Rocky Point Retreat @ Lake Texoma

Photo gallery for Rocky Point Retreat @ Lake Texoma

A small cabin with a patio area featuring outdoor furniture and a grill.
A small, single-story cabin with a red exterior and white trim, surrounded by trees.
A bedroom with two beds, a wooden chair, a nightstand, and a window with blinds.
A living room with a brown leather sofa, a small beige ottoman, a black armchair, a wooden bookshelf, and a floor lamp.
A compact kitchen with wooden cabinets, a dining table with chairs, and a microwave.

Reviews

9.0 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Games
    A rare find - enjoy a variety of games available on-site.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to Lake Texoma

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Barbecue grill
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Washing machine
  • Onsite parking available

Explore the area

View in a map
Denison, TX
  • Place, Lake Texoma
    ‪8 min walk‬
  • Place, Austin College
    ‪27 min drive‬
  • Place, Choctaw Casino
    ‪34 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 9)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

2 Single Beds

Sunroom

1 Queen Bed and 2 Single Beds

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Denison

Located in Denison, this cabin is on a lake. Grayson County Frontier Village and Museum and Frontier Village are cultural highlights, and some of the area's landmarks include Eisenhower Veterans Monument and Eisenhower Birthplace State Historic Site. Red River Railroad Museum and Harber Wildlife Museum are also worth visiting. Discover the area's water adventures with jet skiing, power boating and sailing nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with hiking.
Map
Denison, TX

What's nearby

  • Lake Texoma - 8 min walk - 0.7 km
  • Eisenhower State Park - 10 min drive - 7.4 km
  • Austin College - 27 min drive - 32.4 km
  • Choctaw Casino - 34 min drive - 47.3 km
  • Lake Texoma State Park - 53 min drive - 67.5 km

Getting around

  • Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport (DFW) - 82 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Wendys Catfish - ‬22 min drive
  • ‪The Island Bar & Grill - ‬23 min drive
  • ‪The Point - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪Napoli's - ‬18 min drive
  • ‪Arroyo’s Mexican Restaurant - ‬17 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Rocky Point Retreat @ Lake Texoma pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Rocky Point Retreat @ Lake Texoma?

As of 1 Nov 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Rocky Point Retreat @ Lake Texoma on 3 Nov 2026 start from £2,509, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Rocky Point Retreat @ Lake Texoma?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Rocky Point Retreat @ Lake Texoma?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Rocky Point Retreat @ Lake Texoma?

Checkout is at 10:30 AM.

Where is Rocky Point Retreat @ Lake Texoma located?

Situated on a lake, this cabin is within a 10-minute walk of Lake Texoma and Red River. Eisenhower State Park and R and G Lake are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

9.0

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 12 out of 17 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 2 out of 17 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 2 out of 17 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 17 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 17 reviews

9.2/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

10/10

Communication

9.6/10

Location

9.6/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Archival

6/10 Okay

Nothing fancy but enjoyed it

Nice place to stay
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2017
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Mar 2020
Future guests, please keep in mind, Rocky Point Retreat on Texoma backs up to Army Corp land that goes down to the Lake. In other words, it is small cabin near a wooded area. This guest and his crew left lots of cans and glass in the burn pit, which is very unacceptable behavior.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Excellent place to relax

Great place within close proximity to the lake
Stayed 55 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Sept 2024
Brandon was a good guest and left the house in decent condition. He was not quick to communicate that he had an issue with my microwave and shower head and decided to replace both without asking or letting me know until he checked out. I think the microwave that he brought was a used one but I’m not 100% anything was wrong with the one I had, as I have it and tested it and will use it as a backup in any event. However, I would have like to have been given some notice. Also, he checked out a week or so early and that’s fine and all, but again gave me notice after he already left town. The main thing I was worried about was the AC was left on 74 and all the fans were left on. I live almost 2 hours away and had to change my week priorities to go and address that the next day. It turned out ok and was able to do my own cleaning and turn the AC up and turn all the fans and the water heater off. I would definitely host to him again as the issues stated above are not deal breakers for me at this time. I was available and glad I was able to host him and his coworker.
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Great Holiday Weekend Stay

We had such a nice time during our stay. Everything was precisely as advertised. We look forward to renting the cabin again in the future.
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Mar 2020
Thank you for coming.
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Great location, perfect size, & very charming

Absolutely loved this property. Exactly how it is described on this site. Would definitely book here again!
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Mar 2020
Thank you for being my first repeat customer, come back anytime. Thank you for your kind words.
Archival

8/10 Good

Has everything you need

The cabin was well suited for me and my friends for a weekend getaway. The house has everything you could need. Due to all the rain we were getting, there were lots of bugs outside, but thanks to some tiki torches we were able to enjoy the outdoors. If you plan on sleeping in the front room/ sun room, be prepared to get up early because the room gets quite bright(could use something to block all the windows).
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Mar 2020
Thank you for your response. Yes, at times there are quite a few bugs. It's always a good idea to bring some bug spray when going to areas near the lake. Also, I realize that the sunroom, does get bright. I do have some sheers up, and I do plan on getting some window coverings up, but have not totally decided on what or how much. I think it also, may take away from the view of the outdoors.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

All the hidden fees

I didn’t like all the hidden fees that come in that should all be in the day rate don’t hide it to the end
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 14 Jun 2022
Unfortunately, the extra fees being hidden is part of the way VRBO website works. To be competitive in the market, the nightly rate has to compare to other properties, in the area. In the future, I can share the details with any prospective guests. Thanks for choosing us.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Labor Day 2020

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the house was exactly as promised. Everything was great!!!
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2020
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great location

Everything was as expected and more! Well stocked with everything needed for our stay. We loved the short walk through the woods to get to a nice clean sandy beach area off the lake. We enjoyed a nice brunch at the local marina restaurant. Would be even better if it had WIFI.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2020
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

just right

we loved it. had everything we needed. plenty of room to park my pontoon boat trailer. we kept boat in courtesy slip at Grand Pappys Point. just 5 minutes to marina. we will definately rent this house again. thanks alot David and Nell
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Great time

We ahead a great time just as it was described. Very easy to rent no issue at all great way to relax.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2018
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Cute and quiet

The cabin is walking distance to the lake. It has enough different areas that you can be together but also have personal space. The kitchen has plenty of things to cook with. The living room is comfy. We will stay here again.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Mar 2020
Thank you for staying and you were a pleasure to work with. Please come again any time. Kd
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Cozy lake house

We stayed here for 90 days and truly loved it. The house was cozy and comfortable, great kitchen area for socializing and nice comfortable sleeping areas. The property is gorgeous, lots of trees and feeling of privacy-close to nature. Very easy access to trails and beautiful views of the water. Landlord is fantastic! Really great location, house and property. Highly recommend!
Stayed 90 nights in Dec 2017
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Ecerything was perfect! It was quiet and close to the lake

I would definitely stay here again.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2017
Archival

2/10 Terrible

Does Not return deposits

While the place was comfortable, the owner is not honest. Gave her a pet deposit and was not returned. We caused some damage, but had damage protection. she still requested a damage deposit. Even thought the insurance reimbursed her fully, she refuses to return deposits, will not contact me and resolve. VBRO is just as bad as they will not help resolve this issue. I will not return because I cannot trust her!
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Mar 2020
To My future guests, I have quite a few really good reviews, and this is my first experience with having to respond to negative review, when the guest damaged my property. This is also my first experience with having to file on the CSA Insurance and to request the damage deposit to be paid to me. But a few things I found out from Homeaway and CSA. They are there to help Owners and Guests. The first thing I found out is: when there is damage, the damage deposit is not refundable. Unfortunately, the Drabik's son did damage the bunk beds to the point of no repair and total replacement was required. The top bunk and bottom bunk rails were both split, and one slat was completely split in half. The total cost of delivery, removal and setup for the new furniture, plus the cost of the bunk bed was not totally realized or compensated. The VRBO/Homeaway website has all my charges/fees/deposits totally listed, and the fees explained therein. I request my guests to pay pet fees if applicable, I do not charge a pet deposit. The pet fees are not refundable, of which was explained to Ms. Drabik. (I'm not quite sure how she got the idea she paid a pet deposit) I have responded to every exchange with Ms. Drabik. She is angry, because she is not getting her damage deposit refunded of $100.(of which I received a portion of). So, she is attempting to defame my character, which is totally out of line. When the damage was first reported, I requested the damage deposit. Then, I contacted CSA and reported it, and then called Homeaway, and asked specifically about the damage deposit refund. Homeaway informed me that I was entitled to the damage deposit, because there was damage to the furniture. Guests are requested to pay insurance, of a big fee of $59.00 which covers them only up to $1500.00. I didn't get that much, and as I said, but what I did get did not cover the replacement in it's entirety. I suggested she call Homeaway, and find out what the policy is, as she did not believe me. I have to follow their guidelines. It's unfortunate that the damage occurred. But, when damage like this happens, there are things like the insurance, and damage deposits, to protect both parties. Now, I know how to handle this type of issue, and will continue to do my best to provide a great experience to all my guests.
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Lake Texoma cottage Review of 307 Hill Dr., Denison, Texas 75020

We booked this place at the last minute and had a great 4 day vacation at the lake. The house had everything needed for a weekend get-away for my small kids and family. Our kids loved hiking the trail to the lake and exploring for fossils. I launched my boat at Grandpappy Marina a few miles away and left it in over night at the beach near the house without issue. The cove and that area of the lake is perfect for boat, fishing and hanging out on or near the water for hours. This property had many areas beds to sleep in and accommodate everyone comfortably. We will be return guests in the future and we highly recommend it. Don't expect Trump towers but it's a very nice lake house perfect for enjoying the country / lake setting with friends and family. The host was also very nice and kept in touch for anything / everything needed.
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Mar 2020
Thank you very much for your kind words. I'm happy that you had a great time and you enjoyed the cabin and the areas around the lake. I love it there and I enjoy sharing it with others, just like you. Come back anytime.
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Comfortable and Peaceful place for our family vacation

The cabin was spacious enough for us to be comfortable, yet cozy enough to enjoy each other's company. It was a very clean, organized place to stay. The kitchen was furnished nicely with plates & cups, utensils, bakeware, pots & pans, and big & small appliances. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was furnished well. We enjoyed the quiet location which was peaceful. It was a place to get away from it all which is the way we like it and were hoping for when we chose to book it. The location was close enough to anywhere we needed to go. The owner was very helpful answering any questions we had and was extremely courteous. We can't share our appreciation enough to the owner for sharing her cabin with us. We plan to stay there again in the future. We will highly recommend it to our family and friends. We also highly recommend it to anyone who might be considering staying at the cabin.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2016
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Mar 2020
Thank you very much for the nice review. We strive to have almost all the comforts of home out in the woods. It is Peaceful and quiet and that's what most vacationer's want. Lake life is so different than city life. Come back anytime !
Archival

6/10 Okay

THe property was in a very run down neighborhood. But it was clean.

We found the building to be clean and in good shape. However we were expecting to be able to see the lake. The house was located in a very run down neighborhood. It was 3 miles or so to drive to the boat ramp, just to see the water.
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2016
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Mar 2020
I apologize if you thought you would be able to see the lake from my cabin. I'm not quite sure why you thought that. I do mention a path that guests can walk down to the lake. The path is not a sidewalk and is a little rough in a couple of spots. I have modified my description about elderly or handicapped guests may want to drive around to Grand Pappy point to either get in the lake or see the lake to rent a boat or even picnic at the marina. Also, I did say the house was not handicap accessible, but I will put that on my list of things to modify in the future. Speaking to other homes in the neighborhood: it is not zoned so you will see all kinds of houses. There are cabins, manufactured homes and $200k - $300K homes. I can only do my best to care for my place. Thank you for your stay and I hope you enjoyed the peace and serenity others have received.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback