately changed the VRBO listing to reflect the actual number of beds. I requested a partial refund since we did not get what we contracted for. The management company stopped replying to all of my emails and phone calls and said the owner would not offer a credit. Be prepared if you have more than 8 people (of which 4 should only be children) that you should bring sleeping bags or an air mattress as they state that the house sleeps 10.There were also some maintenance issues. The upstairs toilet did not work during our stay. The travel crib for infants/toddlers was broken. The board games are all missing pieces and need to just be thrown away.Also be prepared to load up all of your trash and drive around the resort to find a dumpster in a parking lot as your cl
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Peaceful vacation spot

Had a great time. Its a really nice home with a great view, would definitely stay there again!
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Dec 2023
Thank you for this five-star review Brandon. You all are welcome back anytime
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Si

La casa muy pequeña pedí para 10 y solo avía camas para 8 no alberca solo la pura casa mucho dinero por tan poco no lo volveré aser
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 21 Sept 2023
HI Sergio! We do apologize for the confusion in the occupancy level; the home can legally have an occupancy of 10 people, and there is no mention of having a pool, though that would be a great feature! Although you mention not returning, it does look like you stayed again at this exact property for the next week in August. We hope you had an enjoyable stay for both! Regards, The M.V. Team
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Location
Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy

Untidy and poor communication with property manager

My group entered the house and could not determine if the cleaning crew had done their job. The beds were half-made and unkept, so we could not tell if the linens had been changed. The hand towel in the bathroom was soaking wet, again having us doubt it had been cleaned. We found balloons floating around on the floor, so there had obviously been some form of party, but nobody had bothered to clean up, or if they did, the did a very poor job. We notified the property manager immediately upon check-in (per the check-in instructions) on a Saturday, yet did not hear back from them until Tuesday, a full day after we had checked out. The property is nicely located, yet our experience with the cleanliness and poor communication with the property manager made for a bad experience. There are other properties that we have rented in the neighborhood managed by other groups that are better suited for a family trip and more reliable in terms of cleanliness and responsiveness.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Aug 2023
Daniel, You requested to cancel your group reservation at the last minute, against the accepted policy and notice period. You then issued a veiled threat to leave a bad review if you were not fully refunded, saying you were going to "give us an opportunity" and that "you know how important VRBO reviews are". In fact, you never even visited the property and members of your group who did visit left a generous tip for our cleaning staff. We have photos and security footage showing that you never visited and photos of the good condition of the property. The property owner consistently invests in upgrades and improvements, and our abundance of 4+ star reviews reveal your review for the untruth that it is. Regards, The M.V. Team
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Check-in

Good/bad

Had a hard time getting the keys, e-mail never came to me with info where to pick up keys, also no TV. If you don’t have an xfinity account you can’t have TV. I think that should of been told. House otherwise was nice, 26 min to JMU
Stayed 4 nights in May 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Aug 2023
Thank you for this lovely review, Greg. However, it's not 100% factual that you "never" received the check in instructions. We did send that to both your personal and VRBO emails as we do for all our guests. There is also a flat screen television in the main level living room as well as the basement room. We hope you had a great time in! Best, The M.V. Team
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great place and good views!

Easy check-in process and great place for a family! Not many TV stations.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2022
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Location
Disliked: Check-in, communication

Part Time Management?

We had a very strange experience with this property management company. They let our Vrbo reservation lapse, so we had to book twice. Check-in is very odd: keys for all leased properties are in envelopes with folks' names in a common lock box (that has a shared code) at their office, a few miles from the property. Not sure why keys couldn't be in individual lock boxes at the actual units. Nobody was in the office during check-in or checkout. I never spoke to anyone from Massanutten Vacation during our stay. Combined with some cleanliness/quality control issues, it felt like the management company was only staffed part time. Overall, the unit is nice. The view is fantastic, as advertised, and the house is spacious. It's not in bad shape, but we ended up sharing with the management a list of minor things that added up to us just never feeling quite comfortable. - can't lock deadbolt from inside - kitchen counter, cookware, dishes all dirty - sink smells - no dish soap, sponge filthy - fridge makes an incessant clicking sound, all day, all night - carpet stained and dirty - first light in master doesn't work - tub in master doesn't drain unless manually held open; fills instantly while you're showering - mildew on shower curtains Property manager Laresa responded after our trip and was very apologetic. She says the cleanliness and maintenance issues will be addressed.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Aug 2023
Hi, Eric! Laresa did indeed make sure maintenance and housekeeping visited the home after your departure. The homeowner also came in and fixed the tub, replaced shower liners, deep cleaned the carpets, etc. We do apologize for the issues with cleaning and sincerely appreciate you letting us know! Hopefully we can move to check in at the home, but unfortunately, we cannot offer it at this time. Also, we only put the Last Name for check in for security reasons, and the envelope is sealed. In the fifteen years we have done check in this way, it has never been an issue! And while our staff is in the office daily, they cannot be in at all times as this job requires a decent amount of outside work. Thank you again! Happy Holidays. The M.V. Team
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback