Located in Dildo, this holiday home is in a rural area and on the beach. Dildo Harbour and Dildo Brewing Company and Museum are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those looking for area attractions can visit Dildo Area Interpretation Centre and South Dildo Whaling and Sealing Museum.
Bill Pretty Memorial Playground - 8 min walk - 0.7 km
Dildo Area Interpretation Centre - 13 min walk - 1.1 km
Dildo Brewing Company and Museum - 13 min walk - 1.1 km
Getting around
St. John's, NL (YYT-St. John's Intl.) - 73 min drive
Restaurants
Dildo Brewing Co & Museum - 10 min walk
Dildo Coffee House - 12 min walk
The Barn Cafe - 8 min drive
Dildo Dory Grill - 11 min walk
dorset fisheries - 38 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Tranquility Bay, Dildo, NL - A complete escape close to home pet-friendly?
Yes, pets are allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Tranquility Bay, Dildo, NL - A complete escape close to home?
As of 27 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Tranquility Bay, Dildo, NL - A complete escape close to home on 28 Oct 2026 start from £1,039, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Tranquility Bay, Dildo, NL - A complete escape close to home?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Tranquility Bay, Dildo, NL - A complete escape close to home?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Tranquility Bay, Dildo, NL - A complete escape close to home?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Tranquility Bay, Dildo, NL - A complete escape close to home located?
Nestled on the beach, this Dildo holiday home is within a 5-minute walk of Dildo Harbour and Trinity Bay. Bill Pretty Memorial Playground and Dildo Area Interpretation Centre are also within 15 minutes.
Reviews
9.4
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
A beautiful property, almost every room has a wonderful view of the ocean. The hot tub was a great treat as well. A perfect size for a multi family visit.
Beautiful house in a great lication. Plenty of room for the 6 of us to spread out and 4 bathrooms meant nobody waited. Walked to Dildo Brewery twice. Highly recommend!
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 12 Aug 2026
Thank you Thomas. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay!
Excellent house for a large group. The patio and hot tub were awesome additions. Amazing views! Open concept great for large groups. Lots of bathrooms. Perfect location for exploring around the town. There were some small things I noticed that definitely could use upgrades. A little tlc. Holes in the walls, broken window, tiles and moldings off in the bathroom, bricks helping hold 1 of the beds up, etc. But overall we were happy with our stay and would recommend. The host was excellent to communicate with.
The property is lovely. The view is spectacular, and so spacious and so many beds and rooms for large group it is ideal! We absolutely loved it. 12 girlfriends celebrated a big birthday in style for a weekend in Dildo! Terrific.
Our stay at Tranquility Bay was very enjoyable. Everything was perfect. It was a great space for our family of twelve of all ages, and the perfect location to area attractions.
Really neat and unique spot with lots of spaces. It was a real treat having a fireplace. One of the bed rooms has the craziest view of the ocean. There is a great beach area down the hill (hold the rope). Larger than normal hot tub. Only knock I would really give the place is it you are looking to play games or watch movies on TV the tv placement isn’t the best BUT if you are looking for a get away from the screen for a weekend you’ll find plenty of tranquility here. Keeping this place in mind for a future trip with a few families and kids.
Very spacious accommodation for our large family group. House was comfortable, quiet and well equipped. The children especially enjoyed the hot tub while the adults loved the patio setting overlooking the bay and watching the glorious sunsets.
The only negative was finding a very dirty barbecue.
We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful properly. Lots of space to spread out our multi-generational family with great central spots in the family room, kitchen and back deck to spend time together. Incomparable views from the upstairs bedrooms. House was well equipped, very private, and everything we were looking for. Location was excellent within walking distance to Dildo shops and restaurants, but quieter on the backside, and with more breeze and some incredible sunsets. Calla was a terrific host with quick answers to any questions we had. Thank you!!!
The views from this house are amazing, with spectacular sunsets and we saw whales in the bay from the house. The kids loved the private beach and we all enjoyed the hot tub. There is loads of space - enough to entertain our Newfoundland family. We were concerned about the lack of curtains when we arrived, but actually we all slept fine.
Tranquility Bay was amazing! We stayed here to be close to our family in Harbour Grace and Carbonear. The home was welcoming, beautifully decorated and spacious for our group of 11.
Sitting in the hot tub in the evening watching the sunset was so beautiful and peaceful. We saw whales, dolphins and lots of birds.
Overall a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the surroundings.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2018
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
Amy H.
2 Jan 2026
Liked: Communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Myself and a group stayed for New Year’s Eve. While at first the place looked great, issues started to arise. There was mouse poop and mouse traps in the kitchen cupboards and in some of the rooms. As well as mouse poop found on 3 of the beds. This was less than ideal as we had no where else to stay. There was also some trash left in some rooms. Besides that we were able to enjoy ourselves but overall it put quite the damper on our couple of days, leaving us uneasy.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 6 Jan 2026
Hi Amy, I'm sorry you were disappointed by your stay. I do not feel that you're 2 star review is indicative of the property. As I did explain to you, we are aware that there has been some activity with mice recently. The house is very large and old and due to it's location on the oceans edge, this is hard to prevent. We do have a paid pest control company that comes to the house regularly to monitor the activity and treat the situation as required. The house was thoroughly cleaned by our house keeper the day before your arrival and I visited myself, the morning of your arrival, just to be sure everything was good.
I am aware that you found 1 piece of garbage in 1 bedroom, which I believe may have fallen out of someone's pocket, and I do apologize for that.
We have had many guests stay at the property over the last 8 years and have generally received glowing reviews. Again, I apologize that your stay was dampened by the situation and I do wish you have better luck in the future.
We had a wonderful time. It was a great place to have our wedding party for our Jack and Jill. It would have been nice to have some fans in the rooms since it got really hot upstairs due to the lack of blinds. But overall, we had an amazing time. Thanks so much for everything!
Katrina and Curtis
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2023
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
Wayne H.
14 Jul 2024
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Needs a lot of improvements
House was not clean. Crumbs on table , piles of dirt swept into corners , cardboard piled high beside fireplace. Safety issues were deck boards by hot tub and steps not attached. Dryer vent completely blocked . Banister upstairs very loose . Outside lawn and gardens was terrible. This place has so much potential but has been neglected. NOT worth $600 a night . We wanted to end our vacation in Nfld with a WOW house but we were not happy with our choice.
Ten days of glorious weather, serenity, and a welcoming town
We recently spent 10 days at this cottage for a 60th birthday for my partner. To start, the location was idyllic and the beauty of the water from our deck was always enough for us to pause and admire it for hours on end.
The town and its people were always warm and welcoming and some of us spent our mornings at the pier or the dock watching fishermen catch and prepare their fish. Indeed many of them gave us some of their catch for free! The food at the Barn Cafe and the Brewery was delicious, and the weather never failed to be beautiful and warm. My group of 8 adults spent many days or evenings enjoying each others company, eating loster dinners, playing games, reading books on the deck, or enjoying the warm soaks in the incredibly clean hot tub. We even had the pleasure of meeting the housecleaner and her family. She had come by to mow the grass, and as we sat on the deck watching her work so hard, we decided to welcome her and her family afterwards to join us for a short while afterwards. They were delightful!
Unfortunately, I am giving this place a 2-3 star rating however. And these are the reasons:
1. The grounds are very unkempt. I would venture to say that there has been no attempt to renovate outside.
2. The welcome book with instructions is very outdated. They refer to chickens on the property. I would venture to say they havent been around for years.
3. The instructions acknowledge some of the things that need fixing, but again, no attempt to fix over the years.
Absolutely beautiful stay. Perfect for a family gathering. We watched whales and boats in the bay. We loved the hot tub and the very spacious bedroom. The kitchen was fully equipped for our needs, gas stove, large fridge. I would highly recommend this location. Wonderful privacy and an amazing view. The sunrises and sunset were worth the stay.
Great place to stay in Dildo. Lots of room for everyone to have their own space. Well appointed, we enjoyed our time there and had nothing to complain about!! :)