Elegant Norwich House w/ Billiards Room & Ballroom

Photo gallery for Elegant Norwich House w/ Billiards Room & Ballroom

A two-story white building with a central entrance, surrounded by a black wrought iron fence, and trees in the background.
A porch with wicker chairs, a table, and a potted plant.
A traditional living room with a sofa, armchairs, a fireplace, and a large wooden cabinet.
A grand hallway with a staircase, ornate lamps, and classic furniture.
A traditional living room with a sofa, armchairs, a coffee table, and a fireplace.

Reviews

9.0 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Room to spread out
    Enjoy spacious layout that give everyone more room to relax.
  • Arcade/game room
    A rare find - fun for all ages with on-site arcade/game room.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near Norwich Arts Center

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Arcade/game room
  • Barbecue grill
  • Free Wi-Fi in public areas
  • Washer/dryer
  • Air-conditioning

Explore the area

View in a map
Norwich, CT
  • Place, Slater Memorial Museum
    ‪2 min walk‬
  • Place, Norwich Arts Center
    ‪16 min walk‬
  • Place, Mohegan Park -Armstrong Tennis Center
    ‪4 min drive‬
  • Airport, New London, CT (GON-Groton - New London)
    ‪27 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

5 bedrooms (sleeps 10)

Bedroom 1 (Queen Anne)

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2 (Canopy)

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 3 (French)

1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed

Bedroom 4 (Chinese Chippendale)

1 Double Bed

Bedroom 5 (Hitchcock)

2 Single Beds

3 bathrooms, 1 half bathroom

Full Bathroom

Full Bathroom

Full Bathroom

Half Bathroom

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Garden

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Norwich

Norwich is home to this holiday home. The Blue Lady of Yantic Cemetery and Leffingwell House Historic Museum are local landmarks, and some of the area's attractions include Norwich Arts Center and Corn Maze. Kids Quest and High Rollers Luxury Lanes and Lounge are also worth visiting. Take the opportunity to explore the area for water adventures such as power boating and other activities like golfing.
Map
Norwich, CT

What's nearby

  • Slater Memorial Museum - 2 min walk - 0.2 km
  • Leffingwell House Historic Museum - 16 min walk - 1.3 km
  • Norwich Arts Center - 16 min walk - 1.4 km
  • Spirit of Broadway Theater - 16 min walk - 1.4 km
  • Mohegan Park -Armstrong Tennis Center - 4 min drive - 1.4 km

Getting around

  • New London Union Station - 20 min drive
  • New London, CT (GON-Groton - New London) - 26 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪D'Elia's Bakery and Grinder Shop - ‬15 min walk
  • ‪Dairy Queen - ‬3 min drive
  • ‪These Guys Brewing at American Wharf - ‬3 min drive
  • ‪Harp & Dragon Pub - ‬18 min walk
  • ‪36 Town Grill & Tap - ‬3 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Elegant Norwich House w/ Billiards Room & Ballroom pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Elegant Norwich House w/ Billiards Room & Ballroom?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Elegant Norwich House w/ Billiards Room & Ballroom?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Elegant Norwich House w/ Billiards Room & Ballroom?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Elegant Norwich House w/ Billiards Room & Ballroom located?

Situated in Norwich, this holiday home is within a 15-minute walk of Slater Memorial Museum, The Blue Lady of Yantic Cemetery and Generations Family Health Center. Spirit of Broadway Theater and William W. Backus Hospital are also within 15 minutes.

Reviews

9.0

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 38 out of 60 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 17 out of 60 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 60 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 60 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 2 out of 60 reviews

8.4/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Amenities

10/10

Property conditions & facilities

9.6/10

Check-in

9.6/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

9.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great house
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Beautiful house, very clean!
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Property was fun especially the ballroom!
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Stunning historic home. Beautifully decorated. So much to see, photos, pictures, etc. As old the home is, plenty of modern amenities, plenty of bathrooms. Really enjoyed our stay.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful place to gather with family

Was a great way to get all of us under the same roof. Great place!
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2023
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
The pictures do not show that everything is stained, wall paper is peeling and the corners of the rugs are turned up and are a tripping hazard. One bathroom the faucets for the shower did not work and there was a lever needed to turn the water on and off. Windows are cracked and draftey. The whole house needs attention. Would not recommend or stay again.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Listing accuracy
The property is large and can accommodate a large group.There are maintenance issues but overall a very pleasant experience. The church bells from across the way were fantastic. Clean and easy to get to. I would stay here again. Owner was very accommodating.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Very nice

Great property
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

New Year’s Family Vacation

This house is so unique. Loved exploring all the rooms and lovely decor. Very comfortable bedrooms. Great communication throughout our stay. We had a great time!
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Old house with lots of charm

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We enjoyed the charm of this house with all its quirks. Not a perfect house, but a very comfortable stay, with a different theme in each bedroom.
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Big place

It was a big house with plenty of room for everyone.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Stay to visit family and friends living locally.

Very lovely house, large old beautiful set up. Lots of space and places for visitors of house to wander. Very pleased.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Christmas eve Mystery murder

Wonderful historic house with a lot of mystery spots
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Lovely

A lovely mansion with plenty of space! Perfect set up for entertaining and enjoying the beautiful home.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful historic home for large group

Throughly enjoyed our stay at Teel House. The home is large enough for big groups with 3 full baths & one half. You’ll have plenty of room for all guests to enjoy meals & play family games. There was ample space in the kitchen too cook meals along with all basic cookware. Location is great in Norwich close to downtown, Mohegan Sun & a short drive to scenic areas such as Mystic.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2024
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Millionaire triangle in Norwich

Lots of open space, games, pool was fun and we are now part of that houses history. The beds were on the smaller side, a few rooms could use some curtains, and the bathrooms are a little dated. Host was communicative and had cute bowls of candy everywhere. Interesting historic neighborhood.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2025
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Location
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication, listing accuracy

Horrible stay

The cleanliness of this place was below 0, the owner was rude and I’m never booking with vrbo again.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 6 Jul 2023
Hi Jessica, we take guest feedback seriously and passed your comments on to the homeowner who would like to share the following: We truly uphold high standards of hospitality for our property and create exceptional experiences. We're sorry to hear that you did not have the five-star experience we endeavor to provide our guests. - Communication is highly important to us and before your arrival, you received an email indicating that due to medical reasons, we were designating a local Guest Contact to communicate with guests and take care of the vacation rental on my behalf. When we received your request for an early check-in, we informed you that could not accommodate that request as we were having a same-day turnover and the cleaner would need sufficient time to prepare the home for their stay. - We value the cleanliness and condition of the home. Our cleaning team prides itself on professionally and thoroughly preparing the home before guests' arrival. In understanding your concern, we provided you with a refund for the cleaning and for the receipts that you sent in for. the items you had to purchase. For efficiency, the cleaning issues were addressed. - We do our very best to maintain consistent availability and in all of our interactions with you, we maintained a professional and polite manner to address your concerns as efficiently as possible. We truly do all we can to make the best possible stay, and we look forward to this property hosting many satisfied guests.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Very Quaint and Wonderful property. Could use better internet service and TV... Minor maintenance issues should be addressed
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Unique House

Great place to stay, location fit our needs perfectly. Plenty of parking spaces. Fully well-equipped kitchen. Great neighborhood felt very safe there. the only thing was a couple of the bedroom the heat wasn't the best but no big deal. House is filled with so much history and beautiful antiques. Greg the caretaker was awesome to work with and was so accommodating. Couldn't ask for anything better.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2024
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Magnificent Home for our Christmas week.

Our Christmas week at The Teel was picture perfect. The home was decorated for the holiday which added to the ambiance. The home was fully stocked and ready for celebrating. Checking in and out was easy and there were no issues. The historic home itself lended to added intrigue and all of our family and friends enjoyed touring the beautifully decorated rooms along with the holiday celebrations. Communication between the manager and owner prior to our stay as well as after was wonderful. We would definitely love to return to The Teel.
Stayed 7 nights in Dec 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness

Wonderful house, would be perfect if it were cleaner.

The house is extremely charming with beautiful decor and something new to see every time you walk into a room. The property manager was friendly and easy to communicate with, he even gave us a later checkout time. The only downside to the property was that it wasn’t in the best condition regarding cleanliness. The bathrooms weren’t clean upon our arrival, and the floors throughout could be much cleaner. If you are able to look past the cleanliness in order to stay in such a historical, spacious home then this is the place for you! We would consider visiting again so long as the space is clean in a way that honors the house as it should. Overall, this was a great experience!
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Scrapbook Trip 2025

The Teel House was perfect for scrapbooking! Plenty of room either downstairs or in the ballroom for all of our gear. It was so much fun exploring this huge, grand old house. I had a group of 7 family & friends and it was a really great place for us to enjoy time with each other. We loved sitting out on the porch, having some wine & just enjoying the Spring weather. The property was clean and ready for us. The bedrooms are spacious and there are plenty of bathrooms. The building was built in 1789 and we loved the historic aspect! Being old… the house has quirks but we knew that and were perfectly OK with it. The property manager is really responsive to any questions that you have. The area is a bit odd… there is a lot of constant noise from being near a hospital and school. But there are also a bunch of neat things to see really close by. Overall we really enjoyed our stay!
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
This is a true "period home" and with those expectations in mind, the home delivered wonderfully. If you are looking for a modern home with complete renovation, this is not the home for you. This home has period details in the molding, pocket doors, and furnishings. It was clean, but because of age, the showers and sinks look aged and may give the appearance of being dirty. The beds are small (queen is the largest) but the bedrooms are comfortable. Kitchen is all updated and has all amenities. Plenty of seating and parking for large family affairs. No central air- only window units but they got the job done. Only one TV but has all streaming options. Didnt use the 3rd floor which has the ballroom, billard table and "card room" because there wasn't AC up there and it was very hot. Host didnt have any crazy requirements. All i all, it suited my family's purpose so i gave it 5 stars.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful House For Family Celebration!

My Mother turned 80 this past weekend, and we celebrated as a family at the Teel House. When I was looking for a place for our family to come together I needed a central location for our family who is spread out over three states. We had 10 people ages ranging from young teen to mostly adults, and we wanted to cook family meals and have some fun activities. The Teel house provides ample space for spreading out, the kitchen is well appointed for cooking meals. As a family of history lovers, we loved all the period furniture and Victorian decor. It's almost like renting a B&B, and having it to yourself. We loved exploring all the nooks and crannies of the house, and enjoyed walking the neighborhood. Communication was excellent with the booking, check-in and check out. I dealt with two representatives of the property, one for booking and one for the stay, both were great! Gregg the property manager was really nice to work with and even let our niece purchase a small item for her bedroom from the house. Thanks so much! The only thing I would mention to potential renters is to remember that this house was built in the late 1700's and has it's own quirks and age (like the rest of us). The bedrooms, while beautifully decorated could use a couple new mattresses, and hopefully in the future this investment could be an asset to the rental. We were only there two nights so it was fine. Overall it was the perfect house for a celebration and only enhanced our time together.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2024
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness

Disappointing

Unfortunately, the cleanliness and upkeep of this historic home was not good. My husband and I spent 5 hours cleaning the day we arrived in town. The kitchen floors were sticky, all of the dishes needed to be washed, and the cupboards had dried splatters and stains all over them. The bathrooms all needed to be scrubbed, there were used bars of soap in the showers, and one of the toilets did not flush unless you took the tank lid off and pushed the float down. All of the bedding needed to be stripped and washed and the washing machine faulted out on the second load of wash. We made the choice to do the cleaning ourselves and stay because we were in town for our daughter’s wedding and didn’t have time to look for another house big enough to hold our extended family. Also, most of the outdoor furniture was in disrepair and couldn’t be trusted to be sat on. None of the cushions for the outdoor furniture were in good shape. The communication for check-in/check-out was very easy. The house was otherwise very interesting and had a great deal of charm and history. It was the right size for our family and the location was perfect. We don’t regret our stay, but we would not stay again without a lot of improvements.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Aug 2024
Hi Gail, we want our guests to arrive at a vacation home that is 100% ready for their stay, so we take the cleanliness of our properties seriously! We followed up with the homeowner after reading your feedback, and they wanted to share the following:- We’re sorry the cleanliness didn’t meet your expectations upon arrival. A new cleaning team has been hired to ensure a higher standard of cleanliness for future guests- The toilets in this historic home have a unique design and may require holding the lever down a bit longer to flush properly. We wish we could have provided this information during your stay to save you some inconvenience- The washing machine issue has been resolved, and we appreciate your understanding as it is not designed to wash heavy throw rugsWe appreciate your feedback so we can continue to improve and help this homeowner provide guests with the 5-star service they are known for. We hope to host you again soon!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback